What are VectorWorks Architect users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using VectorWorks Architect software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.41

46 Reviews

5
22
4
17
3
5
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"And the built in rendering tools are awesome as well, the result is more than enough to be used for project presentation."
  • icon"It's safe to say VectorWorks is at the top of their game when it comes to architectural design."
  • icon"We take advantage of the software’s BIM capabilities to generate elevations, schedules, and smart tags. This program is visually appealing and easy to navigate."
  • icon"This is a pain as when it is needed across the office the dongle has to be physically passed over. We would prefer an online based license moving system."
  • icon"Because of the limited use of this program in some markets, collaborating with others can be difficult."
  • icon"And for BIM, it is hard to justify not using the industry standard software. So where is the edge for Vectorworks."

Jump to:

Browse all VectorWorks Architect Reviews

  • Have you used VectorWorks Architect and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews

Adam

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Simple, effective CAD package that looks great

This effective and intuitive CAD platform enables me to produce architectural drawings for clients with ease. I can produce incredibly detailed construction drawings that are both readable and informative and enable contractors, clients and any other 3rd party to understand exactly what is being proposed or changed.

Pros

2D tools are simple and intuitive - I have taught complete novices very quickly how to use the tools and produce great looking Architectural drawings. Can be set up so it is as easy as drawing on a drawing board (I.e. you draw to scale on a piece of paper (no silly model space/paper space like AutoCAD)). Colours, hatched, patterns and opacity all allow you to produce beautiful architectural drawings that are easy to understand and interpret. With tailoring shortcuts it is also very quick to use - I can produce drawings twice as fast as other employees on AutoCAD. Has options for 3D and BIM modelling (although I have only used it minimally as I prefer the freedom of drawing with simple lines). System for backing up data and saves is great and has saved my skin often when I could of lost days worth of work.

Cons

Has had issues with iOS updates in the past and time has been wasted waiting for patches. Very occasionally crashes for bizarre reasons.

Simon

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Great software, but....

We started using Vectorworks many years ago because it was truly superior to Autocad at producing legible drawings. But Autocad has caught up. And we prefer modeling in Rhino, even though it is a more cumbersome work flow. Meanwhile. for BIM, it makes more sense to use Revit simply because everyone else is using it. IF we were starting our office today, we would not be selecting Vectorworks, much as I like it as a drafting program. And the expensive annual upgrades are frustrating, given how little benefits are.

Pros

Vectorworks is a great drafting program. it allows you to do anything you want, with great control over how the drawings look, and many ways to organize a complete drawing set.

Cons

The software is expensive, and the annual updates add very little. Autocad as pretty much caught up in terms of object-based controls. and ability to make beautiful, robust, legible, intelligent 2D drawings. While the 3D is very intuitive, Rhino is more robust. And for BIM, it is hard to justify not using the industry standard software. So where is the edge for Vectorworks?

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

20 years ago it was a superior drafting program.

LarissA

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

It does absolutely everything

I do not like it.. I find it a waste of time

Pros

If you want to do something there are probably at least 3 ways to do it in this software.

Cons

There are too many ways to customize and do things.. this makes everyday simple tasks very time consuming. It has too many glitches with Mac OS.. We havent been able to use the file sharing option without wasting hours and hours on redoing work due to crashing or random glitches that wont allow the files to save and sync.

Reasons for switching to VectorWorks Architect

New job uses only vectorworks

Rob

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Outstanding Software

We have been using the software over 20 years without hardly any issues! We can still open files from 1994!!!!!! We look at other softwares to make sure we are keeping up. When we factor in money, easy answer.....VectorWorks! We are a full BIM FIRM and VECTORWORKS does everything we need.

Pros

BIM capabilities, ease of learning, ease of use, ease of rendering, Smart tools, exceptional customer service, stability and speed of work.

Cons

Really ...... nothing. If the software doesn’t have something someone else has, they are probably developing it for the next version.

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

Way back in 1994, it was one of the only Mac platforms. We were just lucky they kept growing and improving!

Bill

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

VECTORWORKS REVIEW

The transition has been a smooth and good experience so far.

Pros

The ease of use, the customer support from the software company, and the ease of training

Cons

The process of creating drawing sets and create all the viewports can be tedious.

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

The price point and the ease of making the switch over

Reasons for switching to VectorWorks Architect

The software was 2d only and the support for upgrades was not great

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Vectorworks review

Pros

Wide breadth of features and functionality

Cons

Glitchy quirks that randomly show up and little support from VWX techs.

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

More similarity to AutoCAD, easier for staff to learn.

David Laurence

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Legacy User Loves Vectorworks 2020

As an Architect + Planner + Interior Architect & Designer... Having the ‘Verticle Market’ solutions available like Vectorworks ‘Architect’ & ‘Designer’ is so very valuable!

Pros

Features & Ease of Use + Price!!! And Vectorworks Customer Service & Community is Absolutely Amazing!

Cons

I wish that the initial price was lower :-)

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

• Best Features! • Best Customer Service! • VectCommunity! • Best Value! ...THANK YOU VECTORWORKS!!!

Kristan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

VectorWorks really work hard

Vectorworks will help you deliver excellent 2D drawings and can really work hard as a 3D program too. It has all the thrills of BIM but without the major benefit of being able to collaborate with other consultants, unless they also use Vectorworks.

Pros

Vectorworks produces the most graphically appealing and customisable drawings that I have experienced on any BIM software. This ability to make highly desirable 2D graphics and a simple 3D rendering tool that can quickly realise concepts in 3D makes Vectorworks appealing for small and mid sized Architecture practices. The program also harnesses the power of BIM to make models that are data driven.

Cons

The only downside of Vectorworks is that it won't work well when you need to collaborate with those who don't use it. Although it works well DWG as soon as you want to issue a model to a Revit user you are in trouble. This may be fine for a small Architecture practice that wants to use Vectorworks for 2D drafting and not share the 3D model, however this isn't very future proof.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

One of the best additions to our workflow because it has increased our efficiency dramatically.

Pros

Building high quality visual models across different platforms always meant having to sacrifice somewhere along the design process. But with Vectorworks Architect, we didn't have to sacrifice anything. We're able to create data-rich designs anywhere, using multiple different operating systems with ease.

Cons

At times, syncing between the two main operating systems used in our office seemed slow. Thankfully, the helpful support helped us come to the conclusion that the delays in data transfer were because of our network connection, and not the application itself. Vectorworks Architect itself never seemed to fail us.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Vectorworks Review

Over time I have become less and less impressed as other software come out and the limitations of this software have become evident. Good for simple stuff, keep away if you will use this for more complex modern BIM requirements.

Pros

Simple to use and learn, presentation style is good and clean. Great for 2D CAD working and simple projects.

Cons

This is not an advanced BIM authoring tool and I would advise people to steer away from it if this is what is required. Long term should revert itself to a 2D tool and then focus efforts on ArchiCAD as their excellent BIM authoring tool.

Reasons for choosing VectorWorks Architect

N/a

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2022

Great for smaller projects

Overall its easy to pick-up and has been getting better over the years.

Pros

What I like most about this program is that it is fairly easy to pick up from the start and be really affective.

Cons

It would be great if they figure out a way to include some sort of clash detection in vectorworks.

Erick

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

VectorWorks Software

Very happy with the software, it is my preferred design tool.

Pros

Easy to use, short cut buttons makes sense. I've worked with both AutoCad & VerctorWorks and prefer the later as it seems to be a more user friendly type of software.

Cons

In the African market less designers use the software compared to Europe. Collaborating during the design of a project is sometimes tricky as when files from other design software is imported into VectorWorks one need to spend a bit of time editing and re-allocation layers as it's not always a perfect import transition.

User Profile

Imadur Rozan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

An Architect's Favourite BIM software alternatives!

VectorWork is now supported with many 3rd party rendering software like lumion for the live sync rendering by installing the plugin for even better result, so whenever you make a changes, the render will follow up. And when it comes to choosing BIM softwares, especially if you're new to it, the VectorWorks is the good choice to start for learning BIM due to their support and very complete yet detailed tutorials given on their official website. VectorWorks is mile ahead from other BIM softwares when it comes to landscape, 3D modelling and 2D details.

Pros

Just like another software that offers BIM technology and features, this software are extremely helpful tools to working in parallels while doing a bunch of different project of building because the floor plans, elevations and sections are linked together, the results can be viewed as 2D and 3D simultaneously. But, what makes this app different from the rest of other BIM adopted softwares is the Customer support and apps tutorials given for the users that you can find on the VectorWorks official website. there you can learn from the very basic tutorials to the complex one, displayed using interactive video with step by step guide on the descriptions. And the built in rendering tools are awesome as well, the result is more than enough to be used for project presentation.

Cons

Sometimes you have to set some of the construction details, like determining the materials specifications and dimension MANUALLY unless you buy the add on packages or plug in which are inconvenient compared to what other BIM softwares are offering. And you'll need a device with plenty of free storages or memory because this software is taking so much space, it's huge! even better to be used on a device with dedicated processor and graphic card for better performance.

User Profile

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Vectorworks makes CAD designing interesting!

Pros

The flexibility of the software, combined with the deep catalogue of available 3D objects makes Vectorworks a powerhouse! It's capable of creating not only awesome top down CAD designs, but beautiful artistic renderings of your creations. Vectorworks lets you get out what you're willing to put in.

Cons

Vectorworks can take a decent amount of time to get intimately familiar with. There's plenty of classes and videos available to help you along your way, but there is certainly a skill cap to this software that requires professional knowledge to get the most out of it. It's not difficult to learn, but the skill cap is high to get the most out of it.

Nicole

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Vectorworks User Review

After a couple years of transitioning into this software, our team now has templates, object libraries, and graphic standards which can be easily implemented to all projects. The Vectorworks support team has been really helpful along the way with answering our questions and providing training on specific topics when needed. I would recommend this software to other architecture and interior design firms.

Pros

Vectorworks gives our studio the ability to combine design drawings, construction documents, and renderings into one file. We take advantage of the software’s BIM capabilities to generate elevations, schedules, and smart tags. This program is visually appealing and easy to navigate. It is a good choice for a mac-based office.

Cons

Our team has experienced a bit of a learning curve when it comes to modeling curvy objects. Vectorworks has subdivision and parametric modeling capabilities, but these do require some training. While you can import 3D files for items such as furniture from Sketchup or Revit, this can slow down the model.

Reasons for switching to VectorWorks Architect

We made the switch to Vectorworks because our previous software was not capable of BIM. We also needed a mac based program, as we are an all-mac office.

Heidi

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Best Software for Architects

The 3d benefits of VW is amazing! We are finding now that some of our consultants are now using the software therefore the sharing of files is extremely easy. BUT the exporting of files to AutoCad are great too.

Pros

This software is very intuitive. It works well with presentation software especially TwinMotion. We are a Mac based office and VW is very compatible. The VectorWorks Service Select subscription is great due to all the "how to" videos and consistent updates to their 3D library, etc.

Cons

The only con is that this software is so robust that we fear that we are not aware of all that it can do. A couple years ago we tried the VectorWorks cloud service so that a team can work on the same project at once and found it cumbersome. We have not tried it lately therefore this feature may have improved.

Sam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

One of the good BIM software for achitect

Once you get used to how to setup design layers and sort the classes, this software is a very smooth and competitive BIM software for architects.

Pros

This software is easy to use with different setup design layers, easy to setup the sheet, just simply import the design layers as viewport, easy to setup the drawing scale, and compatible with other software like auto CAD, auto Revit etc. Also easy to setup 3D model use design layers, and easy to do the rendering. the elevations and sections can be directly export from the 3D model, very easy to setup.

Cons

It is a bit complex to setup design layers, and also troublesome to sort the classes.

Vincent

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

14 years using Vectorworks. Never used a CAD/Bim system before this.

Can do it all for small to medium sized studios....really a delightful program to use!

Pros

This does everything....2-d drawings and 3-d modeling, landscape, lighting and site design, interiors, great renderings plus all of my office graphics. The graphic capabilities are awesome from sketch to OpenGL, hidden line and fully rendered

Cons

Not enough local users to share this program. This is a must have program for small to medium sized Mac-based firms...affordable and capable of handling just about anything you can throw at it!

Tyler

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Vectorworks is out go to for any project

Pros

I love how detailed this product is. It has every item we use on any project and we are able to print these cad files off in big blueprints to take onsite. The ability to accurately see items in the space is game changing for clients

Cons

The early updates prove to be less than useful. I'd rather have a program for two years that works than spend six months beta testing the software

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Drawings that will impress your colleagues.

Pros

Vectorworks is great for sticklers and perfectionists. You have a great degree of control. The preview of the drawing you are working on in the program is exactly what gets printed so you can fine tune without exporting to PDF multiple times.

Cons

Because of the limited use of this program in some markets, collaborating with others can be difficult.

Jamie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Quick, powerful and concise communication tool

Pros

Vectorworks can do a lot without getting in the way. It's easy to customize the tools to allow you to work the way that you want to work. With the powerful visualization features, it's easy to communicate highly-technical concepts to self-described non-technical people. In theatre and event production, this is an indispensable asset. And the best part is that the initial sketch can be transformed into the fully realized design drawings further saving time.

Cons

The only con I can think of is that the price can be cost prohibitive for freelancers just starting out. If you're able to afford to make the investment, it should pay off pretty quickly.

Tyler

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Vectorworks to the rescue

Pros

The amount of detail this software has is game changing. to be able to truly go into 3d and view true dimensions is so great

Cons

The price is steep but it’s one of the best apps you can use. Can be hard to use but with a little training it’s easy to use

Christopher

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

CAD program with enough depth of features for projects large and small

Pros

Easy to setup and create drawings. The tools are intuitive.

Cons

Cost. Would like a low-cost version without 3D BIM for 2D drafting only.

Steve

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Event Planning with Vectorworks

We use it rendering and designing spaces for events. It is a must for us and we would not be able to work with out it

Pros

I love the fact that you draw in a 2d plain and it makes the 3D for you for the most part. For event production and planning it has been a must for configuring the space from set pieces to lighting design.

Cons

The cost. It is a bit expensive but considering all that it does and the ease of use it is well worth the money it is just a bit of an investment.

Khai

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Powerful CAD and 3D software for Mac

Pros

A very comprehensive suite of CAD tools for designers and architects. Everything you need to conceptualize and create architectural designs right through to final approval drawings. Powerful 3D tools with decent rendering capabilities. Best CAD solution for Mac. Inexpensive.

Cons

Complicated and feature-rich, requires a level of training and skill to properly utilize it to its potential. Difficult transition from AutoCAD.

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews
VectorWorks Architect

VectorWorks Architect

4.41/5 out of 46 reviews