COINS Software Reviews

COINS Software Reviews

Find out more:

1

Recommendations

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.39

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Also, the support team is VERY good. Usually very quick and to the point helpful answers."
  • icon"COINS had a thorough understanding of the construction industry and the product reflects it. COINS has excellent technical support - tickets logged are resolved quickly."
  • icon"COINS SM has allowed our service team to step away from an outdated, manual, paper-intensive process to a fully integrated, paperless, mobile supported process."
  • icon"I also do not believe that we should have to pay to have a report made or modified, that we are paying the bi-annual license fees and have already paid for the program itself."
  • icon"Specifically for our company it has been hard to manage."
  • icon"The COINS Documentation needs to be update. I have tried to use it when I had questions and the info is either missing or is not update."

Browse all COINS Reviews

  • Have you used COINS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 38 reviews

Drew

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINs use and configuration

We were trying to consolidate all our different software and data points used to run the business. While not all have been realized or implemented yet, those that have been has increased productivity in those areas tremendously.

Pros

I liked that that software was cloud based and had a user friendly interface.

Cons

The data migration was difficult mapping our old structure to the COINs structure. After a few calls with the COINs team though we got it figured out and imported.

Reasons for choosing COINS

COINs outperformed the competition in most all categories we deemed critical to our business.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Growing too much as an organization

Steve

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

Coins OA Review

We are an long time Coins client and felt the transition from the old platform to Coins OA could have been a little easier. The migration from Coins Ti to OA was more like a new software implementation than an upgrade. We still have a few punch list items pending from our Go Live, but Coins is working to resolve and has been committed to fair resolutions to any outstanding issues. We have been live on OA for 1 year and are begin to realize some efficiency improvements already. I feel strongly we will continue to improve our processing efficiencies and our customers' experience by utilizing more feature within Coins OA.

Pros

The Mobile Technician feature sets us apart from our competition. Giving our technicians the ability to take photos and add notations on equipment issues gives our customers validation to what our technicians see. The ability to use one system to run our entire business from operations to accounting allows us to function seamlessly. The bulk import and export functions allow us to easily update and manipulate data.

Cons

Implementation was challenging, partially due to the flexibility of the software configuration and our users not adapting to new processes.

Reasons for choosing COINS

We have been with Coins for 20+ years, so it came down to familiarity, functionality of Coins OA, and Coins continuous improvement efforts on product development and support.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2021

Good not Great

Overall, I think COINS is decent--it is relatively easy to use and it has an updated interface/design. The software is great for managing data and combining all parts of the business under one software. But since it is able to cover most parts of the business, each sub-section lacks the benefits that you get with more customized software such as paperless free friendly accounts payable processing.

Pros

The best feature in COINS is related to how you can search/view/manage your data within the software. When searching for a specific piece of data you are able to search by many different fields to find what you are looking for, and if you are looking for a range of data you are able to search that way as well with many different fields as the range. In addition to this, you are able to customize how your data is shown to you on almost every page in the software--so it is much like excel in the sense that you can change what columns show and how they are sorted. Both of these are amazing features because typically there is much more restriction within other software that has a base set of searches and only shows information in one way. With COINS you can easily manipulate how you see your data depending on what you need to focus on and you can export any reports or search results quickly and easily to an excel document.

Cons

I spend the majority of my time in the accounts payable side of COINS and I do not think that COINS has the best accounting features. When entering invoices, you are taken to screens that only have data entry/matching pages and there is not a feature where you can view the invoice/document while also entering information--you can only add the invoice document as an attachment and to be able to see it you have to navigate to another page. I have worked with accounting software that allows you to automatically upload invoices to the software and then work through entering/coding them while the invoice shows on the same screen. With COINS, I have had to figure out a different way outside of the software to sort through my invoices and attach them as I go along.

Matthew

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

A Company with Similar Values

This complete ERP system has provided us with a single source of truth for data, and has allowed us to develop more efficient business workflows.

Pros

Software most fully addressed our numerous business needs as a complete ERP system and has a high degree of available customization.

Cons

Some areas of the software were newly developed and a bit clunky when we started, and the customization increases our QA load. However, great strides have been made in both areas.

Reasons for choosing COINS

Being a contractor that performs multi-million dollar Construction Management projects in addition to Daily Service Work and Unit Price Work, COINS was the product that best addressed our varied business needs. We also felt that company values aligned and that we would be a relevant customer, not just a number.

Reasons for switching to COINS

We were on an outdated version of PENTA for our job cost and accounting and over a dozen specific software solutions for specific business needs resulting in disjointed workflows, duplicate data entry, and a "tired" User Interface.

Holly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

Coins Software

Pros

I like the amount of data that the software can process and report. In payroll, I especially like that you can make an effective date for all payroll item changes and union rate changes. It makes payroll preparation that much easier during tax or union rate changes. Coins is also easy to use overall and helps us manage our jobs from forecasting to tracking actual job costs. Mobile tech is another great feature that makes it easier for our service department. And finally the support that we receive from the Coins help desk is usually timely and thorough, they are usually very knowledgeable and eager to help and assist us to correct any problems that we have.

Cons

I think the least thing I like about the software is I would like the ability to be able to create my own reports without having to go through the process of having Coins create one for me. So a little more flexibility with generating reports would be awesome. I also do not believe that we should have to pay to have a report made or modified, that we are paying the bi-annual license fees and have already paid for the program itself. I just don't think it should be a separate charge.

Reasons for choosing COINS

I was not here when the switch was made, but I believe that it was the mobile tech that made your program more attractive.

Reasons for switching to COINS

I believe Maxwell was going out of business and it was an old program.

Joseph

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

COINS easily connected our field and office teams.

With SM we were able to shorten both the dispatch and invoicing processes. With CDR we have been able to eliminate a third party software platform and make the daily task of approving field time more than just bearable. Both modules have increased the overall level of effective communication between field and office. The COINS implementation and account management teams have both been great to work with despite some implementation bumps (as to be expected of course); in the end a solution was always found.

Pros

While we are still relatively new to COINS, our initial wins have been with the Service Management (SM) and Crew Daily Reports (CDR). COINS SM has allowed our service team to step away from an outdated, manual, paper-intensive process to a fully integrated, paperless, mobile supported process. As a result SM has allowed us to more effectively service our customers. On the project side, CDR has connected our field and office teams with a mobile real-time data collection solution that replaced a third party time collection platform.

Cons

COINS is extremely flexible and at times can require a lot of initial setup, but the work is worth the effort.

Reasons for choosing COINS

The SM and CDR played a role in our selection as noted above, but other areas of functionality such as on-line forecasting and document imaging played a role in our decision.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Maxwell was at the end of its useful life and needed to be replaced with a total project management solution that included both service and mobile capabilities. In a nutshell, our old systems had not grown as we had over the years.

Tom

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS OA

We were originally a long time Coins TI system user and was looking to upgrade our system to a more modern platform. Upgrading an existing ERP can be a daunting task. Coins consultants worked with us every step of the way during our implementation process. When we experienced some development issues we were able to work directly with Coins developers to resolve our issues.

Pros

Browser-based and runs on-premise or in the cloud. Very configurable. Runs on open-source Linux software. Covers most all our ERP requirements. Native iOS applications for service management and construction and CRM. Active and ongoing development of the product.

Cons

A small learning curve for first-time users.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Our existing platform already used the Progress software database. This reduced the level of data migration needed during our implementation. Moving from TI, Coins worked with us upfront to reduce our total cost for implementation. We also realized that the Coins OA platform was undergoing aggressive development adding new features and functionality. We wanted a system that would grow and help us grow our business at the same time.

David

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS Product

The fact that we are able to run all of our entities and quickly maneuver from one to the other is great. Our company has had an overall very good experience with COINS.

Pros

The project management portion is great. Very easy to use for our project managers. It has helped tremendously in managing our jobs. Also, the support team is VERY good. Usually very quick and to the point helpful answers

Cons

Upgrading can be a slight problem when you are not totally familiar with the product. This gets easier with usage though.

Reasons for choosing COINS

Best PM software along with pricing.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Our legacy system was very old.

Robert

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

COINS Software

By moving to COINS we were able to eliminate several Excel spreadsheets that we were doing outside the system.

Pros

What I like the most about COINS is the ability for our project manager's to see progress on their jobs. COINS allow the project managers to manage their cost on each project, which in turn makes a more profitable job.

Cons

COINS provides several useful reports, but setting up the reports take more time than I like to spend on designing a report.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Maxwell was purchased by Viewpoint and Viewpoint was sun setting Maxwell.

Peter

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS is Adaptable

We bought COINS back in 1996 to handle the complexity of being a Industrial Specialty Contractor that works in multiple states and with its employees from many unions. I don't think there was a situation that it could not handle. As we changed and grew over the years, so did COINS. COINS also helped us mange that change.

Pros

The latest version COINS is very adaptable, it can handle changes to business process, last minute customer reporting requirements.

Cons

Since it is so customizable, implement can take while.

Reasons for choosing COINS

The handling of union payroll.

Reasons for switching to COINS

It was very limited.

Francis

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

COINS has been helping us to achieve success for over 30 years!

Our payroll is a huge challenge. We pay close to 2,000 employees weekly and we have a mix of union and non-union jobs. We were able to collaborate with COINS to create a method to quickly create and edit time cards that streamlined the process. COINS Customer and Technical Support are extremely knowledgeable and responsive. COINS Consultants and Project Managers are top notch and have always done whatever was necessary to help us configure and enhance the software to maximize it's usefulness for us.

Pros

COINS is constantly working to provide the best and most relevant software for the construction industry. They do this by collaborating with their clients and not by blindly making decisions behind the scenes. The product is robust from back office accounting and payroll to job performance/management and business intelligence.

Cons

The Health & Safety module leaves a lot to be desired. It is not at all user friendly to set up, rigid to maintain and frustrating to use.

Reasons for choosing COINS

We originally ran our business on software that was written completely in-house. We chose COINS to replace that. We were obviously heavily invested in COINS and had always had exceptional results with the software and had developed great working relationships with their staff. Our companies grew and evolved together over the years. We knew that COINS (the software and the people) would not disappoint us and would work together with us to ensure our ongoing success.

Clarissa

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

COINS Experience

COINS has helped our company process invoices, purchase orders, payroll a lot quicker than any other program.

Pros

COINS workflow invoice approval process, submitting time payroll time, job cost change orders.

Cons

The number of clicks to open a image or find data in the system.

Reasons for switching to COINS

We needed a much better purchase order system.

Chrissy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

Great company, great product

COINS is a growing, dynamic company and is very responsive to customer interests and needs. We've been a happy customer for years.

Pros

It is construction-focused and helps meet the needs of what we do every day. Job information is always at our fingertips.

Cons

International functionality is difficult.

Reasons for choosing COINS

Construction focused

Joe

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2020

COINS Review

Pros

COINS has a convenient web platform with user friendly interfaces. Access to a wide variety of project data has been made easy.

Cons

Product is updated often, which is a pro & con. Some testing involved, but normally worth it for the enhancements.

Jimmy

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS for a Mechanical Service Contractor

Pros

The bulk, concurrent, and multi update functions allow me to maintain our information quickly and efficiently. COINS OA has very powerful reporting and analysis tools along with tons of options to view your information so you can see it however you'd like.

Cons

It's not that intuitive. Even with training from COINS, you have to dedicate some serious time to learning this software.

Reasons for choosing COINS

This is the only product that we have found that the market that does everything we need it to. We do everything from small residential service calls to multi-million dollar construction jobs and COINS helps us do it all!

Tony

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS OA Review

Pros

COINS OA is very comprehensive; as well as addressing backoffice needs, it has allowed us to expand our reach (data collection, reporting, etc.) to remote users. In addition, it more broadly addresses the needs of our operational units.

Cons

Development is always forward looking. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, there could be more focus on versions that customers are using to run their business on a daily basis.

Reasons for switching to COINS

Additional/enhanced functionality, remote/mobile accessibility.

Christa

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

COINS

Pros

COINs system for a does work for our company. The ease to run reports for things such as Jobs, AP & Employee Services is very user friendly. The test environment is very helpful especially when it is time to upgrade system. I have use other ERP systems in the past..... compare to other systems COINS is very effective.

Cons

The COINS Documentation needs to be update. I have tried to use it when I had questions and the info is either missing or is not update.

Matt

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4