All MyGet Reviews

1-25 of 69 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Georg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

MyGet as internal NuGet package repository

PROS

MyGet is used within Dangl IT GmbH as a central source for all our deployed packages, thus allowing us to structure our software projects logically and reuse existing code where applicable.

CONS

So far, we haven't had any problems with MyGet, it works as expected. We would like to see the addition of upstream sources, since we've never been able to get this working, but this is a low priority for us at the moment.

Robert

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Comes close to everything I want

Overall, I've solved some serious problems that stem from trying to get everybody to have the same version of packages - developers, QA, and clients get the right stuff, and that makes a lot of work just plain go away. The setup was not horrible and consultants are productive. I can't think of a better experience!

PROS

MyGet has revolutionized how I've done consulting. I used to use Git subrepos to bring code into projects, since I didn't want to put NuGet packages in a public place. Now that I have pioneered using MyGet, a company with whom I work is pulling together all of our Maven, NuGet, and npm packages. The administration and delivery for MyGet is awesome, and uploading packages is mostly pretty easy. For the money, this is a no-brainer for the organization: we can deliver packages to clients without everybody having access to source code. I love it.

CONS

It took me some time to figure out how to get the permissions set up. There is a way to get a pre-authorized URL, which I would prefer not to do. However, I've seen NuGet have some trouble authenticating from QA machines. I don't have an answer for that, but I feel authorization could be a little more clear. I would love to see a Docker registry! I went with MyGet over GitHub's package manager because we don't use GitHub for anything else, but it was a close call. I hear that MyGet is working on Docker registries. At that point, I believe MyGet will satisfy more than my needs...like all of my wants, too.

Reason for choosing MyGet

I chose MyGet partly for cost, but partly because I didn't want to have to use GitHub. We host source code elsewhere, and integrating with GitHub for CI / CD seemed more onerous. MyGet has worked really well in that regard. We also looked at a couple of other services, but I cannot remember the names. Again, mostly it came down to cost. MyGet offers the best bang for the buck.

Ramesh

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2023

Customer Support Issue

PROS

I will think later on if our issue gets resolved.

CONS

Customer support is pathetic. We got impacted on prod environment but no solution for weeks.At least team should let us know if we are doing something wrong while pushing packages.

Atul

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

A trustworthy package manager with excellent features

PROS

It is simple to use, supports a large number of programming languages, and comes with built-in instructions that developers may utilise to enhance user experience. Its user-friendly interface enables me to do my file management and organising activities more quickly and easily; also, the fact that I can control everything from the cloud greatly reduces the risk of overtaxing my computer.

CONS

All of the functions that MyGet offers are not being fully utilised. We continue to use the services provided by our SaaS SourceCode supplier for internal development feeds. The majority of our new developers were unfamiliar with the user interface because it is a little dated.

Shaun

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

MyGet Review

It has been easy to setup, consume, and maintain.

PROS

We needed as easy to setup and consume private nuget feed. We found that in MyGet.

CONS

Honestly, since all we were looking for was a private nuget feed that we didn't have to host, MyGet had everything that we wanted. I haven't encountered a gap in features.

Reason for choosing MyGet

When we first found MyGet, Azure DevOps was still VSTS and lacked features while being too expensive. Recently, we have considered switching since we have MSDN subscriptions that includes enough credits to make it "free".

Avi

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Go get MyGet

Solid performant service.

PROS

MyGet lets us build and store our private npm packages, as well as keep a copy of every dependency we use so we are protected from another leftpad incident. We are also able to protect ourselves from an old dependency being taken over by a malicious maintainer.

CONS

It's hard to update dependencies of dependencies of dependencies. (3 levels deep). 2nd level dependencies are easily updated.

Reason for choosing MyGet

Price and ability to keep copies of dependencies directly.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

Great compatibility

Easy to use and followed by developers. User and access maintenance nightmare.

PROS

In our company we have a few technology stacks, MyGet has become a single repository of our dependencies that can accommodate various type of feeds (NPM, NuGet and Bower)

CONS

Separate user management and MyGet is managing separate identity (although SSO is setup) which cause ex-employees remain have access to the feeds.

Reasons for switching to MyGet

Avoid maintenance of on-premise server

User Profile

Oussema

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Great tool !

PROS

MyGet enables us to quickly deliver shared code base (100+ packages) to all of our teams. The setup is really easy, adding a new user consists of sending an email invite, generating the pre authenticated url and voilĂ  (no msdn subscription or such needed)

CONS

Nothing, we absolutely like everything about this product.

User Profile

Boris

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

It is fine

easy to use for me as a user

PROS

MyGet manages software packages, it works well as SaaS for us.

CONS

as MyGet goes offline sometimes, I'd like to see on-prem active backup option.

Chris

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Has debugging support

PROS

Was easy to add symbols to repos and configure Visual Studio to use.

CONS

On rare occasions it takes some time for uploaded nugets to appear available to use.

Jason

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Best private package repository around

PROS

My team has been using MyGet for several years now. Before using MyGet we had a hodgepodge of homegrown private package repositories and it was a burden on our team to maintain them. Integrating MyGet into our toolstack and build servers was seamless and painless. Our team recouped valueable time after migrating to MyGet and was able to use that saved time towards actually writing our software. I'd say the best feature of MyGet is the wide support for different package sources.

CONS

I wish there was a way to do Single Sign On through either SAML2P, Shibboleth or CAS. That's probably the only feature lacking right now that we really want. MyGet recently, in the grander scheme of things, implemented 2FA and that was a really big win for us.

Reason for choosing MyGet

We chose MyGet over ProGet because the MyGet team seemed more involved within the software developer community. They just seemed more passionate about their product and that's something my team cares about.

Reasons for switching to MyGet

To make our lives easier and make better use of our time.

Josh

Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Was great...until we had a problem requiring support.

We use it to distribute our software. New builds are posted on myget and installed with chocolatey. It was great, until the day it wasn't and then it was terrible. The complete and utter lack of ownership of the problem was the most frustrating part. I would not recommend myget to anyone based on this. We will move off of it without hesitation once we have an alternative.

PROS

Easy to set up, easy to use, and generally low cost. We got our feed set up and didn't touch it for a long time.

CONS

At some point late 2020 our artifact size went over 100MG per build. We started getting rejections when trying to post it. The error message was clear, we needed to pay for more capacity. Ok, no problem. So we paid for more capacity...and the error didn't go away. We gave it a few days, still didn't correct itself. Contacted support. They made a ticket but there was no progress. This goes on for months. We are manually uploading builds this whole time (while paying the increased rate!). Support keeps saying they can't help personally, they don't know when someone who can will look at it, and that's it. It totally sucked.

Kouji

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Price level needs to be for OSS developers

It has been a successful NuGet repository service for a long time, is reliable, and above all, very easy to use in terms of administration. I have 100% recomendation for using it, at least for OSS. Compared to the competition, it is neutral and easy to handle, with almost no constraints in terms of DevOps, and there is little reason to choose any other service. Pricing, however, is difficult to choose a level. In my case, I use OSS almost exclusively, but I'm willing to pay for it and charge for it. But the entry level `Developer` is expensive. For paid work, if a competitor is available for free, MyGet is rejected when I propose it.

PROS

* Very easy to use management console. * Can deploy and publish a NuGet package in 5 minutes. * Very simple and clear configuration. * No extra restrictions.

CONS

* The hierarchical structure of the repository is confusing. If the menu structure is organized, the problem will disappear. * The pricing structure needs to be a bit more segmented, with a level where entry-level users do not hesitate to pay. free use is available for OSS use, which is great, but capacity restrictions are tight. Even if they want to pay to avoid this restriction, the current `Developer` seems expensive for OSS and hobby use.

Reason for choosing MyGet

See below.

Grant

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Easy Setup and Integration. MyGet just works

PROS

It was very easy to sign up and setup. We combine github, teamcity, MyGet, and Octopus Deploy to give us an automated build and deploy process. We also use MyGet as a source for our own custom written chocolatey packages. MyGet also allows for easy management for example, configuring retention rules, marking favourite package versions, or upgrading the subscription levels.

CONS

It would be good to have an api to mark favourite builds to keep without having to log into the portal. For example so when we deploy a production release we can have an octopus deploy step which marks the packages used in that deployment as a favourite build so they arent cleared away automatically by the retention rules.

Reasons for switching to MyGet

Ease of integration and fit with our other processes.

sanjana

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Excellent package management platform

Overall I really like using MyGet in my organization managing our packages and feed details. Easy touse after you get a hang of it.

PROS

MyGet is great to work with Software dependencies and package management between different members in a development team. It is very easy to create/share private NuGet feeds. I also like the feature that you are able to create private repositories and it's Integration with Visual Studio Team services while working in a .net environment, thereby lessening load for DevOps working your organization. It is easy, fast and secure to use.

CONS

The User Interface is not very informative about the features it has to offer. It can sometimes be an overhead to manage your packages in a different platform but it is definitely worth the effort.

Christopher

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2020

Ok Features. Ok Uptime.

MyGet is one of the good 3 options for a package registry as a service in my humble opinion. That being said, I'd love to see more new features (or more communication) and better up-time.

PROS

MyGet has a very good interface for looking at your feeds. The API works. They just (March of this year 2020) added snupkgs support which is nice, but they're are a few competitors which have had this for a while. While this is true with most private package registries, the registration and authentication for your registry is very simple.

CONS

The biggest difficulty for us with MyGet is their up-time. We depend on MyGet for a majority of our builds so when MyGet is down, most of our builds are down. This hit us ESPECIALLY hard during a release where we had the majority of a day (in November 2019) where we couldn't build. We actually moved some of our packages to GitHub Packages for the day so we could continue for a bit. As of 2018, new features (or at least posts about new features) have died down a bit. They appear to be either slowing down in new development or just simple not communicating as much.

Ilya

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY