What are Visual Planning users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Visual Planning software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.75

22 Reviews

5
17
4
4
3
1
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The visual presentation/breakdown within the platform is very helpful and needed for what we utilize the software for."
  • icon"Very friendly for dev/admin teams. Technical product Support is very good."
  • icon"Visual Planning is a great solution for us for two reasons. It is extremely flexible and customizable."
  • icon"While it is a good thing, so an outsider/average user it can be confusing or intimidating."
  • icon"It isn't a 2 minute setup, which won't work too well for small businesses, as it front loads some of the costs."

Jump to:

Browse all Visual Planning Reviews

  • Have you used Visual Planning and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 22 of 22 reviews

User Profile

Jesús

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

It is recommended to follow the activities of all work teams

excellent software and its use is recommended

Pros

It allows managing resources in a more efficient way and also integrating with the rest of the company's applications, it is easy to use, with a very intuitive interface, you can access system information from anywhere and at any time

Cons

Implementing a planning system is not a matter of a few days, but it is a complicated process that requires a lot of attention, so a thorough maintenance work must be carried out. At the same time, the template must be kept up-to-date in the way it is used in terms of obtaining the data and analyzing and managing them

Trevor

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Visual Planning V7 Makes A World Of Difference

VP helps us to see data more clearly, allowing us to make the decisions that matter, when they matter. This can help to operate more efficiently and allows us to communicate and share information to any user groups, when they need it, in a format that works for them, whatever the device they are using.

Pros

Visual Planning now has a modern and sleek look and feel to it. Previous incarnations were always a little behind the times, but now it looks and feels good. It is now easier to 'see' the key data, manage it and share it, making it highly valuable for the business and allowing us to operate efficiently and effectively.

Cons

It isn't a 2 minute setup, which won't work too well for small businesses, as it front loads some of the costs. For medium to larger businesses this won't be an issue, as they will have a ready to go tool that works for them, out of the box and the value of the configuration will far outweigh the costs of doing it wrong.

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

Visual Planning allowed for more customisation and meant we didn't have to 'fit' the software, the software 'fitted us'. The licencing costs and structure also worked well for our business.

Shawn

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Simple to use

It has been a great experience. It is so easy to use and the drag and drop feature is perfect.

Pros

It is very easy to use. It give a great visual into your daily planning.

Cons

Would like more options. Such as forecasting.

Vu

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

VP - Review

I think it is providing value.

Pros

The flexibility is the best feature. We can easily create views and displays and customize the software.

Cons

I would have prefer it to be less buggy.

Reasons for switching to Visual Planning

The old products are not providing the benefits we need.

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Wish additional features were not so expensive

It meets our basic needs

Pros

We use a base model due to the cost we are unable to fully take advantage of the software as we are a small business

Cons

Price point doesn't allow us to use lots of the features rhat it is capable of

Marisa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

VP is a good product, but the employees make it great

Pros

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] made the purchasing and implementation of VP for our company easy and enjoyable. They're both extremely knowledgeable on their assigned topics, and helped facilitate the building and implementation of VP into our company with ease. VP is a huge step up from our prior method of tracking/calendars.

Cons

It has MANY layers. While it is a good thing, so an outsider/average user it can be confusing or intimidating.

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

I've used Project before, and visual planning blows it out of the water.

Reasons for switching to Visual Planning

Excel is terrible for calendars and employee management

Dave

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

A powerful, flexible solution for scheduling and tracking

Visual Planning has had a huge impact on our ability to schedule. What used to be in numerous sharepoint sites, excel spreadsheets and access databases are now in one tool with true multi-user access. Our team is extremely happy with what we have been able to do with Visual Planning. The use continues to grow as more and more people see the capability.

Pros

Visual Planning is a great solution for us for two reasons: 1) It is extremely flexible and customizable. No matter how complex your scheduling is, Visual Planning can be set up to do it. Multiple level scheduling, custom data fields and forms, powerful linking and data relationships, event reporting and dashboards are all possible with Visual Planning. 2) The visual interface. We have extremely complex scheduling requirements. We need see multiple pieces of equipment, their locations, their associated tests, manpower and auxillary equipment all in one place. Visual Planning is only solution out there with that capability. It lets us readily see what is going on with our schedule *and* easily modify and change things while seeing the implications.

Cons

The only downside to Visual Planning is that is is so powerful, sometimes there is a bit of a learning curve. With that said, the Visual Planning team is a great help in creating interfaces and layouts that are useful and helpful.

Reasons for switching to Visual Planning

Spreadsheets were numerous and had a lot of duplicate information. This puts everything in one place.

Vikram

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Security and Investigations

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

VP review

Our clients are happy in using this app to schedule officers in shifts and track their attendance.

Pros

Easy implementation of the forms, views and points system. Planning of Shifts. VP Portal for our officers which can be accessed through web. Drag and drop features at many places with extensive filter options Has got good calendar view. Easy backup and deployment. Very friendly for dev/admin teams. Technical product Support is very good.

Cons

1. Implementation of SSO, doesn't differentiate the username and SSO identifier, both are coupled with username and if SSO identifier will be 36 digit alphanumeric and unique value, we need to use the same as username which makes the transactional logging history with gibberish 36 digit value and users will not make to identify who modified the record actually. 2. Using of OAuth for O365

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

Our clients are using this product for about more than 5+ years to my knowledge and we are supporting and enhancing the application to cater the business needs.

Joran

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Un outil 100% adaptable

Nous avions besoin d’un outil permettant la planification d’événement avec un degré d’information plus riche que ce que propose notre société. L’outil, une fois maîtriser, permet d’avoir une richesse d’information et de données et colle à la réalité du terrain.

Pros

L’app en mobilité pour les métiers d’intervention client et une interface personnalisable à la main de l’administrateur pour répondre à un besoin et une ergonomie réelle

Cons

Nécessite une formation pour s’approprier toutes les fonctionnalités

Alexandra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Absolutely Exceptional tool to have!

Pros

As an assistant to a Project Manager we had our own spreadsheets that had the basic information needed. But we decided to purchase a software to rely on and make our lives easier. And so it did. We've been with VPS for about a year and are absolutely grateful for it! It has saved us from numerous mistakes and overall, helped us grow as a company since we started to keep better tabs on all ends of our planning.

Cons

We really don't have any thing negative to say but this has helped us incredibly and recommend it for everybody who needs a little help with the Project Management.

Nate

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Success w/Visual Planning

Overall, a great experience with Visual Planning. From implementation, to customization, training, support - it's all great and the platform helps us run much more efficiently than we were previously.

Pros

The visual presentation/breakdown within the platform is very helpful and needed for what we utilize the software for.

Cons

At times (rarely) the system can seem slightly slow or bogged down/glitchy.

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

The ease of working with the Visual Planning Team, customization, pricing.

Reasons for switching to Visual Planning

We needed a more customizable solution.

Bob

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Simplicity is not Simple

From the moment I presented to the design team, they immediately understood what I was trying to, and understood my time constraints to get a scheduling system up and running. The design team over-delivered and the software does more than I initially asked for. The scheduling app worked better than I expected and the additional capabilities the software provides has streamlined our other process.

Pros

I liked the absolute flexibility and customizability of the software. Our needs were unique and none of the available off-the-shelf software packages to do what we needed.

Cons

The software is so customizable it is difficult to appreciate all of its capabilities.

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

Visual Planning could be customized to our way of doing things. Not our doing things the way the software was set up.

Reasons for switching to Visual Planning

I was tired of working around another software package. Visual Planning does what I need without workarounds.

Russell

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Great Addition

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] have been a god-send, we really enjoy working with the team and it's been one of those great deals to work with so knowledgeable fellows.

Pros

We really like the VPGo app and some of the functions with the software. Enjoy the ability to tie in other program (ie. Sage, etc); Like the customization when talking to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN]. The ability to see in the future on our workloads.

Cons

The little hand mouse icon; No windows support for VPGO ( have found a walkaround)

Phoebe

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Easy To Use For Beginners

With Visual Planning, I can incorporate lesson plans and tutoring strategies for those who need the help off campus. I can also use Visual Planning with my co-workers to better establish our project goals and even personal goals we would all like to achieve at work!

Pros

The biggest advantage to me when it came to finding a software like Visual Planning, was its accessibility to new users and those who may find it hard to get into online learning. I was able to get my students onto Visual Planning to understand how to plan out their own projects with my help.

Cons

There is nothing I would say that I did not like least about this software so check it out for yourself! I really recommend it.

Windy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Okay-ish

Pros

Can't really comment about this application. We tried it out for one week. Its easy to use. So far, I liked the drag and drop feature. Even my business partner who is not a computer savvy likes this program.

Cons

I'm not going to complain about this application as we just use it for one week now

Yves

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Un produit hyper flexible

Pros

Il peut s adapter facilement aux besoins des clients, produit très stable.

Cons

Sa flexibilité rend la parametrisation plus difficile.

JP

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Great planning tool

We have a lot of projects to manage and equipment as well. VP really helps make it all work together without the complexity of other tools

Pros

I like how flexible the tool is when is comes to configurating the options needed. It is also really easy to use.

Cons

Wish the connection to the server in VPdesk was a little faster. Also, there are a few things I would like the software to do but it can't. These were passed on to your team.

Reasons for choosing Visual Planning

Because your platform is really flexible

Kathleen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

visual planning

Pros

easy scheduling planner from when I worked at haagen dazs, knew the time of other coworkers, also would inform me an hour before work to get ready early, helps to connect with coworkers

Cons

Nothing! I enjoy seeing how organized and easy it is to use

Gary

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

May 2016

Exceeded Expectations

The ease of use, with the great graphics and "drag and drop" functionality was quickly adopted by the production teams. The ability to update the production plan in real time and assess delay impact upon tight delivery schedules, has been of enormous benefit to our business. We would not wish to revert to our old system. During the development and implementation phases , we had superb customer service from Oakfield Software. They were always on hand , either via email or on the phone We could not fault them.

Sarah

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

June 2016

Using this software is easy to use, and a huge time saver for us.

With this system we have been able to collate real time information on the allocation of resources, as well as the progress of staff through their training programme. We have been able to use the data to implement changes that can accommodate the ever changing needs of business. We have been able to identify trends, which enables is to plan pro-actively. It has also save a lot of time when planning and reporting on activities with the department.

Cordaro

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2016

Exemplary Service and Product All the Way Around

Pros

The seamless integration with my entire company. No hassle, no stress.

Cons

What I like least about it, is that if you have a lot of constraints, visual planning will lag. It is understandable though. Have thousands of calculations, even the greatest of the great will eventually lag too.

Jesse

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

visual planning

Pros

Very flexible, it is helpful in a concise order.

Cons

Planning system takes time, but it is a complicated process.

Showing 1 - 22 of 22 reviews
Visual Planning

Visual Planning

4.75/5 out of 22 reviews
icon1 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.