All GitHub Reviews

1-25 of 5,967 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Andrew

Education Management, 51 - 200 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2021

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Fast coding productivity

I improved my work structure with my entire team, achieving more perfect control and monitoring of each project.

PROS

Its project management tool has allowed me to have a more unified collaboration with my entire work team, allowing a dependency for my area, on the other hand, it makes it easier for me to share code files in a very secure way with a more personalized synchronization between our team.

CONS

It was a platform that was difficult for me to learn to use, the learning process was not easy with all its tools, its support team was an essential part of the entire process but I must say to those who are starting until now that they are going to have headaches because of it. his long learning

Andres

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

GitHub Review

Overall I will give GitHub a 4 out of 5 stars

PROS

I like that it saves a lot of time on task tracking and management

CONS

sometimes customer support is not that effective

Reason for choosing GitHub

overall high quality and good reviews on GitHub

Bibhuti

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Github review (8 years of usage)

PROS

- free private repo is cool - Github actions is awesome - Github pages saves a lot of money for web apps demo & open source projects. I myself have hosted all of my open sources web apps on Github pages. These are my favorites. Rest I can go on and on.

CONS

- Search feature is lacking. If there was better search functionality (eg. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] - powered by algolia), it would be a lot helpful. Searching one report among thousands is a pan right now. - Dependabot is pain - Sometimes Github pages doesn't update properly - Don't get relevant projects on "Explore repositories" section

Reason for choosing GitHub

GitHub has a lot of cool features for free.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Github was better, in terms of free features and the UI.

Hussain

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Excellent source control but archaic billing

PROS

It is very easy to collaborate and work on code changes, publish releases, and run automation scripts. The UI is fast and they are improving it constantly making it quick and efficient to navigate to the repository and even the file you want.

CONS

My biggest gripe about GitHub is the billing. You have to buy a fixed number of seats and you can only increment it in 10s. So, even if you need just one extra user, you still have to pay for 10. It also takes a long time (2-3 days, more in some cases) to get the licenses added. I can't even process why this is the case. I would much rather have preferred usage billing.

Charles Boampong

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Perfect Hosting and Collaboration Tool for Developers with external Version Control features

The interface is extremely user-friendly, making it easy to navigate and contribute during collaboration, and most importantly, it's very standard and can handle very large projects and communities.

PROS

Honestly, GitHub has been one of my greatest motivations as a software engineer for a number of reasons such as its remote repository feature which allows multiple developers to easily collaborate and work on the same project to achieve great results.

CONS

Though GitHub offers free repositories of public project, some of the advanced features are paid.

Reason for choosing GitHub

After trying both of them for a couple of weeks, I fell in love with GitHub.

User Profile

Matías Sebastián

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Using GitHub for Innovative Web Development

My overall experience with GitHub has been highly positive. It has become an essential tool for Prisma, allowing us to maintain high standards of code integrity and collaboration among our development team.

PROS

What I appreciate most about GitHub is its robust ecosystem for collaboration and version control. As the owner of Prisma, a web development agency, the platform's intuitive interface and extensive repository management capabilities have been instrumental in streamlining our workflows. The ability to review code, manage projects, and collaborate on software development projects in real-time has significantly enhanced our productivity and quality of output. GitHub's integration with various development tools and its strong community support are invaluable for staying at the forefront of web technology trends.

CONS

While GitHub offers an extensive range of features, its learning curve can be steep for newcomers, particularly for those not familiar with Git commands or version control concepts. This aspect can slow down the initial adoption and integration into a team's workflow. Additionally, for private repositories and advanced features, the cost can escalate quickly for smaller agencies or individual developers, making it less accessible for those with limited budgets.

User Profile

Sai Meghana

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Collaborative Coding Made Simple by GitHub

PROS

GitHub is its robust version control system, facilitating seamless collaboration among developers. Additionally, users value its extensive community support, integrated issue tracking, and versatile workflow management features, making it a go-to platform for software development projects of all scales.

CONS

Have complexity of its user interface for beginners, occasional performance issues during peak usage times, and the need for more streamlined project management tools within the platform. Additionally, there have been concerns raised about GitHub's pricing structure for organizations with larger teams or specific feature requirements.

User Profile

Austin

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

GitHub, your branch master

We love the possibilities that GitHub gives you and the compatibility between different environments, I personally use it with VS Code and it helps tremendously to make an efficient job.

PROS

I think all of our team likes the most about GitHub the ease of implementation on different branches, merging and documenting each push, and controlling versions between teams.

CONS

I think we did not like the transition to GitHub from SVN, it was difficult to make while conserving our entire structure.

User Profile

Pedro

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Awesome source code git tool

PROS

Simply the best in the market in my opinion

CONS

I don't see much cons honestly so I cannot add much here

User Profile

Rishav

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

GitHub For All

PROS

open source community, easy deployment, easy to access, you can store all your code in the form of the repository, developers events now and then.

CONS

missing some features, pull request taking long time.

User Profile

Chiara

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Github is github

PROS

Github is simply the best platform there is for developers and software engineers

CONS

Some things are a bit harder to understand the mechanics of but overall you can easily learn

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Github for personal and enterprise use

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

PROS

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely. I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

CONS

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Reason for choosing GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

PROS

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

CONS

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Reason for choosing GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.

Jonathan

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2019

Best git hosting

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

PROS

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

CONS

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Reason for choosing GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Github has a much better repo interface than Bitbucket in my opinion.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Best source code management

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

PROS

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

CONS

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Reason for choosing GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Most of the developers we hired in the past were not familiar with Assembla and hard time convincing them to use it. It was not as popular as GitHub in the developer community.

Abdelmadjid

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

An essential tool for any developer

GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

PROS

GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

CONS

There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Reason for choosing GitHub

Private Git repositories and the package registry service (which allows private packages). GitHub has also become the industry standard and its APIs are integrated to more platforms.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

We made the switch when GitHub offered free private Git repositories, in a time when Bitbucket did not.

User Profile

Avash

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

PROS

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github. I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier. I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

CONS

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Reason for choosing GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.

HansOlivier

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

The code versionning standard

I have used GitHub personally and never had any problems. I also used it professionally and every time something came up, I knew with high confidence that my coworker or myself messed up and that it was not the software's fault. All of my code versioning with GitHub was used on teams with less than ten members.

PROS

The entire code versioning tool is so easy to use and does every branch operation with visual clarity. It implements git quite easily, especially with a RSA key.

CONS

There is no real issue with GitHub. It does exactly what it is supposed to be doing. I could say that I had a few difficulties learning the concept of versioning when first using it.

Reason for choosing GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitHub was simply a more elegant and free solution for my needs. BitBucket was a more appropriate ressource for a bigger business, as it included in Atlassian. However, it is marginaly more expensive. GitLab also has the same cost issues. As for Jenkins, I simply felt that it was slower to reach roi.

Jorge

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY