All DNSFilter Reviews

1-25 of 84 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Matt

Information Technology and Services, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Nathan

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

We have been with DNSFilter for quite some time, and WE LOVE THEM!

Secure data, employee productivity

PROS

Great functionality, easy to use, easy to configure and manage. This software helps keep our systems safe and has increased employee productivity.

CONS

I honestly have no cons. We have been very pleased with every facet of DNSFilter. Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain.

Fabian

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Good value

So far, so good. We have tested several alternatives (Umbrella, TitanHQ, Qustodio), and DNSFilter is the best overall.

PROS

Easy to deploy to our 600+ iPads. Great integration at JAMF School. The management console is full of useful features.

CONS

Query log should be longer than 24 hours. Also query log search is a bit slow.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

As easy to deploy and powerful as Umbrella, but it has several times lower cost. Full of features not available at both Qustodio (lack of useful console, force full VPN traffic) and TitanHQ (individual identification).

Dirk

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

Very promising but does not deliver…

PROS

Deployement is easy to start, Dashboard looks good.

CONS

fine tuning is difficult and lacking in several domains. The usefull extras are expensive. Customer support is not responsive at all. Be careful with sharing your credit card data during the trial period. They charge you immediately and if you cancel you lose access to the service (even when charged).

Don

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found.

Great feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.

PROS

OpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist , to create a bypass password, to customize the appearance of block screens and even allow users to submit possible false positives for follow up. DNSFilter offers a range of reports on usage and blocks on a level you'd expect to see only in higher priced alternatives. Their "per DNS request" pricing scheme is an innovative approach that's fair and reasonable and puts advanced web filtering out there for organizations which otherwise could never afford the features and functionality. After the initial configuration, it's more or less "set it and forget it" if you choose to take that approach, but even if not, normal admin work takes little time.

CONS

Sometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.

Paul

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

PROS

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites. Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure. You can filter by categories, or create black/white lists individual sites. More importantly, unlike with a local appliance, by installing a DNSFilter client, users remain protected when they are roaming. Unlike a lot of companies DNSFilter has not lost their customer focus as they have grown. They constantly reach out to users with webinars to explain new features, and actively solicit (and act on) customer feedback. Billing is straightforward, and customer service (the very few times I needed to contact them) has been excellent and fast.

CONS

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

DNS Filter requires no hardware appliance, and can be implemented for remote offices as well as portable machines.

Marc

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Great Product

I'm very pleased with this product overall.

PROS

I've used this service for several years after switching from a pricier competitor. DNSFilter is very simple to deploy and maintain. I use it for 3 different networks. It's reliable, performs well, and the policies are very configurable. I don't currently use all the features they have to offer.

CONS

We started using DNSFilter when the pricing model was per internet request. They've since changed pricing to a per user model which recently made it more costly for us. However, the service is still tremendous value for the $ and is probably still less costly than competitors. I didn't even bother researching alternatives when our rates went up.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

I was seeking better value for basic DNS services and features and this product hit the mark.

Lonnie

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

DNS Filter filled a gap

Overall the experience has been great! We needed a software to add web protection and this fit perfectly. We’ve only used the Windows deployments so far but I’m happy to know that we can expand to various other setups if needed. It’s protecting us and our clients from online threats that would’ve otherwise not known about.

PROS

The software is lightweight but very effective. Very easy to deploy once you get used to the online portal.

CONS

The filtration can be a little bit too strict. There could be an ad or a link on the page that shows is good, but the page won’t open until you dig deeper to find the culprit. Whitelisting usually resolves that. Sometimes it’s hard to find the culprit.

Greg

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

DNSFilter works well with pfSense firewall/router at our high school.

I found myself wanting to find and use all of the features of DNSFilter, so I called their excellent tech support and the sales rep, who also knew his product very well. It was necessary to learn more about Google Workspace for Education in order to take advantage of

PROS

First, it worked with my specific firewall/router, pfSense. Second, the cost was appropriate for our school. Third, it is easy to make separate policies for students, teachers, administrators, staff, and IT. Fourth, a roaming client is included. We successfully tested it's capabilities, and will be installing it on all of the students' Chromebooks by pushing it out from the Google Workspace for Education dashboard.

CONS

Insights Reporting shows yesterday's activity when you first use it. It is a small annoyance when you want to see current activity.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

I have tested 3 of the other DNS content filter offerings, and DNSFilter worked perfectly (see my previous comments above) and gave me the reporting I wanted, for the price that our school could afford.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Many reasons. DNSFilter does not adversely affect the performance of our pfSense firewall/router. The artificial intelligence used by DNSFilter seems to make it very responsive to new threats, and keeps false positives to a minimum. In fact, I have not experienced a false positive, nor have I been able to get around DNSFilter to get to a blocked site.

Matt

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

We've been incredibly happy with DNSFilter!

At our school, we switched from Cisco Umbrella to DNSFilter just before the 2019-20 school year and couldn't be happier. The initial setup only took 30 minutes or so, and that included creating a custom block page with our logo. Filtering is set by categories, blacklists, and whitelists. In addition, there are options to block threats like cryptomining, malware, phishing, proxies, and others. You can also create different policies based on the source IP address. So, we could have the faculty and staff VLAN have one policy while the student VLANs have different policies. The pricing is also great in comparison to Cisco Umbrella.

PROS

Easy to use filtering DNSFilter is an easy to use content filtering solution. Policies are easy to update, the DNS servers are fast, and support has been great the couple of times we've run into issues.

CONS

Like any DNS content filtering solution, you need to prevent users from using different DNS servers to get around the filtering. We use our firewall to block outbound DNS traffic to any other hosts which does the trick.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

We initially made the switch from Cisco Umbrella (OpenDNS) based on cost as we were trying to find ways to stretch our tech budget.

Matt

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Our overall experience has been great. No complaints from end-users regarding their internet connections, and the admins are very pleased with the intuitive management dashboard.

PROS

- The product has been incredibly reliable and any issues we've encountered were a result of a configuration on our end, not an issue with the product itself. - The overall configuration of sites and granular policies is very intuitive and easy to use. - The reporting features are far more in-depth than are previous solution.

CONS

The lack of alert notifications is the only issue we've encountered while using the software.

Reason for choosing DNSFilter

The price point, management dashboard, and ease of use were all deciding factors in choosing DNS Filter over the alternative products.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Our previous solution was incredibly difficult to configure with granular policies and typically required opening a support ticket for a back-end configuration. Also, the reporting was too generalized and slow to serve any beneficial purpose.

Graham

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Completely bulletproof

Bulletproof reliability. Secure as all hell.

PROS

The interface is responsive, reliable and two factor authentication is a godsend. It's never gone down for even a minute in the 5+ years we've been using the service.

CONS

For some reason multi-select editing doesn't work. It's possible it's not meant to do this but the checkbox makes me thing it could?

Jason

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Amazing value and an effective reliable service.

PROS

Very good value and constant improvement of services offered. Service has never been down and easy to implement.

CONS

Filtering sometimes has false positives but support is quick to respond. The interface Is light on details in the account management section.

Andrew

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Great, awesome service, does what it describes

Security and reporting

PROS

Its quite easy to use and the dev team has a great plan for the future. They are actively listening to their customers and I personally hope to increase my 'Features and Functionality' rating to 5 in the near future!

CONS

Some of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult. Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).

Joseph

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Great, very reasonable cost, and just works!

Filtering our internet connection.

PROS

Compared to the competition their service cost is very reasonable! The features are great and everything just works.

CONS

*Needs a mobile client (they are making one though) *Does not currently support IPV6 (however neither does most of their competitors)

Brett

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Easy, helpful and effective

This has been a great experience, as we did not have any type of specific dnsfilter that was near what dnsfilter is. This is a great product and I look forward to continuing to use it in the future.

PROS

DNSfilter's services are so helpful because it adds a layer of protection between the clients on our network, and what may be trying to get on their screens or devices from the web. This also prevents people from using our internet service for purposes that are not in line with our organization.

CONS

The router we use on our network is a big step above a simple home router, so it took some research to make sure I was setting it up properly. Even in that, the dnsfilter team was helpful in directing me to some online articles to help guide me through the process.

Scott

Construction, 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Good bang for your buck

So far its filtering has been less intrusive than previous products that have been tried. Other products that were attempted also did not have a Domain Lookup tool to see whether or not a domain might be getting blocked without a block page to display it (like for mobile apps).

PROS

It is effectively turnkey. There are enough categories to filter that it feels granular, and the reporting features are a good start.

CONS

Currently there is no Chrome OS app. At this point deployment of different policies, like for a Guest Network, is difficult as it requires changes to the DNS server of choice for those devices (either on a network or device level).

Nicolas

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Great Alternative To "Package Selling" Cisco Umbrella :)!

The fact that i can protect users connecting to our free wifi system at a short price is a real benefit !

PROS

Adding Networks is easy ! Dashboard is responsive ! A lot of informations ! Great pricing ! And Whitelabelling Options making it as yours ! Glad i found them !

CONS

Look like More and more features will come and dnsfilter will be even better in the future ! DNS over https is here ! but DNSSEC Please !

William

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY