User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(32)

32

4 stars

(16)

16

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to navigate and is very user friendly. I especially love the skip logic, it saves a lot of time to create edit checks."

  • "Easy to navigate, visually pleasing, programming language and functionality is easy to learn"

  • "Medrio is drag and drop programming so very easy to use. Their customer support is excellent."

  • Cons

  • "The randomization capability is nice but does not handle complex study designs and trial supply management. This is an area that can be expanded."

  • "The software is great and loaded with current requirements, but with that comes regular releases/patches that needs to be reviewed by means of migration or CSV validation"

  • "That support is only available on US westcoast time"

Browse Medrio Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -1 of 49 results

September 2019

Stephen from Quartesian

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great Value in EDC

We deal with many life science companies that have budget constrained clincal trials. There are 1000's of these studies that need, easy to use, solid EDC at affordable prices. Medrio fits this niche and then some. We have used the product for all phases and size of trials. We have many customers that require Medrio for is capabilities and budget friendly approach to EDC.

Pros

Medrio has all the features necessary to capture data for any clinical trial. They present it in an very easy to use interface that sites like to use. The design features allow for rapid setup and deployment which is key for many type of clinical studies. Make updates and changes along the way is easy and their business model if very transparent and affordable for all budgets.

Cons

The randomization capability is nice but does not handle complex study designs and trial supply management. This is an area that can be expanded.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Multiple reasons. First the value, the offer the best value on the market. Second the quality and speed to build that we get form Medrio. Finally their business models let's us serve our core customers with the quality and performance they require without costly extra bells and whistles.

October 2019

Claude from Atlantic Research Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Medrio for CROs

We use Medrio to capture data enter for Clinical Trials. Medrio has all the tools needed to ensure a successful submission.

Pros

Ease of use. Very easy to learn and pick up.

Cons

Limited functionality when compared to other systems.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Seemed like a better fit for us and our clients.

June 2020

Michele from Quidel

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Deploy Studies Quickly With Medrio

I have done about twenty clinical studies with Medrio. It is easy to configure a study, design the forms, and deploy. If mid-study changes are required, they are easy to accomplish in Medrio. The customer service team is first rate. This is one of the few remaining companies where a real and qualified human answers the customer service phone or calls you back in very short order.

Pros

Medrio is feature rich with plenty of tools to configure a clinical study and develop online forms for data capture. Development is quick and intuitive. There are lots of data validation features. Custom Queries allow the developer to flag inconsistent and missing data. All changes to the data are tracked and recorded.

Cons

There are some overall reporting features (e.g. a separate listing of all data changes with the date and name of user making the change) that I would like to see, but the great thing is Medrio is very responsive to customer input. Their regular releases include improvements suggested by the user community that continue to make the product better.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Several other products were reviewed at the time we decided on Medrio, but none of them gave us, the sponsor company, the same control and ability to make quick deployments and changes. Medrio was also extremely affordable compared to the products we reviewed and is scalable, with add-on products that enhance the electronic data capture process.

October 2019

Kruti from Veristat inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

Medrio- Best

Pros

Extremely user friendly... System Navigation, Query resolution or data base build etc...very easy to learn

Cons

Coding Module Would be great if we can have indication/Route populating with the coding term. Will become much efficient while coding avoiding going back and forth

April 2020

David from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Medrio in Clincal Research Trials

I have been heavily involved in trial development on a variety of different indications for some time now. Medrio can be implemented quickly and get up and functional faster than other data management systems I have supported. Getting a trial up is really just a portion of the challenge - often the real challenge comes from how well the system can be adjusted once the initial study is live and mid-study adjustments are required. Medrio seems to be adjusting to these well without throwing up to many roadblocks and requiring significant re-work.

Pros

Medrio is fairly easy to learn and leverage to advantage. Many of the features are useable and configurable by relatively inexperienced users - like any software once you begin to really dig in a more focused and dedicated setup person in beneficial. That said - it is powerful and allows for a great deal of design and setup flexibility with out advanced coding or programming knowledge.

Cons

There are some interface inconsistencies that require the developer to adjust to a slightly different look and feel as you move from section to section. This is to be expected as a product matures and moves forward adding features and function. I'd like to see the incorporation of a more robust Lab Normal component (this is in development and components are rolling out with each release). I have also run into a few restrictions with Skip Logic that could benefit from a slightly more robust solution. Most of the issues are minor little things like not coming back to the same page when you complete a configuration or not being to dynamically control the number of items on a page - all minor and easily adjusted to.

October 2019

Wesley from Kindred Biosciences, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Medrio is easy to use

Medrio is an essential part of the data collection for our studies. It makes the data collection and cleaning (remotely) much more efficient than paper data collection.

Pros

Ease of use. The speed with which a study database can be set up and deployed. Also, the ease of implementing mid-study changes without affecting existing data.

Cons

Some of the configuration modules are still inconsistent in the way they look and function. Laying out case report forms could be easier.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Customer service, value for the features, no hidden/additional fees for use, and the cleanliness of the data that gets exported.

September 2019

Alex from Hope Biosciences

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great Product

Overall our team enjoys the creation of our different databases and eCRFs with Medrio. The ease of use and the appealing concept of the system makes it worth selecting it above its competitors.

Pros

The ease of work. Almost anything you think of its doable within Medrio.

Cons

Sometimes you just need a tip, an advise on how to do or implement a small change and you're required to purchase a whole training session. It would be great if at least basic, guided information would be available through support.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Medrio was the most appealing and easier to work with since the very first minute. Price was negoatiable.

November 2019

Christopher from Study Builders

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Medrio: Outstanding EDC software from an amazing company that cares

What impresses me the most about Medrio is their desire to be the best... not to make money, but rather to help people. Keeping within this mission, their ability to listen and react to input from the community not only results in a more capable piece of software, but also provides a sense of ownership in all who use it. The ultimate goal for all of us: to be as fast and efficient as possible in collecting accurate and reliable data that can easily be analyzed in an effort to find treatments for those who often have very little time to wait.

Pros

Medrio has a lot going for it. From a user's perspective, the software has excellent UX design and is extremely easy to navigate. The interface is not overwhelming like some and the data is presented in a very methodical and logical manner. This is a huge reflection on how well Medrio set up the data in the back-end. Medrio has additionally implemented superior skip logic, form rules, and custom edit check management to enhance usability. From a developer's perspective, the software allows for rapid development and efficient handling of mid-development changes. The three-tiered environment enables multiple teams to work concurrently resulting in reduced timelines and cost-savings for the client. On top of this, Medrio adds specialty features such as randomization, electronic signatures, direct data capture, lab reference ranges, and much more. In the hands of a capable developer, Medrio is a significant powerhouse in comparison to competing EDC solutions.

Cons

A good review has a balance of Pros and Cons, but honestly, there is nothing I dislike about this software. As with all systems, there are of course technical limitations here and there, but the number of issues we experience are minuscule. The real issue is that because Medrio is constantly listening to the user and as a result, improving the software and adding value, it makes it almost impossible to list any Cons about the software.

September 2019

Laurie from Reedhook Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The use of Medrio in the medical device, start-up community

Being able to support small, start-up medical device companies in their clinical trial projects, with an EDC database platform that helps address varying needs, with short timelines, and in a cost-efficient manner is critical. The flexibility of the MEDRIO products enable me to design efficient and scalable databases to accommodate different development phases of projects from early feasibility studies through pivotal trials. I can quickly bring databases on and off-line to suit the needs of my clients, which has been a game-changer in the medical device, start-up community.

Pros

The flexibility to design and implement EDC databases that are tailored to the needs of medical device start-up companies in an efficient and economical manner is the main aspect of Medrio that appeals to me and my clients.

Cons

Does not have some of the features (i.e. dynamic fields) found in other EDC database platforms; however, this is not a must-have feature for me.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

I choose Medrio because I can control the setup, programming, launch, and administration of the database myself. This enables large savings for my clients in both time and cost, and enables me to keep my sanity by no longer having to deal with the large, cumbersome, inefficient, and costly EDC database companies.

May 2020

Nicholas from Sangamo Therapeutics

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great product, great team!

As a small biotech company, we needed to build our first in-house EDC systems for several upcoming studies. For our needs, Medrio has been the perfect product. Great experiences with the Medrio team all around, and I look forward to our continued partnership.

Pros

Medrio is an incredibly intuitive system to learn, much simpler to learn than other traditional EDC systems I have used. Very efficient workflow for quickly building a clinical database, with lots of more advanced features that can be leveraged as needed. Also the cross-functional team has given positive feedback about the user interface. Onboarding was smooth and easy, thanks to a series of helpful meetings and active followup from our Medrio Project Manager.

Cons

Certain features from other EDC systems have not yet been developed in Medrio (i.e. complex custom function query logic, dynamic search list fields). However, the support team was very helpful in developing workarounds in these situations and they pro-actively seek client feedback for new features to add with future product releases. Overall, Medrio EDC is a great product and will continue to get better!

October 2016

Dina from Animal Clinical Investigation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Medrio for the Little Guys

I'm a huge fan of Medrio! I have used other EDC systems and have also previewed some but in the end, I have always found Medrio to be the best fit for me. I think the best part about Medrio is that it is extremely user-friendly. Just about anyone can pick up the system and start using it with very little training. Most of the training needed, I think, is on the study building end. But if you are the data entry person (i.e. study sites) you can pretty much much log in and start going. Another plus is that you can get studies going pretty quickly. There is not a lot of programming that needs to be done and what does need to be programmed can be completed by any trained individual. You don't need a computer programmer to do all of the behind the scenes work. This is especially important if you work for a smaller company where you don't have so many different groups of individuals. The only negative thing I would say is that, because it is so user-friendly, it lacks some of the bells and whistles that other EDC systems have. So there are probably some features and functionality that Medrio doesn't have but I have always been able to make it work for me. If you are looking for a simple, user-friendly, high quality system, in my opinion, Medrio is what you need.

Pros

Simple, easy to use.

Cons

Lacks some features and functionality that other EDC systems have

March 2019

Geralyn from Altasciences

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Mad for Medrio!

My experience with Medrio has been positive to date. My calls to Medrio support have been met with great concern for my needs, has been followed up with emails/calls/zooms and even on-site training to ensure that my concerns/training needs were addressed. It is this type of care and professionalism that has given me the privilege to create long and lasting relationships with a few of the Medrio team members. They are a wonderful team!

Pros

Medrio is a software system that is easy to understand, allows for fast setups of studies, provides the tools for simple builds and minimizes design complexity as well as providing full customer support.

Cons

Medrio does have some limitations in functionality. However, the Medrio Community feature can be of great assistance and the team at Medrio allow their customers to submit feature requests to enhance the Medrio products. Medrio is a team that is continuously at work to improve their products while providing ease of use, speed, efficiency and flexibility for their customer base. It is without doubt that they keep their customers in mind at all times.

September 2019

sheelagh from Phastar

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Intuitive, easy to use software

Phastar have a close working relationship with Medrio and our feedback on issues is already documented

Pros

Ease of use for database builders and site users. It is intuitive software, well presented which facilitates training and familiarisation for users. The Medrio team are on hand to answer questions and provide support.

Cons

Interrogating data and preparation of bespoke reports. The BYO report facility has improved the situation, but it doesn't run on live data.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Flexibility of set up, PAYG pricing

February 2020

Adam from Approved

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Easiest to use, most cost effective well-recognized EDC system on the market

Building and running many, many EDC trials for so much less than any other system and doing so in a very time-effective manner.

Pros

It is very easy to set up and for the end-users to use. Anytime I need the system to do something that is not straightforward their help desk is able to program it and they build the feature into their next upgrade. All users can see data and reports in real-time. It is also so much less expensive than most other systems. Updating and validating the database due to protocol amendments is easy and quick. Their helpdesk is always timely to respond and answers their phone right away.

Cons

There are sometimes limited capabilities for when a trial has a unique data collection requirement, however, there has always been a workaround for when this has occurred.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Cost effective with ease of use and great customer support which most other systems do not provide.

October 2019

Brady from Trial Runners

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great, User-friendly System

Overall, I'm very satisfied with the system. I've used it for over 10 years, and I've seen it continually improve each year. I really enjoy how easy and intuitive the system is.

Pros

It is very easy to use for both the end-users (i.e. site data entry people) and the back-end programmers. It is very quick to get a database up and running. Building the database only takes a couple weeks (counting time for review cycles and UAT). Mid-study changes can be completed in as little as a day or two.

Cons

There are still a few features that some of the largest (i.e. most expensive) systems have that Medrio is missing, such as a very robust targeted SDV / Risk Based Monitoring module. In addition, it has a cumbersome re-querying method. That said, we've still used this system successfully for 700+ patient Phase III studies that included Risk-Based Monitoring, so those issues are not too limiting.

September 2019

Rod from DFS Pharma

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Medrio Review

Medrio has been a fantastic tool for us. The ease of use has allowed us to get clinical studies up and running in significantly less time than it would take with its competitors. I can't use it for every study, but I'm glad I can use it for most. Would recommend considering.

Pros

Medrio is an intuitive easy to learn and use EDC system right out of the box. Very customizable to meet most sponsors' needs. The simplicity of the system allows for lower training costs and faster build times. Great EDC choice in most situations.

Cons

Like most EDC solutions, Medrio cannot be all things to all people. Medrio does lack a number of key 'modules' and some of the modules it does have cannot handle more complex studies. What Medrio does, it does well, but as it continues to grow, it needs to continue to add to its package and keep the product at high levels.

September 2019

Courtnay from Precision for Medicine, Oncology and Rare Disease

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Medrio is a great product!

Overall Medrio is a great product and I enjoy using it.

Pros

Medrio is so easy to use. It allows someone without a programming background to build databases quickly and efficiently. The ability to use forms across studies without having to set up a formal library makes thing easy. I love that this software makes building a study with a very short timeline very doable. Medrio Support is TOP NOTCH! The support staff are knowledgeable and respond quickly and genuinely want to assist. I also appreciate the company's stance on taking customer feedback and requests and actively incorporating them into the product on a regular basis.

Cons

There are some bugs with Medrio but nothing that is insurmountable. The things I would have previously listed as cons are being added currently like Lab Management and others are improvements are in the works so I have no real complaints.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

We chose Medrio because it is a great product for both large and small studies and companies who have a lower budget threshold and don't need all the bells and whistles that come along with one of the "big" EDCs.

November 2019

Thomas from VisionCare Research Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

CRO developing and Implementing Medrio's EDC system

Pros

Using the Medrio EDC system has given us the ability as a CRO to control and customise each eCRF, create our own template forms and reduces the intial build time surpassing client expectations.

Cons

The Initial userbility of the program. Not very intuative.

October 2018

Temple from Study Builders, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Super Fast Study Builds!

Using Medrio, we are able to help our clients reach the database go-live milestone quickly, and that equates to significant cost savings for our clients.

Pros

The study configuration tools are very intuitive and well laid out, making the EDC build/validation process super quick and easy. Mid-study changes are also simple and fast to complete.

Cons

We have found that although this software doesn't have as many built in features as others may, the basic tools that are available are flexible enough to allow one to get very creative and build out features that may not be pre-built as they are in other systems. If some of those features were already built in, it would make the builds go even faster and allow for even more checks and balances that can be done within the system.

September 2019

Minghua from W. L. Gore & Associates

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Easy to set up and end users friendly

For a simple study design, I prefer Medrio over other bigger systems that has a lot of bells and whistles I don't need. And Medrio is very end user friendly. In the past 3 years of managing the Medrio EDC database, I haven't heard any complaints from any site users that they have difficulty of using Medrio EDC.

Pros

Easy to navigate and is very user friendly. I especially love the skip logic, it saves a lot of time to create edit checks.

Cons

At the Tabular view, I have to go to either 'Home' or 'Enter Data' tab to choose a different subject within the same site. The other one is the tutorial was removed from HELP. Those tutorials are a very good for site users to refresh their memory for using Medrio.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

The skip logic and user friendly were the big sale points when we first used Medrio.

January 2020

Shane from Kindred Biosciences

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Medrio - the best EDC product on the market

Pros

Medrio is very reliable and easy to use. It allows for quicker turnaround times on database build and database lock. The customer support team is very knowledgeable and is always quick to respond. This EDC product is very affordable in comparison to other EDC vendors, and does not nickel and dime you with hidden costs. Most importantly, Medrio listens to the needs of their customers and implements the necessary system updates.

Cons

There are a few system limitations within Medrio. Would love to see the platform improve lab integration and add an invoicing module. Having said that, Medrio is constantly updating their platform and it becomes more sophisticated after every product release.

September 2019

Glenn from University of Nottingham

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Excellent EDC for Clinical Trials

We have been using Medrio for Clinical Trials data capture since 2016 and found it to be probably the easiest to use and best EDC tool we have used to date and enables compliance with CFR 21 Part 11 (Annex 11). Medrio EDC is powerful yet much simpler to use than other products of a similar nature and has incredible customer support.

Pros

Fantastic Customer support Easy to design, build, configure and manage clinical trials Excellent range of reporting options Excellent trial monitoring facilities Excellent analysis options Easy for users for data entry Looks good Easy to set roles and permissions Excellent Multi-Site control Easy Mid-Study Changes and Reporting

Cons

Randomisation Options/Configurations could be better

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Facilities Ease of Use Customer Support

September 2019

Sandrien from Avance Clinical Pty Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Long-term user

We have been using Medrio as our EDC platform since 2011 and have locked > 100 studies. We have seen some great improvements over the years as the industry changes and we are keen to see what the future holds. It really feels like we are part of their team, they listen to our feedback and we learn a lot from them.

Pros

Very flexible, user-friendly and easy to set up. Great system for our early phase studies which can be up and running in 3 weeks, including edit checks programmed in and validated.

Cons

Anything that we have any issues with gets flagged and discussed, with any possible improvements being part of their feature roadmap.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Pricing, flexibility, ease of use at the CRO end but also the site-users.

September 2019

Kendall from Atlantic Research Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Great for basic research needs!

Overall, my experience has been favorable compared to other systems. There's room for improvement, but that's not to say that Medrio isn't a great product.

Pros

I most appreciate the simplicity of Medrio and the fact that this translates across any project within Medrio. One you learn the ins and outs of one project, you can step in at any point of another and know exactly where to find what you need.

Cons

I least like the reporting mechanisms and the dashboard. For my role as a data manager, I've noticed that some of the reporting tools either function incorrectly or don't exactly give me what I am looking for. I also would love if the querying function could be changed to allow the user to change the "reason for closing". All other things about the query can be changed by someone with access to initiate and close queries, except this function-- which is a performance metric for my department. Being able to make that change would be beneficial.

September 2019

Sally from QST Consultations, Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Medrio Review - Great product

Medrio is very easy to work with in terms of building clinical trial databases from beginning to end. I've also heard that the end users are happy to use this product. The customer service is amazing!

Pros

My favorite feature in Medrio is the skip logic (field dynamics). This feature eliminates writing a large number of edit checks and aids the end user in data entry, as the fields they do not need to enter are hidden.

Cons

I would like if some of the design portions could be done in bulk, for instance copying forms and editing variables. The current release allows one variable to be edited at a time and can copy one form at a time.

September 2019

Susan from TG Therapeutics

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

First In House EDC

To date, we have had nothing but positive experiences with Medrio. That does not mean there have not been challenges and time crunches! We had oncology specific system requests that we needed addressed by Medrio. Our needs were heard and Medrio delivered with an updated release. Separately, when problems arose post updated release, and threatened to push back our first patient in timeline, Medrio again responded with tremendous effort to investigate a deployment issue. As a result, we were able to deploy to LIVE and subjects were able to enroll in our study to receive the treatment for which they were desperately waiting!

Pros

Ease and ability to configure database in a short amount of time.

Cons

System was initially lacking some key features we find common to oncology trials. System slowness at times.

September 2019

Kate from ResMed

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

A flexible, simple, easy to implement EDC software

Pros

Once your first study is built, it is very easy to copy and paste all your set functionality for your next study. Their support team is also top notch. Really, really helpful all the time.

Cons

Some features are a bit limited but they are continuously working on upgrades and highly value customer input.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Ease of use, cost savings, flexibility, global support.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Loaded with "current" features

We have a great working relationship with Medrio and they are very accommodating with special requests

Pros

Medrio is perfect for animal research studies and they provide fantastic customer support. Latest features added is Building your own report that makes viewing data in a summary like way very easy (without any external data manipulation needed).

Cons

The software is great and loaded with current requirements, but with that comes regular releases/patches that needs to be reviewed by means of migration or CSV validation

September 2019

kathy from ARG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Medrio

I love the ease of asking questions and the support folks. They really do a great job of getting back to me and helping me with my issues.

Pros

Easy to navigate, visually pleasing, programming language and functionality is easy to learn

Cons

I'd like to see more restrictions on roles for queries, I'd like to see the Codes on the coded variables show up in the edc on the form, the I'd love to see the Header Label change for the Monitor Log Report

February 2017

Susan from CDM Advisor, Ltd.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Great little system!

I used Medrio for over 4 years with great success. It is easy to program, easy to use for sites and monitors. Has a great reporting tool and offers flexibility on pricing.

Pros

ease of use, cost structure, reporting tools, lots of functionality built in with no hidden costs

Cons

not as much flexibility and added functionality as some of the bigger EDC systems.

December 2018

Jennifer from Linical Accelovance

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Great EDC system

Medrio is a great EDC system to use for all types of studies from pre-clinical to post-marketing. Study Admins have the ability to design a study with complete flexibility and changes are deployed without causing downtime to the EDC system.

Pros

Easy to build and use but sites, sponsors and clinical teams. Very responsive Customer support.

Cons

Lack of EDC capabilities that other EDC systems already include (Local Lab tool, true diary collection)

September 2019

Brian from Pharmaceuticals

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Medrio is a Flexible, Versatile and Reliable EDC Partner

Pros

Building in Medrio is intuitive and quick, while still providing a powerful and flexible platform. Their customer service is the best in the industry with rapid replies to all our needs. My team can always count on Medrio as a reliable and versatile solution.

Cons

We look forward to new features like local lab and integrated IRT modules

April 2019

Amanda from DFS Pharma

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Medrio for Small CROs

Working with Medrio has been a wonderful experience. The ability to build a database in shorter timelines and not needing to be a programmer to build. Also, from a Data Management perspective, handling queries and data review are seamless.

Pros

Medrio is extremely user friendly and makes database building a snap.

Cons

There are still some system limitations, such as no lab norm module.

October 2016

Jaco from Clindata

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Simplified Data Management

I have been using Medrio's software for the last 2 years. They have a great team to provide support and have incorporated most of our proposed requests in subsequent releases. Easy to setup a study and to train entry users. Very happy with the software.

Pros

Easy to setup.

Cons

That support is only available on US westcoast time

September 2019

karon from Intrinsic Therapeutics

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

KNH CDM

none

Pros

In the beginning it was a small team and they were very customer oriented, and just all around helpful with start up

Cons

Not enough reporting features or management of sites/monitors features

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Cheap and management went for saving money

September 2019

Marilee from Atlantic Research Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Medrio Clinical Research Software

Medrio is a responsive company that takes customer service seriously.

Pros

Medrio is drag and drop programming so very easy to use. Their customer support is excellent.

Cons

Medrio would benefit from faster new releases.

November 2016

Denise from ARDS/Accenture

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2016

Clients are happy

Ease of use and robust functionality are a few of the prime points for any user of eClinical/EDC. Our clients tell us they are happy with both of these areas when accessing their studies. And for us as the builders and service providers we enjoy both of these features in addition to the great customer support we received.

September 2017

Susan from Triangle Biostatistics, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

I have used Medrio for several years across several therapeutic areas and phases.

lower cost and great functionality with ease of set-up and use.

Pros

Easy to set-up and use, great for small studies and large. The set-up is quick and can be done with little training. The coding module is a plus!

Cons

Some of the functionality could be enhanced for use with larger global studies. For example, the email alerts do not allow formatting of the email with regards to data within the EDC.

October 2019

Norvie from Honor Health

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Robust System

Pros

I love that Medrio is very user friendly. This was my first EDC build and I couldn't ask for anything better to use and learn from.

Cons

As of right now, there is nothing that I like east about the software.

December 2018

Amanda from Distinctive Strategies & Leadership

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Its ok

I use it everyday. Its easy.

Pros

Out of all of the research sites we use this one is one of the best.

Cons

I do not like the layout but really that is just being picky. It really is ok.

September 2019

Moses from Resolutum Global

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Medrio EDC market positioning

Pros

Medrio EDC is easy and intuitive to set up . It's also very user friendly.

Cons

Cost positioning - The software costing is not considerate for non-profit grant based trials hence we loose business to other providers using cheap and cheerful edc systems.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

(a) Medrio has superior functional capability (b) Responsive and accommodating account managers.

December 2019

Nathan from HonorHeatlh

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Medrio Evaluaiton

We chose Medrio as a solution to our current EDC challenges with other vendors. We wanted a reliable and well developed EDC that would be well supported by technical expertise on the support side as well as guidance as we were introduced and grew familiar with the system.

Pros

The end to end customer / user / administrator support and instruction. Ease of use - building, using, and administration.

Cons

Some small features that do not impact use and have no sway on my opinion.

Reasons for Choosing Medrio

Best system, chosen by consensus from all end users.

October 2016

Kasia from Morley Research Consortium

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Excellent EDC application

We've been using Medrio's EDC application for several clinical trials for the past two years. People with no programming background can begin configuring eCRFs after receiving just a few hours of training. It just takes a bit of practice and before you know it, you feel like a pro! The application is powerful and the configurable front-end edit checks will help data stay clean from trial initiation to close out. The product is fantastic and just as importantly, the customer service is phenomenal. I've always had great experiences with anyone I've contacted at Medrio. They have always been helpful and my requests have always been taken care of promptly. I couldn't ask for a better vendor experience! Thanks Medrio!!

October 2016

Carolyn from ARG

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Newbee Loves Medrio!

I am not new to clinical trial software but I am new to Medrio. I was quite happy with the training provided and the ease of use in navigating to forms. It seems to easy to build but I haven't had that experience yet. Good Product.

Pros

Ease in navigation

Cons

Colors

November 2018

Jon from Aspen Clinical Research

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Too much like an EDC system (from the old days)

Pros

The data points you are able to include are remarkable and easy to identify for users

Cons

Dislike the difficulty in use for some of our staff who claim it is TOO much like an old school EDC system

November 2018

Angelise from Rush University Medical Center

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

This is the most user friendly, EDC system I've used.

Overall, this is among my favorite systems to use for entering clinical research information into. All information is well organized and easily accessible.

Pros

I am able to access all of the information I need on the site and entering information into the EDC is very user friendly. IT is very easy to follow.

Cons

I found it difficult to find the printable version of the pages I entered information on. When the system was prompted to generate a file, it actually never did and I ended up having to print the webpage.

April 2015

Jose from Apollo

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2015

Highly recommended

I have been using Medrio for several years now to capture data for my clinical studies and have been very satisfied with the product. It has excellent customer service...extremely responsive. The product itself is one of easiest to use that I have seen both from a building and an end user perspective. This is why I continue to use Medrio for all my studies.

April 2015

Jessica from Collaborative Clinical Consulting

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

April 2015

Medrio - Easy to Use

Medrio is an easy to use eCRF platform. Clean and simple. Easy to have updates made and deploy to a live CRF database. The look and feel of the text is a little dated looking and not the nicest appearance but the functionality of the system is good.

April 2015

Michael from Hollister Incorporated

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

April 2015

Flexible software, exceptional customer service.

With Medrio and the help of some Medrio-recommended contractors, we were able to start our first study utilizing EDC within a matter of weeks. Now we are able to leverage previous studies to truly achieve eClinical overnight. Highly recommended!