User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(211)

211

4 stars

(157)

157

3 stars

(15)

15

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Jenkins Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 382 results

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Hung from FPT Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Powerful CICD tool to handle all stage in pipeline

We use Jenkins as the main CICD in our project, we organize jobs with similar function into Group, we create jobs for the build, compile, and unit test each time a developer check-in their code to a specified branch and build a new version of artifact when having master branch commit. We add some additional plugin and create Jenkins jobs for run system test, automation test, and integration test automatically when having new commit to master and have jobs for deploy our new code to destination VMs on demand.

Pros

Jenkins is very simple to installation and configuration as standalone or cluster, just a few clicks to get Jenkins ready, it is flexible and easy to create Pipeline and Job from UI or by YML file. Jenkins support many plugins allows it easy to integrate with other tool and software such as AWS, Sonar, JMeter... and Jenkins support almost major language and OS.

Cons

Jenkins UI is simple and it is hard for manage when we have a large number of jobs and pipelines. It does not have features for tracking job history, sometimes accident deletes or changes a job and we unable to recover it.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

We choose Jenkins as it is simple and flexible but powerfull to handle our CICD pipeline, it is popular and easy to find document and support from the community and easy to integrate with our source repository on Bitbucket, it also works well with our technology stack including Jmeter, Selenium, Java, Tomcat and AWS

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Tamseel from Linknbit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Jenkins is great open source continuous integration tool for large scale applications.

I have used Jenkins for few projects with team members, we used it because we needed more flexibility at configuration. It is the only choice when you need more control over integration and testing. It is hard to configure and install but that is the trade-off for control over customization and configuration. Jenkins is free of cost itself although you need to server to host it. We use Jenkins only for projects which require more configuration and security.

Pros

Currently Jenkins is the only CI tool which has the largest set of plugins, it gives you more control over how it should work, like you can customize pipeline of continuous integration and delivery. There are plugins allow you to run Jenkins in kubernetes and docker but we never ran it on containers. Huge number of plugins available for Jenkins which allow you to integrate with other tools and customize it to your needs, plugins are available at Jenkins update center. Great thing about Jenkins is it work on windows, Linux and mac OS. Cost of using Jenkins is free because its open source although you need server to host it, you must maintain and update and that's your responsibility.

Cons

Jenkins is not easy to use you need to configure it and host it before using unlike tools like travis CI which is ready to be used. Learning curve is steep because it has lot of features and customization which is little bit hard at start. Hosting server is needed to host Jenkins, which means you also need to pay for hosting. Maintenance and updation is user responsibility.

Reasons for Switching to Jenkins

You don't get control over configuration like Jenkins. There were project which needed security and could not be host on third party tools where as Jenkins can host on your own server. Larger set of plugin is also the reason of switching.

December 2021

Parth from Liberty Mutual

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

One Of the best continuous integration tool - Jenkins

It is appropriate to build, CI and CD. the Tool is likewise useful for scheduling, offline task, environment maintenance and some other future.

Pros

Jenkins Is amazing at integration with numerous different tools and administrations. Jenkins Is superbly very much upheld in the dev local area with over 1k Plugins. Jenkins Has various security models to suit any enterprise. commit into a Git code repository can start off a Jenkins jobs which in turn runs a Test suite and an application Deployment.

Cons

We experience had some difficulty with utilizing Ansible with Jenkins to permit a pipeline build. This points Jenkins could improve by permitting a spotless method for define build pipelines. Dashboards should be better provisioned in the core item. also need to provide ability to export data.

February 2020

Justin from MIM Software

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

The Nagios of CI tools: old, clunky, but still "works"

Nobody ever got fired for choosing Nagios as an IT monitoring tool, and nobody ever got fired for choosing Jenkins as a CI tool. However, both products are, in my estimation, relics from an age when better options really weren't available. Jenkins is free, widely used, and has a vibrant ecosystem. However, at this point, I feel certain that it's coasting on its past reputation. Before settling for Jenkins, I would carefully examine more modern products in this space such as GitLab CI.

Pros

Jenkins can be set up on-premise and comes with no licensing fees. Considering the cost of some CI platforms, that's a HUGE advantage. There are enough plugins that you can find added functionality for almost anything.

Cons

Jenkins can be kind of like WordPress - there is such heavy reliance on plugins that they can sometimes cause unexpected behavior when interacting with each other. Jenkins is significantly harder to get started with than something like GitLab CI. When tasked with creating pipelines for my own development projects, I opted for GitLab CI, and I feel like I'm missing absolutely nothing. The stock Jenkins interface is absolutely horrible. It looks like a leftover from 10+ years ago. (Another similarity with NAgios...)

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

CI/CD For every project.

It is a very powerful tool that helps with the continuous integration of a software development project, ensuring that the parameters and validations defined by the devops and quality teams are always met. It is ideal to make it indispensable in the integration and deployment of projects.

Pros

Full integration of a development project. Uniting different applications and additional software according to the need and parameterization of the work team.

Cons

To make the best use of this tool, it is necessary to know very well its functionalities and how they should be parameterized. What makes its manipulation can only be given by a few members of the work team.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Due to its great background, community and stability. This tool is the leader in its area and not for nothing, it is undoubtedly the best.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Salvatore from Codeway SA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Jenkins is Mandatory for DevOps Style

Is the better tool to the CI/CD Deployment, for DevOps is a Must.

Pros

I use Jenkins from 2 years now and is the best software con Continuous Integration and Continuous Deploy process. Have a lot of plugins integrated like as JaCoCo, sonar, maven etc. Develop and release are become very simply and automated with jenkins.

Cons

The first Installation is not very simple, with docker can be improved. Any plugins have a problems with legacy version of Jenkins

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Is a free basic tool and have a lot plugins integrated.

Reasons for Switching to Jenkins

Swith to Other Customer

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best tool for CI / CD

Is widely used in the company and is very stable. maybe complex to manage, but is very good for CI and CD

Pros

Is the most used tool of the market, besides the open source to have a very active community.

Cons

I believe that only the UI could improve

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Because Jenkins is open source and widely used

November 2021

Rand from IkeaIT

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Easy to use

Pros

Very easy to integrate with other platforms like Slack

Cons

Sometimes as user I get failed builds and it’s not easy to know why

December 2021

Mohamed from Fivos Health

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Jenkins Review

an amazing Experience without any issues

Pros

Easy to Setup and Configure on the server and Can be copied to any other server easily Has a lot of plugins that make it more powerful integration with a lot of repositories is wonderful

Cons

Configuration takes a long time but this is for the first time only

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

I read a lot of reviews about it and I liked it Has huge Plugins that make work very easily

December 2021

Ahmed from MedStreaming

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2021

Jenkins

Pros

Best open source free tool for CICD and has variety of plugins that can support integration with most applications

Cons

the user interface is very poor and out dated

August 2021

Chetan from Persistent Systems

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Flexible CI and CD tool

It is a very good CI CD tool. If you use standard plugins and use standard CI CD workflows, and avoid complex groovy code, then Jenkins hits the sweet spot between user friendliness and flexibility.

Pros

Allows creating simple as well as very customized Jenkins pipelines. Allows scripting using Groovy and shell scripts. Has tons of useful plugins , easily integrates with many other software systems. It hits the sweet spot between high customizability and developer friendliness if you stick to standard workflows. Complex customization of build pipelines is also possible.

Cons

The ability to build very customized build pipelines is sometimes also a disadvantage. It's too easy to create a complicated pipeline with Groovy code which could be difficult to maintain. Also the Jenkins UI can be confusing for a novice user.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

We have many microservices , some infrastructure build pipelines with a few build customizations. Jenkins allows us to use shell scripts, Groovy code when we need customizations. In other cases where simpler pipelines suffice, we use the declarative syntax for creating Jenkins pipelines. For very simple pipelines we use the Jenkins UI for defining the pipeline.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Monish from lowes

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Product Build Version Management and Ad-hoc jobs Scheduling

Jenkins has been a great tool for maintaining build version and scheduling timely jobs

Pros

Jenkins plays a important role in product development and deployment lifecycle, where a developer can build his code and give the build version to QA for testing, ones the build is tested it can be signed off and deployed to prod, Not one but many Different Applications can be created and can be built and maintain the build versions of each applications, Ad-Hoc scripts can be managed and can be triggered when required or schedule it in a timely manor, the jobs can be parameterised or non-parameterised, and can even set default parameter value, The scheduling of jobs are done using cron string, Usually we use linux shell scripts for job build configurations, it can also be done by many different ways. We can configure different executor machines for different jobs to distribute the load, Supports parallel processing of different jobs at the same time, User permissions are manageable (read, write, build etc.. ), It has lot's of native and third party plugins, for achieving different use-cases, and lot of community support, The features are well-documented inline, it has a great version control of the job configuration

Cons

Scheduling becomes little complicated if the job has to run in un uniform interval of time, for which we had to set up two jobs with the same build configuration and different cron scheduler, sometimes the application dropdown values disappears when used with different executors , Not a fully cloud-based solution, infrastructure should be managed internally, maintains limited build history,

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The best open source solution for build machines

I would strongly recommand to consider Jenkins for your build machines. It's free, powerful and offers a lot of options that payed solution might not even propose.

Pros

Jenkins is fully open source, making it easy to install on almost any system. Jenkins comes with many different plugins that allows you to use it with your favorite Engine, versioning solution, etc... Jenkins offers many different ways of creating builds scenario, easy to understand steps, and strong scripting

Cons

It's not always easy to find support, and you might need to rely on your web searching skills in order to find some help. Updates can sometimes break plugins so you need to be careful with those. Luckly enough, there are ways to revert updates if necessary. It's not for Everyone, since setting up a server could take time and a lot of trial and errors.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

We were already used to Jenkins from our previous project and the plugins available with Jenkins, for our versioning solution, are better maintained and more up to date than the TeamCity ones.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great tool for continuous build and integration in software businesses

We can solve one of the major problems of the deployments as Jenkins can take of our major continuous build and integration process and it is widely used in all the major and minor enterprise applications and the Jenkins source code is very free and is flexible and can be used in almost all the operating system.

Pros

Best of Jenkins is it comes with wide range of the plugin suite and is used as the automation server software that can achieve continuous integration. It supports wide range of the operating system like UNIX,LINUX,Windows,etc. Good thing is it is open source and can we used with wide range of the major tools like CVS,GIT,ANT,Maven etc. Jenkins is easy to use and is very flexible. In jenkins we can integrate large number of the servers as a result team across the world can work continuously integrating the project.Jenkins helps the developers in customizing the tool.In all most all the enterprise applications these Jenkins are used as a main tool for the continuous build and integration tool.

Cons

The least about the software is that there is only the tracking on version control but there is no tracking on jenkins itself which is a major drawback. Cost of the Jenkins is unpredictable and may vary time by time. This Jenkins has another drawback as this does not allow the commit made by one person to be view by another person and tracking the Jenkins build process is bit difficult in large projects

March 2019

User Profile Picture

Sanchita from Amdocs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

A open source automation for continuous integration and delivery.

Jenkins helps us in doing the deployment for the 500+ clients server in just few hours but before it would take weeks to do the same. Best thing in it the container can be also helpful in case we need the immediate rollback. Orchestration help to achieve the continuous integration and delivery.

Pros

Jenkins is one of the best automation tool for deployment. It’s easy to configure and maintain. The Jenkins implementation don’t need large code based enchantment to configure and implement it which makes it easy to opt. The build pipeline is easy to manage with it. Jenkins helps in boosting the agile process with automation which helps in speeding the delivery of the product. Jobs are easy to configure the build and deploy the code on multiple servers at once. Various third party pulgins give the wings to it. The large plugin community and easy plugin development make the process easy.

Cons

Jenkins jobs configuration wizard should be more enhanced and should come with some more features which help to setup the jobs faster. Jenkins should also increase the documentation on the plugins development. Before updating Jenkins we always need to check its compatibility with the other plugins we are working with, this process should be simple.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Jenkins - Your best friend for CI/CD.

I am using Jenkins to implement our CI/CD processes and boost our development team productivity.

Pros

* Easy installation, it's really easy to install and configure, in a couple of hours you can have your Jenkins server up and running. * Cross-platform: You can have your Jenkins master on Linux, and your slaves in Linux/Windows. * It has a plug-in for everything. I am using plug-ins to integrate with Git/JIRA/Slack/Maven/Python/etc. * Manage Jenkins is easy and user-friendly. * You can configure your CI/CD pipelines, it's a very flexible tool. * Schedule jobs are easy to set and reliable, you can trust them to run scheduler tasks. * You can have your automation on Jenkins, once deployment pipeline is done, you can trigger your automation testing. It's great because you have everything in one single place and everything is coordinated.

Cons

*When Jenkins slave is installed on Windows as service, and your server receives a Java update, sometimes your slave will get broken. I have faced this issue several times, and it's difficult to debug what is happening. The best option is to uninstall the slave has service and re-install.

August 2019

zaineb from Davidson Consulting

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Jenkins for test automation

As a Software Quality Assurance and Automation, my main job after writing and automating the tests, is being able to run the tests daily. When the test base exceeds ten test cases, it becomes difficult and time consuming to execute test cases daily. That's why I use Jenkins, as it allows me to run my test cases daily, and the best part is that I can run mobile and web test cases, and test cases that combine the two. I created a jenkins job to execute the tests daily, and send me and to my team the execution report by email. The report contains all the passes and fails and screenshots of the failed test cases, the consumed time and the percentage of the passed and failed. I simply couldn't find a better tool to execute automated test cases.

Pros

-The execution of the test cases on a daily basis -Executing mobile and web test cases -Recover the automation code from git for the test execution -The high quality reports generated by jenkins, that contain the time exeuction, the passes and fails, screenshots of the failed steps and the exact code line where the test failed -Configuring the email list where the report is sent -The easiness of use when it comes to checking the report -The free Jenkins documentation online On top of all, Jenkins is free :D

Cons

-It is very hard to create a Jenkins job for beginners

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

It is by far the best of its kind and it's free.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Vandana from Deloitte India

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

A product for continuous integration and delivery.

Jenkins enhance the product life-cycle with power of automation. Deploying multiple clients servers is a job of few hours now. The Jenkins community or support are the most relevant place to discuss your issues in Jenkins. The job fail notification come with the details of the right place to investigate the issue.

Pros

Jenkins is a powerful tool for achieving the continuous integration and delivery. Jenkins provide the various plugins to build, test and deploy the code. Implementing the application don't need any major code changes. Large scale infrastructure can be easily managed by the distributed Jenkins architecture to build and deploy the projects in faster way. The rich set of plugins help in setting up the jobs steps. The open source code of Jenkins provide the transparency about each module.

Cons

Jenkins should provide the recommendation of pipelines as per the product needs. View filters need more enhancement for customization and Throttle build plugins keep stopping in the latest update. There are a limited plugins for snapshot of configuration as I think it should be an in-build feature of Jenkins itself.

June 2020

André from Mindera

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Extremely powerful and configurable CI

I've been quite happy with Jenkins so far, as it allows us to have full control over our CI/CD infrastructure.

Pros

- free - extremely extensible - very configurable - cross platform - easy to get up and running - declarative pipelines - good documentation

Cons

- user interface got stuck in the 90's (there's still hope with blue ocean) - some more complex pipelines are not yet supported (e.g. nested parallel)

Reasons for Switching to Jenkins

GoCD was very sluggish and brittle, due to a single configuration for the whole instance. It is also far less configurable and extensible than Jenkins.

December 2019

Manjunath from Accenture

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Jenkins - a great build tool for the masses

Jenkins is currently used as a CI tool wherein we can commit to GIT which in turns kicks of Jenkins and it takes care of test cases execution and deployment.. its basically our CI-CD line.

Pros

1. Great plugin ecosystem, has everything we need for a CI tool..great integration with test suites, GIT and other products. 2. Robust ecosystem of developments all year around, quick bug fixes 3. set up on Azure , AWS is a breeze 4. Scheduling jobs has been its strongest forte 5. Auditing capabilities is pretty useful

Cons

Plugins might be needed for the basis task, can improve the out of the box capabilities. UI can be improved, its clunky it needs to be an enterprise level tool set with easy abort for hung jobs... sometimes we need to restart Jenkins to get this going Auditing features can be improved to track user level data Error messaging can be enhanced..its pretty basic at the moment with exception handling capabilities Roles/Security feature around user privileges needs to offered too

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Jenkins was open source, had a robust presence in customer developer environment

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Flexible and constantly developing software for building robust Continuous Delivery

We visualized and streamlined our software release process thanks to Jenkins pipelines.

Pros

Rich set of functions that allow to schedule different software processes execution. Even more rich choice of plugins an ease to develop own plugin. We use Jenkins to streamline software we develop releases. We have changes signed daily for release and this is where Jenkins pipelines come to the stage. As soon as developer code is ready for review, it goes through automatic code quality checkup before other people start to review it. After review Jenkins takes care of the rest of phases such us preparing and deploying integration build and then safe roll out to our production servers

Cons

Not much options available for making backups. We also experienced serious issues when trying to perform major upgrade of Jenkins: the error was that Jenkins can no longer read job configs of older format (while we expected it converts all jobs automatically). As a result we need to perform a piece of manual work to perform an upgrade.

October 2020

MANAS from Lowes

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Create and run ad-hoc and timely scheduled jobs

This is a really great tool for storing, managing and scheduling ad-hoc scripts, i had a great experience with Jenkins

Pros

all simple ad-hoc things need a place where it can be deployed, scheduled and run, each of the small jobs can't be deployed on a server like tomcat , so we have a server which supports this kind of use cases called Jenkins, Jenkins is majorly used for OCD deployment processes, and other adhoc jobs ,say you need to do a timely check on resource states etc .. in the Jenkins you can set the executer as machines for different projects and so that the lode can be distributed , we can have a windows or a ubuntu host , in ether of ths we can run which ever commands we run on the terminal in the Jenkins, it has a good version management, it shows the diff between the versions , and any time we can revert to the older versions, using Jenkins parallel processing are archived, there are lot of plugins available for Jenkins , using which we can do many great things, it uses cron string script for scheduling, you can easily setup Jenkins in the local and experiment on it, it has a great inline documentations, support git integrations too

Cons

its a great tool i don't see any flaws, in the input parameters we could have more input types like drop down , radio buttons options etc, and

March 2018

User Profile Picture

shaik from Loyalty Methods

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best tool for building our application in a continuous integration,continuous delivery with plugin's

Pros

This tool made the business development flow very much easier. Best features include the continious integration with the multiple builds which makes releases easier for better business its installation is also much easier as jenkins is a self-contained Java-based program, ready to run out-of-the-box, with packages for Windows, Mac OS X and other Unix-like operating systems.So we are good with any environment we can use even in console based OS with its hundreds of the plugin the jenkins tool gets continuous integration and continuous delivery tool chain.Jenkins can easily distribute work across multiple machines, helping drive builds, tests and deployments across multiple platforms faster. It also acts one queue to queue TRANSFER tool which help in transfer of the messages from one queue to another based on build parameter that are being configured with it only sorts the messages based on parameter provided and make the messages reach best feature i loved in it

July 2020

Suraj from Growbydata

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2020

Easy Deployment/ Easy Delivery

It has helped me achieve so many things with so little knowledge. It is the heart of my orchestration system built for a very large distributed system as a software engineering intern. Because of it's reliability, it is still being used as that. Very easy to use and mixing with your creativity you can achieve almost anything .

Pros

Ability to perform any kind of deployment/orchestration.

Cons

Security Vulnerability. It can be attacked from multiple places.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Because It was oldest and enough documentations around there for support. and very rich plugins availability.

April 2020

Avi from OnceHub

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Still king of the hill

It requires effort and focused attention, but if you put that effort in you can do anything you need. Though you might find yourself stuck for a while the community support is great and somebody has probably already found a solution you are looking for.

Pros

Jenkins can be used for all steps in the CI/CD pipeline. It's flexible and not restricted to a single style.

Cons

Jenkins resource configurations can be hard to figure out at first. You have to grow with usage, and it's not just a quick out of the box solution.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Price, flexibility, and community.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Gurleen from Tech Mahindra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Jenkins - A robust way to automate your jobs.

Jenkins make our life easy with removing the risk of manual errors and help in speeding the process. The Jenkins community is the best one stop place where you can discuss the stuff and get the solution. Once you adopt it you will surely feel the difference with the quality and fast delivery of the product.

Pros

Jenkins is an open source automation server that help in pure automation with continuous integration and help in fast delivery of the product. It is highly recommended with Java language application as it itself writing in it. The numbers of plugins make this tool special. We can also configure the mail notification on different events like build failed and unstable build. The best thing in it is easy to configure with the help of web interface where we can check the errors and other important notifications. The integration of Jenkins help in to deliver the product with CI/CD model.

Cons

Jenkins should come with the in-build backup option and I always keep missing it and adding the other third party software to keep maintain the backup before deployment. Multiple Jenkins jobs do need to setup in case of multiple language application is used by the product.

July 2019

Lawrence from Information Technology and Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

CI/CD at the finest

Overall, my experience with Jenkins has been great! There isn't much negatives that I could say about this software except that it meets our needs as a software company and it allows us to ship stuff out to production quickly and without errors.

Pros

We use this to automate most of our builds from staging to production, we even use it for unique cases where we can run mobile tests on different cloud devices all at once. It saves our team lots of time from having to make the deployments and configuration changes into different environments. Deployments would be a lot more time consuming and tedious if we did not have Jenkins to do it for us.

Cons

The least thing that I liked about the software is the configuration of builds, it can be overwhelming as there are plugins that you can get to build many different project types. But as you use the software more, you end up just copying the build configuration from another working project to use as a base for your builds.

September 2020

User Profile Picture

ALPER from Easy Software

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great Continuous Integration Tool

* We have been using for Dev / Int / Prod deployment for Continuous Integration / Continuous Deployment Jenkins for a long time and all I can say that everything is much more easier than the previous deployment procedure.

Pros

*Among all continuous integration tools , Jenkins is the best. * Deployment is not a problem when you use Jenkins * If a problem happens during the deployment of the process, all the people knows the issue. * You can have Dev - Int - Prod environments and if one fails you won't be able to deploy your product to other environment. * SonarQube integration is great *

Cons

* If two person tries to deploy the product at the same time, we come across with errors. That's why someone should say that please stop the deployment for the environment Development, Integration or Production environment. So the least thing is synchronous deployment should be done for the product in the same environment which will not come with an error.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Very Flexible Continuous Integration System

Jenkins provided automatic building for 100s of software branches each month for like 7 years. Very stable and kicked ass.

Pros

We automated the heck out of Jenkins. Oh yes, when somebody checks in, Jenkins will build. However, we went way beyond that by detecting new branches in Source Control and establishing jobs for that new branch and later when the branch was closed (per our definition) we would be delete all the jobs. As a result, our internal customers didn’t need to “remember” to add jobs to Jenkins. We automatically detect and ran those jobs as they created new stuff.

Cons

As a user, Jenkins is very straight forward, but our automated job creation software was pretty complex and interfacing with Jenkins at that level was certainly not a normal user feature.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Cost. At the enterprise level, we were paying like $500,000.00 per year. Jenkins cut those costs to almost nothing.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Darshan from IBM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Tool to build your CI/CD pipeline

I used Jenkins on daily basis, As a developer i need to compile my code on the go and Jenkins help me to create the jobs and keep a track on the progress we made.

Pros

Jenkins is one of the most commonly used tools to Version, Build, Compile and Deploy your code in your environment

Cons

I think its the Cost to host the instance, Now a days world is moving towards server less architecture which saves capital cost for the consumer

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Tércio from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

One of the best CI tools

It's the best CI tool I have ever used, lightweight, stable and easy to setup. The plugins make Jenkins very flexible so you can achieve different goals on your project, from continuous development to integration, or even both.

Pros

Jenkins supports lots of plugins which makes it very flexible and powerful. Its user-friendly GUI makes it easy to learn and follow even if you not experienced, nevertheless, if you need support there's a lot of documentation out there or optionally you may count on its extensive community to support you.

Cons

Depending on the number of parameters on a job, it takes some time to load, some browsers even present a "This page is taking too long to load". Jenkins is frequently updated but the plugins are not always updating that fast, so you rely on others to get it updated/fixed for the new versions.

March 2021

Indika from ceybid lanka (Pvt) Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2021

the king of continues integration and delivery

Very easy to use and what you think on CD, you could do that with jenkins

Pros

Easy configuration. Jenkins can set up easily and learn the whole philosophy in the very short time period of time.

Cons

User interfaces of the jenkins are needed to be improved with more visual presentation and interactive interfaces.

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Simpleand powerful

June 2019

User Profile Picture

Ramindu from Virtusa Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The best independent solution for continuous delivery

Jenkins has made configuring and using deployment jobs for my team's applications very simple and straightforward for a very long time.

Pros

Jenkins is part of the old guard of open-source CI/CD servers that you can deploy on your own wherever you want and run in whichever way you like. It offers a great deal of flexibility through a bunch of amazing plugins, with support for almost all version control systems and build environments. The modern features such as deployment pipelines which can be written in code and the addition of many UI improvements make Jenkins the easiest and most favored free CI/CD tool out there today.

Cons

Jenkins has a slight disadvantage when compared to cloud-based CI/CD tools as maintaining your own server brings in a component of risk and extra maintenance cost.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Abhinav from OATI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Jenkins: A continuous integration tool.

Jenkins is an open source tool for continuous integration and Delivery. It is highly recommended for new projects which likely to opt DevOps methodology.

Pros

Jenkins is an open source tool for Continuous Integration. It help in boosting the software development process as Jenkins helps in development process of building, testing & deploying. The open source code help modifying tool as per your own needs. Jenkins also supports cloud based platform. It come with many plugins for continuous integration and continuous delivery support.

Cons

Jenkins can easily configure with the web interface but setup of Jenkins is complex when implementing with large product. Jenkins should come with more user friendly web-interfaces update document as new feature remain hidden unless we unfold the documentation.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Silvio from spaziodati

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Widely supported and robust automation system

Optimal, I strongly suggest it as an essential tool in your SW development process

Pros

Personally what I think is the biggest value of Jenkins is the possibility to really customise any kind of process relatively easily. Also there is a big community of devs using it and lot of addons. If I had to choose which automation server to use I'd surely go for it.

Cons

Sometimes it gets stuck and heavy customisation is not always straightforward

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Automation Server best in class

Best in class, easy and fast to use and shows value quickly

Pros

Simple to use Highly configurable Largest Community Tons of free plugins for every issue ROI at its best

Cons

No built in support to backup/restore/DR of the product

Reasons for Choosing Jenkins

Free, easy to use, largest community I ever seen

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Automation made easy with Jenkins

My overall experience has been pretty great. It makes automating the builds and pipelines pretty easy.

Pros

Jenkins is a great tool to automate things. It has a number of features to help you with that - You can select the type of pipeline - You can create jobs to trigger automatic builds - You can integrate multiple plugins in the pipeline - It has support for different testing tools, security vulnerability tools, etc - The dashboard and UI are neat and clean - It can be deployed very easily and has multiple options(docker, jar, cloud) for doing that.

Cons

While installation there are a lot of plugins which get installed. Some of the plugins give error and they are not at all used as well. So maybe the plugin repository can be updated once in a while to keep it up to date. Apart from that I love Jenkins. There are no cons to be listed out in Jenkins. It works well and serves the purpose.

August 2018

Ankur from Coviam Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Jenkins - A must have tool

Build and Deployment are handled using Jenkins. Integration with Gitlab. Our daily automation suite run over jenkins.

Pros

> Easy to install, easy setup, open source. > Supports lots of operating systems > Supports Maven build, Gradle build, Wrappers. > Can schedule daily jobs to run automatically. > Good set of plugins. > Clone jenkins setup option is there.

Cons

> Doesn't support multiple apps to be selected and deploy one after other automatically, have to select and deploy each app individually, explicitly using for loop and delimiter we can make it work like that but if any plugin is there, that would be much helpful. > Sometimes plugin becomes too confusing to use, as with the same name have multiple plugins, should have proper documentation on what does what plugin do.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Swiss army knife of automation

Pros

I like that it keeps a log of all of your previously made jobs on disk. This makes it so that not only do you keep old builds themselves, but also their outputs right within the ui. This makes debugging why a build failed pretty instant so long as you can get onto your jenkins instance relatively simply.

Cons

The UI itself is disorienting sometimes and the plugin landscape, while vast, has a very high amount of variance when it comes to helpful text. You either know exactly what a particular tool does or you don't. I've found the help text particularly unhelpful for most things I did not know 100% about initially. So basically, sensible defaults for things would help, but this is less on Jenkins core product and more about its community.

July 2019

Miguel from ORACLE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

CICD in minutes

CI/CD it has help us to deploy our code in a quickly way and we have snapshots of the last 10 days so we can rollback to another snapshot in case the current doesnt work. Also it builds and deploys every one of the artifacts we have automatically when a push is detected.

Pros

To start up building code and deploy it with CICD is a very friendly software. you could create your own pipelines with code or with a gui.

Cons

If you have several jobs running at the same time you should aware of how java is configured, if you set the default setting you may have some headache problems which could lead to a downtime in jenkins.

May 2020

Sagar from Nisum Consulting Private Limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Jenkins Review - Automation perspective

Overall i like Jenkins as a tool very powerful one for CI CD implementation in day to day life.

Pros

First and foremost thing Jenkins is open source & now a days lot of plugin support for Jenkins makes CI - CD pipeline runs quite smooth with out any hick-ups. Jenkins supports all major version control and user can add native scripts to make runs in pipeline smooth. Also Jenkinsfile in groovy will trigger particular build automation runs (unit, integration, api or UI automation scripts) as soon as new code has been checked in helps a lot in finding bugs in early stage of SDLC. Also user can trigger nightly automation runs and by morning results will be ready.

Cons

When user is using some reporting like Allure , Extent JS report etc. which heavily relies on Javascript to render beautiful reports. As Jenkins due to some security reasons do not allow JS rendering by default user needs to turn off few things to see reporting. Some time Jenkins may become slow when more jobs are in pipeline and can delay work and may require admin to jump on bounce server nodes.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

James from Digital Media

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Jenkins can do anything!

Pros

If you need to automate it, Jenkins can do it: software builds, test suites, deployments, monitoring, housekeeping and maintenance tasks. The vast ecosystem of plugins extends its functionality in just about any direction you could want. It's an unopinionated tool: Jenkins never tells you how to do something, instead it gives you the means to do whatever you want, however you want.

Cons

Scripted pipelines still lack a lot of features, requiring the usage of unwieldy Groovy syntax. Beware of constant security vulnerabilities in both Jenkins and its many plugins, not to mention dead plugins. It's best to keep Jenkins relatively isolated on a company intranet and limit its access to other systems.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

João from Hubrick

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great tool for continuous integration

Setting one Jenkins system on my own proved to be a bit tricky, as there is no "installer" that makes it ready to use. I have little knowledge on the DevOps side as I'm a mobile developer. But I rely a lot on Jenkins for my apps continuous integration. No Pull Request is merged if Jenkins says no. It really helped me becoming a better programmer, as I tend to review my code a lot before Jenkins runs my tests.

Pros

Allow complex flows to be built, and these flows are easily written in just one file.

Cons

The UI could be greatly improved, as it looks super deprecated. Also setup is not very simple for someone that is not from DevOps (like me). Also debugging problems are also not very easy to do. I often rely on someone from DevOps to help me debug something related to the tool (not the tests)

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Pavel from Descartes Systems Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Jenkins is an ideal tool for test automation tasks

I personally don't like or use open source solutions, because of (often) chaotic and unreliable development, with many bugs and illogical UI. Jenkins is one of two exceptions I'm actively using ;)

Pros

What I like about Jenknins is it's plugin support, modularity and weekly builds, which means Jenkins is constantly developed and improved . There is plenty of plugins available, which make it easy to integrate with various build servers and cloud solutions, different reporting tools and so on. I'm using it for test automation tasks (together with Ranorex) and it's quite reliable solution.

Cons

Jenkins can be quite hard to setup for a man with previous experience with it. But there are many nice and easy to follow tutorials.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Saranga from C F T Ceylon Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great build platform for no cost

Jenkin provides many features at no cost as it's an open source tool. In initial phase it might take some time and effort to make it configured to run smoothly. But then afterwards, when people are familiar with the tool it requires less.

Pros

* Ability to even analyze test cases * Rich set of options for CI/CD operations * Contain different build pipelines (normal projects, parameterized projects, etc...) * Can develop our own plugins as well as various pre-developed plugins are available

Cons

* Not easy to setup in some environments (specially in mac)

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Jenkins: Best Open Source CI tool

Jenkins is a great tool for setting up the CICD pipelines for both on-prem and cloud platforms.

Pros

1. It's opensource and free 2. Tons of plugins available to add features 3. Great community support available

Cons

1. User interface is very old and outdated 2. Managing Jenkins server is difficult 3. Integration with some key cloud providers isn't available

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Jinkins is tool which helps user to integrate and deploy code on different different server.

it is over all good experience .

Pros

I use Jenkins as a java developer.what I like in jenkins is a user can make a script and can use same script to build your code.You can immediate find if there is any issue with build. It will send notification to whole team regarding build failure so there is no need to directly do changes in Application. by build failure itself you can do your code testing .Most important thing is you can build and deploy code on time basis so automatic it will build at that time.

Cons

Jenkins has so many plugin so its little bit time taking thing to add plugins and it also does not support micro services. It also take time to build code

May 2021

Pavol from Itera

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

The obvious choice, but not the best one

Well, it's the obvious choice, I have been working with it for years and it's not much that surprises me. But if you are serious with your CI it's probably better to use some commercial options or cloud-based solutions.

Pros

You can do almost anything in Jenkins. Large amount of plugins, that can be used for your specific case and integration with 3rd party tools. It is multi-platform and supports many different OS for build agents. It's free!

Cons

The user interface looks very dated and if you are new to Jenkins it can take time to navigate around. As with any other similar tool, maintaining it is a nightmare if you do not do it regularly. It can break easily if plugin misbehaves.

May 2019

Christian from LensLock, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Jenkins makes continuous integration dead simple

I had to build hundreds of applications and it would have been impossible without Jenkins. Anyone who wants to produce good and consistent software will need to have a build system. Jenkins is so well known and used, you won't find a team without someone who can use it. The web interface is dead simple and the notifications are essential. Did you break the build? Jenkins will keep you informed. It makes coding a much happier and easier experience. Get it!

Pros

- Write your own scripts, run on a schedule - Keeps build output - Tracks overall build health - Notify the whole team when a build breaks - Run build agents on any device

Cons

- It can be challenging to debug your custom scripts - Not everything can be done from the web interface (command line required)

October 2020

User Profile Picture

Yasiru from iPay

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Continuous Integration with Jenkins

Overall experience is really good with Jenkins. It has a simple and sophisticated user interface and functions with good performance even when the workload is high.

Pros

Jenkins allows you to create CI pipelines according to your liking. Jenkins have integration with almost all major VCS. Users have to declare the pipelines using a Jenkinsfile and then Jenkins will automatically detect that file and execute the pipeline according to the instructions in the detected jenkinsfile.

Cons

Jenkinsfile has to be written in their own language which based on groovy. There's a bit steep learning curve for that. That's the issue I see in Jenkins.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 382 reviews