All Docker Reviews

1-25 of 519 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Information Technology and Services, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2021

A promising future for software deployment

User Profile

Yehanny

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Best tool to manage your web applications

All our web applications use Docker for testing purporses and production enviroments and is a must inside our organization.

PROS

I think every software corporation needs to migrate their server architerture to contenerized enviroments and Docker make it easy to maintain and scale all web applications because you can have all your services or microservices running isolated and that gives you the possibility to have multiple softwares developed in different languages for every service that your application needs, for example: You can have a running container with Apache Server for your backend using PHP, and another NodeJS container for your frontend, a MySQL database service for your data and a Redis service for the cache management all in the same network sharing for every project or even for different projects in another networks, possibilities are unlimited.

CONS

In my oppion, there's no cons using Docker, I think you'll get more gains rather than pains in your software business.

Matthew

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

The lean virtual machine tool we've been waiting for

Feels like a bit of a learning curve coming from using VirtualBox, vagrant, etc., but when you get that first cluster of virtual environments running interacting apps you know how worth it it was

PROS

Docker works on every platform and makes it simple to match production and development systems. It's similar to older virtual machine and VM management tooling, but much more lean and 100% open source.

CONS

Getting started can be intimidating. While it's worth the time invested, development teams accustomed to working directly on their own hardware or with traditional virtual machine tools will have a bit of a learning curve.

Reason for choosing Docker

It's faster, smaller and scales more quickly and easily

Reasons for switching to Docker

Lean, fast, efficient tool

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Fundamental for modern software services

We are running a fleet of microservices on Amazon ECS and Docker is part of our development, testing, staging and production environments.

PROS

It's become a de-facto standard and there are a lot of resources online to learn everything, from basics to the really advanced tidbits.

CONS

Being a very complex system, sometimes it's hard to keep track of all the parts. Is runc part of Docker? What about containerd? What's moby? The fact that operating system packages with the same name include different things doesn't help. Sometimes there are also subtle bugs that take days to track and attribute to Docker.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Powerful and robust containerization technology

PROS

Very powerful; extremely flexible; huge community support; vast integrations with other products/technologies

CONS

Steep learning curve when moving to Docker (or containerization in general) for the first time.

Reasons for switching to Docker

Vagrant was too resource-hungry for general usage and didn't really provide a path to containerization.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Best way to containerization

Docker is very useful for us it saves the cost upto 50% and continous integration and new features are on time after implementing docker

PROS

Docker is new sensation in the world of software development we can easily ship our code and applications in a bundle with their binaries and dependency so anyone can run application easily. Docker is the best way to ship your application on multiple platform with less resources.

CONS

Docker is not available for windows we have to download vm to run it on windows

Reason for choosing Docker

It comes with docker hub where millions of images are available and it is easy to use

User Profile

Mo

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A DevSecOps must have

PROS

The best feature I like about docker is that I can encapsulate work in a container and deploy it anywhere like Azure Container Instances, Amazon EKS, Digital Ocean or even my desktop. I like to create containers with python + security tools like SSL Scanners and deploy them near the servers to test and outside the servers to test to have an accurate picture of what's supported. It also helps with powershell core since you can create docker container with specific modules and give them to co-workers so they don't have to install the modules on their PCs. I also like integrations like Trivy that come built-in to docker desktop so you can scan the images for vulnerabilities and also like Slim.AI to make images smaller.

CONS

The recent licensing changes made me discover Podman and switched a few workloads already.

User Profile

Divaldo

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Excellent solution for development using repositories and eliminating repetitive tasks.

PROS

In programming, we sometimes perform the same tasks over and over again. Docker allows us to have ready-made repositories of functions, codes and even robust tasks that we can use in different projects without having to create them again from scratch and better eliminate the likelihood of human error. . I really like it because it's free for the local environment and because it's open source.

CONS

One of the things that worries me is that Docker is not very friendly to consuming virtual machines, containers consume considerable resources. Difficult to manage in complex projects where we have several connections and layers. Monitoring should be improved.

User Profile

Austin

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Docker, the perfect container-maker

We solved a monolithic structure implementing Docker, it was a hard process and it's not really easy, but if it's well done you can rest assured that you will have much fewer problems in the future. Capacity and maintainability skyrocketed after we started using it, so we have much to thank Docker.

PROS

I think the most impactful and beneficial thing about Docker is the capacity to hold an entire program with an insanely low size (30MB for an entire and fully operational Alpine-linux!!). This enables a world of microservices to be created and never depend on one thing, you can have 6 different micro services hosted on 6 different containers and each and every one can be resetted without holding the rest hostage.

CONS

I think the implementation process could be easier, sometimes you really need an easy-access terminal and Docker is not that friendly when it comes to that, I have high hopes that they can resolve that issue, for example as Anaconda did, a separate executable terminal for each virtual environment, this could be a separate command terminal for each container.

User Profile

Onur

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Docker Review

We have solved the stability issues with using distributed Docker containers. Our downtime on our website significantly dropped down. I can tell that my overall experience with Docker is very good.

PROS

It has great community online. When I need help with some configuration or error, I can easily find the solution. Also the Docker containers are very stable and fast. It can easily be deployed using a regular CI/CD tool.

CONS

Nowadays, using standalone docker containers are not a common way. You need to use Docker with Kubernetes. I'd be glad if some developments will be performed for the aim of using Docker standalone containers.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great tool for development

It is a great toolSome production application such as Nginx, Nextcloud are run on dockerThey are managed by docker-composedDOckerfile makes it easy to add components to existing imageit helps devs to build and ship their application cross platform

PROS

Can run on cross platformCan build applications on OS based container or completely from scratchCan tag imagesLow resource consumption if configured well

CONS

Nothing to dislikeOne thing is that one needs some experience to work with it

Redley

Computer Networking, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Docker Overall Review

I have been using Docker for a few months now, and overall, I have had a positive experience with the tool.One of the things that I like most about Docker is its portability. Containers are lightweight and portable, which makes it easy to deploy applications on different environments and platforms. This has been particularly useful for me, as I often work with a variety of different systems and environments.I have also found Docker to be very helpful for ensuring consistency across environments. By packaging up all of the necessary code, libraries, and dependencies in a single container, Docker helps to ensure that my applications will run the same way regardless of the environment in which they are deployed.In addition to its portability and consistency, I have also found Docker to be very scalable. It is easy to create and deploy new containers as needed, which makes it straightforward to scale applications up or down as needed.Overall, I have had a positive experience with Docker and would definitely recommend it to others. It is a useful tool that can help to streamline the development and deployment process, making it easier to build and manage applications.

PROS

- Portability: Docker containers are lightweight and portable, making it easy to deploy applications on different environments and platforms.- Consistency: Docker helps to ensure consistency across environments by packaging up all of the necessary code, libraries, and dependencies in a single container.-Scalability: Docker makes it easy to scale applications by allowing you to quickly create and deploy new containers as needed.- Ease of use: Docker provides an intuitive and user-friendly interface for managing containers and images.

CONS

-Security:Docker containers can potentially introduce security vulnerabilities if they are not properly configured and maintained.-Resource utilization:Docker containers can consume resources such as CPU and memory, which may impact the performance of other applications running on the same host.-Complexity: Using Docker may add an additional layer of complexity to the application development and deployment process.

Udit

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

With Docker, Serve Users Anything Or Everything That Is Hosted As A Service

Docker images may be created relatively easily, and distributing them is even easier. We can easily containerize and host our lengthy code, which allows us to work quickly on production. With Docker, we can serve users anything or everything that is hosted as a service.

PROS

I can state with certainty that it has helped me avoid a lot of time-consuming problems with software deployment. Our large project can be divided into smaller components, which we will then deploy in containers to enable independence. We can provide the appropriate environment needed to run our project using a Docker Image file. Applications can be set up and executed more quickly with the help of a large selection of pre-built containers.

CONS

Images can occasionally be quite huge, and Docker can use quite a lot of CPU and memory on a computer. On systems with little setup, it ages. For it to function effectively, a decent system is needed. The performance of Docker Desktop might be enhanced.

Angie

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Containers made easy for the masses

Overall Docker allows me to quickly setup applications locally and do quick tests, then tear down these environments.

PROS

Simple to install and setup. I'm currently using Docker Desktop for the MacBook Pro M1. In production we run docker engine on Ubuntu. The docker ecosystem is fairly robust, it's easy to find an official docker image for any popular software product. While I mainly use the CLI, the UI is simple and easy to use for new users. Once you have experienced the convenience of launching a docker container and letting docker manage the runtime and all dependencies, it's hard to go back to virtual machines and configuration scripts. Docker is regularly updated with new features and updates and the update process is also very simple.

CONS

There is somewhat of a learning curve when building your own Docker images. Docker does have a fairly heavy footprint as when it is launched it also creates a QEMU process. Depending on how much RAM your system has, this can be up to 8GB. It would be nice to have an auto clean option as I found that Docker images started to consume a lot of my storage space. If you are using Docker for work, you may be obligated to pay under their new terms of usage.

Gareth

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Great addition to our workflow

Docker has given us a reliable way to reproduce development environments across multiple work machines as well as on production environments. It's sped up our process of getting new developers setup on projects as well as starting new projects knowing that they'll just work. It's been a great boost in our efficiency to take on new projects.

PROS

Docker is great for setting up development environments for projects and making sure everyone is working on the same basis. That includes locally as well as in production environments. Once you have you have your configurations set it becomes trivial to drop it into any project with similar requirements. It's very flexible in what it allows you to do. It definitely speeds up the on-boarding of new team members.

CONS

Docker works 99% of the time. It's fairly reliable. Every now and then things won't work for no reason. It usually ends up being some or other obscure issue. Luckily enough if you search hard enough there's usually someone that has experienced the same problem and has managed to resolve it. There's thankfully many ways to tackle a problem when it comes to Docker.

Dushyant

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Complex for beginners, but easy and useful once comfortable

Docker allowed us to containerize and deploy our large application. By packaging environment configuration with the application code, we were able to continue running applications which required outdated versions like Python 2, even though the server environments didn't support them. It also allowed our distributed team to work on Linux servers and Windows machines, on the same codebase, without having to fight over dependency mismatches

PROS

Docker allows us to containerize our applications - meaning that pieces of big application can run in isolation, without having to set up dependencies on any environment. It allows us to worry less about server configuration, setup time on individual machines and not have to worry about dependency management. In conjunction with Kubernetes, it works great to deploy containerized applications to facilitate microservice/microfrontend architected applications

CONS

Docker has a steep learning curve. Configuring Docker desktop itself is a pain, although it becomes easier to containerize applications once the setup is complete. It requires a great deal of RAM , and thus, nearly impossible to work, on low RAM laptops.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Solid position, rocky start

PROS

The basic usage is pretty simple, and it makes local development of server applications much easier.

CONS

It's a unix tool, but when it first came out it had a very non-unix feel to it, breaking certain conventions. Sometimes it feels like certain parts were written by an inexperienced intern. It's not well thought out, and you'll often end up scratching your head trying to remember the difference between "create', "exec", "run" and "start" (among others).

Manjunath

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Docker - for your everyday shipping (container) needs!!

We have our various products interacting with each in the form of microservices which has been possible due to dockerization. Its the backbone of the hosted infrastructure as it helps to build this apps, distribute and deploy them predictably every single time.

PROS

1. Containerization - this wasnt even a word before Docker made it a household verb for every developer. Allowing multiple services to be independent of each other, in other words to form a microservice by virtualization at the VM level. Its a Linux ship! 2. Rapid Deployment - developer can simply push the build and deploy happens atuomatically 3. Images are easily available in plenty for consumption 4. Intuitive command line interface 5. Its predicatable - Works exactly the same way on any OS platform and that augurs well for enterprise needs

CONS

1. Breaking a monolithic application into microservices is tough and hence, dockerization of an existing application can take some amount of investment 2. A bit of learning curve if not hands-on with linux. 3. High load throughput can be troublesome at times, docker hangs in such situations 4. Debugging can be a challenge sometimes 5. Backward compatibility with various Docker versions is also spotty. 6. Docker can be an overkill if the application is already on Amazon lambda, Elastic Beanstalk

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Software development made easy for continuous deployment

Increased our productivitySaves manual configuration time again and againEasy one line command deploymentEffective resource utilization as we can assign RAM/CPU per container

PROS

Easy to deploy application with one single commandNo need to configure services again and againEasy to allocate resources(Ram/CPU) per containersVolumes can be created to manage offline(mounted) files(reused)Applications can be containerised and we can create image, we can share the push this image to central repository/Docker Hub, then it can be pulled on any nodes to create copies of applications for faster deployments

CONS

Cant be used for continuous integration and docker dont assure of availability as if container gets down all the services inside container gets down, which cannot be automatically orchestrated on creating new containers for high availability

User Profile

Sanchita

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

Docker - A Containerization holder

Docker is making my life easy as now I don't have to worry about deployment on my multiple servers and resolving the issue 'Working on my BOX' as its always testing code in truly independent environment. Containerization is helping use in high availability, by this we have achieve zero outage to our server because of deployment.

PROS

Docker is one of the best containerization application. To achieving continue integration it's very helpful. Managing the deployment container and images is now easy with Docker. Docker help to do the things for you by automation. Once you configure a Docker in your environment it will make sure that issue will not occur due to development or production environment. It also very helpful in deployment and virtualization. The best thing in it is secure and transparent as it's source code is open.

CONS

As docker can be configure in all environment and architecture, but it is sometime very challenging to solve the particular issue that is making hurdle in configuring it. Documentation is also limited as it is not covering all the aspects or environment in which we or our organization is working. I feel they should also provide the some enterprise feature like image management in open source version also.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY