User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(6)

6

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like that it has estimating capabilities incorporated into the program. Took me awhile to figure out how to connect costs, but once I did it was helpful. "

  • "Very intuitive to use. Much more flexible than many of the legacy software systems we have used in the past."

  • "What I love about Estimator is the ease of sorting estimates. You can find a particular item using the numerous sorting options by WBS properties. "

  • Cons

  • "The 2D takeoff is a little cumbersome. Linking existing takeoff to new items can be a hassle."

  • "Takeoff tool could be better. They have committed to upgrading."

  • "-Involved software setup period -User interface can be tricky sometimes"

Browse DESTINI Estimator Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -36 of 14 results

June 2019

Rob from Harper Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great product & great team!

We have streamlined a previously disconnected process.

Pros

This brought all of our estimating functions into one software package.

Cons

Takeoff tool could be better. They have committed to upgrading.

Response from Beck Technology

Replied March 2020

Thank you for the 5-star rating, Rob! We have made significant enhancements on the quantity takeoff feature inside DESTINI Estimator in 2019 and are currently working on some new enhancements for 2020. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact us at support@becktechnology.com .Thanks again for your continued support!

June 2019

Melissa from Sundt Construction

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Sundt Construction's Review

Our overall experience with Beck has been fantastic. We started using DProfiler about 10 years ago and have worked closely with the company to develop the features within Estimator. They are a company who listens to their costumers needs and have dedicated themselves to further enhancing the software.

Pros

The greatest pro of Estimator is the ability to easily sort and display pricing, allowing for changes and updates to made easily. The database our company works with includes preset coding for CSI, Procurement Packages, Systems Format, etc. to allow an Estimator to quickly export information into whatever format an Owner or team member may prefer. This preset ability to sort line items, also allows an Estimator to easily access any project within the company and have the ability to easily sort or find information to their preference.

Cons

A con would be the updating of software. This con comes with a pro, in the sense that Beck Tech has listened to the market and our needs and are frequently updating the software to meet the ever-changing market and technology upgrades. However, the added con is the updating of unit pricing and database information as well as someone managing the software updates to be able to use the software to its fullest potential.

July 2019

Blake from The Beck Group

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Estimator Review

I think estimator is a great program that will be great once certain features are introduced to assist overall workflow.

Pros

I like that it has estimating capabilities incorporated into the program. Took me awhile to figure out how to connect costs, but once I did it was helpful.

Cons

There are several features missing that would create an easier workflow. I would like to see the program include a drop-down list of some kind for organizing drawings and be able to click on them and jump directly to pages. It would also be helpful to have some sort of indication next to the pages that shows which have takeoff in them. It would also be nice to have some sort of shared file storage so that a network of people could have access to projects and be able to work and see a variety of projects. Another feature that would be helpful is to have a way to turn layers on and off to eliminate clutter in the takeoff sheet. Maybe be able to turn bid tab's on and off.

June 2019

Jeff from Harper Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Great Commercial Contracting Estimating Software

Great, we are very pleased with Destini Estimator.

Pros

-Easy to use, intuitive -Constantly updated & improved -Customization -Accurate -Targeted to preconstruction, not a suite of software products -Good customer service & training

Cons

-Involved software setup period -User interface can be tricky sometimes

June 2019

Jason from The Beck Group

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Experienced User

I have a background as an extensive MC2 and Timberline user. Estimator seems to have the ease of use and robust sorting capabilities of MC2, which I have really enjoyed. Adding/creating line items is easy. My experience with the 2D takeoff tool is that it's not robust enough for me to use on a regular basis and needs significant improvement to be a contender with OST, especially for larger projects that require QTO to be broken out into different zones. I have extensive experience creating takeoff assemblies inside the program and have been pleased with the ease with which it can be done. Creating reports seems non-user friendly. However, that was a challenge in MC2 as well with its Crystal Reports plug-in. Timberline isonly slightly easier in that respect.

Pros

The ease of creating WBS codes and the user friendliness of sorting estimates is its strongest attribute. The ability to program assemblies is also strong. The ability to link the estimate directly to quantity takeoff can be beneficial.

Cons

The 2D takeoff tool lacks some critical functionality that keeps me from using it as my primary takeoff tool. (zones/layers) I'm accustomed to using a QTO tool as a record of an estimator's takeoff that can be accessed by others. The Estimator 2D takeoff tool doesn't seem to allow that functionality.

July 2019

Brian from The Korte Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Estimator Review

Pros

Highly flexible for sorting and viewing data. Easy to produce custom breakdown reports with the Dashboard.

Cons

Currently does not have the ability for more than one estimator to be using the software at the same time. That feature is coming soon though.

Reasons for Choosing DESTINI Estimator

Fixed price for implementation and creating a custom database specific to our company. The plan for improving the product and enhancing it as technologies continue to change.

Response from Beck Technology

Replied March 2020

Thanks for the review, Brian! Stay tuned for the new release of DESTINI Estimator, which will support multi-user access to all features in the platform (including integrated estimating and takeoff functionality). -Stewart Carroll (President at Beck Technology)

April 2019

Jonathan from Sundt Construction

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

DEstimator Review

Pros

DEstimator has been a great tool for us in our estimating process. Great sorting and filtering functions, 2D and 3D takeoff capabilities, estimate comparisons, etc. all have helped make us a more efficient estimating team. Another great pro is the support staff from Beck Technologies -- the best customer service I have ever had from a software company.

Cons

Don't really have any, just the internal struggle to keep up with their releases. Because they listen to their customers, they are constantly testing and releasing new features, which can be hard to keep up with if your internal IT processes aren't as agile.

April 2019

Greg from Snyder Langston

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Timesaver

We have been able to seamlessly transition to a location/component segregated bid tab excel spreadsheet that the entire staff can use.

Pros

Transfer from D-Profiler. WBS codes, flexibility. Transition to excel bid tab spreadsheet is seamless, resulting in a powerful tool to analyze bids and ensure a complete estimate. Best estimating software I've ever seen and I've used them all.

Cons

Screens are actually a bit complicated to open and arrange. Loses the quantity formulas that originated from D-Profiler.

June 2019

Donnie from The Beck Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Excellent Product

Isolating costs for Uniformat vs Bid Tab vs Base/Alt is really handy. You always have a clear picture of what is included in your estimate.

Pros

What I love about Estimator is the ease of sorting estimates. You can find a particular item using the numerous sorting options by WBS properties.

Cons

The 2D takeoff is a little cumbersome. Linking existing takeoff to new items can be a hassle.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

The rocketship to the future.

Pros

DESTINI Estimator helps our business work more efficiently and effectively. We've been doing estimates in much of the same manner for close to 60 years. DESTINI brought our business into the 21st century. We are now quicker and more accurate with our bids.

Cons

Due to the range of options for each aspect of a bid, it takes a little work to understand. The training time for each employee has ranged from 8-30 hours based on their knowledge of computers and how bids are put together.

April 2019

Matt from Haselden Construction

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Forward-Thinking

We have a great working relationship with Beck Technology. They have Best-In-Class customer service, and are willing to help us long after we have "gone live" with the product.

Pros

Estimator is built around feedback from the industry. The functionality continues to evolve with each new version based on input from its users, which is relatively rare as far as estimating software goes.

Cons

Creating assemblies is cumbersome - too many clicks and inputs to achieve the outputs.

March 2019

Michael from Clark Construction Group

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Review

Pros

Flexibility in switching between cost codes / WBS's Integrated Takeoff within suite

Cons

Can be a bit overwhelming at first, I anticipate there will be a learning curve for newer users

March 2019

Alexander from PC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

New Estimating Software

Pros

Very intuitive to use. Much more flexible than many of the legacy software systems we have used in the past.

Cons

None thus far. Great gains in productivity in the department

June 2019

David from Harper General Contractors

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

President engaged in the purchase and a high veiw of its performance

Excellent

Pros

I like that thus far the estimating software and the support have been very much in line with the discussions during the sale of the software. MY estimating team says the software operates as they had expected and that the support from the rep has surpassed their expectations

Cons

the survey will not allow me to say that I do not have any cons

Reasons for Choosing DESTINI Estimator

believed that it was the best solution to our estimating function to make it more effective and efficient.