Revit Software Reviews

Revit Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.58

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Dynamo integration is very helpful to automate and speed up information production and management."
  • icon"Revit is also backed up by AutoDesk's usually excellent customer service and licencing options."
  • icon"I love the challenge of working in Revit and in 3D in general. It's great because even though I have been using it for a quite a few years I feel there's always still something to learn."
  • icon"You may get so many errors while working on Revit due to you have to you have to focus on tiny lines."
  • icon"I absolute loathe that for how advanced the software is to build a home, it stinks to be able to make components. You can’t treat families as components."
  • icon"The aspect that I found most difficult about this software is the lack of tools available while creating final layout and presentation sheets."

Browse all Revit Reviews

  • Have you used Revit and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 307 reviews

Gregg

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

September 2021

Revit User Review

User Profile

Prashant

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Best BIM modeling software

The overall experience with Revit is just amazing. This software is the best in market and very easy to use.

Pros

3D drafting is the best feature of Revit. I can add windows and doors according to my requirement and work on my plans. This makes my day-to-day work easy.

Cons

There is nothing to dislike about Revit. Every feature works properly and without any problem.

Reasons for switching to Revit

The easy user interface of Revit

Facundo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Evaluando Revit

Revit forma parte de mi evolución en relación con mi carrera como futuro arquitecto. Es un programa que me permite dar un salto notable, desde el simple dibujo técnico en 2D, a la creación de un modelo, con todas sus variables.Considero que es una herramienta actual, necesaria y muy bien lograda, pero difícil de utilizar, y entender a la primera. Es muy complejo en ciertos puntos, con detalles y especificaciones más que minuciosas.

Pros

Es un software que me permite realizar trabajos, teniendo en cuenta variables, métricas, cómputos, listados de materiales, y piezas gráficas bien proyectadas. Poder hacer múltiples actividades, desde dibujar, diseñar un modelo, hasta realizar un cómputo o lograr un render, todo en un mismo lugar, es bastante útil.

Cons

El punto negativo destacable de este programa, es su curva de aprendizaje. No es un software fácil de utilizar, no se da de forma tan dinámica e intuitiva, y requiere de capacitación para lograr resultados profesionales.

Reasons for switching to Revit

En realidad, utilizo los dos programas, ya que cada uno ofrece posibilidades, que se adaptan a mis conocimientos, experiencias y necesidades. Aparte, en la actualidad, no todos saben utilizar Revit, y AutoCAD, sigue siendo pionero en la parte del mundo en la que me encuentro.

User Profile

Benny

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Overall Impression

Pros

3D features and easily see the sections.

Cons

loading time is long, hope next generation is faster.

Akaninyene

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Revit

It enables you to use one app to accomplish the work that would usually be allotted to multiple app users, which speeds up the work and requires less staff to use.

Pros

The ease of use even with minimal tutorial especially if you already have a knowledge of autoCad .

Cons

The rendering quality is not all that great compared to other apps of the same kind

Reasons for choosing Revit

Ease of use

Reasons for switching to Revit

The ability to easily create 3d designs and 2d designs at the same time without spending extra time and money.

Carmen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Intern Review

I love Revit! It made my life easier when preparing Construction Documents.

Pros

I love how easy it is to coordinate with other team member. Also, it is helpful when trying to avoid mistakes since elements are related and changes in one view will update other relates views.

Cons

I think Revit is a complex tool and it can be difficult and expensive to implement in companies.

Reasons for switching to Revit

Revit is widely use because more than drafting it retains the project information, allows collaboration, and helps to avoid mistakes in the plans.

Emmanuel

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Revit is great at producing both 2d and 3d designs and nice perspective renders

The ability to use one software to complete any project without having to switch between multiple platforms

Pros

It's ease of use and it's friendly user interface

Cons

It's rendering quality leaves much to be desired

Reasons for switching to Revit

Needed a new software that can execute all aspects of cad designs easily and efficiently

Chiara

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Good tool to make life easier if know how to use it

Good I’m making very good drawings through all the work stages. A bit tedious to learn and remember functionalities

Pros

Revit is full of potentiality and allow to produce very good drawings in all the stages including sections and 3D views very hard to produce manually in autocad.

Cons

The program is not intuitive and the user need to have a proper training. A lot of functions are not intuitive. It requires all the members of the team to be up to speed with the program to avoid disruptions since everyone is working on the same model.The contractor sometimes is lead to think that the engineering drawings are full coordinated drawings and the communication with them becomes tricky. It might lead to unpaid work.

Reasons for switching to Revit

Auto ad was dismissed in my company.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

The ideal software for the design of construction projects

I like Revit for all the features and good prroject management option that its offers

Pros

From analysis, through design and construction monitoring, Revit is the application you need for good construction project management.

Cons

the sofware is very expensive and is not affordable for small businesses

Selby

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

The best learning experience.

My overall experience is great as I get to produce work for multiple industries in construction.

Pros

Features I like the most are the collaborative tools on Revit as they help me explore more ideas from other experienced users.

Cons

It should be designed in such a manner that interior designers can use it too. It is quite difficult for interior designers to use it because it is focused more on exterior designs.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

My experience using Revit

Pros

Some of the new features released are fantastic. I love being able to drag and drop file types directly on to the page - like jpegs, png and pdf.

Cons

The collaboration tool could do with a bit of improvement. In its current state it is a bit clunky when multiple people are working on the same job and tends to crash often and/or freeze.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2022

Revit review

My experience has been very good, it is a modern BIM authoring software and deploying this across our organization has been reasonably easy with training. Once users start using it they do not want to go back to 2D ways of working.

Pros

This BIM authoring software works very well against modern AEC information production and management. The software benefits from many plugins and integrations to help with this as well. Dynamo integration is very helpful to automate and speed up information production and management.

Cons

Very expensive and the subscription model means that each year prices increase by around 5%. Autodesk has also been criticized for not developing the software adequately, especially in light of the price increases. Once you are in the software it is hard to move away.

Reasons for choosing Revit

Integration across consultants, experience in house and long term planning

Reasons for switching to Revit

Vectorworks was not a good enough tool for complex BIM Authoring.

Lyle

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

Revit is great!

Good and bad. Good in that after two weeks of using Revit I did NOT want to use AutoCAD ever again. Bad in that getting our users to make the switch has taken time and resources. Figure on about 1-2 years to fully move from AutoCAD to Revit. The move is worth it, though.

Pros

The term "One source of truth" describes Revit well. You can produce hundreds of drawings from one 3D model. Change any drawing or the model and every drawing reflects that change. In AutoCAD, you would have to open up several drawings to make those changes. Revit, you change something in one place and you're done. Likewise we love the database Revit is. You can include any amount of information in your model that you want and present that information in schedules.

Cons

Moving from AutoCAD to Revit can be difficult and frustrating for many people. Revit is a very complex software and takes a while to learn but it is well worth the pain. Some of the best benefits like changing something in one spot can also be a curse because it may have unintended consequences in other views, but that's just something you get used to and learn to resolve.

Reasons for switching to Revit

The world is moving from CAD to BIM just as it moved from paper drafting to CAD 30 years ago. If you want to remain competitive, you need to move to BIM and Revit is the current leader in BIM.

Aditya

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Become a self taught Architect!

I have used Revit for 3+ years and I have loved it. I have designed and built many projects in it. I have built many .rvt files using AutoCAD and then imported it into Revit to build a detailed model. Then I have used the same model for energy analysis using add ons. You can perform life cycle cost analysis, lighting analysis, solar analysis and energy analysis using Revit. all you need to know is the science behind using the technique.

Pros

Revit is one of the most versatile building design and modeling software. It can literally design any kind of building infrastructure with the same precision as an architect does. Revit is the foundational software for Building Information Modelling. It provides us features like parametric modeling and smart object import. It basically reduces all the repetitive drafting work in building design. It provides features and a basis for Performance analysis.

Cons

When it comes to creating a complex geometrical model or any model with lots of curves, Revit handling becomes difficult. Using Revit for complex shape modeling is difficult. Revit does not support high end, performance analysis tools. lt has its own add ons which do not give accurate and precise results. You need to export the model to any other software and perform the energy analysis.

Reasons for choosing Revit

Parametric Modelling capacity, Performace analysis capability, ease of access, BIM platform

Reasons for switching to Revit

Parametric Modelling capacity, Performace analysis capability, ease of access, BIM platform

Andrew

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Powerful, but space consuming

Overall is definitely positive. Program allows students to learn basics (and more) of architectural design. Some more expansive tutorials would be nice as only beginner workflow has really proven useful for students.

Pros

It is very easy for beginning users to become quickly proficient by following tutorials. The software is also very robust. Students can design, furnish and create renderings/walkthroughs all within the same program. They can also import any components not included in the software from a number of support pages as well as some vendors who have created .rvt files of their products that allow it to be put into the space digitally with all correct measurements.

Cons

Very robust, but takes up so much disk space it sometimes freezes computer before even opening. A LT version may be beneficial, but an entirely online version, even if it's a "light" version, would be preferred. Students aren't using all available features so it would be nice if the education version took less space, so students could have access on computers other than the one lab with enough computing power to run the software.

Reasons for choosing Revit

Until moving to paid version sketchup was not as friendly for architectural design.

Piotr

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Solid software

We have 6 licenses, a mix o Revit LT and Revit. With Revit we are able to save time by creating a 3d models along with flat drawings. Basic views (in Revit LT) with reliastic materials are ok to present to our clients. In complete Revit (sans LT) you can do realistic renderings. Thats a great advantage to be able to use one software instead of 3.

Pros

Quite intuititive. A lot of options to create ready to use templates. Realistic views of ongoing project. If something is missing you can create it with ease. Basic programing haleps to create parametric obejcts.

Cons

Requires company to create its own libraries of object. Built in libraries are beyond horrible. Fine tuning takes time. Pesky errors (dimension line lost reference and it will not tell which)

Reasons for switching to Revit

Revit has more in built features and is easier to use

Łukasz

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

An excellent tool if you are willing to invest the time.

I've been using Revit Architecture since (I believe) 6.0 version I used as a student. I was actually recruited because of its knowledge which was relatively scarce in 2011. It a great BIM (building information model) software that can accomplish almost any design task. What sets it apart from say Archicad is that the built in content is scarce but the built in tools will let you design all the missing components. You might need a specific type of window, title block or dimension line - all of which can be adjusted so it fits your needs. The problem is that it takes a lot of time to develop this design environment and in the end you are totally invested and cannot switch. Still, once you get going it is great. Designing is very quick. Most options are easily visible and intuitive. The tutorials as I remember where great - you get to built a house from scratch and learn many tools. HVAC, electrical and Construction designers can do a model in Revit as well and combine with the architect. Faults in model can be spotted early. We have been using Revit Architecture for 10 years now and do not think about switching. Partly because the BIM competition is still weak and partly because now we have invested so much time that it would be hard to recreate all this experience again. But it is not a bad thing - our projects look good and designing is smooth. I can recommend Revit Architecture with a clear conscience though be ready to spend time creating your business-specific content.

Pros

- Easy to learn (hard to master). And intuitive for the most part. - Family editor offer a basic programming syntax so you can design almost anything - many 1st and 3rd party addons to tailor the software - built in 3d views are basic but with ambient shadows and realistic material view they can be shown to the client as a in-progress model. Very convenient to have the possibility. Even in Revit LT (lite, addonless) - Updated every year. Often minor tweaks

Cons

- Revit LT lacks (among other more important features) a tool to modify shape of a floor. Designing a 3d flat roof is almost impossible and your best bet is to draw flat lines (which defeats the purpose of BIM model) - certain families and certain corrections in the model will cause a disappearance of spot dimensions or regular dimensions. THe built-in error window will display something like "43 error" but you will never be able to locate all deleted annotations. - lack of quality content built in the software. You can create all the families (objects in model) by yourself but it takes time. So it becomes necessary that you have a designated person drawing specific families used in your company or you can depend on 3rd parties for that. The families that come with Revit are basic and often need adjustment -material schedules are not to be dependent upon. A single wall will have the same area of material that is both inside and outside but that is minor. If a wall is cut or joined with another object the volume will be double counted. At the same time any concrete elements in the wall will not be substracted from the wall material volume. Its best to avoid said schedules. - the tools for site planing are basic and often insufficient. A simple road on a slope can be a problem (unless you divide the plane into triangles) - No autosave function and "model hasn't been saved in a while" prompts. The save can take a couple of seconds sometimes but automatic would be better

Reasons for choosing Revit

Ease of use, much better tutorial, Archicad has better content (e.g. windows, doors and other adjustable objects) but lacks an easy way to design new objects. Revit is the opposite. Revit has a larger English-speaking community.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY