Dataforma Software Reviews

Dataforma Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.34

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"They typically don't go on the roof and to send photos to them helps them to see what work was performed and that builds trust with the customers."
  • icon"We run all our operations in Dataforma. It has been our system for 12 years and we have great success."
  • icon"System stability and support has always been first rate. Great value for the investment."
  • icon"Lack of ability to track employee training records. Cost of use changed from unlimited users to a pay by user basis after we had been signed up for several years."
  • icon"Needs to be designed/ organized by a roofer and not a computer engineer. Dataformas on-boarding staff did a poor job in follow up."
  • icon"We are no longer able to pull hours out the way we used to which caused hours of lost time on our end in order to develop a new system. No ability to track quanities of product installed."

Have you used Dataforma and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Dataforma Reviews

1-25 of 105 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Lisa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Dataforma Review

It has been a great experience. It has actually streamlined our side (Service) of the business and allows us to invoice quickly and get info to our customers in a timely manner. DF was able to patch into our accounting system which is very helpful.

Pros

I love the convenience of the program. I can pull information within seconds. Also the calendar is great as well. You can do so much through the calendar. The mobile app is easy for our techs to use so we are getting real time information that can be passed to the customer. In addition, we can do inspection reports while the techs are on site and send to the customer and even get approval and start to process of the repairs. I also like that a customer gets the photos and that has made a big difference with our customers. They typically don't go on the roof and to send photos to them helps them to see what work was performed and that builds trust with the customers.

Cons

I believe the biggest con would be the new changes. Some of the changes make our part of what we use in the system more difficult. I wish there would of been a little more time spent on the training with some of the changes. The "employee" portion seems to be the most difficult since we aren't using DF to do payroll, there are extra steps now. Something else that is a "con" is the credit memo process. They show up as "paid in full" and that can be difficult to follow. It would be nice if they showed up as a credit memo.

Reasons for choosing Dataforma

A lot had to do with the mobile account. It was easy for the techs to use so we ultimately when with it.

Danielle

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

No Comparison - Best Overall

I have worked with DataForma in varying capacities since 2007. I have also worked with other "online based" contractor systems and hands-down DataForma is the easiest, all-inclusive, best value system I have used. DataForma is built for roofing contractors and when used it just cannot be beat. The functionality is amazing, and the continued growth and development keeps up with technology and the demands of roofing contractors. The complete history kept in easy access.

Pros

The way DataForma links everything together is amazing. To be able to know one solid piece of information and search other relationships back from that point to find what you need is amazing!! But then that does not say enough about document storage, ease of access and use, and the 1-point location for finding everything you need at your fingertips.

Cons

There are a few things that could use some tweaking. The Leads module - while we use it as a good tool it would be great to be able to transition a lead to a Work Order without having to re-enter the information. It would also be nice when using the search function to be able to click on the headings and sort by that heading.

Nathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 6 months

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2016

Flexible and robust functionality with great support.

We started using Dataforma a little over three years ago when we were informed about it during a trade conference. This was a large shift for us and as a roofing company, our end users were not technically proficient to begin with. We immediately noticed how supportive their staff was in making sure we transitioned to the software as smoothly as possible; they even had a company representative visit our offices to help train our staff. The software is fairly robust and there are a number of fields that can be populated in order to retrieve detailed information for reporting and reference as needed. Once familiar with the basics, we were able to speak directly with the Dataforma developers to have custom templates produced for data experts and reporting needs. The stability of the system has been absolutely consistent as they have redundant servers in multiple states. Over time we have been excited to find new ways to improve our operations, scheduling, accounting and basic CRM needs by becoming more familiar with the software and communicating with a helpful and readily available support staff. We now attend biannual super user conferences where the system administrators and various users from different companies can confer directly with the Dataforma design team. The events are very helpful in that we also confer with other users to find new ways to better use and adapt the software to our ever-changing needs.

Pros

The software is very robust and capable of producing reporting from a variety of perspectives and directions. The software continues to improve as the developers actively seek input from the end users. System stability and support has always been first rate. Great value for the investment.

Cons

Initial learning curve can be a challenge to some but the quality support makes this less of an issue. Looking forward to expanded accounting functionality.

Kyle

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2017

Dataforma for Roofing Companies

Having had extensive experience with several CRM programs designed specifically for the Roofing Industry over the past 13 years, I have been working with DataForm for the first time over the past year. We have considered leaving them for more functional software better designed for our industry, but with all the information they hold for us, we are still sticking it out. Actually, I am realizing that most of the reasons our company is not happy with it, is because they are only utilizing a fraction of what it is capable of doing. Not only that, but over the past year, they have added an entire envelope of new account management features that improve the front end and follow up account management practices that had been previously lacking. Why are there 3 different ways to do just about everything? Why does it matter so much if you click a notebook icon versus a notebook title when they should be a single movement? These are the things that can be frustrating to a new user, but once learned, this program can do a great deal - a true all-in-one package - for you business. It has been around a bit longer than most, so it is understandable for there to be room for improvement in ease of application.

Pros

How much information you can put within it, and how many different aspects of your business it can apply to.

Cons

Easy of operation....or should I say, lack thereof

Molly

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2019

Comphrensive CRM and project solution

Great tool for lead/project tracking, holding sales reps accountable to run leads and enter bids, and having all pertinent project information in one place that everyone can easily see. Industry specific, so not a whole lot of customization needed. Dataforma can customize almost any template to export your data. The price is super affordable for what they offer. If full accounting software was ready, it would be even better. Right now, there's a lot of double entry, but hoping that integrating Dataforma accounting with the current CRM will make things more efficient soon!

Pros

Scheduling capabilities Reporting functionality User-friendly Field app Document Solution Accessible Remotely

Cons

Full accounting functionality not available yet, resulting in double entry of projects in Dataforma and other accounting software Bulky-- have to enter information for projects in multiple places (buildings, contacts, etc...once it's all there, it's a great tool)

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2018

Dataforma for Roofing

We are starting to use more of the features with Dataforma. We like the ease of tracking estimates with the different databases

Pros

Using this software has allowed us to keep our service department running smoothly. It makes looking for contact information and a full history of service dates easily accessible.

Cons

Allowing our customers access to their history does not seem to flow smoothly

Leann

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Anytime I need help I just call and I always get my question answered on the first try.

The biggest benefit is being able to see everything we have done since we have been in business without looking thru a filling cabinet

Pros

Stores all my information for jobs and helps me keep track of them, you can run reports on just about anything you would every need, at anytime I can see how much work we have done for a customer (no more looking thru years of files), they are always adding new details and upgrades to make the program faster and easier to use, the app is great for the field techs, it emanates a lot of paperwork, I can do my work from anywhere as long as I have a computer or table

Cons

Sometimes a work order gets opened on a wrong build and I would like to be able to move it to the correct building instead of closing it out and opening a new work order

Adrian

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Perfect for Construction Services

Dataforma is THE business management tool for the construction industry. The software allows the user to collect and retrieve any piece of information needed to serve the customer.

Pros

Easy to use! There are many business management software options but many of them are convoluted and leaves users unsure of how to output the data they need to effectively service the customer. Dataforma breaks down the business into modules which makes it easy for the users to get all the information they need to provide impeccable customer service.

Cons

I cannot think of one aspect within the software which doesn't make my life easy; it really is that great!

Marcella

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Dataforma is the KEY to organization!

The experience has been trial and error - but the outcome was worth it. The training course we paid for I felt should have been done later. It is too hard to learn every detail of the program when first being introduced to it. Customer support was fantastic - but we just had SO many questions about simple operations.

Pros

The flexibility in combining levels of information between Company, Contact and Building. The Work Order / Field Ticket app that simplifies sending reports to clients.

Cons

The inability to create custom templates without having to go thru the company and paying additional for these.

Reasons for switching to Dataforma

Cost. Flexibility in information. Desire to easily present info and reports to clients.

Terry

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2018

Dataforma has streamlined our service department.

Pros

The ability to access all of the service departments work from any computer, tablet or phone. The cloud storage of photos is also a great feature.

Cons

I would like the app to be set up for office use. Currently the app is designed for the field techs. If you are out of the office and need to schedule work, you will have to log in through the website.

Brendan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

September 2019

Great Idea but I need more help

Pros

I like that the company wants Dataforma to do all things. HR, Accounting, CRM, they have a lot of features.

Cons

There are so many features and to set them all up in the back end is very labor some. So much so I don't even think that I use even a fraction of the capabilities. They have webinars but it is so hard to know what to focus on.

Marissa

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2018

This system helped us get rid of thousands of pages of paper and helped track client information.

Pros

Easy to use and track client data. Allows us to find work history very easily for buildings, clients, etc.

Cons

Sometimes it feels like you have to click multiple times to do something. Like when you have to print a work order. Also, when you need to change building info you can't do a mass change you have to do each one individually.

Geoff

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

3.5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5

June 2015

Great software for management of customer info in a Service Department

Pros

DataForma allowed us to be much more effective and efficient in serving our customers. The organized way information is kept and the relationships that are built between data allow for an account manager to quickly answer customer questions.

Cons

The software user interface can be overwhelming at times. There are a lot of options on any given screen. This is necessary because of the power of the software but it needs some polishing, particularly for use with mobile or tablet devices.

Curtis

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2015

Dataforma is a great asset to our company!

Pros

Dataforma has helped us streamline our service work and has given us a central location to manage all of our important documents for each job. It's web-based, so any of our employees can log in, no matter where they are. The mobile app has been very useful for our field technicians as well.

Cons

The only issue we've had has been a request for automation on email generation for reminders, events, etc. But, this information is available on each employee's home screen.

Lisa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

All In One System

Dataforma helped us get control over the entire process. It helped to streamline what it takes to go full circle. Keeps everyone in the know and has been a lifesaver in regards to being able to jump in anytime anywhere.

Pros

I love the library and being able to customize reports with photos and captions.

Cons

Feels like some things can be a bit repetitive

Reasons for choosing Dataforma

Dataforma seemed to have all the bells and whistles needed to go full circle and cut down on countless spreadsheets.

Reasons for switching to Dataforma

Dataforma is an all in one software package, it helped to eliminate several programs

Erica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4