All Intercom Reviews

1-25 of 982 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brandon

11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed June 2021

Intercom is a powerful Customer Support Tool

User Profile

Brandon

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Intercom is a powerful Customer Support Tool

Overall I would recommend intercom for clients looking for automation chat bots and customer support software. They have plenty of resources and their new product tour feature adds additional functionality to their suite of software.

PROS

The knowledge center and live chat features were the most used features at our software company. These features were used regularly and automations within intercom helped serve clients efficiently.

CONS

Lacks in reporting and knowledge base customization compared to ZenDesk. Innovation in new features can be slow at times.

Reason for choosing Intercom

Intercom was easy to implement and integrated into Zoho directly by previous developers so was a hard sell to switch out.

Vendor Response

Thanks for leaving us this review Brandon, and for letting us know how powerful you've found Intercom as a support tool. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied April 2021

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Engagement with Customers is Great!

It is an easy choice if you want to create unique, engaging customer journeys! It also connects to many other tools, so it's a great addition to any software stack.

PROS

I like that we are able to gain insight, offer promos, convert leads, provide support, host a help center, and create unique customer journeys right from within one platform. The Inbox feature is very helpful in providing quick and easy support, especially when using the Intercom mobile app!

CONS

There are few things I would consider cons about Intercom. I wish they offered a bit quicker support, as I often wait a day to hear back, but it is a minor detail compared to the value we get from using the platform.

Reason for choosing Intercom

At the time, I believe Intercom had been around a bit longer, so offered features outside of just the support desk functionality.

Vendor Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review and let us know how Intercom is helping you create unique, engaging customer journeys as well as integrate so well with your existing etch stack :) Thanks for your feedback regarding our support response times. These vary based on the urgency of the issue as well as plan, but we always aim to get back as soon as possible. I'll make sure to pass this feedback on to our team here. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied March 2021

De

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

NOT $39 starting price anymore. $59 a month for basic chat function

My overall experience with Intercom has been poor. we've been using them at the basic level for three years. I chatted with them to get a demo of their features to upgrade but they refused to give me a demo and finally set me up with a "30" call in which the rep tells me that she won't give me an upgrade after she finds out that i am not interested in the $500/mo annual contract. She says demos are for those upgrading to that level, instead, she'll send me links and prerecorded stuff. And that i can reach out if I have questions. The 30 min call was more like a 5 min conversation which was already difficult to set up. I've been in sales for over 15 year and when there is an upgrade opportunity regardless how small, I support that client. If Intercom was the only organization that did what they do, maybe I understand their cockiness and disregard for the smaller organizations. However, there are SO many competitors that provide you with very similar functionalities for less the price and with better customer support. So yes, I'm annoyed as I am a current user who is doing research on other competitors so I can stop being a customer.

PROS

It's "popular" and works well if your company is enterprise sized.

CONS

If you're a start up or a smaller business don't expect to get support. It's very expensive - starting at 59 dollars a month for one person accessing the basic chat. Sure they offer a few other things but like a team inbox? Most organizations already have an email system and a company chat in place. Next level up is $119 a month that gives you a few more functions. Until you are paying their $500 a month locked in an annual contract, you are "self serve" customer. Meaning, no support - just their faq/website. Can't even get a good phone call for help.

Vendor Response

Hi De, Thanks for leaving us such a detailed and candid review. I'm sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your Intercom experience, it's certainly not what we aim for. While we do tier our support and sales resources based on subscription levels, the max you should be waiting for a response is 2 days. I'll flag this with both our Support and Sales team as it sounds like we haven't met this expectation in your case. When it comes to pricing we have a number of plan available (including our Early Stage plan where eligible startups get advanced Intercom features and Early Stage Academy at a 95% discount). As Intercom has grown, our pricing has had to evolve alongside this and there's still work to be done in this area. We're aware that no pricing structure will suit every business type but our aim is to truly reflect the value that our product delivers, allowing both your business and ours to succeed. Your feedback is extremely helpful and will be passed on to the team.

Replied June 2021

Hanane

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

The world of marketing

One of the best applications that I have used and still like you .For its activity and ease

PROS

It is one of the best applications in terms of ease of use .It contains many features that help customers in marketing

CONS

It is a distinctive application, but it is one of the expensive applications for small companies

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Because this application is inexpensives

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

More than a messaging platform

We are using Intercom as our main costumer messaging platform in all our ends, from emails to customers to internal communications for our team. Intercom does everything in a neat and easy way.

PROS

In a few words, using Intercom is such a wholesome experience with zero to non competitor in the market who can compete with his top notch features and constant improvements. There is always something new in the works to make it even more useful.

CONS

The overall quality of the SaaS is very good, but the price you have to pay for everyone of the features is a bit too much compared to what is offered from the competition, don't get me wrong, being at the top of the list comes with a hefty price tag.

Reason for choosing Intercom

While being a bit more expensier than the competition, the overall quality of Intercom's is hard to match.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Our team needed a more robust messaging platform.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for letting us know how Intercom is helping you manage your communications with your customers and teams. Thanks too for you feedback regarding our pricing and packaging. Our aim is to align the price you pay to the value you see, and it's a difficult one to get this right for every type of business model. I'll make sure to pass your comments on to the right team. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied February 2021

User Profile

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Most overrated thing on the market.

Try to avoid it or at least not build the critical parts of your busyness on it. Chat and message history both work fine. Everything else is a source of endless pain and despair.

PROS

Integration with communication sources, say you may set up the email to be shown in chat history as a messages. Embedded chats with history are quite nice, it has both the messages and notes left by the supporting team members to each other. Chat itself works quite good and overall thing of a good quality. Not quite sure this is their own development, but it doesn't really matter. Webhooks, these one is a good thing to integrate your decision making software with customer lifecycle events, for example to send email when credit card is about to expire, of when customer purchased something few times. Actions - automated reactions to customer or lead lifecycle events. Filtered cogorts are called segments in Intercom, they have their own filtering panel which is similar to one that can be found on other products.

CONS

Bugs. They are everywhere. Updates may be lost, updates may be rejected by intercom because of server side exceptions, or mysterious thing called "concurrent updates" when there is just a single update. They have huge API downtimes which can be traced by Intercom's API 5XX responses but technical support always denies the existence of a problem or downtime. Technical support is one of the worst supports I have ever seen. They know nothing, they do not want to learn, the problem is always on your side even if it is their server who responses with 5XX status. Intercom is hugely, fabulously overpriced. On paper Intercom has a set of importers - they are useless, as there are no transformation or calculated fields. Now imagine you need to import hundred of thousands customer profiles from legacy system. Due to absence of data transformation mechanisms you are unable to import them as is and have to resort to preparation-export steps. The problem is that you can not perform more than 85 API requests per minute. There was batch API but today it is 1) deprecated and 2) counts the record inside the batch by the same 85/min limit. Sometimes customer profile may just disappear. Some of integrations provided by Intercom would not work as they have never been tested. There is no API call to "archive the segment" despite it was proposed few years ago. Intercoms offers one of the worst client libraries on the whole github and they reject PR's.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We had a lot of issues with AutopilotApp by AutopilotHQ and Intercom was looking much more promising.

Vendor Response

Thanks for leaving us such a thorough and candid review Aleksandr. I'll make sure to send all of this feedback on to the relevant internal teams as we really do use this to inform what we ship. Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied May 2021

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Great customer service tool for internet companies

Great software, one of the few CRM that actually delivers real value and fosters taking care of customers, not tickets.

PROS

Direct integration to your website or system and being able to feed data directly to intercom. You can then use that data to filter and manage customers.

CONS

They have been launching new features but it feels like they are towards the higher priced plans, which may make it expensive if you got 10k or more users.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Intercom is focused on customers no tickets or conversations.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for leaving us this review. It's great to hear we're delivering real value for your company and that our approach on prioritizing customers rather than tickets resonates with you. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied June 2021

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

The Finest Online Chat Service Currently Available

In a short amount of time, we can offer extensive support to our clients. Having a help desk and the option to speak in real time are both fantastic additions. Many businesses today use Intercom to request pricing and quote information, and the platform's ability to route inquiries to the appropriate team member is a huge asset in building a pipeline.

PROS

For over a year, I've loved the intercom's ease of use. Love the mobile app, and the interface is clean. Our services are highly adaptable. When it comes to expanding support, bots are invaluable. The onboarding process is also quite beneficial.

CONS

Having more inactive contacts on the intercom increased the monthly bill. You must continually archive users in order to keep costs at a minimum.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Since day one, we've relied on Intercom to help us provide unrivaled 24/7 chat assistance for our customers. We utilize the chat function to communicate with customers, but we also make extensive use of the reporting and stats capabilities to learn more about our customers' habits and preferences.

User Profile

Johann

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

The review

You might get lost when diving into these complex feature on your own, but the customer support is there to hold your hand, so don't worry you are supported all way along

PROS

The chatbot is a world class. Highly customizable to make sure that you can let the bot handle up to 50% of conversations. Product tours are also the best I have seen

CONS

The inbox is quite poor to use for email conversations only. The articles lack for customization options, too.

Reason for choosing Intercom

Intercom had way better user interface and more convenient chatbot and product tours

Reasons for switching to Intercom

We want to be closer to the customers and create a top class self-service opportunities.

Amanda

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Great tool for engaging & converting website visitors

Overall no major complaints with Intercom and plan to continue using it for the foreseeable future.

PROS

We love how easy it is to engage with our website visitors and help answer questions or direct them to the resources they're looking for. We bring in a good number of leads to the sales team each month from the use of Intercom chat. We really enjoy how you can integrate it with Slack so that you don't always have to keep Intercom open in your browser.

CONS

It's kind of annoying how a lot of the features cost a good amount of additional money. And some things aren't super intuitive as far as navigating and what lives where within the platform.

Reason for choosing Intercom

I can't remember as it was years ago but I think it mostly came down to price

Peter

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Complete Package

We had the opportunity to start fresh with a new ticket system/knowledge base so were shopping around. We came across Intercom and never looked back. While it has those things it is so much more being a central place to manage all our client related communications. It is by far the application I use most day-to-day.

PROS

Using Intercom has been an amazing experience. It is well thought out, full featured and continues to improve all the time. It has become an essential tool to communicate with our leads/clients. What is great is we can reach them (and they reach us) wherever they are: our website, in our web app, our mobile apps, email, etc.

CONS

While it starts off cheap depending on the features you choose to use and your volume it can start to get expensive quick. I'm not saying the product still doesn't provide value (it absolutely does) just if I had to pick what I liked least I would say cost.

Reason for choosing Intercom

We didn't know it until we saw it but we could get so much more with Intercom than just a ticket system.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Features and just the overall shift in how we could use the tool to communicate with out clients.

Vendor Response

Hi Peter, We really appreciate you leaving us a review and are so happy to hear Intercom is an essential part of your customer communication. Thanks also for your feedback on pricing. We work really hard to align our pricing to the value you are seeing. Please get in touch if you would like to discuss your subscription options with us. Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied December 2019

Tito

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The best option for LIVE CHAT and Support

PROS

Intercom is the lease in the industry and that’s because is the best in Livechat and support software. I’ve tried a lot of services before, cheap and expensive and I can say intercom worth every penny and it’s the option that has given to me the best results.

CONS

Nothing found until now. It’s really complete and well done solution.

Reason for choosing Intercom

After the trial I discover no other solution can be even compared to Intercom, it’s the complete solution and the best Choice ever for me.

Reasons for switching to Intercom

The offer and the solution. I needed a solution with the best performance and options.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review Tito. It's great to hear that Intercom is helping you drive results for your business. Thanks again, Kate (Intercom - Customer Engagement)

Replied January 2020

Grégoire

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Great product, poor pricing and support

Intercom helped us provide better support and engage more visitors and clients.

PROS

Intercom is super easy to use and implement. It's packed with time-saving features.

CONS

Their support team is driving us crazy. It can take them up to 10 days to reply to a simple question. Their pricing is also super frustrating. We're paying more than 500€/month. For a company with less than 10 employees and 1,300 paying clients, this is a lot of money. Despite what we pay, we don't have access to their most recent features.

Reason for choosing Intercom

It included a knowledge base.

Vendor Response

Hi Gregoire, thanks for leaving us this review. I'm happy to hear we're helping you better support and engage your customers. I've let your account rep know about your support experience as this is not what we expect. Kate (Intercom)

Replied January 2021

Simon

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

A pricey but extremely competent choice of chat

Very well! everything from sales calls, onboarding, setup and support have worked very well.

PROS

Integration was easy with webhooks easy accessible. It is also very easy to customize chatflows with many different response options, making it a breeze to set up multiple scenarios. I do also enjoy the customization possible to for example have different chat prompts depending on the webpage a visitor goes to. On the other hand this is sometimes a bit overwhelming - I want to explore more and a customer success manager would be nice to have for this.

CONS

The price. Honestly, it seems like they try to raise and raise to squeeze a lot of money out of small businesses. Also, their pricing model is pretty difficult to understand, so be aware of all the choices you make during your sales call/order.

Reason for choosing Intercom

See above

Reasons for switching to Intercom

Needed more customization

David

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Intercom is The Best chat/support tool available

The business problems we are solving using Intercom are managing incoming requests and sending in-app messages and emails. And Intercom does this with flying colors. Regardless if a user messages us live on our site, via email, or even Facebook, our support team is easily able to reply and help. It also integrates perfectly with our app to provide full visibility of a user easily accessing their profile to gain deeper insights to assist the user even more effectively. There's a reason Intercom is growing so quickly; because it's a great product and is built with quality.

PROS

What I like most about Intercom is how easy it is to jump in and begin assisting users with their questions and requests. It's been an invaluable tool for communicating with our users (both clients and developers) on Codeable and we've been relying on it 365 days a year for 5+ years straight. There are so many new features they keep releasing which are often things we didn't realize we need until we tried them and discovered we can't live with them.

CONS

For the size of our support team and number of messages we send, Intercom is one of the more expensive SaaS products we use. There are other services that may manage a support center better, but those don't provide the same quality of live chat, self-serving help center, or messenger bots that Intercom provides. While cost is a consideration for all companies, we feel Intercom is still the best value for the money and are happy paying the price for all the value it brings us.

Vendor Response

A big thank you from the team here at Intercom for your kind words David!

Replied November 2019

Stephane

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

A lot of features but overpriced for startups

Intercom solutions solve real problems however if you are a startup I don't recommend using it since you really feel that they try to lock you. They attract you with their startup package and then it will take some effort if you want to switch to another supplier.

PROS

Intercom is a combination of tools providing different values and solving different problems. We use chat, article, product tour and several other tools. Overall they all solve a specific problem.

CONS

Every tool we use has some limitations and we often need to find workarounds to reach our goals. However the worst point about intercom is their pricelist Even if you own a PhD you will have a hard time understanding how much to pay if you add an option. Every tool is an option that keeps adding to your bill plus they have triggers to increase the bill according to the number of users. Overall you don't really know where you're going with the way they charge you.

Vendor Response

Hi Stephane, Thank you for taking the time to leave Intercom a review. We appreciate you taking the time and letting us know what features you like and are helping your business. I'm sorry to hear you are disappointed in our pricing, we try to charge a price that reflects the value our product brings while letting both our businesses succeed. However, we understand that no price structure will suit everyone and are sorry that you find it to be expensive. If you have any questions around why you are being charged a certain price, please always feel free to get in touch via the Messenger and we would be happy to help. Thanks, Eabha (Customer Engagement)

Replied January 2022

Maria

Food & Beverages, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE