User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Features & Ease of Use + Price!!! And Vectorworks Customer Service & Community is Absolutely Amazing!"

  • "Easy to setup and create drawings. The tools are intuitive."

  • "Vectorworks has some great features and works great as a technical drawing tool, it moved quite well into the world of BIM modelling in comparison to other drawing software."

  • Cons

  • "The price is steep but it’s one of the best apps you can use. Can be hard to use but with a little training it’s easy to use "

  • "The cost. It is a bit expensive but considering all that it does and the ease of use it is well worth the money it is just a bit of an investment. "

  • "In to complicated designs with a lot of curves, the software has its limitations."

Browse Vectorworks Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -3 of 47 results

November 2018

Adam from CM Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Simple, effective CAD package that looks great

This effective and intuitive CAD platform enables me to produce architectural drawings for clients with ease. I can produce incredibly detailed construction drawings that are both readable and informative and enable contractors, clients and any other 3rd party to understand exactly what is being proposed or changed.

Pros

2D tools are simple and intuitive - I have taught complete novices very quickly how to use the tools and produce great looking Architectural drawings. Can be set up so it is as easy as drawing on a drawing board (I.e. you draw to scale on a piece of paper (no silly model space/paper space like AutoCAD)). Colours, hatched, patterns and opacity all allow you to produce beautiful architectural drawings that are easy to understand and interpret. With tailoring shortcuts it is also very quick to use - I can produce drawings twice as fast as other employees on AutoCAD. Has options for 3D and BIM modelling (although I have only used it minimally as I prefer the freedom of drawing with simple lines). System for backing up data and saves is great and has saved my skin often when I could of lost days worth of work.

Cons

Has had issues with iOS updates in the past and time has been wasted waiting for patches. Very occasionally crashes for bizarre reasons.

February 2020

Simon from LYNCH EISINGER DESIGN Architects

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great software, but....

We started using Vectorworks many years ago because it was truly superior to Autocad at producing legible drawings. But Autocad has caught up. And we prefer modeling in Rhino, even though it is a more cumbersome work flow. Meanwhile. for BIM, it makes more sense to use Revit simply because everyone else is using it. IF we were starting our office today, we would not be selecting Vectorworks, much as I like it as a drafting program. And the expensive annual upgrades are frustrating, given how little benefits are.

Pros

Vectorworks is a great drafting program. it allows you to do anything you want, with great control over how the drawings look, and many ways to organize a complete drawing set.

Cons

The software is expensive, and the annual updates add very little. Autocad as pretty much caught up in terms of object-based controls. and ability to make beautiful, robust, legible, intelligent 2D drawings. While the 3D is very intuitive, Rhino is more robust. And for BIM, it is hard to justify not using the industry standard software. So where is the edge for Vectorworks?

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

20 years ago it was a superior drafting program.

May 2018

FELIPE from consejo federal de Gobierno

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

With this program planners and public planners can design, create and model landscapes and urban pla

It is a software that, unlike others, works with real data from the geographic coordinates of the site, which allows a real study of what is going to be represented, allows connectivity with other formats to be able to import files among other advantages.

Pros

This software allows me to manage the design in all its phases, from the design or initial idea, to the presentations. It uses the data of the site, accepting the geographic information systems. It allows the modeling of the land and study of slopes. You can create floor plans with natural elements, as it has a library with green areas, trees, plants and other elements such as pavement and walls. Files are imported and exchanged with other programs and formats such as DXF, DWG or DWF. From the models I can make rendes that I can take them to other formats such as pdf, jpg, tif, among others.

Cons

It requires a PC with a good ram memory capacity (from 4 to 8 GB) and a 64 bit processor since in computers with lower capacities it tends to perform the functions in a slow way. The graphics card must be of high performance, in otherwise the rendering of images will be limited.

February 2020

LarissA from In site architecture

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2020

It does absolutely everything

I do not like it.. I find it a waste of time

Pros

If you want to do something there are probably at least 3 ways to do it in this software.

Cons

There are too many ways to customize and do things.. this makes everyday simple tasks very time consuming. It has too many glitches with Mac OS.. We havent been able to use the file sharing option without wasting hours and hours on redoing work due to crashing or random glitches that wont allow the files to save and sync.

February 2020

Rob from ROJO Architecture, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Outstanding Software

We have been using the software over 20 years without hardly any issues! We can still open files from 1994!!!!!! We look at other softwares to make sure we are keeping up. When we factor in money, easy answer.....VectorWorks! We are a full BIM FIRM and VECTORWORKS does everything we need.

Pros

BIM capabilities, ease of learning, ease of use, ease of rendering, Smart tools, exceptional customer service, stability and speed of work.

Cons

Really ...... nothing. If the software doesn’t have something someone else has, they are probably developing it for the next version.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

Way back in 1994, it was one of the only Mac platforms. We were just lucky they kept growing and improving!

February 2020

Bill from BMH ARCHITECTS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

VECTORWORKS REVIEW

The transition has been a smooth and good experience so far.

Pros

The ease of use, the customer support from the software company, and the ease of training

Cons

The process of creating drawing sets and create all the viewports can be tedious.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

The price point and the ease of making the switch over

February 2020

Sarah from CASE Design/Remodeling

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Vectorworks review

Pros

Wide breadth of features and functionality

Cons

Glitchy quirks that randomly show up and little support from VWX techs.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

More similarity to AutoCAD, easier for staff to learn.

February 2020

David Laurence from DLP Associates — Architecture + Planning + Interior Architecture & Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Legacy User Loves Vectorworks 2020

As an Architect + Planner + Interior Architect & Designer... Having the ‘Verticle Market’ solutions available like Vectorworks ‘Architect’ & ‘Designer’ is so very valuable!

Pros

Features & Ease of Use + Price!!! And Vectorworks Customer Service & Community is Absolutely Amazing!

Cons

I wish that the initial price was lower :-)

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

• Best Features! • Best Customer Service! • VectCommunity! • Best Value! ...THANK YOU VECTORWORKS!!!

February 2020

Nicole from Eastlake Studio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Vectorworks User Review

After a couple years of transitioning into this software, our team now has templates, object libraries, and graphic standards which can be easily implemented to all projects. The Vectorworks support team has been really helpful along the way with answering our questions and providing training on specific topics when needed. I would recommend this software to other architecture and interior design firms.

Pros

Vectorworks gives our studio the ability to combine design drawings, construction documents, and renderings into one file. We take advantage of the software’s BIM capabilities to generate elevations, schedules, and smart tags. This program is visually appealing and easy to navigate. It is a good choice for a mac-based office.

Cons

Our team has experienced a bit of a learning curve when it comes to modeling curvy objects. Vectorworks has subdivision and parametric modeling capabilities, but these do require some training. While you can import 3D files for items such as furniture from Sketchup or Revit, this can slow down the model.

August 2019

Imadur Rozan from ITI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

An Architect's Favourite BIM software alternatives!

VectorWork is now supported with many 3rd party rendering software like lumion for the live sync rendering by installing the plugin for even better result, so whenever you make a changes, the render will follow up. And when it comes to choosing BIM softwares, especially if you're new to it, the VectorWorks is the good choice to start for learning BIM due to their support and very complete yet detailed tutorials given on their official website. VectorWorks is mile ahead from other BIM softwares when it comes to landscape, 3D modelling and 2D details.

Pros

Just like another software that offers BIM technology and features, this software are extremely helpful tools to working in parallels while doing a bunch of different project of building because the floor plans, elevations and sections are linked together, the results can be viewed as 2D and 3D simultaneously. But, what makes this app different from the rest of other BIM adopted softwares is the Customer support and apps tutorials given for the users that you can find on the VectorWorks official website. there you can learn from the very basic tutorials to the complex one, displayed using interactive video with step by step guide on the descriptions. And the built in rendering tools are awesome as well, the result is more than enough to be used for project presentation.

Cons

Sometimes you have to set some of the construction details, like determining the materials specifications and dimension MANUALLY unless you buy the add on packages or plug in which are inconvenient compared to what other BIM softwares are offering. And you'll need a device with plenty of free storages or memory because this software is taking so much space, it's huge! even better to be used on a device with dedicated processor and graphic card for better performance.

December 2019

Haley from Encore Live

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Recommend to more advanced designers

Overall, Vectorworks Landmark is an incredible tool for architects and designers. Although it takes a lot of practice to master, the company offers lots of training around the country and online to better familiarize with the software.

Pros

Vectorworks is incredible for creating thorough renderings, layouts, modeling and site designs. It allows you a high level of customization in your designs.

Cons

Vectorworks Landmark, and the other Vectorworks products are great to use, but take a considerable amount of time to learn. I would recommend utilizing some of the learning tools and live classes VW offers to get a grasp of the software.

July 2018

Benjamin from ETA - Creative Event Producers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Vectorworks makes CAD designing interesting!

Pros

The flexibility of the software, combined with the deep catalogue of available 3D objects makes Vectorworks a powerhouse! It's capable of creating not only awesome top down CAD designs, but beautiful artistic renderings of your creations. Vectorworks lets you get out what you're willing to put in.

Cons

Vectorworks can take a decent amount of time to get intimately familiar with. There's plenty of classes and videos available to help you along your way, but there is certainly a skill cap to this software that requires professional knowledge to get the most out of it. It's not difficult to learn, but the skill cap is high to get the most out of it.

February 2020

Jon from Self-employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great Software

I have had no business issues with VW since I got the program in 2011. The company has a great program for owners of the software with extensive learning capabilities. The initial purchase price of the program is very reasonable and the annual support thru Vectorworks Service Select gives me unlimited support and I alwys get the most up to date versions. The very best thing about the company is that I own the license and I am not dealing with a subscription.

Pros

I use the Landmark version with render works. I am pleased with the ability of the software to allow the import of base data from virtually any other site program. While most of my work is in land planning I do use the landscape architecture elements in planting plans and site studies for my clients. This is the best landscape architecture based program I have ever found that was inclusive with 2d and 3d drawings and modeling, BIM ready, and full rendering capability built in for a great price. The VSS portal allows immediate access to technical support. They answer quickly and they are always willing to spend whatever time it takes to solve your issue.

Cons

I was an Autodesk user for over thirty years when I first acquired the software in 2011. There was a learning curve to get adapted to the VW way of working but I was in good shape within three months. I was functional with the product after the initial 40 hour basics class. The learning curve was the only con I could think of.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

Quality of the program was much better than Autodesk. It was more intuitive and was geared to my personal needs as a designer. Everything I needed came in the single package.

February 2020

andrea from Inside Out Design, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

The good and the bad

I think the program has a lot of capabilities, but some functions don't work as easy as they should. Some things are not as intuitive as they should be. It is a good program with many features and is overall helpful, but as you you can see there are also many frustrations that come with it. Overall, I like it and wouldn't change because we are heavily invested in it at this point. I do believe it is the best program for what we do - landscape and hardscape design-build, but also believe there is a better way for many features and tech support.

Pros

Capabilities of the program are immense. Visualization for designers and clients is great. I love every drawing being in color and capability of doing 3d visualization in the same program. Customization is also a bonus. I love the rotate plan tool, color symbols, 3d (although this is a total pain to use most of the time), and customization options. Many useful drawing tools as well. The sales guys are nice and helpful when needed. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] answers emails and ?'s MUCH faster than tech support. Training is good. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] knows it all and is a great resource too. Highly recommend the training as soon as you begin the program. The Summit is also a great learning experience and a great opportunity to meet with other designers while upping your VW game at the same time.

Cons

It took entirely too long to set up - should come with a landscape template, symbols, and useable worksheets and some amount of training. I did the Core Concepts and Intermediate Training courses and those were helpful. The program often stalls, no matter how nice the computer, the blue circle of death is very irritating. Service Select doesn't answer in a timely manner (usually at least a week when I've already completed a project by the time they FINALLY call/email back). Very little, good up to date resources on You Tube and in help menu. They do training ALL THE TIME, why not share those videos and organize and market them for users? We've had many private training sessions, and I'd be more than willing to share those with others who have the same ?'s. Seems like some basic things aren't set up correctly. I've spent more than 2 years creating my library and would LOVE to share that with others (of course for a fee because we've invested heavily in it - to the tune of tens of thousands of dollars of time, resources, etc.). If you have time and patience, creating library is okay. When you change to a new version, you have to resave every drawing - UGH - and then find your library and reattach, etc etc so I have to call EVERY year which is annoying to get that set back up.

February 2020

Susan from Flint Garden Designs

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Full picture in one drawing

The service has been incredible, especially with you hiring a Landscape Architect who really understands what I am trying to do and helps me realize my vision to present to my clients in a much more comprehensive way. Thank you!

Pros

I love the ability to turn on and off layers, so I can really see what is going on at different levels and make sure that everything is working together to create a fantastic experience for the client.

Cons

There is a LOT to learn to really use this product to it's fullest potential.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

I had started with Vectorworks at school (BAC in Boston), liked the product, knew the what could do and they were constantly improving it. Your support teams are phenomenal!

February 2020

Karen from Sacred SPace Garden Design

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

LOVE THIS SOFTWARE - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Vectorworks Landmark has taken my company to a new level We used to produce all of our drawings by hand which were beautiful but very time consuming Vectorworks ha given us the ability to produce design plans that are top level in their appearance

Pros

The professional quality of results The customization for different industries - for instance we use the Landscape version

Cons

Not sure- I don't use it myself. There isn't anything that I am aware of that I would list as a shortcoming. I think this product is excellent.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

Because of its target to landscaping design

February 2020

Heidi from studio 2G Architects, LLP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best Software for Architects

The 3d benefits of VW is amazing! We are finding now that some of our consultants are now using the software therefore the sharing of files is extremely easy. BUT the exporting of files to AutoCad are great too.

Pros

This software is very intuitive. It works well with presentation software especially TwinMotion. We are a Mac based office and VW is very compatible. The VectorWorks Service Select subscription is great due to all the "how to" videos and consistent updates to their 3D library, etc.

Cons

The only con is that this software is so robust that we fear that we are not aware of all that it can do. A couple years ago we tried the VectorWorks cloud service so that a team can work on the same project at once and found it cumbersome. We have not tried it lately therefore this feature may have improved.

September 2017

Vincent from Vincent Oles Architect AIA,llc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

14 years using Vectorworks. Never used a CAD/Bim system before this.

Can do it all for small to medium sized studios....really a delightful program to use!

Pros

This does everything....2-d drawings and 3-d modeling, landscape, lighting and site design, interiors, great renderings plus all of my office graphics. The graphic capabilities are awesome from sketch to OpenGL, hidden line and fully rendered

Cons

Not enough local users to share this program. This is a must have program for small to medium sized Mac-based firms...affordable and capable of handling just about anything you can throw at it!

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

One of the best additions to our workflow because it has increased our efficiency dramatically.

Pros

Building high quality visual models across different platforms always meant having to sacrifice somewhere along the design process. But with Vectorworks Architect, we didn't have to sacrifice anything. We're able to create data-rich designs anywhere, using multiple different operating systems with ease.

Cons

At times, syncing between the two main operating systems used in our office seemed slow. Thankfully, the helpful support helped us come to the conclusion that the delays in data transfer were because of our network connection, and not the application itself. Vectorworks Architect itself never seemed to fail us.

May 2018

Tyler from Studio light / Events Services

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Vectorworks is out go to for any project

Pros

I love how detailed this product is. It has every item we use on any project and we are able to print these cad files off in big blueprints to take onsite. The ability to accurately see items in the space is game changing for clients

Cons

The early updates prove to be less than useful. I'd rather have a program for two years that works than spend six months beta testing the software

February 2020

Robin from Spring Greenworks

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Cad based Landscape design program

I am able to provide complex plans with an ease of process when changes are needed along the way .

Pros

The ability to present professional presentations with a wide variety of sophisticated tools allow me to demonstrate my plans in an effective manner. I also love that landmark works with a number of different platforms.

Cons

The deep layers of tools take a substantial amount of time to learn.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Drawings that will impress your colleagues.

Pros

Vectorworks is great for sticklers and perfectionists. You have a great degree of control. The preview of the drawing you are working on in the program is exactly what gets printed so you can fine tune without exporting to PDF multiple times.

Cons

Because of the limited use of this program in some markets, collaborating with others can be difficult.

February 2020

DAVID from MHG

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Powerful and easy to use Landscape Design software

Like most software it's a love hate relationship. It works great and does what I need most of the time. I would like to be more proficient but the investment in learning all the features is time consuming.

Pros

Many features with record information attached. Graphic symbols are great.

Cons

It crashes my computer too often. Sharing with AutoCad users is still a challenge.

October 2017

Jamie from Creative Arts Center - West Virginia University

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Quick, powerful and concise communication tool

Pros

Vectorworks can do a lot without getting in the way. It's easy to customize the tools to allow you to work the way that you want to work. With the powerful visualization features, it's easy to communicate highly-technical concepts to self-described non-technical people. In theatre and event production, this is an indispensable asset. And the best part is that the initial sketch can be transformed into the fully realized design drawings further saving time.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that the price can be cost prohibitive for freelancers just starting out. If you're able to afford to make the investment, it should pay off pretty quickly.

January 2019

Tyler from Event team alliance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Vectorworks to the rescue

Pros

The amount of detail this software has is game changing. to be able to truly go into 3d and view true dimensions is so great

Cons

The price is steep but it’s one of the best apps you can use. Can be hard to use but with a little training it’s easy to use

February 2020

MaraLee from MaraLee Olson Design Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Still like this better than AutoCAD

Pros

How easy it is to use when I'm working solo on a project.

Cons

Titleblock template customization, difficulty importing CAD files from engineers/architects (hard to match coordinates).

February 2020

KRISTEN from Bay Scenery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Vectorworks Landmark

Does what I need. Clients like finished product.

Pros

Landmark is generally specific to the Landscape Design Industry/Process

Cons

Quirky. Sometimes crashes. What you see on the screen does not always print. Graphics for plant symbols could be more realistic/hand-drawn. Reports are not always logical.

Reasons for Choosing Vectorworks

Specific to industry

February 2020

Christopher from OLSON LEWIS + Architects

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

CAD program with enough depth of features for projects large and small

Pros

Easy to setup and create drawings. The tools are intuitive.

Cons

Cost. Would like a low-cost version without 3D BIM for 2D drafting only.

November 2019

Steve from MABE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Event Planning with Vectorworks

We use it rendering and designing spaces for events. It is a must for us and we would not be able to work with out it

Pros

I love the fact that you draw in a 2d plain and it makes the 3D for you for the most part. For event production and planning it has been a must for configuring the space from set pieces to lighting design.

Cons

The cost. It is a bit expensive but considering all that it does and the ease of use it is well worth the money it is just a bit of an investment.

March 2018

Khai from Paloform World FZE

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Powerful CAD and 3D software for Mac

Pros

A very comprehensive suite of CAD tools for designers and architects. Everything you need to conceptualize and create architectural designs right through to final approval drawings. Powerful 3D tools with decent rendering capabilities. Best CAD solution for Mac. Inexpensive.

Cons

Complicated and feature-rich, requires a level of training and skill to properly utilize it to its potential. Difficult transition from AutoCAD.

February 2020

Kevin from Intrinsic Landscaping, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Shop Drawings/ 3D printing

Its been a good system for us that covers a few bases. Mac and PC users, simple renderings, 3D printed design, and shop drawings.

Pros

Its easy to make drawing sets that look good, which is important for us. I find it intuitive to draw in 3D and to work with layouts.

Cons

It typially works, but takes time to learn the best way to work back and forth with other file formats when collaborating.

July 2018

Anthony from Architect

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Some good features but let down by bugs and half finished elements. No go for BIM.

Shame as this could be a great software, yet after using it for years it just doesn't seem to be as complete a software as you would expect in 2018. Go for another, such as industry standard Revit.

Pros

2D Drawing is fine, basic 3D work is also fine. Classes and layers system is generally a good way of working. I like the clean appearance of the workspace.

Cons

Half implemented and half finished features. The software advertises itself as being compatible with BIM projects, but the 3D modelling and parametric 'smart' tools are buggy and unfinished, and many tools are way behind other software (i.e. Revit). Support is not great even when paid for.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great Software for Mac book version..!

Nice to see this kind of software..!

Pros

Its such an easy to customise our work and very much user friendly software. A Completed package of design work I can say about this software.

Cons

A very good software but not enough users and need to work on cost & delivery of the product to attract more users.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

It provides a solution that supports the creative process instead of replacing it, From 2D and 3D.

It maximizes efficiency since Project Sharing allows architects, interior designers and others to unify their workflows by allowing the project team to work on the same Vectorworks file at the same time. Speed up your trip from the simple sketch to the final product.

Pros

Vectorworks Architect is the only industry modeling, design and documentation software created with BIM from the basics of the design process. Edit and analyze your model while simultaneously generating interactive schedules.

Cons

It is a software with a little high cost despite all the benefits offered by it, and the requirements in terms of storage and processing memory have a considerable demand.

December 2018

Harry from University at Buffalo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Theatre Drafting

Pros

Free for students and teachers. Very powerful and full of features.

Cons

Learning curve was tough for me. I took a class, but was given no written materials, so retention was impossible. And having to import from the libraries to the drawing is time consuming.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Architect Saver!

Pros

The best thing to bear in mind is the price that it ships with is bare minimum to what we get from other mainstream enterprises. Its an excellent value for money overall. The interface is intuitive and not difficult to comprehend. And the best part is a cross platform compatibility. I use it on my PC and my Mac at work to get the most out of it.

Cons

its not safe to say that it does fall short in a circumstances, including failing to take advantage of my multi threaded cpu where other mainstram softwares are just gobbling up the extra processing power available thus making Vector works feel a little on the static side.

April 2018

Rhys from Redrow Homes

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Good Alternative to AutoCAD

Good alternative to autocad

Pros

The best thing about using Vector works is that it has a lot of useful features which enables you to produce detailed designs

Cons

The biggest drawbacks to using Vectorworks is that it is not as widely used in the construction industry, so can be limited in transferring between consultants etc.

December 2019

Nicola from McLean Quinlan

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Produces beautiful drawings

We use this software for early concept design as it simple and easy to use and produces beautiful concept plans and elevations.

Pros

We love this software for early concept design. The squiggly line affect means we can produce production quality drawings with ease that do not scare clients in the way a technical drawing would.

Cons

We use this software with a dongle license. this is a pain as when it is needed across the office the dongle has to be physically passed over. We would prefer an online based license moving system. We also find that when drawings are exported to AutoCAD for detail design there are some accuracy issues.

April 2018

blake from Hart Homes

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great BIM software and powerful program for any capable designer!

Pros

I love that this program gives me the platform to create designs and communicate those designs to my team. It has great modeling software functions and seamlessly transitions into the everyday modeling of my business.

Cons

Not well known and there are not a lot of users for this program. Need to create a better platform for users to interact and share experiences for problems and issues.

February 2019

Christopher from Fuss Workshop

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Easy to use, difficult to acquire.

I have used this software at college and it really worked when I wanted to deliver a good project.

Pros

Easy to use when you compare it when others BIM programs.

Cons

The cost of the program makes it difficult to acquire it.

July 2019

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

EASY TO USE APP, DETAILED WORKING DRAWING, AND 3D MODELING TOOL

its a very good application for architects, the tutorial videos have helped alot

Pros

I learnt easily with the trial version then i upgrade, vector works is really great i can produce a well detailed specification,drawing schedules, floor plans, and fascinating 3D models.Vector works allow for collaboration with other CAD software, like REVIT ARCHITECTURE, its a perfect BIM tool

Cons

its slows down my PC, while carrying out complex, modelling operations, to enjoy using this application, we needed to upgrade our RAM, along with an high definition of PC graphics card,i still love this application, because of its high quality rendering produced.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A good design program

Pros

Vectorworks has some great features and works great as a technical drawing tool, it moved quite well into the world of BIM modelling in comparison to other drawing software.

Cons

In to complicated designs with a lot of curves, the software has its limitations.

April 2018

Farral from FDG Architects

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

A great product but not widely used.

We didn't implement as it isn't used much in the US.

Pros

Vectorworks seems to have all of the functionality one would need and at a more reasonable cost than the industry standard. 3D modeling and rendering works well and improvements are made consistently.

Cons

I would love a viable option in addition to Autodesk products. Vectorworks seems to be a great product and would be an option for smaller architect firms or those that focus on residential design but collaboration with engineers and other consultants who tend to work in AutoCad is easier when everyone is on the same platform.

December 2018

aline from aline photography

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

used as a student of architecture

Pros

used as a student architecture to draw up plans, it's a very easy software to use and you can draw all your plans with it.

Cons

Nothing it's a very handy software to use for a architect

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Good 3D rendering software for Mac

Pros

Vectorworks was a good option for Mac users. Not everything is very realistic looking and intuitive, but I liked that the files can be shared with AutoCad users. It involves some learning to be able to use it at its full potential.

Cons

Nothing to complaint about it. I recommend to download the demo and take their free tutorials on the website to decide it this works for your company.

June 2018

Marcos from Atenea Producciones C.A

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

It could improve in many aspects

I only had the knowledge to handle it

Pros

Vectorworks is a versatile design tool and if you want a user friendly interface, its basic libraries are very complete, in general lines it is a software for the design 2d and 3d easy to use and price value relation

Cons

I could say very few opinions against, but in my opinion the libraries of objects should be broader, applicable to different areas, such as the scope of the shows and related

November 2018

Mattia from MJS Planning & Design

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Good program, very easy to use

Pros

Easy to use, great compatibility with other architectural programs

Cons

Easy for basic use, but could result a bit complicate if you want to reach high level of details