All Sunbird DCIM Reviews

1-25 of 158 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Anders

Verified reviewer

Law Enforcement, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Why I chose Sunbird DCIM

PROS

I like it because of its ease of use, good features, great support and help if needed. Easy to update and are frequently updated.

CONS

Most of the problems I had is mostly on my side, i.e I am not familiar with terms, technical lingo and mindset. So when for instance filling in information is a bit tedious but it is getting easier.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive review. We plan to have our European user group meeting in April. We also offer free weekly training every Wednesday. See support portal for more details and recordings of all previous trainings.

Replied December 2019

Grigory

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Best DCIM solution

I'd like to note SunBird support team as fatest to reply on request and with quick solution.

PROS

Having tried to work with top five DCIM products I consider SunBird the best DCIM product on the market. It is easyest to adopt to and covers the most of DataCenter manager's tasks. Great functionality and large user group helps a lot to solve problems, which are impossible to solve in other products, like subfloor or above rack equipment placement.

CONS

Monitoring functionality needs further work. I'd put a ModBus software gateway in my wishlist.

Reason for choosing Sunbird DCIM

SunBird solves all tasks with less components

Reasons for switching to Sunbird DCIM

SunBird solves all tasks with less components

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback and the wish-list item.

Replied July 2020

gokul

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Dcim Tool

PROS

Has really good features for monitoring and asset management and a very good portfolio for report generation

CONS

Not much i dont like about the software.They always try to make to the software more customer centric which is what most organizations are looking for

Shyam Babu

Retail, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Good asset management tool

PROS

Visualization of the cabinets and hardware within the cabinets

CONS

Deployment of more number of devices across sites

Rob

Computer & Network Security, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Standardisation with easy implementation and first class support

As expected and since engagement has been first class support. Knowledgeable about their product and always able to assist.

PROS

Easy to setup and intuitive, readily available support and training materials can help you progress your initial stages quickly. Support available and the 1-2-1 sessions have been invaluable. Quickly able to see results and how it integrates in to your environment.

CONS

At the moment there isn't anything - it is exactly as I expected and researched

Reason for choosing Sunbird DCIM

Reputation and integration into our existing Raritan estate were the primary reasons that we chose Sunbird.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback. We love to hear customers confirm our solution is easy to use and intuitive as our user group helps us achieve this objective.

Replied June 2021

Mary Carl Martin

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Lack of Documentation

We use it as our monitoring tool and Sunbird is good compared to other monitoring apps./

PROS

Easy to use and synchronized with out UPS and PDUs

CONS

Lack of documentation on the application itself.

Reason for choosing Sunbird DCIM

Cheaper and it will best work with our devices.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback. I will reach out to you on the documentation and free training.

Replied July 2020

Nicholas

Government Administration, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best DCIM available.

We just started using it be we are loving it.

PROS

Training, training, support and training. Sunbird has a huge amount of videos, knowledge articles, and excellent support.

CONS

Importing a floor plan could be easier. With that being said, it is an extremely complicated process. Sunbird has been patient, understanding, and willing to go the extra mile to get the job done.

Reasons for switching to Sunbird DCIM

Poor support, and product end of life, support ending.

Mark

Broadcast Media, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

My Sunbird DCIM Review

PROS

I have been working with Sunbird Products for many years. Started with PowerIQ 11 years ago and recently migrated from Aperture to dcTrack. Starting with PowerIQ I have to say I love the Buffered Data Retrieval feature that provides a min, avg and max reading from a timestamp sample you define. This has proven to be very useful data. PowerIQ also has a Sensors Tab that I'm happy to say I submitted the NFR for. This tab allows users to easily manage their Temperature Sensors, providing the ability to utilize Global or Local Thresholds. Recently the addition of Inlets and Circuit Breakers have been added to this Tab. dcTrack has a lot of great features but the best feature by far is the Auto Power Budget Feature. This too I worked with Sunbird to create. It provides Deployment and Facilities Engineers with a Potential Power Load that is based off of Trend Policies defined by the Users. In my opinion it provides the most realistic power consumption from your devices on the Market. If you have not seen this in action you should contact Sunbird for a Demonstration right away. As it pertains to Support, Sunbird is remarkable! They respond to all Tickets in a timely manner and work hard to resolve them.

CONS

With all the great features Sunbird provides, the one thing I have an issue with is all the bugs we find after a new version is released. Although they are quick to resolve them there are far too many. I would like to see them beef up their Quality Assurance Program.

Reasons for switching to Sunbird DCIM

The version of Aperture we had installed was nearing EOL. We performed an extensive POC on many DCIM Products and found that dcTrack was the right fit for us.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback! and Tank you for helping us improve our new release test plans.

Replied June 2021

Tylerk

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2016

Sunbird DCIM

My overall experience has been good. I like the direction the software is heading by moving more features and functionality to the web client and away from classic view. I really like sort and filter functionality as well as the import / export feature that can be used with Microsoft Excel. A built-in models library is very helpful and has saved us a bunch of time.

PROS

Import / export functionality along with the sort and filter. When setting up the power infrastructure, I like that it is a physical representation of the plugs to outlet in that a L22-30P needs to be plugged into an L22-30R and that the software understands that a different plug or receptacle wouldn't physically plug in. There are numerous checks and balances like this that are helpful.

CONS

The separation of features between the web client and classic view. It can also be confusing to understand what features are in PowerIQ opposed to DcTrack. Making them better integrated would be helpful. It would be nice if the models library updates were more proactive vs reactive. For example, when Dell released their Rx30 lineup, it would be nice to have the R330, R430, R530, etc.. automatically added without having to put in a request since Dell is such a big player in this field. I understand it can't be done for every make / model but for the big manufacturers core lineup that would help. Software doesn't natively work with Chrome, the use of extensions doesn't always work properly.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted to now offer a modern and elegant web browser based GUI. We even allow uses to select between light and dark mode.

Replied December 2019

Naga Jayanth

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Sunbird DCIM DCTRACK is a great tool for Data Center Managements

PROS

In Verizon, we started using dcTrack, a Sunbird tool from 2020 and seeing it really helpful in our migration from the old legacy applications to this new dctrack tool. It has a lot more easy to use functionalities to migrate/ add data & realtime dashboards to view graphs/data. Also they provide new release versions every 4-6 months to add new features and fix bugs reported in the existing version.

CONS

As its a third party tool, we wont have direct access to their code base and DB, to fix any bug found during our implementation, rather have to create a ticket and they'll take a look at it and will release a hotfix for the existing version/ fix it in the next release version.

Tony

Government Administration, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Great 1st Echelon Support

PROS

dcTrack, along with powerIQ provides in-depth health-concern data for your data centers, at a glance. I dont' have enough characters here to list everything I like about this software. I'll sum it up like this, all of the questions/requirements you may have for your system, that start with, "can I do ______ with this system?", the answer is yes. Some features are harder than others to get setup. Power connectivity, for instance, takes into account your building's entire power chain. From the building UPS, up to your rack PDU's, utilizing any available management information those devices will offer up. Unless you know a lot about industrial power (I do not) then it could be a difficult feature to get working. That being said I was able to get things up and running with a Sunbird support staff who are not just extremely knowledgeable of their applications, but have expertise in every facet of every infrastructure area that the system supports. The applications are also visually stunning that they are easy sells to management and are "no-brianers" to justify for purchase.

CONS

My biggest complaint about the software is a development paradigm of dictating what can be done or not in the system, even if you may feel like you should be able to proceed with an operation. An example of this is that the system, when implemented as deigned will not allow you to make a network connection between a SFP port of a switch and a copper NIC. This, even though these connections are possible using copper GBIC's. There is a workaround for this, of making all of your different port-types to "twisted-pair" which constitutes a minor inconvenience. The important thing is that the Sunbird Support staff have always come up with a work around for the particular incompatibilities in our environment, of which there have not been many.

Vendor Response

Tony - thank you for the positive feedback and great insight. Look forward to seeing you at our next san jose user group.

Replied October 2019

David

Real Estate, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Customer Support Request Turnaround

It has been a great tool for my staff here in our Data Canter and something our internal IT customers have come to rely on when it comes to its great IT device reporting features.

PROS

Its robust features, clear details on devices listed and quick support from Sunbird when needed

CONS

If any complaint is that it may be too much with features for what I use it here within our Data Center. But this is not a complaint i would not take any higher than myself here.

Reason for choosing Sunbird DCIM

Value, great support and customization

Reasons for switching to Sunbird DCIM

Rackwise vendor went out of business

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Replied August 2020

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Caretech Solutions Inc.

As a remote datacenter manager, it is invaluable to have a visual readout of our assets, and easily be able to determine and display capacity. As a Shared Services provider, we can easily demonstrate to existing customers where their racks are located, how populated they are, etc. This is also useful in sales initiatives; having a 3-D graph of racks with available capacity (one of the vendor-provided reports) makes the salesman's job easier.

PROS

I like the fact that it can be as high-level, or granulated as you like. I initially started with "where are my racks and what's in them" usage, easily generating 3-d visuals, and exporting .csv and .pdf reports. Using the built-in import and export tools, I've been able to add entries for power whips (and associate them with racks), and populate chassis with individual blades. Next steps will be to update network information for devices, again, with the easy import tools.

CONS

The models library sometimes lacks the specific Make, Model, etc. of a device I'm adding, so I'll have to use a similar one, or define a generic one. Sunbird has a mechanism to submit model addition requests.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Replied December 2019

Greg

Publishing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

DCIM Solution for Any business

Managing over a hundred global locations comprised of local offices and data centers have been a huge challenge. With the implementation of dcTrack/PowerIQ we were able to achieve clear visibility into each of these locations and eliminate a lot of technology debt.

PROS

Practical Data Center inventory management and power monitoring tool in one. Easy to use with intelligent and clear reporting and helpful dashboards. We've grown and developed our business processes and procedures while implementing the tool - moving away from manual data entry and management via multiple spreadsheets is the thing of the past we'd never go back to.

CONS

With every release there are always new features delivered that were requested by the customers. As with every tool, some level of customization is always required. In some cases it may not be as intuitive as one would wish and reading the admin manual is a must.

Reason for choosing Sunbird DCIM

Hardware agnostic approach was our deciding factor.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback.

Replied July 2020

Nathan

Retail, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Sunbird DCIM

PROS

Sunbird's DCIM software is a powerful kit and very easy to learn to use. Being in a new role that uses this software and in under 5 months I can confidently use it. You can very easily monitor your enterprise's health from a dashboard and action any needs. The support the Sunbird team provides is also excellent with extremely fast response times and vast knowledge - whether it'll be adding a new model or the rare error code, the team is on it.

CONS

The least thing I like about this software is the fact it's broken down into two different parts. DcTrack and PowerIQ. These works very well together however if they were integrated into one then it would make use quicker when performing certain tasks.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback. Our vision is to integrate into one like you suggest.

Replied July 2020

Dirk

Chemicals, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Transparency to the datacenter

We had to know how much power our Datacenter is using and we had different PDU's in use. Sunbird helped us to integrate all of them in one software product. So we have everything in one view.

PROS

The Software is very powerful. Each release brings new features, that are very usefully. With the new dashboards you have only one look to see if something needs attention. In the meanwhile our Datacenter team knows more about the rooms, climate, power consumption than our facility management. The functionality for reporting is very powerful and can automatically sent them to the persons, that need it.

CONS

Because the software is so powerful, there are a lot of things you have to configure. As better it's configured, as better are the results. It take some time to set everything up. We took Sunbird to support us and this have been the right choice for us.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the positive feedback! We plan to have our next German user group in March. Hope to see you!

Replied October 2019

Christopher

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Still implementing but good process so far

PROS

Visualizations look great. The constant updating of model library helps to keep things accurate when adding new assets. Monitoring can be granular which gives the user better flexibility to use the functionality how they want it to be used. Software is very easy once it is used on a daily basis. Free weekly training is also helpful

CONS

Some of the better features appear to be available in newer builds. Newer builds require more testing before they can even be implemented. We get stuck using the outdated version with fear that the new one won't work well with out environment. Seems like the older versions have less and less support as the newer versions are released which is understandable. Charging for rack licenses for simple things like cable ladders to be represented in maps.

Reasons for switching to Sunbird DCIM

We did not make the switch, we are using them in tandem. Sunbird seems to have more growth while the features in DCE seem to be stagnant.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review.

Replied June 2022

Arnaud

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT