All Methvin | Estimating Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Atif

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Its a user friendly, cost effective and remote solution to manage construction projects.

able to do quick takeoff. Accessing project data on cloud from anywhere. No need to install software and carry your laptop everywhere.

PROS

It helped me uploading drawings quickly and doing take-offs. I liked user interface and and measurement tools available. It gives me option to export data in to PDF and excel formats. Resource and pricing module is best to workout labour, material and preparing rate analysis. And best thing is it is all integrated across its all features. Good to do cost control and agile management using project dashboard.

CONS

Overall it is good software. I would like to see more option for formatting takeoff measurements like line formats, colours. Also would like to see a combine dashboard for takeoff and pricing.

Reasons for switching to Methvin | Estimating

Most functionality and remote application

Mary April

Construction, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

METHVIN Take-Off Software Review

I can say that Methvin Software with minor fixings and update will surely be the most useful tool to all Stakeholders, Contractors and Subcontractors in the Construction Industry within a short time.

PROS

I found subscribing to Methvin is much easier. There’s not so many forms to fill and all information requirements are direct compared to other Software’s that requires irrelevant information and hard disk space to download before you can even start opening the drawings. Its Cloud-based feature gives Methvin the Software advantage that is truly what I need to keep up with the current fast phased construction industry requirement. Methvin Software is user friendly where Sample works can be easily access along with the very Clear HELP Feature whenever I needed training or I need to search for commands and procedures in the system. I observed that the Gant Chart export options to Excel, PDF, and MS Project is an excellent feature that is truly admirable in this software. I like that the Dashboard, Inbox, Apps, Project Management Resources (System, Incidents/Issues/ITP) and the inclusion of the Contract documents are added in Methvin functions which makes it comprehensively unique compared to other takeoff software.

CONS

I found that it easily uploads PDF files but has yet to improve the option of AUTOCAD File Uploading in their system, since upon trying to upload AUTOCAD Plans the result is Erroneous. I found that Methvin uses simple tools making it user friendly but apropos features such as pan and zoom function, full plan view function, measuring curvilinear lines, snap and ortho functions, ability to edit/add/delete points after measuring and the option to hide/show dimensions including measurement legends on plans has to be incorporated in order to maximize and efficiently measure all required data from plans. I noticed that the Measurement Report feature of letting me measure sub-rooms is quite nice but editing the descriptions are somewhat challenging specially that it does not show on the Excel Sheet after being exported.I observed that the Pages feature shows the full page but fails to show the highlighted/measured areas in the working drawing.Full View is not possible when measuring, Methvin will just show the full view upon opening the plan again. Upon exporting measurements to Excel, I noticed that the edited name descriptions replacing Zone/Phase does not show. Lastly I observed that Wall Area Measurement feature will only give the total linear meter and does not have the option to deduct openings that is essential to acquire the Net Wall Area per room, if Methvin can incorporate the option to deduct openings, surely Methvin will be a Hit

Reasons for switching to Methvin | Estimating

Price wise Methvin is cheaper but is also giving the same output as planswift.

John

Construction, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Methvin Review

Creates good and accurate estimates.

PROS

Simplicity and ease of use. Accurate estimates.

CONS

Nothing, except the program is difficult to log into.

Richard

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

The import SoP from excel mapping tool is very helpful.

Best of all you can shared all projects to collaborate colleagues

PROS

The system has been a lifesaver so far, and we are only utilizing a small percentage of it. Once I master one aspect I take on another and with each new function I am so thrilled. Easy to use and amazing functionality!! The support team are amazing and extremely knowledgeable about all the features of the software.

CONS

There were some issues with the functionality that did not fit with our business model. I expressed this to the support staff and he took my concerns to his developers to work on adding these items in the future.

Michael

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

GREAT PORTABLE TAKEOFF AND ESTIMATING TOOL

Quantity takeoffs/material estimates that are needed on for bidding works or current projects. The benefit of this is that you dont need to install this for each every computer. You just need to purchase the number of users at very reasonable amount.

PROS

Being a quantity surveyor, estimates and takeoffs are my main tool in doing my job. What I like about this tool is it is user friendly and can be easy to learn. Also I like the graphics resolution. The best part of this is you can access your projects anytime, anywhere you want even if you don’t bring your PC's or laptops and you can share your work with your team

CONS

Nothing. Maybe a few tweaks like if you can show the data you takeoff on the same screen like Planswift, but over all this is a great tool that you can use on all your projects

User Profile

Eleona Mae

Verified reviewer

Construction, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Cost-effective and efficient Estimating tool

It is a well-rounded tool capable of addressing several key tendering management functions. This is helping us save more time to come up with a reliable and competitive cost proposal.

PROS

The software is cost-effective and the interface is intuitive and relatively easy to learn. The centralized dashboard allows you to have an overview of the projects. Also, it is efficient in Tendering process since its feature is not only for quantity take-off but also for other technical requirements like the sequencing/project schedule.

CONS

It would be better to have many other third-party integrations.

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Earthworks and drainage pricing

Provides excellent information and examples for helping to determine the productivities.

PROS

Quick easy to pick up and to set up valuables in the pricing worksheets

CONS

Good report and easy to share with others

Rochelle

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

GREAT FREE ONLINE ESTIMATING AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT APPLICATION

Overall, It has a lot of benefits! You can save money and time! Trust me.

PROS

As a Senior QS Engineer and a freelancer having free software have great help to my work. There's a lot of paid software but still the same features. The Methvin is really different - It has a lot of feature and user-friendly. It can lessen your time, money and very accurate. The features of the application are really easy to understand and it is not just for estimation but also can provide great help in project management.

CONS

Actually, I have nothing dislikes about this software. There are some features that are still under development at this moment but for the time it works, Methvin will be one of the best estimating and project management software for me.

Rajan

Civil Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Very useful software.

PROS

Easy to operate. Data processing system is easy and we can take out data in any form.

CONS

Little slow some times overall satisfaction.

Sumit

Verified reviewer

Construction, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Easy to Go High

PROS

Easy to run and its simple features makes it simple to use.

CONS

Lot of details but once learned then flow would be great.

Kryshchu

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great Online Estimate tool

Easy to take off drawings, create pricing with any imperial and metric system. Also, all info is stored in the cloud so can be accessed from any location any time.

PROS

Great web based analog of Bluebeam or Procore, that you can access from any your device. Found a lot pros. here is some of them: - Easy to study and switch from other similar desktop apps - Built-in samples to check the functionality - Import local files, ex. MS Projects - Export to Excel, PDF, MS - online collaboration with teammates - Reads DWG, DXF - Free version is enough for individuals - Ganth project management tool

CONS

- Some features are under development right now

John Dominic

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Quantity Surveying Help and Assistance

Perfect!

PROS

What I like the most is that it is flexible and easy to use.

CONS

I can't say anything wrong about it. It is my comfort zone in estimating.

ukasha

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Detail Estimation for a project

PROS

I really appreciate the team of developers they have really work hard to made such a useful version of software. Really helpful

CONS

i don't find anything negative about this.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Well-Equipped Construction Software

I was able to utilize it properly in its platforms in project management and estimating. I realized that I can be able to effectively address my tasks using this software without the need for more elaborate or pricey applications.

PROS

What I like best is its ability to touch various stages of construction, right from tendering, up to the execution phase, and definitely even until the closeout of a construction project.

CONS

The Gantt scheduler needs to be a little more developed so that it can cater to all possible types of construction projects.

Wen

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Flexible in structure your cost estimate

PROS

It allows additional steps procedure to build into any items in the BOQ, but all or some of these steps and procedures need not be presented to the client, but all cost associated with are linked to the intended items of the BOQ. Plus it allows multiple estimators to work simultaneously on an estimate with very little limitation.

CONS

Like any other software, it takes time to get familiar with the navigation.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

It's great tool

PROS

I being a Lead Quantity Surveyor of a Small Team of QS this is great for taking off. It allows me to share work with my team members. In this way I was able to work more efficiently and review the work done by the team members.

CONS

I just started using it, didn't find anything to comment about yet. Although there were some times it didn't respond properly.

Minhaj

Civil Engineering, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Accurate Estimating tool

One of the useful software so i hope buyers will look into it.

PROS

Accurate Estimating makes this software attractive.one of the popular and effective tool in construction industry.

CONS

To be a good methvin user you need to learn and familiar with formulas.take little bit time to familiar but without hard you cannot do anything.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT