All WenDuct and WenPipe Reviews

1-25 of 43 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Nathan

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Excellent software and even better customer service

The experience has been great !! [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is a life saver to start learning this software We set up a few morning meetings for about a month and after that, I was able to get a bid done by myself.. We have really tightened up our numbers and are starting to see ourselves be more competitive in this crazy plumbing bidding world. So a big thank you and a high recommendation to Wendes Software and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for all your efforts and continued help! Thank you!

PROS

Once everything is set up it’s pretty easy to use Just click and drag and everything is priced within that line

CONS

Set up has to be done and then you have to learn it.. as with any software program.

Reason for choosing WenDuct and WenPipe

Seemed to be more in tune with the plumbing world.

Vendor Response

Thanks for working with our team! Gene

Replied October 2020

Ron

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Wenduct & Wenpipe Review

I have used Wendes duct estimating a long time ago. I am so impressed that they have a piping estimating program now.

PROS

The products are very user friendly, the take-off process flows very nicely. The help desk is always ready to help with any questions/problems.

CONS

I wish if you were transitioning from one size to another, that it would recognize and keep the size you are transitioning to instead of having to tell it to go to the new size.

Reason for choosing WenDuct and WenPipe

Mainly because Trimble was kind of complicated to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Ron, suggest when you takeoff a transition is just use the large size and the program has formulas to automatically figure sq feet and weights based upon the large size. Then just enter the smaller size when you select the next piece of duct. Support is always available to help you.

Replied August 2022

Mark

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Could be much happier

the review above is based on Wenduct only, I purchased WenPipe a few years ago but honestly I don't use it. My piping estimator does not like the product at all and has the same dislike of their screen takeoff. I am considering switching to another software.

PROS

The support is outstanding but the program is very outdated and I have bee waiting for the new 64 bit program for years. I have been using the product for 15 years and have become very familiar with it.

CONS

Takeoffs tend to take too long due to a number of issues starting with the dislike of the screen takeoff and constantly needed to restart from freeze ups.

Reason for choosing WenDuct and WenPipe

Not Applicable

Vendor Response

Hi Mark, Thanks for taking the time to fill out the review. The good news is we are just finishing up final testing of Wenduct 64 and should be available very shortly. Currently Wenduct will save as you go and will not need to restart. We would love to hear from your piping estimator to find out any issues he has. The Wenpipe 64 Program has tremendous capability and many times just a support training session will very quickly change opinions. Our support team always here to help!

Replied August 2022

Don

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Wenduct

Since I've been using it, so far it has been a good overall experience. There are always bugs in everything that need worked out but it seems to always work and it gets us job.

PROS

It's accurate, it's quick. Seems to be straight forward on how you use it.

CONS

Getting into the program to change pricing is a little tough, finding out what your changes do to the program is sometimes time consuming. Seems to be a lot of windows to get into the system and maybe a few too many duplications. When you make a change it is sometimes hard to tell if it actually worked, especially on the labor / hours.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback. Feel free to contact support for a web session. We are always here to help!

Replied August 2022

Reid

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2017

Great product and outstanding customer support team.

PROS

We've been using Wenduct for over 2 decades and have had great success with it. We actually realized about a year ago that we hadn't updated in years, but the product still worked very well. Now that we've upgraded, we have even more functionality. It definitely requires some training, but we've been able to on-board 4-5 employees on it relatively quickly (3-6 months with close training by a seasoned estimator).

CONS

The hardware fails from time to time, but the software has been pretty reliable. That said, setting it up initially takes a lot of legwork.

Tzveta

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

great estimating program

WenDuct and WenPipe material lists are very useful for sending out to vendors when we win a job.

PROS

It is easy to use and customer support is excellent. You talk to 2 different people and they respond right away.

CONS

would like to see an electrical program in the same format

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback!

Replied August 2022

Kirk

Utilities, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Easy desktop takeoff of plumbing and hangers

PROS

Flexibility of input, material types for the takeoff, and data output for the takeoff in PDF, Excel, etc.

CONS

load multiple drawings into the estimating software at once. Currently one at a time, and not a big deal unless I have dozens of drawing to do takeoff

Vendor Response

Hi Kirk, thanks for the review. Please note you can load multiple drawings at once by selecting load drawings and multiple PDF page numbers at one time. Please feel free to call support if you have questions and they can attach to your computer to help

Replied August 2022

Tom

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

WenDuct

We would be a 5 man shop without it.

PROS

Excellent Customer Support, and the speed of my takeoff.

CONS

There are features i have not really used or explained to us.

Reason for choosing WenDuct and WenPipe

The original salesman helped us choose .

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback!

Replied August 2022

Randy

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Easy-accurate Estimating

Both programs are easy to navigate through and we can bid jobs twice as fast.

PROS

This software makes estimating so much faster and very accurate, When I have question or need an answer to anything on the program Gene and the whole crew at Wendes are there to help every time.

CONS

I haven't found anything I dislike about the software, I was hesitant at first estimating the old fashion way because I don’t like change but I’m very happy we purchased the soft ware.

Vendor Response

Randy, thanks for your feedback. The Wendes Team is always here to help!

Replied June 2020

Brendon

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Crucial to our business

Great software, it has our bids right where they need to be.

PROS

Easy to use and customizable enough to take off any project. Seems to be a very accurate way to bid small to very large projects.

CONS

Needs better real-time updates. Some of the equipment that we use on projects are not included in the software that I have found.

Matt

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Need more training

We love the product it is fast and efficient. Just a would like a bit more training as we are old school operators

PROS

This is a very easy to use product. We like ho it separates the labour and material costing from shop lab. to field. The additional material and lab is fantastic and we can compare poundage to actual cost

CONS

The updates could be more frequent and a confirmation of what was updated would help. We are a Canadian firm, so our costs are different from the world market. We deal in sheet stock so we are selling our metal as a 3rd person cost. Adjustments are frequently made with in the system. The system usually glitches and our estimates sometimes do not have the labour costs.

Vendor Response

Hi Matt, Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Training can be scheduled by calling support at 847-808-8371 to schedule a convenient time. We can also check your program because it can always provide labor hours and costs.

Replied August 2022

Keith

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Good Software.

PROS

Easy to use. I like the screen takeoff. It saves from having to waste Paper and Ink.

CONS

Sometimes it freezes up and will try to have you put in all the job info again. There was supposed to be an improved version of WENDUCT 2 yrs ago. I have yet to see it.

Vendor Response

If for some reason your computer freezes the job will now be saved and you will not have to put in the job info again. This was an occasional issue several years ago and has been fixed . Please contact Wendes Support at 847-808-8371 and they will help you get your system updated

Replied August 2022

Brian

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2022

Not Impressed

I wanted to give it another try considering the money we have invested, set up a time to have another employee trained. Training went well, we were supposed to receive on line licensing and never received and have not been able to access the program we are paying for. Desire to put this program to use.

PROS

it seemed like it would be a good tool for quoting projects accurately, also saving time during the quoting process.

CONS

The lack of support, setting up the pressure files

Reason for choosing WenDuct and WenPipe

Seemed at the time like the best choice.

Vendor Response

Hi Brian, sorry to hear you cannot access the program. Please call the Wendes Support line at 847-808-8371 Jim Ext 1003 or Tim Ext 1002 will connect to your computer and get this problem corrected today. Pressure files are very easy to set up based upon your construction. Tim at ext 1002 can schedule a web session to help you.

Replied August 2022

Tim

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

happy

great time saving accurate

PROS

easy to use you don't have to be a computer wiz to operate system

CONS

i like everything about the system from easy to use to its recap sheets

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback!

Replied August 2022

Kerry

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2012

My name is Kerry McCann, I am the General Superintendent at Hawkeye Sheet Metal in Shreveport, LA. I have been in this trade since 1983. I got the opportunity to go to work for Hawkeye Sheet Metal in February 2012. We are a new sheet metal shop with all new equipment and a variety of capabilities. From ductwork, to welded exhaust, stainless and aluminum welding for counter tops, dog boxes, gas tanks, we do a variety of specialty work. We have a plasma table in shop and portable plasma machines. When it came time to look for an estimating program for ductwork I looked on the internet and selected the two top rated. To be fair I had a demo done with each company. I inquired with WenDuct and within 24 hours I got a call from Gene Kaplan at Wendes. We talked for about two hours along with a demo and after that I knew that Wendes was the estimating program for me. Gene walked me through the program and it honestly felt like it was custom designed just for me. Gene is a terrific instructor and a very straight forward guy with exceptional integrity. I picked up quite quickly and when I ran into a question, I just picked up the phone and spoke directly with the tech support guys. They basically dropped whatever they were doing and straightened me out. It is very easy to use, very acurate and very fast. So, now I am proud to say "look out guys, the game is afoot!"

Tracy

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Allegiance Plumbing Texas

My experience with wenpipe has been terrific thus far. I am able to pump out bids so much faster than before. And I'm just getting started with it I have been using it for 2-3 months now and i can honestly say it was an excellent decision to switch from McCormicks to wendes or at least it was for me.

PROS

Ease of use. Im not a tech kind of guy but this thing is so user friendly . Its exactly what i was looking for in a bid program.

CONS

Have found absolutely nothing i can complain about.

Reasons for switching to WenDuct and WenPipe

McCormicks was not at all user friendly as the wendes system.

Quincy

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

We love Wenduct!!

PROS

This software only needed a day of training, it gives fast results and accurate numbers it won’t let you make mistakes

CONS

I could not find any cons for this software at first I was confused with the quantity and length options

Vonnie

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE