User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(112)

112

4 stars

(56)

56

3 stars

(6)

6

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "easy to use, user friendly, simple, the bid-form section is awesome!!"

  • "Super user friendly (for most who are 'remotely' tech savvy ) "

  • "Ease of use and customer support. Nice display/interface. "

  • Cons

  • "Currently the slowness when accessing the main page. Other than that we find BC very useful. "

  • "It is a little pricey, but worth it. Can not go without"

  • "none really, but would love to see more features be released faster as the potential of the platform is huge"

Browse BuildingConnected Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 178 results

August 2020

Raina from Complete Fire Protection

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Total Game Changer

Absolutely love it!

Pros

No one else that has this type of software comes anywhere close to the ease of use and ability to generate reports on the productivity and effectiveness of our past bids. I went from inputing about 30% of the information Building Connected has available in my own excel spreadsheet for at least 2-3 hours per day to letting the program do its job and running reports at my leisure!

Cons

Occasionally, the website locks up and causes some frustration with my sales team, but they all agree that we can never go back!

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

I liked the layout better, and of course the automated data analysis was a must have. iSqft just can't compete with that!

September 2020

Ben from Fite Construction Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great product, best on the market

We have been more than pleased, it has been a good purchase for us without a doubt.

Pros

Document control and ease of use. The document management has paid for the cost of the software by documenting who has accessed documents and when they were accessed. Also, the ease of use has significantly decreased the amount of time that we spend assisting subcontractors and vendors in pre-construction.

Cons

It would be great to be able to view a document rather than having to download the file first. There should also be some flexibility in formatting, data selection for reports.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

We found it to be the best overall as far as features & ease of use vs. price.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

The previous software was very difficult to navigate for both us and subcontractors.

April 2021

Will from Korsmo Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Easy to Use, Organized Bid Management

Overall, Building Connected has been a great time saver for managing subcontractor bid opportunities and has allowed for the entire to team to have the most up to date information at all times.

Pros

This software is easy to use, has a great dashboard, and is very intuitive. The options/features are continually improving/being added. It is very helpful to track subcontractor interest and participation, and allows for a real-time automatically updated snapshot of subcontractor participation

Cons

Some of the features could be stronger, but Building Connected is continually rolling out new features, and optimizing existing features. One drawback is that bid invites often go to individuals SPAM folders.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Ease of use, Building Connected was most user friendly, easiest to navigate

August 2020

David from The Torrey Company, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Could be better

If the problems shown above are corrected I would describe as good.

Pros

Allows us to send bids in our area to many subcontractors.

Cons

1) Impossible to use in iPhone. 2) Comments are not valued by Buildingconnected Management 3) Mixes apples and oranges when it comes to UNION versus OPEN SHOP Subs, it needs serious revamping. 4) Ditto regarding the mix of subs, painters show under electrical subs. This needs a complete revamp, as well. 5) The selection of dates is cumbersome as the calendar "moves" up and down instead of being located in the same place when changing months. 6) During the set up of project one cannot pick a date for the RFI date. 7) The cursor does not automatically go to the proper location to start typing, instead it necessitates the use of the mouse to move the cursor there. This should be for ALL cases where one needs to type information. 8) There is too many BAD EMAIL ADDRESSES identified in the database that NEVER get corrected. There needs to be an earnest effort coming from the very top to keep the DATABASE in ship shape. We pay WAY TOO much money for this to be the case. 9) There needs to be more refinement within the categories available to pick subs from the standard 16 CSI divisions. For instance, there is a huge difference between a sub who makes and installs the coolers and freezer boxes and those who do the refrigeration for them, such difference is not considered in the options.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Sounded good with a large database of subs. Good sales job.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

I was promised a better database (one that is intuitive and larger).

December 2019

David from Derucki Construction Company LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Streamlined & Simple

We've eliminated a substantial amount of the risk in our bid process by having current information available to all team members. It helps us get info out to subcontracts 3 or 4 days faster than we could with our previous process.

Pros

Great for when we have bid teams of 4 or 5 people and having an instant snapshot of where our bid process stands. We have committed to doing detailed bid forms that subs have gotten used to for submitting their proposal and using the breakdown provided.This helps us zero in on the right conversations we should be having with the right subs and makes us more effective during the bid.

Cons

Our people rely too much on communicating through BC and it reduces the amount of phone conversations where we believe we learn a substantial amount more that a line item on the bid form.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Helped that we used the free product for a year before committing to Pro. Cost was also extremely competitive. Final decision was made meeting [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] at an event BC hosted here in Atlanta.

December 2019

Jeff from RADIX Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Building Connected is Cutting Edge

The ease of accessing subcontractors across the United States is amazing. Instead of using several different sources it now cut down to using BC and maybe one or two others.

Pros

The access to subcontractors all over the country. The analytics provided by the program to track and compare projects solicited. The constant improvement of the program and how it evolves. The ability to be very dynamic and flexible. The ease of use and set up supersedes other programs tried in the past.

Cons

The up-keep of contact information and how to update it. Populating relevant vendors for scopes of work for the area of work to be performed in.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

The access to new vendors and the ease of adding vendors. The platform was laid out better and easier to navigate.

August 2020

jeff from Structor Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Day to Day with BuildingConnected

Awesome!

Pros

The leveling section is such a time saver. We can look at everything one screen, make adjustments and go with a final number on bid day seamlessly. A real time saver. A great tool to show owners and clients that we have done our homework and selected the lowest most qualified bidder

Cons

Be sure you have a strong network and a strong network connection. As the day wears on it can be slow down at bit

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Did not have the options that we were looking for. Plus we heard from a competitor how great Building Connected was and we switched

August 2020

James from Harris Associates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great tool

The role out went well; most of our employees were up and running without assistance within the 1st week.

Pros

After the initial the project setup this accelerates the the issuing of new documents and messages. This has saved my team a lot of time and headaches compared to the old way of email the subcontractors. Being able to see who as accessed the project documents helps to insure we get good bid coverage.

Cons

I would like to customize features to better work for our company and be able to load larger file sizes.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

After over a year or research and discussions this seamed to be the most efficient product to use.

August 2020

Stephen from Holt Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Easy to use - some features needed.

What started as a cold call has made my entire job easier. The site is used company wide and has made bidding projects exponentially easier.

Pros

Ease of use and customer service are second to none.

Cons

We need a deeper level of customization when it comes to RFI and other document management.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Ease of use and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was one of the kindest and "real" VP's I ever had the pleasure of working with.

August 2020

John from O'Haver Contractors

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Building Connected has increased our business

We started using BC in 2018 and more than doubled our revenue the following year. Add BC was a large contributor to that success.

Pros

Easiest and best way we have found to send and track bid invitations to a targeted recipient.

Cons

There are no enough key work options in the bid package to cover all of the bid I need.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

We still use the other product. They are good for mass invites but BC is better for targeting and tracking bidders.

October 2020

Mike from NUA Construction Corp.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

My thoughts having used BUILDING CONNECTED for a number of years.......

Very useful & user friendly, in general.

Pros

Super user friendly (for most who are 'remotely' tech savvy )

Cons

I dislike that subcontractors who view the ITB can close it and do not have to confirm their intent, thus wasting a lot of time when we have to call "non-responders". A feature whereby they cannot leave the ITB without conforming their intent, either way. This would save DAYS of phone calls on each bid chasing people who have no intent of bidding. OR, non-responders should get a daily automatic reminder until they do respond either way of their intent. This would force (most of them) to eventually confirm their intent. Additionally if subcontractors from outside a certain radius (say 75 or 100 miles) of the proposed project location could be removed or blocked from the list when searching for potential bidders, that would be super helpful. And in closing, if subcontractors listed under a certain trade /scope, under "+ Invite bidders", could be for that particular trade/ scope. There are too many, say for example Painters under site work, or electricians under ceramic tile .... needs to be cleaned up.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Previous experience

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

It was painful and antiquated !

December 2019

Anthony from C&S Companies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Improves Efficiency!

We have become more efficient in our bidding process, allowing us to increase our win percentage, increase our subcontractor coverage and to tackle more projects.

Pros

This software is paramount is organizing and presenting critical bidding information, not only to our subs but also relaying that information back to our Estimating team. The software can be setup to accommodate different levels of detail, with individual projects, or individual bid packages for each project. Easily distribute and download critical project documents.

Cons

A few of our "outdated" subcontractors are hesitant to login and interact with the system.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Organization & ease of use!

August 2020

James from Hensel Phelps Construction Co.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Solicit & Communicate Efficiently

Top notch product with excellent customer support that improves our ability to win work.

Pros

BuildingConnected provides users an intuitive interface to organize and solicit subcontractors and vendors on construction projects large & small. The project information tab has the ability to capture an convey general project information both internally and externally feeding into the strong analytical tools. The files tab allows for user customization to project specific documents and requirements. I have not run into a situation where the information could not be organized and presented the way I wanted it to. The bid packages tab is really where the program shines. Packages can be created based upon specific project needs, bidders added efficiently and accurately, subcontractor action tracked and monitored, costs tracked, and costs forecasted. The remainder of the resources and information only serves to complement the core components and solicitation requirements of the tabs above.

Cons

Webpage is not optimized for mobile devices. Analytics do not allow for individual projects to be excluded which diminishes the value of the reporting.

August 2020

Nick from Triplett Wellman, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Possibly the best Bid Invitation Software available.

We wanted a bid invitation solution that our subcontractors liked, were familiar with, and we wanted a long term partner. So far the relationship with BC has been great. I wish the pricing was a little lower and more comparable to other softwares out there as that would allow me to not have to review other competitor products upon renewal.

Pros

The user-friendly interface allows us to issue bid invitations in a matter of minutes.

Cons

I dislike that you have to use the software to obtain quotes. I wish direct emails were possible without having to go through the web.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

The interface and intuitive user features.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

The interface and intuitive user features.

August 2020

Rosa from Webcor Builders

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Excellent Platform to use for reaching out to Subcontractors

We can view how many times a sub we have reached out to for bidding has provided us with proposals, declined or accepted our invitations, the ease of being able to see a subs prequalification status, and just the overall information BC provides us from bid leveling to the use of PlanGrid, TradeTapp, Box, etc.

Pros

Since I utilize BC on a daily basis, I truly enjoy the ease of creating projects, building bid packages, sending out notifications to all at once or individually, how you can make notes in BC about your conversations with different subs, add tags, add favorites, how things are time stamped and dated, how we can sync the files to Box, add subs for projects we have already published; all in all, it is an extremely easy program to work with.

Cons

The only drawback for me is the fact that we are not able to change any information for a subcontractor, for example, when I know that someone's email address is incorrect, I am not able to change it, we have to "Suggest an Edit" and type in what needs to be amended. However, we do not receive any notifications indicating that the "suggestions" we put through have been changed, accordingly.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

I was not part of this decision

December 2019

Odae from C & S Companies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Building Connected Rocks

Love it makes my life easier

Pros

The ease of use and the ability to manage large amounts of information with ease. The projects run threw Building Connected are streamlined and increase productivity overall.

Cons

Not having the ability to edit contacts information in our data base with out having the user to log in and confirm the edits some times our subs are not tech savy enough to log in.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Ease of use and it is quicker at processing information!

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Procore is slow and cumbersome.

December 2019

jeffery from Marand Builders

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Efficient Product

I have enjoyed using building connected over the past couple years and it has helped me gain many quality contractors that I have grown partnerships with. The positives have outweighed the negatives, which are always worked out by Building Connected customer support staff.

Pros

The ability to find new subcontractors that fit our specific needs. The organization of the interface that allows me to sort through bidders and none bidders efficiently. Building connected allows for all of my colleagues and I to be on the same page although we are in different states, with the notes feature. Simplistic interface design allows for ease of navigation. Customer service support is a phone call away at all times and they show great concern for your time constraints.

Cons

It can be embarrassing how some employees have been terminated from their companies but on Building Connected they are my point of contact so I ask for them and get that bad news. More clear information as to the exact type of services companies provide. For example some will say millwork but they only provide design oriented woodwork.

January 2020

julie from field construction, inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Small Tweaks Would Be Nice!

98% positive. I do think a "live chat" feature would be nice though!

Pros

I definitely love this software. Love the database and love the ease in adding new people to an invitation after it's already been publishes. I like having these things "at my fingertips" so to speak. I like it's ease in navigation - FOR THE MOST PART, THAT IS. I have indicted below what I did not like.Most of the time I think it's very user-friendly.

Cons

My only negatives are with regard to ease of use when it comes to navigating the site. It seems a little "clunky" sometimes that you have to go through the steps you do to get to certain areas from other areas.....meaning that I think it could be more streamlined to access companies or individuals when you are in one screen without having to get out of where you are and "re-navigate." This among other small switching back & forth situations and hiding columns that I'd like to see have the option of staying "static" or in-view, are just about the only things I'd change. One last thing: I'd also like to be able to add individuals to a company account (as a GC adding to a subcontractor account) - I say this because often the one person I want to invite is not on their account and I have to stop and call the company and ask them to add their person. This of course happens when subcontractors are not diligent enough with keeping up their accounts and I know is hard to track....just a suggestion.....Other than that I think it is a valuable tool and really enjoy using it.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

High praise from past users

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

It was based on the suggestion from a PM who came to my company from another company. They had used it there and when they switched companies, they brought the idea with them! :)

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

My, how you've grown!

As a trade contractor doing about $5 million a year I've been getting plans and proposals from GC's via BuildingConnected's 'Private plan room' for several years now. I've noticed recently the change in GUI and functionality and investigated. I wound up with a few days to test drive the full product and liked it quite a bit. Unfortunately I'm not convinced of the day to day justification for the high entry costs. It seems they are being stingy with features here under the misconception that trade contractors either aren't sophisticated enough or not large enough or don't have subcontractors of their own. While using the test membership, I did the research and background work that I would normally do to decide if we will take on a new contractor on one that I found through the search engine on BuildingConnected. I found one in a few hours, one that we don't normally do business with but regularly does the $1 million pus jobs we normally do. I was surprised when they then responded a few days later with an Invitation to Bid (based they said on their research) on a project that was exactly the kind of project we find profitable, though not quite as large as we normally prefer. we could not do it, because it conflicted with another project we had on the schedule. Even if I had WON this job, the additional profit from it would have in large part gone to pay for the first year of membership. If the software DID MORE OR COST LESS we would have already purchased it....

Pros

The ability to find those GC's that are bidding on the same projects (why not submit your proposal to all bidders?) easily and accurately. The almost infinitely customizable search interface. Finding new GC's in regional markets and being able to research them and their projects BEFORE I ask to be included in ITB's! Integration with my current 'free' account.

Cons

Not an even rudimentary ability to manage MY subcontractors and vendors! They offer this feature in a richly granular way in the product they market to GC's, put a stripped down version HERE if you REALLY want to attract trade contractors!! Probably too costly for the returns for many trade contractors, yet not feature rich enough to appeal to larger trade contractors.

August 2020

Luke from Ron Wright Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Ron Wright Inc

Team members can decide on what to bid without meeting at the same time.

Pros

The organization of the bid list by due date is great. It's important sometimes to search an archived project. Huge time saver having a dedicated email auto populating the bid list and auto populating some of the project information. The bid form notification of being read is great to have reassurance that the proposal was received. The comment section is great for notes to other team members.

Cons

The planhub invites not auto populating client information is frustrating. The split screen on the bid board is useful or needed, split screen with limited views of both screens. One screen with all the info would be more useful. When you need more info you open the project. The right hand screen is not used.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Better fit for a Subcontractor.

December 2019

Sitlalic from VJS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Building Connected Review

I've been using building connected for two years and its been great. It is very easy to use not only for the estimating team but also for our subcontractors. If the project if awarded to our company we then invite the project management team to the project. They download all the bid forms submitted to an excel document that is later used during scoping meetings.

Pros

Easy to use Communication with subcontractors is very easy Can add notes Very easy to upload bid forms and scope description Easy to see who has submitted bids and identify low bidder immediately Easy to download bid form for additional scoping

Cons

One of the things I like the least about the software is that when we have to send bid invites to only specific subcontractors we have to go through the entire list and uncheck the ones we don't want to invite. This can be a little time consuming when we have to delete 20 or more subcontractors from our work package. The only other thing that could be improved is better identification of union vs non-union subcontractors.

January 2020

Bradley from Hoar Construction

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great Program! Essential to my office's success.

Pros

Simple, easy to learn - can teach anyone in my office Quick, no waste of time due to long processes Keeps track of correspondence Document control Bid Forms are flexible

Cons

Lack of being able to update trade partners' information. I get that it is great that the trades feel like they get to have total control over their account, but I am constantly calling wrong contacts because I cannot update their info myself. Trades are not always willing (or have time) to update their own information.

December 2019

Susana from Advanced Commercial Painting LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Worth the Try

I don't mind working with it because it's easy to use, for me personally I would rather use it when needed, I would rather have another project administration website. Just because I can't edit much on it, It has what it has and you have to work with it. There's no area to add links, nowhere to add files and stuff like that.

Pros

I mostly like that it has an easy to use interface, easy on the eye, simple, you get a personal agent to help with any doubts and suggestions you might have.

Cons

That it has limited options to add additional features or additional links, you can't really edit much.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

My company thought it would be best because with this website we have project statistics.

December 2019

Jack from Sachse Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Jack Grulke

In our business, the more contractors we can get to submit a proposal, the more impressive is our presentation to the client. Our previous goal was to be able to present 3 proposals for each trade to the client. Now it is not unusual to have as many 10 -- or more! Many of these have been sourced from your service. Keep up the good work. Our annual subscription fee to you is well worth the money.

Pros

We get many new contractors from your lists. They are mostly, if not always competent in attendance, professional in attitude and proficient in quality. As we are licensed in all 50 states, we frequently call these new trade partners for repeat contracts in their local markets. Your connections are invaluable in smaller markets where we have not worked before.

Cons

Sometimes the listed trades are incorrect. For example, often a contractor will be listed as "Gypsum" and upon calling, we find they are carpenters and don't do gypsum at all. Also contractors will listed as doing multiple trades that they do not do.

December 2019

Marcel from Davaco LLP

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Essential tool for Vendor/Subcontractor and Bid Proposal Management

It functions in about 95% of all items.. Few things which I wished to be implemented I sent to Support for considerations and received feedback that they will pursue them in future releases.

Pros

Davaco's business model is to perform commercial remodels of Retail, Restaurants or Hospitality Projects throughout USA and Canada. While we have many W2 employees which travel throughout the territories to perform a variety of tasks - we are heavily dependent on partnering with local Subcontractors to perform additional remodel tasks. In this process BuildingConnected tool is essential to send invitation to bids and collecting bid proposals from multiple sources in the geographic location radius of the project itself. As such BC performs marvelous in that task.

Cons

Geographic radius invitations of Bidders with the filters for Non or Union based, minority business owners. Easy proposal creation and upload of proposal - tracking and overall ease of use.

February 2018

steve from Barton Overhead Door Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Love this program!

If your looking for Construction Software call these guys and take it for a test drive, you wont be sorry and your subcontractors will love it.

Pros

Building Connected is the best software out there for me getting my bid invites and access to plans and specs. It so easy to use and everything you need a click away. Contractors that are using this software can send bid invites and access to the plans right to my account. I'm using their Opportunity Manager also, I just forward my bid invites from Contractors who are not using Building Connected to this program and it puts it in order by bid date automatically , much better than me trying to organize my outlook. Another thing about this software when you download plans its way faster than it competition.

Cons

Once in awhile I will have to go in and manually put in the bid date on certain bid invites that I have forwarded to the Opportunity Manager.

December 2019

Lillian from Golden State Contract Flooring

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Our Daily Work Horse

Accountability for our staff's productivity. Streamlines the bidding process, start to finish.

Pros

This software helps our project managers stay organized with their to-do list of projects and holds our team accountable for their productivity with bidding. The jobs constantly flow in effortlessly, since we choose our scope and range of work. We just sit back and wait for projects that we can either accept or deny. Our dashboard of opportunities is seldom empty, which keeps us busy!

Cons

Sometimes I wish more of our contractors utilized the software, so our bids could be submitted and tracked automatically. Just a few extra steps to be sure it makes it onto the bid board and tracked through analytics. I believe with time, the software will gain more recognition within the industry. With this being said, we have also built new relations with contractors via Building Connected's RFP dashboard.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

It appeared to be new an innovative, with a modern approach to managing projects.

August 2020

Chris from Howell Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

We Love BuildingConnected

We have used them for several years and really like their support and how they keep improving the system.

Pros

The ability to distribute plans, specs and addenda is easy and consistent. It is also very easy to send messages to individual bidders, all bidders in a bid package or the entire project. We can create bid forms that the subs can fill out when submitting their bids. The system also tracks all quotes and allows us to level the bids. Their support is great with fast responses! We also use BuildingConnected to have subs fill out our qualification form.

Cons

The only thing we would like to see would be to list the number of those that are not bidding in the overall view that lists the number of invitees, the number that have viewed the project and the number that say they are bidding.

January 2018

Morgan from Cissell Mueller Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

We Choose to Build with Building Connected!

We use the integration with Building Connected to Procore, which simplifies the process of turning a bid into a contract or purchase order. If you use both or one of these systems, we definitely recommend using them as a pair.

Pros

The ability to track and store all of our bids in one place. We can run reports and review previous bids for estimating new projects, pre-qualify our subcontractors with a customized questionnaire, and store templates for bid contact lists separated by cost code/bid package and organized by locations, type of project, category, or really anything we need!

Cons

We cannot edit the sub's contact information, and companies are not the best at keeping emails and company information up to date in the system. If the company is not in the system, then we can add them with email, but can't store any of their company info (name, address, etc).

August 2020

Jennifer from Bozzuto Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Review

Pros

That the system is intuitive and easy to use.

Cons

Building out the sub list and managing the contacts could be better for projects that have special requirements. Certifications are not specific enough and are self reported by the subs so they are not always accurate for finding subs to fulfill the requirements.

August 2020

Luke from McCauley

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Fantastic bid management

Building Connected makes my job faster, easier, and more professional.

Pros

Great subcontractor base, easy to invite, and updating status is a breeze.

Cons

No mobile device support, and trying to get subcontractors to all submit on the platform has proved difficult.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Cost, and ease of use.

December 2019

Akasha from GE Johnson Construction Co.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

So easy to use!

Pros

I like how user friendly it is. I also really like that each user controls their account but if I notice it's not up to date, I can make a suggestion. Crowd sharing is brilliant!

Cons

I would like to make comments for a particular company which can only be seen internally but without actually rating them. Right now, to make a comment, you have to rate them from 1-5 stars. But sometimes I need a comment about the contacts at a company, etc.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

The ease of use, crowd sharing, functionality, and the overall look of the site.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

I did the research an made the suggestion to upper management.

August 2020

KIm from Rainbow Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

REVIEW

since we dont have any real support, its like paying for the support needed, tracking subs is a huge advantage in getting coverage.

Pros

FINDING SUBS THROUGH THE SEARCH IS GREAT, THAT IS HALF THE BATTLE, IF THERE NOT IN THERE, ONE YOU PUT IN COMPANY EMAIL, IF THERE RECOGNIZED ALL THE INFO SHOW UP. Notes for each subs, add people, who viewed documents, is really nice,

Cons

When i have a sublist, converting to excel is great but, i want the option to list, by category, bid, viewed , undecided, not bidding, it prints the entire list, that is annoying. THe other item need fixing, is for sub to view plans and documents easier, it is difficult when they think they have to sign up and they dont need to. i get a fair amount of calls about that.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

N/A

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

SEVERAL REASONS, EASE OF USE, IF A EMAIL IS BAD, IT LETS YOU KNOW. WHO VIEW THE DOCUMENTS, WAY MORE FLEXABLE THAN E PIPELINE.

December 2019

Angelo from Black & McDonald Limited

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great Product

Setup was easy. Customer support is prompt and helpful. We have improved communication with our subcontractors and suppliers and are able to reach a wider audience because of the software.

Pros

- Easy to use, intuitive interface. - Scalable, great option for small or big teams

Cons

- too many extra features/sales pitches - originally was designed for GCs, has advanced in terms of subcontractor usability

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Seemed easier to implement/use

August 2020

Jonelle from Turner Construction

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Plus & Delta

Pros

General ease of use. Easy to sign folks up and get them started quickly. Customer service is also very helpful.

Cons

Not enough reports available and not a great printout. I wish there were more report options that were more easily accessed. I would like to quickly run a full report on a particular sub - general contact info, projects they have been invited to, if they replied, if they bid, etc. A quick snapshot of the company as a whole. Also, the management of contact data is terrible. There are lots of flagged contacts and they aren't resolved by BC. Often, the admin of the company is the one no longer there and then nobody can make the edit.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Ease of contact management, access, use.

August 2020

Jenelle from Golden State Contract Flooring

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Building Connected is a great tool for our company!

BuildingConnected has been a good organization tool. It diminishes duplication of efforts and gives us a good calendaring tool. It has also been a good marketing tool for one of our newer PMs building her clientele. She looks for bidding opportunities on our dashboard. This software has also given us an easy tool for follow up.

Pros

Finding out if there are multiple GCs bidding an opportunity...this has given us the visibility to send our numbers out to companies we may have otherwise missed. We have also decreased duplication of efforts in our office. We can see when other PMs may already be working on an opportunity.

Cons

I don't believe you can see if there are other GCs bidding an opportunity unless you accept an invitation.

September 2020

Jason from Heffron Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Customer Review

Easier document control for us to share information with our subs and vendors. Program has helped us be more efficient. Does take some "coaching" of our subs and vendors to utilize BC in responding to our invites.

Pros

The program is easy to manage project documentation and communication with vendors and subcontractors.

Cons

Due to the quantity of Building Connected invites/messages received by our subs and vendors it is hard for some to differentiate our ITB's from other ITB's.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Pricing and ease of use.

December 2019

Ian from Landry French Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

User Friendly Software

Pros

easy to use, user friendly, simple, the bid-form section is awesome!!

Cons

would be great if they had an RFI section to use like Procore has.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Was cumberson, not user friendly, took to long to set up a new project and to send out invites, addendums etc.

January 2020

John from WELBRO Building Corp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Bid Invitations are a breeze!

Pros

This software platform is intuitive and easy to use. The public contractor database is already populated with most people we work with, adding other contacts is easy as inputting an email address! Communicating with every invited bidder or just a subset with follow up information is just as easy.

Cons

We've submitted a couple suggested enhancements, the Building Connected team is always willing to listen to feedback and improve the platform.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Building Connected is easier to use, we can manage a bid invite process in less time.

August 2020

Jim from Truebeck Construction

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Best Way to Communicate with our Trade Partners

The team at Building Connected are great to work with, and make it easy to review potential enhancements, and they regularly connect to pass on tips and knowledge on the advancements.

Pros

Ease of communicating to the Trade Partners, Ease of uploading documents, Ease of Bid Leveling

Cons

for Sealed Bids, there is default language that is added that is confusing to the bidders.

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

The product provided a great advancement to the tools we used (been 3 + year), allowing easier communication to our trade partners and a collaborative prequal component.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Better Product

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Hayden from Brazos Masonry

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

A Must-Have for Professionals

Since using PowerPoint, I have noticed a significant change and the way I am viewed within my organization. My peers and superiors have both noticed how confident I am while conducting quality presentations, and for that I have PowerPoint to thank.

Pros

I love that PowerPoint has several options when it comes to slide design. Presentations can be very bland, so adding a design that's aesthetically pleasing is extremely helpful when I'm trying to grab the attention of my peers and superiors.

Cons

I have not had any bad experiences with PowerPoint.

August 2020

ELANA from Turner Construction

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Very Good Bid Invitation/Management System

Easy to manage the bid invitations and entire bid process.

Pros

Getting bid invitations out to the sub market is extremely easy through this software. Also, sending messages/communication out is great.

Cons

I don't really have any serious cons but after using this for over a couple years there are some items that could be improved to make it go from very good to great. (Make it easy to make changes to subcontractor contacts on the fly, providing more options for reports, better customer service platform, etc.)

January 2020

Kamen from Form Third

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Overall Experience Review

The software is definitely streamlining a lot of processes in the bidding of jobs. It is also helping with overall organization of documents and communications.

Pros

The interface is very user friendly overall. The network of contractors is very helpful.

Cons

The communication tends to come across to the contractors like a spam email and is ignored. I find myself needing to always follow up with a company email to get any real traction in communication. I also don't like the fact that the contractors can not be deleted after they are in the bid package. there are errors made sometimes and it would be nice to be able to delete.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Procore's bidding tool is not nearly as polished as Building Connected. I would rather be working out of Procore so that our entire project would run through one program.

December 2019

Brandon from Pizzarotti -

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The Product BC benificary to my job

I am good on this, for sure.

Pros

This software is great when I send information/invitation to bid/questions to all bidders in all trades. The BC have date recorded when the bidders review the bid package, bidders can send question/quote directly to here I will never lose. The most helpful part is this can help me to search for new bidders to bid specify trades that i am not familiar.

Cons

not at this moment. When I see somehting in the future, I will note to you.

January 2020

Glenn from Green Field Construction Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

A1!!!

The old style of connection with the contractors through the regional Blue Book of construction with calling them was consuming. Emailing is the technological way of doing it nowadays.

Pros

It is the best "software" on the market. With the integration into the whole Autodesk family, BuildingConnected is definitely the best "bang for your buck".

Cons

The only thing is one item, and I have told this to many of the programmers; to be able to enlarge the left side of the trades on the project window.

August 2020

Courtney from Kalmia Construction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

GC Use

Overall we find BC to be extremely efficient for our company. We use it daily, bidding 4-5 jobs weekly.

Pros

We utilize the search feature a lot when searching for new sub-contractors to work with, especially in specialty trades we don't often use. I find Building Connected's interface to be extremely user friendly.

Cons

The only thing I dislike about Building Connected is the inability to delete bid packages on your own. Right now you have to reach out to support for them to delete it. I will say they are quick to respond, I just wish I could do it and save the time.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Wanted something more efficient and user friendly

September 2020

Al from FCFP

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Bid Management

Time saving and reduction on number of emails to bid coordinator.

Pros

The bid management software is very easy to use across multiple users and makes it easy to assign jobs and have multiple viewers of documents and quotes while still assigning the project to one person. This has cut down on the emails cluttering my inbox and if very effective and time-saving.

Cons

I think some of the data capturing and statistics functions need to be improved, at least we have not found reports that are as useful to us in the construction business where we don't always hear results on our bids right away.

December 2019

Payal from SBI Builders, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Definitely recommend it

Being able to access subcontractor information, the bids, bid levelling - all of the tools make the bidding process much smoother and in one place.

Pros

The ease of finding all the bidding information in one place and user-friendliness of the website makes this a very helpful tool for bidding process.

Cons

The directory functionality needs some work.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

I still use Procore for Construction Management. However, Procore's bidding tool is not as user-friendly as Building Connected.

August 2020

Bryan from Hensel Phelps

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Building Connected is Unmatched

The experience has been excellent and without frustration, in addition, the building connected staff is extremely attentive to all needs and does not hesitate to solve issues immediately.

Pros

Highly recommend Building Connected for its intuitive ease of use and the simple integration into a construction company's arsenal of estimating software.

Cons

Minor adjustments regarding the process and meaning of non disclosure agreements has to be carefully monitored.

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Simply puts: Ease of use and Customer Service. The intuitive ease of use to create a solicitation and comprehensively record all of the interactions with our trade partners from solicitation, to updated amendments, and through the bid is what made the decision to switch easy.

December 2019

Philip from GE Johnson Construction Company

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Bldg Conn

We've recognized a savings in time for our estimators communicating with subcontractors.

Pros

Ease of use, simple to teach others, like how you have ability to put photo in for individuals leading a bid pkg

Cons

no complaints currently, although we would like to see the bid pkg lead photo when you click into the bid pkg

Reasons for Choosing BuildingConnected

Functionality, ease of use, forward thinking

Reasons for Switching to BuildingConnected

Bldg Connected is very forward thinking

Displaying 1 - 50 of 178 reviews