All GitLab Reviews

1-25 of 1,079 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Justin

Information Technology and Services, 201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2021

Made DevOps possible for my company

User Profile

Onur

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Gitlab Review

I really like using Gitlab CI. We are building and deploying our applications using Gitlab CI mostly every day. It's very stable and fast. So that m overall experience is very good with Gitlab CI.

PROS

The working style of most of the CI/CD tools are similar in the background. The ones that has better UI and fast responses are making a difference in the market. Gitlab CI, by far has the best UI. The button clicks, flows and placement of the features are very well-designed.

CONS

I cannot say least but I would be happier if Gitlab adds more UI features in CI/CD level.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We just compared the UI/UX experience of all alternative producsts and Gitlab and decided to move forward with it. In technical terms, also Gitlab CI is very satisfying.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We were not satisfied with the CI/CD tool that we were using because of stability problems.

User Profile

Andy

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

PROS

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

CONS

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Reason for choosing GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

It's good but, definitely not the best

It works fine, and it's a good alternative for the usual Bitbucket, Jira and Bamboo (or Jenkins) combo that's commonly found on the corporate world. I'd recommend to consider Github Teams or Github Enterprise.

PROS

- Unlike Github, it can be installed locally, it also makes it highly customizable - It has CI/CD functionality integrated - It has code search and indexing - It's integrated with a docker registry and multiple code repositories

CONS

- It's highly monolithic, if some feature fails, most of the times everything fails - It's not easy to clusterize the service - It's not easy to update, nor to migrate to a new server - It costs the same to use the self-hosted than the cloud-hosted version - Gitlab CI/CD shared (both free and paid minutes) run on a GCE Kubernetes cluster without any fixed IP address so it's hard to access your servers unless you open ports publicly or create a VPN tunnel

Reason for choosing GitLab

It was more modern than Bitbucket, and Github lacked a self-hosted version

Michele

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

A great source code management platform

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement. Very easy and intuitive to set up different group of users, projects, repositories with different levels of access. The GUI is also very neat and simple.

PROS

GitLab allows you to quickly set up an on-premise platform for source code control. Good integrations with CI/CD and very clean GUI.

CONS

Learning how to effectively use a versioning tool can be quite difficult for non-technical users.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We needed an on-premises source-code management platform for security reasons.

Simon

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Gitlab provides a central easy to use system

A safe pair of hands with great functionality.

PROS

Ease of use, clear and easy to use interface and tight integration with source code and continuous integration tools.

CONS

Remove continuous integration functionality when not needed appears to be difficult - but this may well be a user error.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

Better functionality and industry familiarity

User Profile

Erle

Verified reviewer

Management Consulting, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

An excellent Source Code Tool

Quite happy with it. Coming from a very strong technical background myself, there were the usual set of core features I was expecting, and it does those well. Plus, it allows me to have a good overview of things at a higher level (since I do know the tech stuff), without having to compromise the repository in any way. In brief, suits my needs well.

PROS

Does what one would expect from any modern code repository and does it with a great intuitive interface. This is often an overlooked requirement, which GitLab does very well. The interface is intuitive and allows the user to do their job with minimal fuss and just get on with it.

CONS

The commercial pricing tiers can be a bit on the high side, and it can add up with many users - which can be just a bit daunting for growing organizations, but it can be handled if properly budgeted. Also, at times it can be slower than expected, but it's a fairly minor annoyance in my experience.

Reason for choosing GitLab

It offers a fresh new take on things, a great interface with good flexibility and the team were eager to move in a new direction.

Hugues

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

A great alternative to the giant.

PROS

Having our own git instance is a very good thing. We're know where our data is. (Self managed). Also, Gitlab have multiple integrations, and it is very great.

CONS

Most of our problems have been solved through the official documentation. But, we have some problems with performance that we're under it.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We make the switch because we want our data with us.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

All in One SDLC

improved the quality of software delivery and develop DevOps in our company are resulled for adopting Gitlab

PROS

One of the best tools for improving SDLC and controlling IT project with fantastic CD

CONS

there is no mobile client or Windows client

Reason for choosing GitLab

covering the cycle end-to-end, and the integration ability with any DevOps tools

Catalin

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Nice software still need to become more mature as flow

A common software, it is doing its role well with some lack in the interface.

PROS

Task management is quite nice. Allocation of incidents is working well.

CONS

Quite lazy responses from the system and a lot of mess in the interface organization. Low reporting system.

ESMAEIL

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Great tool

PROS

It works in a way that I like. It is easy for you to create a merge request and it supports GitLab plugins. I also like the milestone system which is useful for tracking our progress.

CONS

At first, working on it is a bit confusing, with a little difficulty learning to use it, but later on it starts to seem fun

Luca

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

PROS

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more. I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

CONS

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)

Reasons for switching to GitLab

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Edward

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Git Awesome

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

PROS

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

CONS

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.

Morgan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

A great hosted Git SCM solution

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

PROS

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

CONS

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GitHub doesn't allow as much custom personalisation features, such as adding custom CI/CD runners, and is available as an on-premises solution basically only for its enterprise plan, whereas GitLab has always been a distributed product which one can self-host and manage. Gitea/Gogs is severely limited in many areas and lacks a coherent design and vision. Bitbucket is lacking in so many industry-standard features that it is not even worth talking about.

Pius

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Gitlab

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

PROS

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

CONS

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Reason for choosing GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

David

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Gitlab review

We really like GitLab, we were able to use it for fully automated development procedure which saves us large amount of time and help us to isolate the bugs before switching to production.

PROS

Gitlab gives us sufficient features to support source code management, user administration and Continuous integration for reasonable pricing

CONS

There is really nothing in my mind which I specifically do not like about the GitLab but If there would be room for improvement, We would appreciate more features for CI/CD integration testing.

Reason for choosing GitLab

pricing and security features

Reasons for switching to GitLab

We transit after the Github was acquired from Microsoft. We were not sure which path GitHub will takes after the acquisition. the transition to GitLab was super easy and safe solution.

Peter

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Code repositories and version tracking

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

PROS

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users. You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches. The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

CONS

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required. The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab. User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Reasons for switching to GitLab

The offer of free Private repositories was a deal breaker, GitHub only offers public repositories with their free plan.

Olivier

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A serious contender in the Self Host GIT space

It's really nice to have it, and the fact they were the first to allow for free private repositories is a nice gesture

PROS

For us, it was crucial to be able to self host an instance to have it totally off grid and Gitlab delivered beautifully

CONS

A bit obscure to setup, and updates can be quite time consuming as we cannot do them as often as would be required by the project

Reason for choosing GitLab

Self hosting was key

Reasons for switching to GitLab

GIT has a much better workflow for managing branches

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

A must have tool for every development team

PROS

Gitlab is simply the best version control and project management tool for any organisation, period! It has everything you need in a greatly priced package. It is my go to tool for my personal projects as well as used in every organisation I have worked with. I even tried to host their community version myself which was great. The documentation is well laid out, breaking changes are communicated well. Apart from this, the CI/CD functionality is easy to use, UI easy to navigate, reporting/labelling/tagging features are one of the easiest. The free plan for individuals or small team covers everything you need.

CONS

None I can think of. I even like the new UI introduced recently.

Reason for choosing GitLab

Availability of CI/CD before any other alternatives. Ease of use. Private repositories in free plan. Ease of working with in a team.

User Profile

Matthew

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: