User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(60)

60

4 stars

(51)

51

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use User Friendly Accurate very very helpfull"

  • "Its very user friendly, time saving, to meet client deadline."

  • "Ease of Use, a great tool to use in estimating"

  • Cons

  • "Lot of features but no manual on how to use all the features"

  • "Initially getting all the "meat" for estimating of projects (Masters) can be a challenge. Pricing per license can get a little expensive if you do not make use of the program a lot. "

  • "Not easy to translate to stakeholders unfamiliar to programs. More dashboard views would be great. IRS all mono colour - therefore not easy to manage consultants. Same for LL Schedules."

Browse Candy Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 116 results

February 2019

Donovan from RCR Water Pty Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Candy estimating

Excellent, once established database and master can price complex items quickly and accurately

Pros

Features, layout of worksheets as well as the integrated planning and quantity offtake software.

Cons

Lot of features but no manual on how to use all the features

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Donovan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do have numerous manual available for all Candy features and modules, please contact your local support office and they will email them to you. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.

September 2019

Neschlin from ISF Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

CCS

CCS is great for pricing tenders. It is great for assisting with the preparations of the cost reports

Pros

I enjoy the estimating and valuations . I like the fact that you can customize it for your own uses.

Cons

The difficulty and amount of time that it takes to programme on CCS. There is a lack of clarity of how to link everything and pricing multiple items with the same description.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied October 2019

Dear Neschlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us. Regarding the difficulties you are having please see our consultants recommendation below, we hope this will help you: The Link in the Program and Estimate can be made easier with the Auto Link option. We have a webinar on the topic "Program Auto-link Code" - please see link here: https://vimeo.com/205014305/8b79c40066 Items with similar descriptions can be quickly priced using the Description Matching feature. We have a webinar called "Description Matching- Auto Price from Master", whose link is as below: https://vimeo.com/230590752/b190be4c20 We hope this helps. Please don't hesitate to contact your nearest CCS branch should you have any further issues. Have a super day.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

From an expert-level user

Pros

- I love having the level of information to which I can do costing, be as accessible to me as this software does it - the ability (though very very very under-utilized) to convert omney to a timeline is exciting

Cons

- the support line is geared to the average user. Not much in the wat for expert users - the inability to integrate with other big-name financial packages is a downer - a one fits all fee structure is frustrating. Because we're not all on the same level of skill.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Candy- A better alternative software for Project Management

It is a good alternative software for project management. Please try it, recommended.

Pros

I have experience with MS Project and Oracle Primavera for project management works and during the initial period, I struggled a lot to learn these softwares. But recently I got introduced with Candy and it is really simple to understand and more powerful to work. It is the most suited software for the construction firm and price-wise also the preferable option to go with Candy.

Cons

It always difficult to correct the mistakes and functional wise, MS Project is far better to compare with Candy. The popularity of this software is very low and there are very limited numbers of online tutorials available for Candy.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. You will be happy to hear that we are presently developing on-line tutorials for all Candy modules and hope to have them out within the year. In the meantime, we have User guides in the system that may help you and run Candy courses in various regions around the world - please follow the link below to find out what Planning courses we have and where they are being held. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/candy-courses-category/planning Thank you once again for your feedback. Have a super day.

January 2019

Coert from Mivami Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Candy is the best

I Have been in Civil Construction for more than 20 years and have been using Candy for about 15 ears. I use it every day not only for tender estimating but also for cash flows and much more. It is a great product, with great support.

Pros

Candy is by far the most user friendly program I have worked with and updates are done very often. I will never use another program for estimating tenders. You can structure it according to your needs and use your own experience to define your pricing.

Cons

I can not say anything negative about Candy, I almost want to call it perfect.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Coert, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 15 years. I know our Candy development & support teams will be happy to hear that their hard work is appreciated and that they in turn are there for you. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.

August 2019

Larozelle from Pentacon Civils (Pty) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Candy in my workspace...

I would definitely recommend Candy to any Construction business. You have to keep up with changing times to stay ahead of your competition and Candy is one of the best ways to do so. The courses that you can do with the program is also fantastic and you learn so much.

Pros

What I like most about Candy is the ease of using the product. Once you are set up and start going it makes your work a lot easier. It safes time and money, and in business time is money. I love how I can do my programming, subcontracting and pricing all at once. Project Management is made more efficient with Candy.

Cons

Initially getting all the "meat" for estimating of projects (Masters) can be a challenge. Pricing per license can get a little expensive if you do not make use of the program a lot.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied August 2019

Dear Larozelle, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so glad it has been so positive. Your feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

July 2019

Michael from LSP Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Management Tool

estimating is the catalyst for all the other applications. Candy makes the whole chain of administration from estimating to final account so much safer and easier

Pros

Cuts out repetitive work Acts a s a library of information Does all arithmetic, collection of data and sorting Links to accounts Links to time / programme

Cons

Some actions do not follow through into all applications eg The "No off"in estimating cannot be used in "Cost & Allowable"

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied July 2019

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

September 2019

Thehani from Civil & Structural Engineering Consultants (Pvt) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Best Project Management Software

I am using Candy to do simple project management programs.

Pros

Candy is a very powerful and very user friendly project management software where so many software such as MS Project, Oracle Primavera tries to be the leader. Out of all these products I like Candy because it is very easy to handle and less complicated. Price is also lower than the Primavera.

Cons

Candy is still less popular software when compared with other project management software. But Candy is moving fast towards the bigger market. So files needs to be compatible with other management software.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied October 2019

Dear Thehani, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us. With regards to compatibility, please be aware that programs created in Candy Planning Module can be exported to other planning tools like Primavera / MS project in "xml" format, similarly we can do an import into Candy from other planning tools in "xml". We have a webinar on this topic "Import, Export-Candy Planning with P6 & MSP" whose link is as below: https://vimeo.com/234456278/2dc968e6b9 We are glad you use Candy for simple projects, but please be aware that some of the most iconic building in the world have been estimated and project managed using candy - see link to Projects and Case Studies on our Website - I hope this inspires you to use it further. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/case-studies We assure you of our continued support and have a super day.

January 2019

Syed Shiraz from Habtoor Leighton Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

CCS / Candy

Witnessed a transformation of Candy from a DOS based platform to recent look which is not just a cosmetic touch it's enhanced like anything with strong features from setting up a job at pre-tender stage and helping through out the construction cycle till handover

Pros

Candy is a complete solution for a construction firm

Cons

cash flow needs some more improvement and reporting tools Couldn't explore it to a full extent

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Syed Shiraz, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

July 2019

Johan from Tractionel Enterprise

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great versatility

Candy's customer service is phenomenal, they offer great training sessions and constantly improve and innovate to keep the software in line with industry trends.

Pros

The software allows the user to customize a bespoke solution based any number of outcomes.

Cons

I cannot "undo" once I've moved off the line.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied July 2019

Dear Johan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

January 2019

Gultasab from El Seif Engineering and Contracting Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Candy as an Estimation Software

I always recommend to my colleagues and friends that CCS is the best estimation software for estimation purpose. I do believe that developer will maintain the quality and keep updating it as per the new requirement of digital era. We have variety of estimation software in the market and the developer are giving attractive packages to sell their product but CCS is still the best option. I believe that it would enhance the demand of this software if it becomes more competitive.

Pros

I have used many estimation software but I found CCS more User Friendly and the reason behind is that it's developed by the estimators keeping in mind the requirements of best estimation practices. I am using it since 2013 and never experienced that I was unable to furnish any type of report/summary which was requested by my employer.

Cons

When the CCS file get bigger the software functionality get slower. Recently, I have worked on a project with around 77 buildings, each building comprised very extensive BOQ and there were around 19,500 pay items. It was taking quite extra times to finalize the worksheets and I spent many extra hours to generate the excel version from CCS file. This issue must be resolved.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Gultasab, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

User-friendly construction cost modelling software

Users can get familiar with the software by vary basis knowledge, and if established a proper master CCS then very easy to price any project, however master should establish very carefully considering project requirements.

Pros

CCS providing user-friendly cost modelling solutions for construction projects to manage project cost from tender stage to until project completion. The CCS detailed cost estimation model help to produce a number of cost reports which will help during the decision-making process in the tender stage, as well as this cost model can use to establish the post contract cost control process, and able to produce cost reports such as cost to completion, cost value reconciliation and cash flow statements, etc.

Cons

Its required more time for the establishment of master CCS, and also only one estimator can work in one project, if two estimators work for one project by dividing into two parts, later if required to merge into one file, it is possible but not simple.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Candy User, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

January 2019

Jean Lorenzo from Basil Read

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Efectivness of the CCS in the Construction Field

I have been using Candy for almost 25 years, and the greatest plus is their constant upgrading, quality training and help at all times of the day. The consultants also go out of their way to sort out your problems. That is why I believe that they will be leaders in AI technology, and take next leap into a new fascinating world.

Pros

1) Complete package 2) Cradle to Grave 3) Able to use in motivation contractual claims 4) Interlinked between Tender, Costing, Measurement, Programs, Cash flow, Claims etc

Cons

1) To get the full use of the product the user needs to spend a lot of time working on it 2) The constant changes require aren't always apparent to the user 3) Artificial Intelligence has not been implemented in the product, where the program could understand your thinking process and assist with the creation and general work process 4) Artificial Intelligence could also be used for the more mundane chores, leaving the User to spend more time with the creative process 5) Artificial Intelligence could be used to monitor the original implementation and subsequent betterment due to AI. Time is precious, and if we can do the same work faster, with assistance from AI that would be a major plus

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

January 2019

Lulanga from Mota-engil

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

CCS

Valuation most of the time and estimating,i m trying to use QTO but it is very inefficient.

Pros

Very good estimating software rates can be built easily and utilize efficiently,no other software can compete in term of estimating and valuation

Cons

Functionality of QTO is very bad and inefficient,it is way behind other on screen measurements softwares.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Lulanga Thank you for your review on Candy. Your feedback and continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS. Have you tried our new and improved Candy QTO3? Changes include: 1. Automatic vertical scrolling to Variable and Detail sections of Take-off sheet 2. More intuitive drop down box to Units of the Variable section of Take-off sheet 3. Option to preserve line colours for PDF and DWG formats. This is a tick box on the drawing page (Drawing list) 4. Snap selection stored as per latest user selection. Does not change when "Count" tool used 5. Measurement bill default setting is Full description with No Blank lines. User may alter this setting 6. Copy and Paste from one drawing to another now available 7. When updating the Measurement bill, the system now does not close all drawings

January 2019

Martin Heinz from Probuild Construction Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy review

Have been using Candy from when it was still known as "Marsbar" in the 1980's, in tender planning and project control & monitoring in both building construction and civil engineering projects.

Pros

01. Can use a bill of quantities to allocate resources to tender- or construction programmes and therefore come to sensible programme activity durations very quickly. 02. Access to help (have built up a good relationship with the reps over the years & have always had excellent service). 03. The ease of using macros, saves me loads of time, especially when linking multiple activity strings.

Cons

Used to be able to import more fields when importing new programme activities; would like the option of importing text 01 to text 05 as well.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Martin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for close on 40 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Rajesh from Arman

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Must try this software - all estimation engineers/civil engineering student

Earlier our business used to suffer because of lack of resource planning and accurate estimation process. After candy introduction it made our business easy and we can plan cash flow and resource mobilization easily and estimation also accurate. We are now more competitive and won couple of project.

Pros

This software designed in such a way that it satisfy the need of all contractors/engineer. We can get ' n ' number of types of reports it helps you in financial planning, cash flow,resource planning, mobilization etc. It makes your estimation process easy and most effective way.

Cons

Price is not affordable for small firms and free lancers and some of commands need to be more friendly like MS excel, however if you practice candy even you can achieve required speediness in work

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Rajesh, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, its great to get feedback like this as our team is always encouraged to hear that Candy is being used correctly and helping you to win tenders & manage projects effectively . Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

March 2019

Frederick from Teichmann Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Construction through Candy

As an entity that operates across Africa in the civil engineering construction sector, candy is our preferred computer software. Their support/ technical teams are extremely efficient and patiently deal with our cross border users.

Pros

The software offers a dynamic array of reporting and management tools to the construction sector from pre-tender through construction execution and close out. CCS also offers ongoing updates improving their software and often improving their integration with other construction software packages.

Cons

It doesn't allow you to undo and action.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Dear Frederick, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last few years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

December 2018

Farhan from STmates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Most Comprehensive ERP System - Candy

I have used Candy primarily for estimating and planning. Estimates are the foundation of any construction projects. and Candy has one of the best estimating Modules which synchronizes with planning and post contract Cost valuation and monitoring.

Pros

It is designed to cater the construction industry, by construction professionals and they constantly improve the deficiencies, provided by the users and improve it. Its a daily basis transformation, moving with the technology, and I have not seen such a competent customer service by any software provider, as of now.

Cons

Nothing really. Perhaps the monthly licence, but they deserve that too!!

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Farhan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our long standing Users. Your continued support is highly appreciated.

January 2019

Larozelle from Pentacon Civils (Pty) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy - The Estimators friend

For us as a Civil Construction company Candy is helping us be more efficient with our time and money. To follow the process of a project with time and money is really helping us achieve our goals in a project. Doing a quick course in Candy does help a lot in understanding the program. What is also very efficient is if you priced an item once, the data is in your program and you just use the specific code to price the item. Overall I think Candy is a great Design and very effective and I will definitely recommend it to other Construction companies.

Pros

What i really enjoy about Candy is the time you save by pricing on Candy. Once your Candy is set up and running with you Master file, it's as easy as 1, 2, 3!!! Being able to load your Subcontractors on Candy and having them there is your best friend. Doing a program by using your information of your priced Bill of Quantities and being able to follow your cash flow all in one place is just brilliant and very efficient to you as Contractor, Quantity Surveyor, Site Agent and Estimator.

Cons

If you don't have a Master File to work from and you need to build your own Master file, then it can be quite a nightmare. Getting a Master file from another construction company and changing it to your standards and way of pricing and working is the easiest way to go.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Larozelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Life with Candy

Time saving, multiple project management and ease in project management and control

Pros

Working with Candy the past few years has increased the accuracy of the estimates, valuation and project control and management incredibly.

Cons

The only concern I have with candy is that if an error is made it is not easily correctable. The full integration of CCS and Buildsmart and QTO is complex and knowledge of the system and integration is learnt with numerous errors and trails. The course provide cover the scope but the executions differ from project to project.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, we appreciate the feedback from our users. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Neschlin from ISF Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

A PRICING DREAM!!!

Life Changing.

Pros

The way in which you can customise everything to yourself and your business, making it easy to do everything for a project on one program.

Cons

The program is very complex and to get started and acquanited with every aspect of the program is near on impossible.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Neschlin Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

December 2018

Bhim Prasad from Trojan General Contracting L.L.C

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Estimation tab is very useful for me. I have listed below the details.

Pros

1) Pricing for the next project is very fast. 2) Easy to make report in detailed. 4) easy the identify the resource. 5) Easy to maintain S/C price 6) Easy to reduce and increase the price. 8) Easy to transfer the resources, change the resources etc.

Cons

1) I don't get the amount using work code/ task code. 3) uses of master is little bit difficult. 4) update the recent complex resource which resource number are same is difficult.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Bhim Prasad, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

July 2019

Peter from Clear Choice Builders

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Construction Computer Software

Cost reports are life and up to date, procurement is executed as estimated/priced or within all allowable. CCS Buildsmart/CCS Candy hand and glove

Pros

It is user friendly, results driven and assist in ensuring an improved accurate level of reporting in all aspects

Cons

None, it and you always life you need internet to connect

Reasons for Choosing Candy

They were no offering value for our cash

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied July 2019

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Contractor's Viewpoint

Not enough development in planning

Pros

The planning side. It is critical to all our projects and allows you to manage all activities

Cons

Not easy to translate to stakeholders unfamiliar to programs. More dashboard views would be great. IRS all mono colour - therefore not easy to manage consultants. Same for LL Schedules.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Candy User Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. To help new Users, we do provide training in various locations on all aspects of Candy. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held worldwide. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region

January 2019

Junias from SML Projetcs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Awesomeness of Candy

It has been great. I am pleased with the ease with which I manage my projects.

Pros

The link between Estimating, Planning and Valuation is the best for me. A project is easily managed and the cost is accurately monitored. In the same program, one is able to manage the subcontractors should there be any.

Cons

Creating several duplicate files because of the inability of the software to keep a trail of modifications.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Junias, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last few years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.

December 2018

Mohammed Iqbal from Tech Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2018

Comprehensive tools with solution for Estimators

Pros

-No chances of arithmetical errors -Generating Reports makes it very useful to review the tenders/project - Easy to change the price of particular resource which will change the price in overall BOQ - Able to add different mark up for each trades

Cons

- Initial setup for pricing/estimation takes time - Not able to export pdf BOQ

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Candy User, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. We understand your concern regarding the building of the library but this is a one time task once you have built your library you will be able to do your estimate in no time.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy Review

Candy provides important information for costing purposes at a click of a button. I can import costs such as labour, plant & material for any item or trade at any given time.

Pros

Candy gives you real time costs. What I love most about it is that it is linked to the accounting system so there is no need to request costings from the accounts department, you can retrieve the information yourself via build-smart.

Cons

QTO which is the measurement tool takes a while to load drawings.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Good Day Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Geoff from EDWIN CONSTRUCTION

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy and Edwin Construction

We expedite the adjudication of sub-contractor and supplier experience and are able to compare with ease

Pros

Candy affords Edwin to tender professionally and once awarded a contract, reassess and compare actually current prices to tender prices. Forecasts for the projects are accurate and practical Valuations and cost reports are relatively simple to execute

Cons

The difficulty in correcting a mistake. No revert to previous facility button.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Geoff Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy Course

The Candy program is an all-inclusive package that takes care of all aspects of a building project..it just makes life and work easier!

Pros

The course is proudly South African developed. The course presenter is just a master and simplified the course. The Candy program is hugely beneficial and knocks socks off the competitors. I can honestly highly recommend the course to any construction firm and consider it an essential tool for any Contracts Manager as well as Quantity Surveyor who wants to keep track of cost and time.

Cons

There is nothing negative to say about this software; well done CCS!

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Thank you so much for the positive review of Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

CCS

Pros

the software is user friendly and easy accessible. after going through the practice book i was able to understand about 80% of how the software works

Cons

the manual and software quantity take off need some improvement. calculation from QTO (not the result) are hard to export onto worksheets

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Dear Candy User Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, it means a lot to us here at CCS. Manual take-offs have now been replaced by calc panels to link your measurements directly to the bill items. QTO is being updates and improved on an ongoing basis. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Kevin from Aveng Grinaker-LTA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

CCS in South Africa

Been using Candy for 10 years and happy that it is the best Estimating package around. Exellent backup service from local CCS offices

Pros

Software is very relevant to the local industry. The software is constantly being updated and enhanced.

Cons

No "Undo" function. More local training for eg. in Port Elizabeth.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Kevin Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. It means so much to us here at CCS and please be assured of our continued support. Regarding training, we run courses covering all aspects of Candy & at various levels of expertise. New users are urged to attend at least one 2 day course to get the best results. Please follow the link to our website for all courses held in Port Elizabeth. https://constructioncomputersoftware.com/training-candy Furthermore, all support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation.

January 2019

Nawras from Arabian Construction Company ACC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great Software

If you have the right input, then Candy is the best software to translate your inputs into priced job with great analysis and review reports

Pros

This software is made by people who practiced estimation, they took care of everything you may think about while pricing including the inputs and analysis reports.

Cons

I believe we must have the UNDO options in the coming versions.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Nawras Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Candy online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

February 2019

Stephen from Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

SPC Contractual and Time Management

Good

Pros

The software is well suited to construction

Cons

IRS and LLS, does not use current date to calculate and only uses Actual when entered so information overdue is not monitored with each update The copy paste function on LLS and IRS is not user friendly, you have to use R and drop continuously Cannot Import LLS and IRS from one programme to another

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Stephen Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. It means so much to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Ahmed Elsayed CCS Review

my experience in Estimation . I solved how calculate amounts of alternative items without adding to overall project total cost.

Pros

CANDY software save more time and easily review and updated . I can make many useful reports from CANDY.

Cons

Little reports can not be extracted from CANDY such as resources per trade with number of BOQs for repetitive BOQs.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Candy User, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

January 2019

ganesh from DBB Contracting LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Budget review and Cost control

To be honest i am really happy to work with the software and mainly we can control the materials in detail

Pros

It is very useful to review the budget and compare with the actual cost. Also it helps to notify the loss early and forecast for the Project can be verified every month or whenever need.

Cons

It is very difficult to understand and mainly confusion about codes. Also to note that time taken process during switch over menu (eg. Cost allowable to Valuation)

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Ganesh Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users.

July 2019

Andrew from Aveng Grinaker-LTA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Candy Review

Started using Candy about 25 years ago. Worked for small company at the time and after a lot of shopping decided on Candy, mainly for estimating at the time. Their support functions are excellent, with a quick turnaround time, especially when one is stuck in a monthend panic as befalls most of us at some time.

Pros

Quite easy to use Many features/functions (more than most people are likely to use) Constantly improving

Cons

Not much to dislike, and if there is it gets sorted out in updates

Reasons for Choosing Candy

At the time many of the alternative products were pre-populated with prices, an absolute no-no. Had to start setting Candy up from scratch, which actually was better and made one think through the process.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied July 2019

Dear Andrew, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 25 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in SA. Have a super day.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Speed in preparing estimates

My experience with candy has been great so far. I have increased my speed therefore improving time management in pricing tenders.

Pros

This software helps to keep an archive which is easily accessible to use for tendering.

Cons

That you cant undo something, once you delete something you cant go back to it, you have to start again.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Candy User, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last few years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

estimating in Powerlines

I am happy and would use nothing else, in whichever construction sector.

Pros

The software is versatile, and provides for the necessary flexibility in accurately costing a project.

Cons

The flexibility in Cost price adjustment could to with improvement, whereby it allows for multiple cost price adjustment formulas in a single project.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your review on Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

March 2019

Gavin from Bloc Contractors (Pty) Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

CANDY REVIEW

The speed with which complete estimates can be put together is a huge factor

Pros

From an estimating perspective, the easy with which an estimate can be constructed (from baseline and from a database) is effective in getting tenders out quckly and in time

Cons

The interface between programming and estimate. After working with MS Projects, it seeds the programming function is a bit limited

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Dear Gavin Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Candy, we appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Niel from Tractionel Enterprise

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Candy Review

I love the estimating module and all the functionality that goes with it. The integration into the Buildsmart accounting & procurement package makes your life a lot easier to track budgets & forecasting.

Pros

The ability to cross reference everything that was done. Pricing from 1st principles and to continue through project process until completion.

Cons

The fact that is not web based. Difficult to access from remote locations.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Niel Thank you for taking the time to review Candy, we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

January 2019

Anton from Cross Fire Management (Pty)Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Why i like Candy

We have solved a lot of issues with Estimating as we are now able to include and adjust all our cost drivers into an estimate. Adding and excluding cost items is extremely easy.

Pros

It is designed specifically for the construction industry

Cons

I don's know all the functionality and do not have the time to go on training courses.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Anton Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do facilitate monthly webinars with the purpose of upskilling our users and will be happy to forward the link to you, covering a substantial number of topics

January 2019

TIJOMON from Becon Construction LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy the Best Pricing Software

Very good Software, Customer service very nice. also it is very easy to use, once get experienced.

Pros

The different types of report are help us to satisfy everybody include managers. also in pricing, drill down up-to 9 level is easy create rates from Zero. Also Title function also to obtain different views of our BOQ.

Cons

some time reports will get error and PDF view will be corrupted

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Tijomon, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and please be assured of our continued support.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

All in one Estimating software

If candy is utilized fully per job then you get a clear understanding where you are losing or making money at a early stage. This keeps you out of the dark. Great program!! But sometimes a SAVE function will be awesome, but we are getting use to it.

Pros

It has all the functions and reports you need! The software runs smoothly.

Cons

Internet help is restricted - for example getting info on YouTube of CCS videos. You always have to call the call center, which is very helpful, but in some instances there is only a internet line or no access to a phone, then internet is your only option. Navigation on CCS is not too clear. Sometime you are looking a hour for a feature right in front of you!

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied February 2019

Dear Candy User Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated. We do facilitate monthly webinars with the purpose of upskilling our Users and will be happy to forward the link to this extensive list to you.

December 2018

RHEA from Kier Dubai LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

CCS RECOMMENDATION REVIEW

WE HAVE BEEN WORKING WITH CCS FOR ALMOST A DECADE AND THIS DRIVES MY INTEREST TO LOOK FOR OTHER COMPANIES USING THE SOFTWARE

Pros

VERY FLEXIBLE AND USER FRIENDLY. HAS CONSTANT UPDATES AND FEATURES

Cons

RENEWING/UPDATING THE LICENSE WE ARE FORCED TO GET THE LICENSE CODE FROM CCS PROVIDER. OTHERWISE NO COMPLAINTS

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Rhea, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 10 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in Dubai.

December 2018

Owen from Quantity Surveying Services Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Candy for Estimators

Candy allows the user to produce a true nett cost of a project, Including a proper risk analysis, cash flow and perspective on viewing costs from different views.

Pros

Estimating from first principles. Ease of use, Accuracy

Cons

There is nothing I do not like. Candy provides all that is necessary for senior management to have proper knowledge to submit a realistic Competitive accurate tender.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Owen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support.

March 2019

Derrick from Grinaker-LTA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Simplifying Estimating

Candy Simplifies the estimating process with this powerful software package while being flexible enough to customise to my needs. Managing my resource and subcontractor pricing is simple with easy export to a number of file types.

Pros

Coding system Resource manager Subcontract adjudicator Buildsmart integration Planning links Candy Support

Cons

Candy courses a must for beginners .

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied March 2019

Dear Derrick Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

December 2018

Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage from Carillion Alawi LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

The system is accurate, Help full, and easy handling, good support services.

I have work with Candy more then 9 years. It was very good for the tender pricing works and also latest updates versions are very help full.

Pros

latest updates versions are very imported.

Cons

I have used the Candy system for tender pricing per pours only. The all pricing tools are most impotent.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Dasanayaka Mudiyanselage, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are honored to have been by your side for the last 9 years. We want to assure you of our continued support in the future.

December 2018

Ahmed Fathy from Orascom Construction Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Good product almost

Candy actually helps us make a solid database, deal with the large and mega projects and held a good reports and comparisons

Pros

1.Easy to make a database 2. Easy to ake a cost estimate 3. Easy to deal with mega projects and multiple projects 4. Easy to shift data between projects 5. Easy to use features

Cons

Easy-to-use, very active and accessible

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Ahmed Fathy, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and please be assured of our continued support.

December 2018

Simon from Orascom Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Good Job but need some Upgrades

Candy is a Good Estimation Program . but will need some Upgrading

Pros

easy to use Friendly interface Good Reports structure

Cons

Limited number of Characters for the Resources Some Bugs that appear instantly need to be fixed for good . (like the storage area Error)

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied December 2018

Dear Simon, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Candy, your continued support is highly appreciated. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

January 2019

Pravin from CCS Gulf

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Candy the Best

As a QS it is saving my lots of time to generate report out of it, and can able to handle multiple projects at same time.

Pros

The Cost & Allowable Module, since it is leading me to the correct path to secure my profit margin

Cons

Speed of QTO tools is slower, and features are very less compare to other quantity takeoff software's

Response from Construction Computer Software

Replied January 2019

Dear Pravin, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Having been a Candy user for so many years we are lucky to have you now part of our Candy Consultant team.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 116 reviews