User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(101)

101

4 stars

(55)

55

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Revit has a great user interface and it is easy to find things. "

  • "I love this "Render in cloud " Tool of this software."

  • "I like its interface, and the ease in working with projects coming from Autocad."

  • Cons

  • "pretty complex. this is not something you buy off the shelf and use, it takes a lot of training and use to fully utilize it. also there are a ton of addins and extras which is good, but very confusing"

  • "This software is good to use however required some training to gain a full understanding of all its capabilities."

  • "This software is expensive but can be used by more people if it sells for less."

Browse Revit Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 170 results

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Amjad from Gulftainer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Future is here

BIM will certainly change the construction industry in ways we cannot fully appreciate yet. Revit is of the best solutions that are pushing this revolution forward.

Pros

- Game-changing and full-featured building BIM design software (Building Information Modeling) - Simplified the design process beyond belief from the days of AutoCAD - Quantity take-offs are now byproducts of the building model, not a separate business process. - With BIM (Not only Revit) the plans, sections and quantity take-offs are all dynamically related. Any change to one of them is immediately reflected on the others - Works well for Architectural, Structural, HVAC, and MEP modeling. - Easy to use yet very capable. - Seamless integration with other Autodesk solutions (NavisWorsk, Robot .. etc.) - Plenty of training resources online.

Cons

- The price is too steep for companies in developing countries especially since it uses an annual subscription for each user.

Reasons for Switching to Revit

I still use AutoCAD for sketching but for anything new which matters, Revit is the way forward. BIM is the way forward and after using Revit for 5 minutes anyone would realize that.

September 2020

Piotr from A8 Architektura

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Solid software

We have 6 licenses, a mix o Revit LT and Revit. With Revit we are able to save time by creating a 3d models along with flat drawings. Basic views (in Revit LT) with reliastic materials are ok to present to our clients. In complete Revit (sans LT) you can do realistic renderings. Thats a great advantage to be able to use one software instead of 3.

Pros

Quite intuititive. A lot of options to create ready to use templates. Realistic views of ongoing project. If something is missing you can create it with ease. Basic programing haleps to create parametric obejcts.

Cons

Requires company to create its own libraries of object. Built in libraries are beyond horrible. Fine tuning takes time. Pesky errors (dimension line lost reference and it will not tell which)

Reasons for Switching to Revit

Revit has more in built features and is easier to use

April 2021

User Profile Picture

Zoalfikar from SOA - Siksha 'O' Anusandhan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Revit for building information modeling (BIM)

Revit helps me with modeling a waste water treatment plant easily in designing the dimensions of the facilities and the longitudinal and cross sections in addition to calculating the reinforcement of columns and beams ; conducting the mathematical statements of the project and export all what I need in 2D&3D from.

Pros

Revit is spectacular for being able to view plans and convert it in 3D form . Revit has an ability to understand any line you draw it as a defined element such as ( walls ; column; beam; slab ;reinforcement .....etc). Revit is suitable for such a huge rang of industries . Revit can also used as an effective tool for BIM which is a requirement of many construction projects specially for civil and architectural engineering.

Cons

Revit is available only for Windows operating system ; I think it is the main problem which reduces a huge amount of users like MacOS . You can not export 3D images directly without renders (low quality of the 3D interface). Revit has a large size of application so it may affect to your PC performance specially if you add numerous data.

July 2020

Brian from design firm

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

Hard to use electrically

Overall Revit is a great program that is an essential tool in the MEP industry. Any time I start a new project I hope that the arch is using Revit over autocad

Pros

Overall revit has alot of good features for integrating engineering systems with a project. having families link between arch/mech/plbg/fp/elec models and have parameters that interact with each other helps to maintain consistent coordination.

Cons

Electrically revit seems to lag behind quite a bit. Lighting design is still quite difficult to implement in a model. Quite frequently electrically you have to work against revit to get the proper info to show up which can be frustrating. i hope new systems to help display lighting controls are implemented.

February 2021

Andrew from Big Rapids Public Schools

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Powerful, but space consuming

Overall is definitely positive. Program allows students to learn basics (and more) of architectural design. Some more expansive tutorials would be nice as only beginner workflow has really proven useful for students.

Pros

It is very easy for beginning users to become quickly proficient by following tutorials. The software is also very robust. Students can design, furnish and create renderings/walkthroughs all within the same program. They can also import any components not included in the software from a number of support pages as well as some vendors who have created .rvt files of their products that allow it to be put into the space digitally with all correct measurements.

Cons

Very robust, but takes up so much disk space it sometimes freezes computer before even opening. A LT version may be beneficial, but an entirely online version, even if it's a "light" version, would be preferred. Students aren't using all available features so it would be nice if the education version took less space, so students could have access on computers other than the one lab with enough computing power to run the software.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

Until moving to paid version sketchup was not as friendly for architectural design.

August 2020

Łukasz from A8 Architektura

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

An excellent tool if you are willing to invest the time.

I've been using Revit Architecture since (I believe) 6.0 version I used as a student. I was actually recruited because of its knowledge which was relatively scarce in 2011. It a great BIM (building information model) software that can accomplish almost any design task. What sets it apart from say Archicad is that the built in content is scarce but the built in tools will let you design all the missing components. You might need a specific type of window, title block or dimension line - all of which can be adjusted so it fits your needs. The problem is that it takes a lot of time to develop this design environment and in the end you are totally invested and cannot switch. Still, once you get going it is great. Designing is very quick. Most options are easily visible and intuitive. The tutorials as I remember where great - you get to built a house from scratch and learn many tools. HVAC, electrical and Construction designers can do a model in Revit as well and combine with the architect. Faults in model can be spotted early. We have been using Revit Architecture for 10 years now and do not think about switching. Partly because the BIM competition is still weak and partly because now we have invested so much time that it would be hard to recreate all this experience again. But it is not a bad thing - our projects look good and designing is smooth. I can recommend Revit Architecture with a clear conscience though be ready to spend time creating your business-specific content.

Pros

- Easy to learn (hard to master). And intuitive for the most part. - Family editor offer a basic programming syntax so you can design almost anything - many 1st and 3rd party addons to tailor the software - built in 3d views are basic but with ambient shadows and realistic material view they can be shown to the client as a in-progress model. Very convenient to have the possibility. Even in Revit LT (lite, addonless) - Updated every year. Often minor tweaks

Cons

- Revit LT lacks (among other more important features) a tool to modify shape of a floor. Designing a 3d flat roof is almost impossible and your best bet is to draw flat lines (which defeats the purpose of BIM model) - certain families and certain corrections in the model will cause a disappearance of spot dimensions or regular dimensions. THe built-in error window will display something like "43 error" but you will never be able to locate all deleted annotations. - lack of quality content built in the software. You can create all the families (objects in model) by yourself but it takes time. So it becomes necessary that you have a designated person drawing specific families used in your company or you can depend on 3rd parties for that. The families that come with Revit are basic and often need adjustment -material schedules are not to be dependent upon. A single wall will have the same area of material that is both inside and outside but that is minor. If a wall is cut or joined with another object the volume will be double counted. At the same time any concrete elements in the wall will not be substracted from the wall material volume. Its best to avoid said schedules. - the tools for site planing are basic and often insufficient. A simple road on a slope can be a problem (unless you divide the plane into triangles) - No autosave function and "model hasn't been saved in a while" prompts. The save can take a couple of seconds sometimes but automatic would be better

Reasons for Choosing Revit

Ease of use, much better tutorial, Archicad has better content (e.g. windows, doors and other adjustable objects) but lacks an easy way to design new objects. Revit is the opposite. Revit has a larger English-speaking community.

August 2019

paola from 4RMULA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great software for great ideas

Revit speed the drawing process to an 80%. I will recommend to use Revit to architectural and engineering firms.

Pros

This software is easy to use, specially if you come from the AutoCAD background. I like the fact that I am working tri-dimensionally and see esthetics of my projects almost immediately. Also, Revit has a huge library with parametric components that I can access. Another cool thing is that Revit can be use to measure the environmental impact of my models if my clients are interested.

Cons

In order to create nice quality renderings, I need to use other software (s) in combination with Revit because using Revit by itself will give me clunky images with a "computer" look, that as an project manager, I don't think my clients will enjoy.

Reasons for Switching to Revit

Because for architects, working tri-dimensional is much better. Give you a perception of what you are designing.

September 2020

Mario from Forster Fabrication

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Revit is Great, but pricey

For architecture, Can’t beat it, but I in occasionally find the need to return to Inventor for things Revit can’t do.

Pros

We deal with Rails on a weekly basis. And this software has modifiable rail and rail systems as well as stair systems. I think that Awsome. Creating a home mockup for visual purposes for clients takes less than an hour. Love it.

Cons

I absolute loathe that for how advanced the software is to build a home, it stinks to be able to make components. You can’t treat families as components. The ability’s to customize them just aren’t there, it wasn’t what Revit was made for, although I wish it would.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

Revit BIM abilities were advanced. And manufacturers are marketing 3D BIM products downloadable to Revit. Makes drafting that much faster if I don’t have to design a part!

Reasons for Switching to Revit

I need to be able to 3D a home quickly, and I couldn’t do that easily with AutoCad.

October 2020

Sridharini from PKA

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

A greatproduct

I really love using it. It’s a game changer in my field of interest(Architecture). Saves so much time

Pros

It is easy to use once you get the harangue of it. I love that it generates 3D model when you just draw the plan.

Cons

It takes some time to learn and get a hang of it. No proper resources to learn. Software is a bit pricey

Reasons for Switching to Revit

Revit saves so much time because it automatically generates sections, elevations and 3D from plans.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Best 3D modeling software i ever used

Revit helps me to draw 3D visualized models of house plans. Specially for civil engineers, this software is one of the best visualizing software which can freely downloaded form internet. Very user friendly & attractive software. I highly recommend this software for civil engineers.

Pros

Revit can easily download from internet. It can use to draw 2D or 3D visualized models. Revit having user friendly interface. Best thing is it having lot of templates which are suitable for our designs. Also we can easily add other features like reinforcement data & material data easily without any other third party software. If you are a good engineering designer , you can use revit to enhance your abilities with the aid of this software.

Cons

Revit use considerable storage usage for install to your computer. Also it uses some amount of memory of computer. So that if you have older version computer, you may feel uncomfortable sometimes.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The key to get into 3D modeling era.

Overall I hightly recommend to purchase revit if u are in construction business. This software is cost effective and less time consuming interms of creating 3d models. This is a visually appealing software to work with.

Pros

My construction firm uses revit as a standard software for 3d modeling and interior designing for more than 2 years. Our company strongly believe in keeping up with the latest technology as a strategy to stay solid in this competitive business. For that revit itself has evolved alot during this two years. I feel rivit is a must know software for any architect, civil engineer or an interior designer. The best part using revit is u can give attention to each and every element individually with more care which will make a huge difference inthe final output. The inbuilt library feature is large and requires some time to master in it.this product can be integrated with Autodesk recap,3D max,sketchup,Autodesk cloud..etc. from the root level of a design to validating a design revit can be used without a question with industry standards.above all revit not only satisfies the user but also the client .

Cons

Honestly revit has nothing much to worry as a basic 3d modeling software,but it of course requires some time to master but at the end of the day its worthy. And also it demands a computer with high functioning capability. And also I have noticed that we can not input any pdf formets into it. And there is no reterograde compatibility since the older version had no cloud feature. As my last point revit predominantly focuses on structural elements only I wish if this improves further to help the designers as well.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

We chose revit because of its advancements and the ability to give special attention to individual elements of a design model. And also it has good reviews from the users compared to other softwares that we encountered.

Reasons for Switching to Revit

We switched from Autocad because autocad mainly focuses on 2d designs. The world is changing so we have to keep up with the new advancements.and also from my personal experience revit is more effective and more sensible to use.

April 2021

Luiz Fernando from Autônomo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Revit is the future

Revit handles 3D better than its competitors Whether it's a plan, section, facade, perspective or 3D section, Revit can handle everything. It is very simple to create, for example, levels (floor, roof, ...), draw axes (future walls) without risk of error. Revit is used by architects and all other areas of construction to reduce design and maintenance risks. It also allows you to anticipate project performance even before construction begins, to create better quality concepts and to improve delivery conditions. No matter how complex a project is, Revit can manage your entire design from start to finish.

Pros

Revit is a BIM (Building Information Modeling) software, which allows you to model a building's data in 3D. Revit works in plan, section, facade, perspective, orthogonal view, 3D section and bill of materials. Revit: The World Reference in Data Modeling Revit is a tool that allows you to document a building from its virtual conception to its maintenance, once completed. The function of the Revit BIM tool is twofold: centralizing the data relating to the entire building, as well as the geometric and non-geometric design. Revit reduces modeling time because making changes is very simple. The software takes its name from this idea ("Revise-It"). Revit also uses "families" that can be downloaded to model a building more quickly. Families are collections of objects (furniture, lights, heaters, etc.), and textures that will feed the architectural project. Revit adds standard textures allowing you to render faster and make changes later.

Cons

It has usability considered complex, especially for designers with little technological affinity.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Revit for work

Pros

This Software is my main one when it comes to work, I like that I can easily do 2D and 3D at the same time wile doing any drawing also that the software works like is real life so it helps me knowing that what I'm drawing is correct or if not it would appear a warning. Working in 2D and 3D this days is the best tool because most of our clients like to see what the project will look like in real life and with this we can do it in a short time too This software also lets me work together with others like AutoCAD or SketchUp, this is very helpful since so many people are doing the transition from AutoCAD for example to Revit and the have the projects in CAD

Cons

What I think it could be fix in this software is to find and easy way to apply location or sun position for projects that have a rear topography or needs/want a sun/shadow projection. Other thing is when we have more than 2 views open at the same time have the option to minimize which ever we want, this last version doesn't have that option anymore and it was a good one when working in big projects

October 2019

Matthew from YHR Partners

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Far Exceeds abilities of CAD related design software

I use Revit on a daily basis to develop architectural projects, and use it to coordinate design ideas on a regular basis with engineering consultants.

Pros

The coordination of all aspects of a building through all the different sheets. Change something in one view and it seamlessly gets updated on all other related sheets in the project.

Cons

Every now and then I come across a tool that I wish had the ability to do something extra. Hopefully in future releases these functions will be includes.

Reasons for Switching to Revit

Limitation of AutoCAD when compared to everything that Revit can do for a project. Seamless coordination of plan sheets.

December 2019

Anthony from Kitchenetal

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Architectural Software!

Overall, since we have been using Revit for our designs and drafting, we have been able to identify errors in our design using the clash detection abilities. Since designs are in drawn in both 3D and 2D, this has greatly increased our production time and most effectively present the actual 3D designs to our client at the same time. We have also been able share projects among other Professionals in the industry.

Pros

Revit is no doubt the best software out there in Terms of BIM (Building information Modeling)! No Architect should use anything less! With Revit one can build free forms easily, manage the building Information, and easily share projects. Its very easy to import other CAD files and manage them effectively. Another thing this software has been able to do is incorporate other Add-on tools like Enscape, Avail Browswer, e.t.c. for maximum efficiency. lest I forget, This software creates both the 2D and 3D simultaneously!

Cons

Hmmm.... this can be a little difficult, but one major thing I wish AutoDesk would do is make framing of Walls and Floors easier than it is right now.

May 2020

Kelsey from Gensler

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Revit - The Go-To Documentation Software

Overall I think it's a great software. You just absolutely must have training in order to use it properly and most effectively.

Pros

Revit is an excellent software for basic modeling and documentation for projects. There are tons of resources online from libraries of families to forums with questions and answers to common problems. The ability to collaborate between workshared models is also extremely helpful. Overall, this is the industry leader in documentation software for construction documents.

Cons

I think there are definitely some bugs that need to be worked out and some aspects of the software that are rather clunky. Sometimes it feels as if Revit makes something that should be so simple, so complicated so you resort to a simpler software instead - like AutoCAD or SketchUp. I also think their error messages are not detailed enough. It makes it hard for you to know what the actual issue is, just that something went wrong, or something was deleted for no reason.

August 2019

Annya from CallisonRTKL

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great software for architecture, design and engineering

My overall experience with Revit is very positive. This has sped up the design and documentation process at work. The software, although it's not the most intuitive to use, once it's learned, it's easy to use

Pros

The software has a lot of capabilities. The amount of things it can do are incredible. For a designer like myself, it makes the design process much easier than having to use multiple software. I can design the space, build a model and render all in one. It also helps tremendously when it comes to construction documents, as it is much easier to create and edit those in the same file. This program is also great because multiple people can collaborate in one model at the same time

Cons

Because how much this program does and helps, sometimes there are too many ways to edit things. This is not usually an issue when one person is working on a model, but when many people work in the same file, it can be confusing

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Best in Class Professional Architecture Design and Construction Software

I use Revit (Architecture) every day from schematic design through construction administration, for quick design exercises, client presentations, and of course construction documentation. It is the industry standard for producing clear and accurate documentations and can be customized to show any level of detail required.

Pros

Revit connects design and documentation seamlessly, allowing design changes to be reflected in construction documents as soon as they are modeled. Currently, it is the only software capable of efficiently 3D modeling with construction accuracy, while also allowing for CD level detailing without excessive 2D line drafting.

Cons

Because it is the best in class software, it comes with a hefty price tag. Some operations can be finicky and difficult to learn, but it is so widely used and frequently updated, that it's easy to find learn how to do anything you may need to do for a typical architectural project.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Brian from JFAI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Excellent 3D / BIM software

Revit software has greatly improved a number of important areas: 1) much easier and faster 3D preparation and presentation, and 2) great improvement in technical drawing speed.

Pros

Revit is structured to create buildings and structures immediately in 3D. It is ready to go "out of the box" with a great variety of built in components (walls, floors, roofs, stairs and more). The model can be viewed in 2d (plan, elevation, and section) at the same time as in 3D. Compared to other similar products, Revit has a very high level of accuracy. Revit models can be exported to a wide variety of other disciplines. Revit has excellent 3d shading and realistic modes. It also has a strong rendering engine. Great outside sources of additional building components are available.

Cons

Revit models can become quite large. Obtain a copy of file transfer software (many are available free online) to send and receive Revit models.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Very good architectural BIM software

Pros

One of the best features on Revit, because it is a BIM software, everything you work is created on several planes, on floor plans, elevations, section cuts and 3D model. As you progress, you feed the project with premade infomation about materials, thermal resistance, finishing layer and other stuffs, wich is premade (already within the software) or it can be dowloaded and also created by yourself. Revit has a very large library avaible within but there are a lot of elements avaible to dowload on internet. The best plus is once you have gone through your project, is that withe the parameters you fed, you can easily create charts of materials and elements quantities, helping with later stages of the project (like construction quotes).

Cons

As autocad, the learning curve is extensive, you have to dedicate several hours to get acquainted, most importantly getting and creating libraries for everything, furniture, texts, symbols, materials...., but once you get what you use the most, everything goes more swiftly.

September 2019

Haley from ADE

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Revit is what more and more companies are switching to and it makes sense

Overall I think Revit is a great tool and I highly recommend it. I think it is also great for older generations who have been working with AutoCAD for 20+ years. It forces them to have to stay on their toes and to learn how to adapt to new technology in engineering and design, which I think it a great thing. It lowers the threshold for entry into various positions with a company and gives access to people so they don't have to compete with someone simply because they haven't had the chance to do AutoCAD forever.

Pros

I think Revit is incredible and I cannot recommend it enough. Its ease of use and versatility makes it a great BIM software for many engineering and architecture companies. Unlike AutoCAD, I think Revit is easier to understand, to navigate, and to adopt. If you are coming from doing AutoCAD for 30 years, it may not be intuitive initially, but people grow to love it and eventually prefer it to AutoCAD.

Cons

While I have not experienced this issue, many people I know who switch from AutoCAD to Revit say that it's not as intuitive, however, I have found it to be entirely intuitive. I think the main reason people feel that way is because they can't type shortcuts like you can for CAD. People who have done CAD for years can get sloppy and there are many ways to do many different things, you have to really know what you're doing and precision is key with Revit. I personally don't mind this, but some people do.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

The way of the future! Get on board now!

My business gave me no formal training in Revit right away. However I offered to learn the program in my free time, and found it very easy to pick up on. Within a couple weeks, I could operate just about any single command and could complete all the necessary functions for my business. Is very intuitive and easy to use, although sometimes there are just glitches that you were going to find in any other modeling program. Overall rabbit is a more versatile, and diverse program that will be useful for many fields. I would be surprised if My business gave me no formal training in Revit right away. However I offered to learn the program in my free time, and found it very easy to pick up on. Within a couple weeks, I could operate just about any single command and could complete all the necessary functions for my business. Is very intuitive and easy to use, although sometimes there are just glitches that you were going to find in any other modeling program. Overall Revit is a more versatile, and diverse program that will be useful for many fields. I would be surprised if this didn’t end up being an industry standard in future years.

Pros

One of the most intuitive solid modeling programs. Can be used for a versatile field. It is useful in floorplan designing, 3-D modeling, and everything in between. It seems like the industries are turning towards Revit more and more.

Cons

It is still missing some functions that other programs have had forever. Such as a trim function, or a grouping function. Although it has other commands that help make up for this. It can definitely glitch out quite a bit, and sometimes it only allows you to do certain tasks in sketch view even when they should be available in solid view.

May 2020

angel from aeschbachhalle6

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Complete software but at the same time sometimes too generic.

I work with Revit since several years as an architect.

Pros

The most interesting thing of Revit is that it embraces the overall process of a architectural project, being useful for plenty of different tasks.

Cons

Nevertheless this is its biggest problem: it is sometimes too generic and lack of some features, also is so "big" that it is difficult to learn.

August 2019

Jennifer from Architect

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The new way of doing architecture

Revit has changed the way I design, updating my plans while I focus on modeling.

Pros

Revit is simply superior to all other software on the market, with its nature BIM is the present of architecture.

Cons

I would like Revit to be more intuitive and certain functions to be less complex.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

Because it's BIM.

February 2021

Luis from ACCO Engineered Systems

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Working Remotely is Possible with Revit

Overall, this software does provide what we need to produce the deliverables we need. Our company does purchase add-ins to help improve efficiency in getting the job done.

Pros

The company I work for and including myself appreciate the fact that we can use this software remotely. Revit models can reside on the cloud using another Autodesk product (BIM 360). This capability has made it possible to work on these models from home.

Cons

This software is so complex that it's not surprising that users can run into issues. Most of these issues are of the "I wish this feature can be improved" variety. That being said, there are plenty of 3rd party software developers who provide "add-ins" to try and "improve" on the features that appear to be in need of improvement.

July 2019

Zahra from Ewingcole

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Revit is a great multi-dimensional software for architectural projects

Overall, I love using Revit. It supports work-sharing and inter-disciplinary collaboration. This platform enables simultaneous work on a design file which improves efficiency and redundant work.

Pros

This software provides multi-dimensional layers to an architectural projects, enabling collaboration between structural, lighting, and mechanical engineering and architects. Design challenges, alternative options, and different phases can be created through options, worksets, or links. Revit schedules area great way for data management and coordination.

Cons

Exporting the revit file into CAD is not entirely 2D. It may needs some improvement in terms of export properties. Sometimes syncing is an issue when multiple people are trying to save at the same time.

April 2021

Jemima Zita from KNUST

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Easy and Great 3D modeling software!

Overall Revit is a great software if you want to work on a project fast whiles modelling and creating other views at the same time. There is the ability to share projects among users which makes it easy to work on a single project at a time. I would surely recommend Revit.

Pros

Revit can be easily used to do multiple views at a time with 3D visualized models. It is very user friendly and easy to learn . I highly recommend Revit to Architects and engineers

Cons

Quality renderings in revit takes a while to finish as compared to other softwares. Revit also demands a computer with a high functional capacity to work.

Reasons for Switching to Revit

I switched because Autocad is mainly used for 2d designs. Revit gives an advantage bacause it can be used for modelling 3D designs.

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Tobi from HOS Consult Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

To go to plug for construction designs.

I use Revit personally for my day to day work activities and it is an innovation that is very relevant to the AEC industry. It has been awesome.

Pros

Revit is a software that solves the problem of herculean creation of architecture and engineering drawings in 2D. With revit designers can create 3D intelligent models that accurately projects the visual and functional properties of a building/facility. There are tons of educative materials and support documents that can help a user become adept with the software.

Cons

The pricing is a little expensive, especially for small firms or lone design practitioners. Also System requirements will need purchase of high end computer device, to use at maximum capacity seamlessly.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Revit - Essential for Architectural Practice

Revit offers a great opportunity for design, but it can limit those who don't have the skills necessary to manipulate the tools and parameters. In that way it can be intimidating. However, it offers great software to draw, design, and prepare documents.

Pros

Every component is customization and able to be manipulated, once you know how to use families/types/rules. Easy to use and pairs nicely with 3D rendering tools such as Enscape. Worksharing is simple with a shared network or Revit cloud feaures.

Cons

There is a learning curve to mastering Revit. Because of the way certain things can be linked, such as type parameters in families, it is easy to see mistakes made in Revit have a domino effect and cause problems down the road.

October 2020

Jacek from A8Architektura

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Very best with no close second

We use Revit Architecture for all projects in our firm. Residential and commercial, building site, buildings and interiors. There are better options for interior and site but Revit can produce good results for both areas. And you don't neet to purchase and implement another software. Some of the process can take time (not that automated) and you have to figure out how make the most out of what Revit can offer. But when you do it is great and a pleasure to use.

Pros

little time it taks from start to end results. BIM model. Keynotes help annotation to stay consistent among drawings.

Cons

Setting up templates takes time. Easy to learn and hard to master - after a while you start to see shortcomings that are solvable but require a different approach and take a lot of time to resolve

September 2019

CHRISTOPHER from Sasaki

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Revit is a no-brainer

Couldn't imagine documenting buildings any other way. Robust capabilities, good support. It's become an industry standard.

Pros

Hands down, one of the better design documentation software's on the market. Having experienced both CAD and BIM delivery, Revit has saved thousands of hours from traditional drafting. Now with inclusion of Dynamo, model interoperability is seamless and bi-directional, making Revit a much more functional tool for those who may still want to design in Rhino, SketchUp, etc.

Cons

Revit was concieved as a documentation and model management tool. It does not have the same geometry modeling capabilities and user-friendliness as other 3D modeling platforms.

November 2020

Barbara from A8 Architektura

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Must have Architects software

Pros

Practically unlimited options, you can make and program any content in-house. Export options for most BIM and 3d modelling software. Import options for most common file types. Large number of mostly useful plugins. Visualization capabilities so you don't need to purchase separate software (you do need one to manipulate images, like Photoshop, though)

Cons

Low quality pre-made content (like furniture, doors, windows etc.). Revit formula commands are basic and sometime lacking features like parameters based on text. Very pricey and geared towards US markets. Improvements roll out every year but are mostly unnoticeable for most architects.

March 2020

Abdelrahman from Freelancer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Revit Pros and Cons

Excellent Software.

Pros

I prefer Revit over all architectural softwares. It gives me the ability to do all my architecture and construction work the same file. Never crashes and has a good development. Can handle a very big projects. Easy to learn the basics, but to be advanced with Revit It may take months. The most thing that I like about Revit that usually understands the work you're doing and saves your time.

Cons

Sometimes it takes so much time to learn a tool, It lacks many features with curved and convex buildings. You may get so many errors while working on Revit due to you have to you have to focus on tiny lines.

August 2020

andre luiz from Engineering

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

makes life easier

The software itself is very easy to use. quick and well detailed results. It allows the user to create without limitations without counting on the BIM tool which is a revolution for the area

Pros

the ease that the Software offers in providing the 3d model from the low end automatically makes the modeling of the project much easier! Facilitating the perception of details that without this feature would be very difficult to notice! Not to mention the functionality of the BIM tool

Cons

As it is a very robust software, it requires the need for a powerful computer to run more elaborate renderings, but it is not a software limiter.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Michael from Kleinfelder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Revit - Workflow Powerhouse

Revit has the benefit of allowing multiple users access the model at once. Although it does require a some frontloaded hours to set up the model, it will make up that time and more at the end of the project.

Pros

Revit allows you to draw in 3 dimensions creating plans, sections, elevations, and 3D all at once.

Cons

Revit while being one of the most powerful production software, it does have quite a learning curve. This can lead to major issues if a user does not fully understand the workflow.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Revit

Pros

There's no question why this is industry standard construction software. Revit is powerful enough to create highly detailed record as-built models, while at the same time being clean and elegant enough for new users to pick up quickly. I switched over my office to use Revit for Qty. takeoffs instead of OST. By the end of the process, we put in the same amount of work but get much more of a work product by having the 3D model.

Cons

The price is fairly prohibitive if you were a single person, but for large companies, it isn't a big ask.

February 2021

Bailey from Unfolding Architecture

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Review

Overall, I love Revit and can't imagine using anything else.

Pros

The automatic updating on drawings is the best features of any software used in architecture. I remember back to the days when you would change one thing and have to go back to every other drawing to correct it.

Cons

I've been wanting to see an improved conceptual mass software. Often times I get too frustrated trying to use it and end up just creating something in Rhino and importing into Revit. Conceptual Mass makes it very difficult to snap lines and reference points where you want them to be.

December 2019

Marcus from Corgan

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Revit, the future is now

With Revit, we are visualizing the construction of a digitally project in 4D, 3D models with time, phasing. We can pick up potential problem and issue in the design phases rather than during construction. Properly documented Revit models can avoid potential on-site changes and possible reduction in construction time and cost.

Pros

most versatile across multi discipline time/cost saving object/3d model orientated rather than linework/linetype based ease of design/construction management model in 4 dimensions, 3d objects with phasing (time)

Cons

huge learning curve cost of creating and managing company digital asset

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Another amazing design tool from autodesk.

Overall this is a very useful software in architecture and structural design firm. I hope to see further developments.

Pros

Revit is a design product from autodesk since our company utilize multiple products from autodesk its easy to incorporate revit with the other softwareslike autocad. Apart from your inputs revit has multiple in built elements which can be incorporated into your project. It enables multiple users to work on the same project. It may be a little confusing at the beginning but once you learn how to use it then it will become a wonderful experience to work with.

Cons

There are only few drawbacks regarding revit. It takes a lot of time to understand this software this will be very challenging to the beginners. There are only few layers when compared to autocad. And also this software is not eye friendly to work with. Somehow it makes my eyes to get tiered while working with it.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

Since our company runs many autodesk products we thought it will be easy to work with revit. Thats why we purchased mainly this product

October 2019

Chris from SD|DesignStudio

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Excellent Use!

Great product! Tough to start working with but gets easier quickly. GREAT TIME SAVER!

Pros

My first instinct always when selling someone on Revit is the efficiency aspect. Revit is great for drawing one object and it's instantly use-able in another application. A floorplan automatically becomes a section, detail, etc. as long as you know what you're doing - it's a HUGE time saver!

Cons

The learning curve is steep at the beginning, switching from a 2D (driven) program such as CAD or ArchiCAD which can make it intimidating to start or transition into.

December 2020

Justin from Engineered Design Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Revit Review

Pros

I have been using Revit since 2012 and currently using 2020. I am an Electrical Designer and BIM Coordinator at an MEP firm. I love the challenge of working in Revit and in 3D in general. It's great because even though I have been using it for a quite a few years I feel there's always still something to learn.

Cons

I'm sure it due to something myself or someone else is doing wrong but, there's been a few times when light switches especially that are supposed to assigned to one floor that show up on a different floors.

August 2019

gladys from Freelance

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Perfect for architects and engineers

Pros

Drawing in 2d and at the same time in 3d, you get the whole product in one, with real materials, real quantifications to create a budget since the very beginning of the design. Structural, architectural, lighting, HVAC tools, and much more! As an architect I use this software daily, it´s easy and has all you need to work on a project.

Cons

You need a good computer for this software.

Reasons for Choosing Revit

2d and 3d in one! Plus material quantifications and to be able to add real materials in the software.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Perry from Panda Technology Group, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great software

we love the program. it is fully functional and helps us look like a large firm instead of a mom and pop operation.

Pros

this is very complete and thorough software, it has everything we need to design and print the blueprints for any projects we do. we are able to collaborate with others using revit and our clients love the results.

Cons

pretty complex. this is not something you buy off the shelf and use, it takes a lot of training and use to fully utilize it. also there are a ton of addins and extras which is good, but very confusing

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Best and easy way to make a BIM model.

Through revit the modeling of different trades is very easy and fast. So at the time of submission which comes at any time from client, Revit is so much useful software for modeling and export in other file formats.

Pros

The tools used in the interface of Revit is very user friendly for BIM users. Like Modeling of Hvac, Plumbing, electrical and making of their families is very easy in this software. For the new users in BIM Industry one should start with revit software.

Cons

There are not very much problems in Revit software but through use of this software complete precise modeling is not make like the slope of Gravity pipes is not maintained accurately that you want or asper client specifications.

November 2020

Stephen from Graham Construction & Engineering LP

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

REVITize your Design

This is a very valuable program for all facets of a project, from schematic design through construction and into operations.

Pros

This software allows you to not only visualize the design but also ensure that all the drawings that make up the construction document set are coordinated with each other. One of the most powerful things with this program is "a change made once, is a change made anywhere". This core functionality is what allows for the automatic coordination and consolidation of the construction documents to reduce possible errors in coordination between all the drawings.

Cons

There are times where the software does not lend itself to some more complex geometry. It would also be a plus if there was better integration between the design models and putting it out for fabrication which is becoming more and more viable as a construction practice.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

BIM made me do it

Pros

Autodesk makes the transition between all their apps familiar and not overwhelmingly difficult to navigate through their ribbon tool bars and navigation tools. Revit is no different. When I first began my journey in to the fast paced world of MEP coordination making the jump from AutoCad to Revit wasn't as terrifying as it could have been.

Cons

Minimum system requirements aren't enough to keep up with a coordination model that has many other trade models linked in. 3D CAD models do not display properly.

October 2020

Tiago from Cordeel

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2020

Industry standard

you can do about anything fro model to draftswork.

Pros

After more than a decade of development we still see many things that should be already be solved / implemented and are not. That said the package is improved with every new release and there are many options to extend functionality with macros/addins/dynamo

Cons

IFC support is improved but still far from a priority, price is prohibitive for smaller business...makes colaboration with subcontractors impossible

Reasons for Choosing Revit

industry reference

November 2019

Dennis from Jaros Baum & Bolles LLP

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Revit User Review

Love and hate relationship. While Revit is great for how it looks and holds information, it is clunky and slow many times. Inefficient in what needs to be done to complete our jobs.

Pros

The ease of sharing information with other people inside and outside of my organization. It’s easy to have multiple people working on it and continue to collaborate and share information.

Cons

The sluggish processing and drafting time when modeling elements. There are many times where a simple task becomes fixing Revit issues more than drafting. Family parameters should be more accessible for customization by the user. Also the setup process at start of a project is a long process that’s not easily streamlined. Architectural models are not always consistent, and there are no tools that can format any architectural file into a template for our use.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

D3 Drawing program

it is a useful program that I use continuously in the three-dimensional drawing phase and that users in more than one discipline can work on the same model at the same time.

Pros

Both architectural, structural and mechanical models can be made. Smart objects can be placed inside these models. More than one user can work at the same time.

Cons

This program is removed from the purchasing system and offered to users by leasing method. this method is much more costly for users.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Autodesk Revit: Essential for architects

Pros

It is pretty much AutoCAD geared specifically towards architecture and construction. I find it much more intuitive than AutoCAD, and it is parametric, making it simple to change your floor plan and drawings.

Cons

The default libraries can be a bit outdated. And while the cloud rendering has drastically improved the rendering capabilities of Revit, you may still need programs such as 3DSMax to create truly realistic renderings.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 170 reviews