Candy Software Reviews

Candy Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.51

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Most important for me was the integrated planning and cashflow tool during the estimating phase and later for project control."
  • icon"It safes time and money, and in business time is money. I love how I can do my programming, subcontracting and pricing all at once."
  • icon"No delays or loading times, covers a wide range of topics and brings them together beautifully. More functions than I could ever hope to use."
  • icon"The difficulty in correcting a mistake. No revert to previous facility button."
  • icon"Some time reports will get error and PDF view will be corrupted."
  • icon"The inability to integrate with other big-name financial packages is a downer. A one fits all fee structure is frustrating."

Have you used Candy and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Candy Reviews

1-25 of 134 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Deon

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2016

Old and outdated

Horrendous user interface. Old, convoluted software, stuck in the nineties. Costs an arm and a leg, and requires extensive training before it can be used.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Deon Thank you for taking the time to review our software. Your feedback is important to us as we always want User expectations to be met & exceeded. Over 20,000 CCS systems are used worldwide to achieve tangible benefits in cost &time savings & an all-important competitive advantage in the most variable of industries. For almost 40 years, Candy has been continually updated in functionality & design to stay abreast of industry & technology trends & we regret that our user interface does not meet your expectations/requirements. Regarding training, we run courses covering all aspects of Candy & at various levels of expertise. New users are urged to attend at least one 2 day course to get the best results. All support & training staff are construction professionals providing expert, 24/7 aid & advice on the practical application of Candy in person, email, telephone or remote services. Please feel free to contact us directly if you'd like to talk about the specifics of your situation

Replied February 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Candy Review

Candy provides important information for costing purposes at a click of a button. I can import costs such as labour, plant & material for any item or trade at any given time.

Pros

Candy gives you real time costs. What I love most about it is that it is linked to the accounting system so there is no need to request costings from the accounts department, you can retrieve the information yourself via build-smart.

Cons

QTO which is the measurement tool takes a while to load drawings.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Good Day Thank you so much for your positive review, we highly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Replied January 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Candy Course

The Candy program is an all-inclusive package that takes care of all aspects of a building project..it just makes life and work easier!

Pros

The course is proudly South African developed. The course presenter is just a master and simplified the course. The Candy program is hugely beneficial and knocks socks off the competitors. I can honestly highly recommend the course to any construction firm and consider it an essential tool for any Contracts Manager as well as Quantity Surveyor who wants to keep track of cost and time.

Cons

There is nothing negative to say about this software; well done CCS!

Response from Construction Computer Software

Thank you so much for the positive review of Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our Users. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Replied January 2019

User Profile

Ahmed Fathy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

December 2018

Good product almost

Candy actually helps us make a solid database, deal with the large and mega projects and held a good reports and comparisons

Pros

1.Easy to make a database 2. Easy to ake a cost estimate 3. Easy to deal with mega projects and multiple projects 4. Easy to shift data between projects 5. Easy to use features

Cons

Easy-to-use, very active and accessible

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Ahmed Fathy, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and please be assured of our continued support.

Replied December 2018

Anton

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Complete package including Planning and Cashflow

We did use Candy for Estimating and Project Control. Planning was done either in Microsoft Project, Power Project or Primavera depending on the requirements of the clients. But because it was possible to export the data from these softwares to Candy Planning it was always possible to use Candy for the Cash Flow calculation and forecasts.

Pros

Most important for me was the integrated planning and cashflow tool during the estimating phase and later for project control.

Cons

The integration of the software in the overseas department was easy, for the local projects difficult because of the missing German language.

Reasons for switching to Candy

The integration of Planning and Cashflow during the estimate and to switch to Project Control and Forecasting after contract signature.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Anton, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to CCS and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied June 2020

Bruce

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Candy for Cost Estimating

Contract cost estimating is the backbone of this software. It is used daily for project costing and planning with great accuracy and the peace of mind that the outputs are sound.

Pros

Candy is easy to use and integrates well with the other RIB offerings. It handles the project from beginning to end. From costing, resourcing, planning, to cost control, valuations and tracking progress everything can be done with one software package. Integrates well with BuildSmart.

Cons

Sometimes a little user unfriendly and does not allow for two different projects to be worked on simultaneously. No real complaints!

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Bruce, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Farhan

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2018

Most Comprehensive ERP System - Candy

I have used Candy primarily for estimating and planning. Estimates are the foundation of any construction projects. and Candy has one of the best estimating Modules which synchronizes with planning and post contract Cost valuation and monitoring.

Pros

It is designed to cater the construction industry, by construction professionals and they constantly improve the deficiencies, provided by the users and improve it. Its a daily basis transformation, moving with the technology, and I have not seen such a competent customer service by any software provider, as of now.

Cons

Nothing really. Perhaps the monthly licence, but they deserve that too!!

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Farhan, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy, it's always a pleasure to hear from our long standing Users. Your continued support is highly appreciated.

Replied December 2018

Michael

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Management Tool

estimating is the catalyst for all the other applications. Candy makes the whole chain of administration from estimating to final account so much safer and easier

Pros

Cuts out repetitive work Acts a s a library of information Does all arithmetic, collection of data and sorting Links to accounts Links to time / programme

Cons

Some actions do not follow through into all applications eg The "No off"in estimating cannot be used in "Cost & Allowable"

Reasons for switching to Candy

Company I moved to had purchased Candy and asked me to learn it and implement it

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valued feedback is very important to us and we assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied July 2019

Erick

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2021

Candy Estimating Software

Very Happy, been using CCS Candy for more than 15 years.

Pros

Centralized database allows you to combine historic information from multiple projects at one point for ease of Estimating new Projects. The coding system speeds up the Estimating process.

Cons

Out of an consultancy point of view certain functionalities and layouts needs to be added to Candy to gain more users in this sector.

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Erick, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We'd like to assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied November 2021

Stephen

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

SPC Contractual and Time Management

Good

Pros

The software is well suited to construction

Cons

IRS and LLS, does not use current date to calculate and only uses Actual when entered so information overdue is not monitored with each update The copy paste function on LLS and IRS is not user friendly, you have to use R and drop continuously Cannot Import LLS and IRS from one programme to another

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Stephen Thank you so much for taking the time to review Candy. It means so much to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Replied February 2019

User Profile

Coert

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Candy is the best

I Have been in Civil Construction for more than 20 years and have been using Candy for about 15 ears. I use it every day not only for tender estimating but also for cash flows and much more. It is a great product, with great support.

Pros

Candy is by far the most user friendly program I have worked with and updates are done very often. I will never use another program for estimating tenders. You can structure it according to your needs and use your own experience to define your pricing.

Cons

I can not say anything negative about Candy, I almost want to call it perfect.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Coert, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 15 years. I know our Candy development & support teams will be happy to hear that their hard work is appreciated and that they in turn are there for you. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region. Have a super day.

Replied January 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2019

estimating in Powerlines

I am happy and would use nothing else, in whichever construction sector.

Pros

The software is versatile, and provides for the necessary flexibility in accurately costing a project.

Cons

The flexibility in Cost price adjustment could to with improvement, whereby it allows for multiple cost price adjustment formulas in a single project.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Thank you for your review on Candy. Your continued support is highly appreciated and important to us here at CCS. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and our users' experience, your feedback has been passed on to the concerned team for review.

Replied March 2019

User Profile

Larozelle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Candy - The Estimators friend

For us as a Civil Construction company Candy is helping us be more efficient with our time and money. To follow the process of a project with time and money is really helping us achieve our goals in a project. Doing a quick course in Candy does help a lot in understanding the program. What is also very efficient is if you priced an item once, the data is in your program and you just use the specific code to price the item. Overall I think Candy is a great Design and very effective and I will definitely recommend it to other Construction companies.

Pros

What i really enjoy about Candy is the time you save by pricing on Candy. Once your Candy is set up and running with you Master file, it's as easy as 1, 2, 3!!! Being able to load your Subcontractors on Candy and having them there is your best friend. Doing a program by using your information of your priced Bill of Quantities and being able to follow your cash flow all in one place is just brilliant and very efficient to you as Contractor, Quantity Surveyor, Site Agent and Estimator.

Cons

If you don't have a Master File to work from and you need to build your own Master file, then it can be quite a nightmare. Getting a Master file from another construction company and changing it to your standards and way of pricing and working is the easiest way to go.

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Larozelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in your region.

Replied January 2019

RHEA

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2018

CCS RECOMMENDATION REVIEW

WE HAVE BEEN WORKING WITH CCS FOR ALMOST A DECADE AND THIS DRIVES MY INTEREST TO LOOK FOR OTHER COMPANIES USING THE SOFTWARE

Pros

VERY FLEXIBLE AND USER FRIENDLY. HAS CONSTANT UPDATES AND FEATURES

Cons

RENEWING/UPDATING THE LICENSE WE ARE FORCED TO GET THE LICENSE CODE FROM CCS PROVIDER. OTHERWISE NO COMPLAINTS

Response from Construction Computer Software

Dear Rhea, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences online. It means a lot to us here at CCS and we are proud to have been by your side for the last 10 years. We look forward to seeing you at the next CCS Candy User Seminar in Dubai.

Replied December 2018

Robert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Candy - excellent suite of construction applications including a best in class Estimating system

My overall experience of using Candy has been very positive and I would not hesitate to recommend it

Pros

Easy to use and can be used to prepare transparent estimates from first principles for any construction project

Cons

The electronic quantity taking off facility could be improved

Response from RIB CCS

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's much appreciated and very important to RIB CCS and your fellow Users. We assure you of our continued support. Have a super day.

Replied December 2021

mohamed

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY