All Harness Reviews

1-25 of 32 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Renan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

The mostly integrated CI/CD tool

PROS

The tool is completely integrated with other devop tools, making easy to work and deploy what you need and if someone goes wrong he will told you too.

CONS

The tool is upgrading and developing more features day after day and some functions isn’t finished yet

Reason for choosing Harness

Harness is much more robustly and have much more functions to our devops day a day

Reasons for switching to Harness

We had lost our dev who has developed all Jenkins scripts and the change to Harness was amazing because we don’t need to script anymore

Joshua

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Harness for the win!

From shopping to inception it's been an absolute blast. Lucky, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] have helped every step of the way to transition to the dumpster fire of Jenkins we had, to the new hotness for our CI/CD.

PROS

1) It's not Jenkins, 2) ease of use and setup 3) empowerment for developers to be self service 4) pipeline and workflow malleability 5) no plugins to maintain 6)not jenkins

CONS

Only con is their can be some feature requests to be done (non product impacting) but, they jump right on those. It's pretty cool to grow with harness. That's literally the only thing I can think of.

Reason for choosing Harness

When we had questions our Service rep never responded. Well he did once, two months later after we decided to go with Harness

Reasons for switching to Harness

Have you ever used Jenkins?

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Program has a strong point in strategic development tasks.

Although it handles several deployment volumes at the same time, I would say that it is missing something to surpass the previous programs that I have mentioned, perhaps a more refined solution that is easier to learn in the curve as I previously mentioned.

PROS

I like it, Harness simplifies and automates complex processes, allowing engineers to focus on more strategic tasks. Regarding security, the program offers integrated security features that ensure that only verified and approved versions of applications are deployed to production.

CONS

The program gives me displeasure as it has a steep learning curve, especially for engineers accustomed to other CD tools. This has slowed down the learning process and in this regard, more costs are required. The program is necessary for projects. specific and we could not discontinue it completely.

Reasons for switching to Harness

It generated very slow feedback, it did not have good systems developed for it.

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2018

Brilliant concept, updates occasionally crash JVM, price gougers

PROS

The customer support is generally very good. The concept is outstanding. Being able to record runtime state in production for post-mortem debugging is utterly amazing.

CONS

There are a number of critical application issues described below, but the chief con of Overops is the price. This is *at least* an order of magnitude more than the value that Overops provides, and is a kick in the teeth for surely most startup-level organisations, particularly ones like ours that helped them grow their business. There were at least 3 occasions in 2+ years of use that Overops (previously Takipi) released updates to their agent (which runs in our production JVM) that caused the whole jvm to segfault. This is a pretty poor track record (and it's more than a little ironic that this happens with a *software quality tool*). In all that time we never succeeded in getting a noise-free or complete exception notification channel between Overops and our Slack installation. It would fail to notify about most errors, and routinely report errors we had attempted to filter out. This persisted despite numerous sessions with app engineers.

Vendor Response

Hi Joseph - thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Although, we are disappointed you had a poor experience with our software back in 2018 and would love an opportunity to show you how we've made dramatic improvements since then. Please reach out at support@overops.com to schedule a walk through.

Replied August 2021

Andrew

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Overops: Great software, great support

Overops is easy to use and understand. If configured correctly, it identifies the errors and problems that engineers should find most important. The UI is straight forward as well.

PROS

As an SRE, it helps me to be able to see what errors are being thrown from any particular application. I help manage a stack of at least a hundred microservices, so it is impossible for me to have an in-depth understanding of every single one. If Overops detects an error, it immediately shows me exactly where in the source code this error has occurred, allowing me to communicate clearly to the team responsible for the application as to where they need improvement.

CONS

The deployment process for this software was challenging. We had to engineer a lot of custom solutions to keep it running. For example, we used a hybrid approach (some infrastructure in our cloud, some in Overops') and we had to use a handful of lambdas to facilitate the storage and installation of the Overops collector agent and monitoring agent. If all of this could be encapsulated in a single Cloudformation or Terraform document, it could be deployed easier.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review Andrew! We really appreciate you as a customer and are so glad you find value in our product and customer support.

Replied June 2021

Thomas

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Great Product for Orchestrating Deployments

A great tool. We implemented it to save the development time on building out a pipeline using other tools like Jenkins. We managed to get a production ready pipeline up and running within a month. Support from Harness is excellent and they are always there to help when required.

PROS

The out of the box functionality does as exactly as it says on the tin. No need to worry about how to implement a deployment method for the infrastructure you are running on. Harness simply lists the deployment methods and the infrastructure type you are deploying to and it just works.

CONS

Some of the behind the scenes configuration is slightly confusing (e.g. Harness delegate profiles) but once set-up correctly it works like a charm. Adding bespoke scripting to pipelines can be tricky with selecting the correct configuration options to run smoothly. When things go wrong, the debugging could be improved.

Reason for choosing Harness

Minimal development time and turn around for getting a pipeline up and running.

User Profile

Jung Jun

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Debugging production issues with OverOps

I haven't used OverOps before I joined this company. Fixing production issues had never been easy. I highly recommend to use this product for Java services.

PROS

As a software developer, I don't monitor OverOps regularly. But, when we detect any error or bug from our logs, we can easily access the "event" that OverOps provides link in logs. It's absolutely convenient and the information provides OverOps is amazing. The snapshot contains all variable values and stack traces so that developers can easily see what's wrong in code or data.

CONS

Overops groups similar events. Sometimes it's hard to find the exact "problem" even with a link provided in the log. And I see some lags when we browse events by selecting date/time range and servers. It may be because of the size of our system, but it could be better. I only have OverOps experiences with Java microservices, I am not sure how it supports other frameworks. (e.g. Node.js or Golang )

Vendor Response

Hi Jung Jun - thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review!

Replied August 2021

Josh

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Effective and Reliable

We are always aware if the current release will fall due to real time notifications by overops. Devs just gets notified in slack and we get the details as to why accurately.

PROS

We like how it can be integrated to slack. We can attend to all of the issues real time.

CONS

Sometimes loading the link for the issues takes time. I think this is normal but I believe can always be improved.

Vendor Response

Josh - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad you find value with the Slack integration which allows you to tackle issues real-time. Thanks again!

Replied August 2021

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Great tool!

PROS

Great tool which has helped our software developers in debugging any issue in very short time. Its greatest features are the dashboard which shows the trend of exceptions in your system and its capability to show stack trace and the variable values preserved. Integrating any new application is also very easy.

CONS

I think the configuration of alerts could be simpler.

Vendor Response

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a 4-star review. We will review your feedback and strive to earn a 5-star review for your next review.

Replied August 2021

User Profile

Debashis

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Amazing Product!

Its seamless, there cant be a better solution that this to keep system healthy.

PROS

It helps debug production issue in seconds, always keeps a eye on system, system becomes much more healthier and cleaner.

CONS

Sometimes the alerts links does not works, apart from that i dont see anything.

Vendor Response

We are thrilled that we earned a 5-star review from you Debashis!

Replied August 2021

Amitanshu

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Good yet Getting there!

Good

PROS

The product is easy to use while capturing the threads and showcasing the variables from the incidents on debug view. It's also good at capturing snapshots and counts, VM info and logs when possible. - It gives a complete box for debugging and finding the cause for medium-low complex items. - Timestamp and VM are very useful - The issues are upfront before anything goes south

CONS

- The logs captured are sometimes inaccurate and also do not have a complete stack trace - The logs are not captured on many instances - there are false alarm captures, where the thread is still alive and not captured - The variable view is a pain to use on the right-hand side, can have a better way like in Eclipse etc - Cannot reference variables - source trigger is unknown/unstructured sometimes - Good for only low medium level debugging, VM logs and Adv level exceptions are not easy to be debugged here

Vendor Response

Amitanshu - thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry we were not able to earn a 5-star review from you. Our product and customer success teams will review your feedback closely. Thank you for the constructive feedback.

Replied August 2021

Daniel

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Good

Just CD for now, CI maybe in the future

PROS

Easy to use, nice support, new cool things coming.

CONS

Bitter expensive yet, maybe get a little cheaper in the future.

Reason for choosing Harness

Pretty cool

Joshua

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Helps much with software consistency

We have Overops both in production and development environment and it's doing its job well.

PROS

some intermittent issues are very hard to trace where most pro engineers will somehow reliant with notifications from overops.

CONS

If there is, it's always on the loading times when opening the logs. There's always a better way of making the load times faster.

Vendor Response

Hi Josh - thank you so much for the 5-star review. Glad you find OverOps so valuable :)

Replied August 2021

Pankaj

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

OverOps is best at its job

PROS

I never miss any alerts whenever I'm on call. All alerts are timely raised and it prevents the system from failing. Best at its job. Easy to use.

CONS

Nothing specific. Solves all my purpose.

Vendor Response

Pankaj, thank you for the 5-star review and thank you for being a customer!

Replied August 2021

Alex

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Decisive for performance and time to market

PROS

Easy, quick setup. And the value it brings to development teams in putting secure software into production.

CONS

Some things like reusing pipelines could be easier to setup.

Rodolpho

Insurance, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Future and beyond

PROS

Integration with our current process was very smooth to be performed.

CONS

Some details in the cloud pricing (cost calculator module) can be improved.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Overops excellent

PROS

Code Issued reporting after code deployment

CONS

Good enough,it was easy to intregate and good

Vendor Response

Loving this 5-star review! Thank you so much!

Replied August 2021

Ben

51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT