All FastPIPE Reviews

1-25 of 132 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Features That Match Our Needs

It has made our estimating process reproduceable by all who use it. All bids come onto a common spreadsheet that allows for easy review. Fast-Pipe was easy to get set up the way we like it and an easy takeoff function made for an easy transfer of systems when we purchased the Fast-Pipe system.

PROS

We are a mid size PHVAC contractor ($3-5M/Yr) and our prior system was more advanced than we required. Fast-Pipe has the features we need without a lot of features we would never use. It has an easy interface from Plan Loading to Spec Adjustments to takeoff ease. The other feature we like is a direct transfer of the outputted data onto a very user friendly bidding spreadsheet. Our former software required us to manually design a spreadsheet and transfer basic data by hand in order to bid the project.

CONS

It can be time consuming to track down specific items in the data base catalog if you aren't sure how they are originally placed.

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

We were looking for a new system that was not tied into a Project Management System. We were getting less and less customer service on the estimating side.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Chris! We appreciate your feedback. Not sure if you're upgraded our latest version of FastPIPE or not (just give us a call at 800-828-7108 if not, and we'll get you updated), but one of our newer features is the Catalog search function, which makes the process of searching for specific items much easier than before. Thanks again for your input!

Replied April 2020

Steve

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

FastEst is ALL you need.

Great product, great service. Non-complicated, in less than an hour, you will be building an estimate.

PROS

I have used several different "top brand" programs during my ongoing 30 yr career as an MP estimator and project manager. Programs that varies in the ranges, from digitizer to on screen take off. The pipe & duct programs are so easy to use, you almost wonder - can this be true. We're programmed to work harder, not smarter. FastEst changes all that. Estimating efficiency and accuracy is what FastEst provides for me, not to mention the affordable price and options you can select for your particular needs. The other very, very important selling point is that when I have an issue and call the help line.....the person who answers the phone helps you right then - your issue is resolved. NONE of the competition does that, you place your call, they take your info then hopefully someone calls you back timely. FastEst customer service is the best.

CONS

That my competitors may discover FastEst....... I'd like to push one button for the material price updates and be done. Currently we get our materials quoted anyway as most of our bids are sizable.

James

Construction

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2014

FastPIPE review

PROS

Putting data in is very easy with this software.

CONS

Getting data out could be better. It needs more options.

EDWARD

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

FastPIPE Review

MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE HAS BEEN VERY GOOD. THE SOFTWARE IS EASY TO LEARN AND THE SUPPORT IS FANTASTIC WHEN REQUIRED (INSTALLING ON NEW LAPTOP).

PROS

THE ABILITY TO IMPORT PLANS, PROCEED WITH TAKEOFF, AND OVERLAY REVISED PLANS TO SEE THE CHANGES THAT HAVE BEEN MADE. THE ABILITY TO INCREASE THE PLAN SIZE IN TAKEOFF IS A GREAT ASSET AS YOU CAN PRINT THE VISIBLE PORTION ONLY IF REQUIRED.

CONS

I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A SEARCH BAR TO FIND PAST JOBS AND I WOULD LIKE THE JOB LIST TO BE AT THE TOP IN LIEU OF REFRESHING.

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

THE FIRM I WORK FOR NOW HAD ALREADY PURCHASED FASTPIPE. I HAD ESTIMATION WHEN I WAS IN BUSINESS AND RETIRED.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Edward! We appreciate your feedback. Per your comments in your review, I believe you're on our latest version nowadays (version 20.1.1), so you now have both job list search and catalog search available, among other search options we've recently added. And related to job list refresh, let us know of your exact issue. If it's related to needing to view your most recent bids at the top of your list, you can click the "Bid Date" header to sort by oldest or newest, depending on your preference. Thank you again for your input -- please reach out anytime at 800-828-7108 for any questions or further suggestions you might have.

Replied May 2020

Jason

Construction, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

FastPipe is a lifesaver

Our company is involved in may multi-million dollar projects. Many that are not designed when we first receive the plans. FastPipe allows me to draw piping while creating an estimate and afterwards, I can print the plans with my layout to share with the owner/engineer team to indicate the extensiveness we went through to create an accurate budget. Additionally, we now don't have the need for so many people to complete the task of estimating which frees up resources for other departments

PROS

This software allows me to take on at a minimum twice the projects compared to taking PVF off by hand. I have used other estimating software in the past that really over complicated the process

CONS

Some of the takeoff button script is a little on the small side. Larger text would be helpful but its a give and take as I don't want to lose takeoff screen size for larger text

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

Cost, ease of use

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

Their product was not user friendly and this is a big factor in getting our budgets completed and properly assessed

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Jason! We truly value your feedback. We're here for you, if you or any of your other team members ever have any questions or need assistance with the FastPIPE program. Call us anytime at 800-828-7108.

Replied December 2019

Edward

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Best Estimating software on the market!

I have been estimating for almost 20 years and have used two other programs before Fastpipe and can say honestly that fastpipe is by far the best and easiest estimating program I have use. They listen to any changes we think would improve there product, I use it daily for over 7 years now.

PROS

Reliable, easy to uses, Fastpipe always keeps up on updating the data base and are always improving their product to keep up or stay ahead of the market. Great customer service, we have built up a relationship with the guys both professionally and personally.

CONS

The only thing I can think of if we could have (2) of the program open on one computer once we have (2) or more licences.

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

Designed by a plumber so it is easy to uses.

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

Started working for Stewart Mechanical and that is what they were using

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Ed! We truly value your feedback. As you mentioned, we are always receptive to any feedback and suggestions from customers (that's how many of our best and most helpful features have come to fruition). Please reach out at any point, as we're happy to help with any questions or problems big or small. Thank you again, Ed, for your review of FastPIPE!

Replied May 2020

Robert

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

FAST PIPE

I have been using Fast pipe for over 20 years and it allows me to estimate a job accurately and have it organized for installation. its just a very efficient way to estimate a job.

PROS

-The ease of use is awesome. you can down load a set of drawings set the scale and start taking a job off very quickly. -The assembly's you can create along with the standard ones already set up make take offs very fast. -The fact that you can print the colored take off drawings and have all the systems with a different color is great to hand to the field. - Great for doing design build job estimating as you can draw the pipe as you go and have job laid out. much more accurate way to price. - Printing material list by system and or material type or by area. gives you a lot of variations to get materials ordered for the job. - they are constantly updating the software and data base to keep it current.

CONS

- Really do not have any con's. As stated above they are constantly updating the software with improvements and data base.

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

most efficient way to estimate for the value

Bruce

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

FastPipe is a quick and intuitive estimating tool

PROS

The ease of doing takeoffs, generating reports and the overall functionality of the software

CONS

The Quick Pick Menu could be better customizable

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

It was the best fit for our company

Vendor Response

Bruce, thanks for the review. About the Quick Pick Menu -- the buttons can be customized within the fitting spec editor, but we realize that can be a tedious process across multiple specs and sizes. If you have any ideas for how it could be easier to use, give us a call at 800-828-7108. We are always looking for ideas of how to improve the software, and we get most of those ideas from users like you. Thanks again.

Replied November 2022

Kyle

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Efficient for use and cost

Many years ago we realized our old estimating software was not efficient with regards to assemblies and reports - we had too many estimators spending time making reports for operations, rather than helping cost new opportunities. After reviewing several softwares, we found that the support from FASTPIPE during the sales process was a good indication of how they would be after the sale - they were top-notch all the way. We immediately noticed the setup and training was easy and that we could send data to operations and let them run reports however they wanted, which saved us time. The cost was also much more competitive than several other options, which is a nice benefit.

PROS

FASTPIPE is easy to start, easy to use, provides all reports in native Excel format, and an excellent value for the money. Though it is rare that we need assistance, the customer support is second to none. We have always received immediate responses to our questions, and that matters in today's fast-paced world. I highly recommend this product whether you are doing $100k or $100M bids.

CONS

I would like a few more options in terms of custom reporting, but the EXPORT feature does a good job of handling most of those. Would also like some more options when setting up specifications for underground work.

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

See notes above

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

See notes above

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Fast Pipe review

The program overall has increased our ability to put out quotes and the visual aspect of seeing what has been taken off has decreased omitted items.

PROS

Very easy to use, very easy to train others to use. Great product support team that goes above and beyond with help.

CONS

Could include more items in the catalogue that cover specialty piping. ie: lab, clean room, pharmaceutical specialties.

CHRIS

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Wouldn't use anything else.

We are able to bid every job we need to and have found that the jobs almost always come in very close to bid. We are competitive on every job we bid as well. We have never been able to bid as much work or get as much work as we have since we started using FastPIPE

PROS

I initially selected FastPIPE because of the price, but I have stuck with it because of it's ease of use and the success we've had since we started using it.

CONS

The fonts are too small when selecting different sizes of pipe and fittings.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Chris! We appreciate your feedback. I believe you recently upgraded to our newest version of FastPIPE, in which we were able to improve the font sizing on the pipe size menu. Please reach out to us at 800-828-7108 if you have any questions, concerns, or other feedback. And thank you again for your review!

Replied December 2019

clifford

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

proj. cor.

I AM NOT SURE WHAT KIND OF SOLVED PROBLEMS YOU ARE REFERING TO. THE TAKE OFF PROCEEDURE IS SLOWER THAN MANUEL, FOR ME, BUT THE OVER all IMPLEMENTATION OF THE BID IS SURER AND FASTER

PROS

THE THINGS I LIKE MOST, THE KEEPING UP TO DATE MATERIAL PRICING, THE SUPPORT IS UNBEATABLEWHEN YOU NEED HELP YOU GET IT (PROBLEMS USUALY come at INCONVENIENT TIME) THERE SEEMES TOBE A CONTEMPLATED EFFORT TO KEEP THINGS simple.

CONS

I HAVE EXPRESSED IN THE PAST THAT IT WOULD BE GREAT IF THE DIFFRENT TYPS OF MATERIALS (TYP M-L -L -C&C) WERE AVABLE ON THE SAME TAKE OF SCREEN. I SHOULD HAVE SAID HOW I HAVE TO CHANGE TAKE OFF`S screens?

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

i prayed about which to use, i was allowed to make payments, was told the support was punctual, and as afoot note it is!

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

FIRST OF ALL I REALY LIKED THIER TAKEOFF MENUE BUT MATERIAL UPDATE WAS VERY BAD, THE SUPPORT WAS NOT VERY GOOD, THEY SOLD TO MAXWELL AND THE PRICES INCREASED. THE PERSONELL WERE JUST WORKING (not really concerned)

Parker

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Quick and Easy

I've personally been using FastPipe for six years and I wouldn't use anything else.

PROS

Fast Pipe makes estimating quick and easy. I've found, that on my commericial construction bids, the pre-loaded specs cover just about everything one would come across.

CONS

I'm not comfortable enough to trust the end results for material costs and labor. I still double check with some old school methods.

Vendor Response

Parker, thank you for taking to time to leave a review of our FastPIPE program! We value your feedback. Please reach out at any time at 800-828-7108 with any questions, suggestions, or other feedback you might have. It helps us deliver a better product to all of our customers! Thanks again, Parker.

Replied June 2020

Mike

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

FastPIPE Review

PROS

1. It has up to date Pricing 2. It has most Piping Processes 3. Cloneing

CONS

I wish I could get better Take off breakdowns I wish some Items on the Take off Page were all on the same Page Could use more Products for other Piping Bids. Water Heater Flue piping for instance.

Vendor Response

Mike, thank you for your review! We truly value your feedback. Call us when you have a few minutes, at 800-828-7108. You might not be running our latest and greatest version, FastPIPE 20. Among other features, you'll have the ability to customize what fitting buttons you see on the main takeoff menu, along with several other handy new features and customizations available. Thank you again for your review.

Replied April 2020

Bradley

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Brads Review

Overall experience has been great, especially in terms of customer service and help.

PROS

I enjoy the ease of use of the product. It is very straight forward to navigate and complete my take offs.

CONS

Nothing in particular. i am a firm believe there is always room for improvement with any product.

Vendor Response

Bradley, thank you for your review! We value your feedback. It is always important for us to hear from users what they really want and need so any suggestions on improvements are very welcome! Please reach out at any point if we can help you with any program issues, or if you have any questions or suggestions.

Replied November 2022

FELICIA

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

the best estimating software

i use the software every day and recommend it frequently to others, easy to get the hang of

PROS

versatile, easy to pick up on, and set up to work right out of the gate.

CONS

the small print on symbols makes them hard to see as you get older

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

I like the way the program flows and its accountability

Reasons for switching to FastPIPE

more useable

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of FastPIPE, Felicia! We appreciate your feedback, and your spreading the word about our estimating software. Know that we're here anytime, if you need help with anything, or have any suggestions or further feedback about our programs. Thanks again!

Replied May 2020

Timothy

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Software review

This software allows us to bid on a lot of projects. Job set up is easy and the take off is a breeze. You can customize each job for your needs.

PROS

Ease of use. Customer support is always on point. Notifications about pricing changes are sent out as needed. Training seminars are available several times a year throughout the US.

CONS

We haven't updated to the newest version (18), I know there have been several improvements made. I really can't comment on this as of yet.

Reason for choosing FastPIPE

I did not choose the software, as I was not here at that time.

Jim

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY