All Octopus Deploy Reviews

1-25 of 57 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Nicholas

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great DevOps tool

Excellent

PROS

Easy to configure and set up all your dev ops pipelines once and then invoke them over and over, to ensure consistent and completely automated deployments.

CONS

If you use their cloud offering with many targets it can quickly become quite expensive.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus Deploy had much better documentation and support making the setup process a breeze.

Leslie

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Deploy everything everywhere

We have been using Octopus Deploy for many years now. It fits nicely into our fully automated CI/CD pipelines and allows development teams to move quickly.

PROS

The fact that Octopus is API driven allows us to easily automate everything in the deployment space. It allows us to have repeatable deployment and operations processes across all the phases of the lifecycle. Now with deployment steps as code, we can easily adjust the deployment steps per branch, which matches very well with our DevOps mindset. We are able to deploy many different types of projects with ease.

CONS

The biggest challenge we currently have is tracking down what project variables are used where. Between the deployment steps and runbook steps, it is sometimes challenging to find what is used where. The Config as Code feature starts to make this easier to track, once the runbooks are Config as Code enabled it should be much more manageable.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus made it easier back when we did the comparisons to deploy websites, which was primarily what we were deploying at the time. That has now grown into deploying anything we need.

Justin

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Octopus Is Pretty Solid

PROS

That I feel like it can do anything, or that I can do anything with it. The extensibility makes it feel like I can incorporate any deployment needs I have which is cool. We have a bunch of different applications and they're not all built the same, so it's nice to feel like there isn't any app we can't deploy with Octopus.

CONS

Sometimes it feels like I don't know what all the features are, or what features to use where. It can get confusing and sometimes I don't feel like the docs do a good enough job explaining this to me.

David

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

A wonderful product with a great team behind it.

We have used Octopus Deploy to benefit all development teams and a number of infrastructure teams. In that they can control their own deployment processes and when they deploy. Infrastructure teams as well can create easy to use runbooks and provide them to other teams in a controlled manner to automate and provide consistent administrative tasks.

PROS

The ease of use from installation to new developer training. This tool thinks about every person involved. From the admin installing it, by giving them scripts to automate the install, to development teams using it with web ui built in help documentation. That and the support from Octopus Deploy, email, forum, Slack, calls when needed is top tier.

CONS

The only item of note is that although most deployment values are associated with a project, there are some that can't be restricted to certain projects. Some credential values can only be restricted by tenants or by environment. This is only a minor concern though as we have other ways of handling credentials.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus Deploy offered a far superior user experience, better overall documentation, and easier administration of the tool.

Cauchi

Gambling & Casinos, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Octopus Review - from a DevOps perspective - Used for 9+ years

I have been using Octopus Deploy for the past 9 years and have implemented it in over 4 different companies and have used its features extensively taking it to it limits :)

PROS

Kubernetes Deployment options and customization along with a lot of integration with different providers and tools

CONS

- Needs to Support Kubernetes CronJob deployment type (supported natively) - Needs to have a build in option to 'Wait' for Kubernetes Job type Deployments and read its exit code - Needs to support more Artifact Repos, such as AWS CodeArtifact - Cloud Agent needs to be 'faster' in general and ideally caches docker layers, we have deployments taking over 10mins, pooling/starting of the cloud agent takes time and also downloading the Octopus Tools Docker images takes very long on these agents (we're not using any custom one)

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Its integration options with different tools and providers and its not just a "CD" tool like argoCD, it allows you to do much more - such approval process, integration with Jira, slack notifications, Cloudfront integration (just as an example) etc...

Jeffrey

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

For when you need enterprise-strength devops

Very positive, solid, for 9 years now. It is the most sophisticated of any products. Built for this purpose where other competitors are acquired startup companies bundled together with duct tape.

PROS

Octopus takes a complex challenge and simplifies it down to its simple elements. While you may outgrow the competitors and up-level to Octopus, I've never seen a piece of software too complex for Octopus.

CONS

It doesn't automatically integrate with the Roku store for deployment of streaming media channels. But neither do other products either.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus Deploy could handle the enterprise scenarios to provide a full platform when coupled to our build server.

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

Octopus handles the more sophisticated software deployment needs. We outgrew Azure DevOps.

Ryan

Insurance, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Does one thing really well, rather than lots of things averagely

Phenomenal! I'd be lost day to day without Octopus. Not only is the product itself great, but the support and advice the teams provide has been invaluable, and always really prompt.

PROS

Makes deployments, and management of VMs really simple and powerful. The API first approach also opens up lots of different ways of using Octopus

CONS

Keeping release processes in step with code changes has been difficult. I think the new configuration as code feature will solve this, but I haven't tried it yet.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

When we first moved to Octopus Azure DevOps wasn't available, but we've stuck with Octopus through renewals as it's much better at what it does. The power, audit, and ability to carry out operations tasks via Octopus put it well ahead for our needs.

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

InRelease was very clunky at the time.

Daniel

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

The most convenient deployment tool I have used!

Octopus has been a huge resource for our team. There is so much in the way of customization with this tool, that we haven't even begun to use every functionality. However, for our needs, it has really streamlined the process of deploying our applications and recycling when needed.

PROS

The ease of setting up deployment pipelines, and future maintenance after the initial setup.

CONS

If I had a con its that there is too much customization! Not really a con, but we haven't begun to use all of the functionality Octopus offers.

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

Easier UI, more customization, better tools.

Jason

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Trusting the Octopod

Octopus handles deployments to our largest clients with multiple environments and servers. Feeling confident that I can hit a button and be sure four servers in three different countries on another continent are going to be safely updated is awesome. It saves so much time and provides reliability and confidence.

PROS

It gives me the confidence to deploy applications and updates in a reliable and repeatable way. We are a small company so our skills are spread across many roles. Having Octopus Deploy handle deployments is like having an extra, reliable team member who takes care of deployments.

CONS

I was initially confused by the terminology as I was new to CI/CD. Once I progressed past that stage there were no worries.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

I learnt it faster and it was flexible. We could use it the way we wanted in a simple way.

Nicolas

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great tool for deployment and run automated tasks

Great experience overall. Awesome tool to design automated tasks, really versatile. It is really easy to design a workflow with different steps and bind them together. I'm right now in the process of implementing a deployment to a Kubernetes Cluster and everything goes smooth so far. One thing I love is the support mechanism that Octopus Deploy has. Every time I have doubts or I don't know how to do something, I just ask in the community and in less than a couple of hours I get a response.

PROS

The ease of use and how versatile it is.

CONS

I have nothing bad to say at the moment. I've been using it for just a month now so I'm just getting used to it.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Automation and deployments in one tool, plus the cost.

User Profile

Stephen

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Deployments at Enterprise scale made easy!

We have instrumented Octopus for ~13k projects for ~4k users as of the date of this review. We moved from a very custom process to a well defined process. There's no doubt in my head that the scale we operate at today was only possible by using Octopus Deploy for our deployments.

PROS

We have been able to integrate Octopus Deploy with pretty much anything and everything we have thrown at it. We have all sorts of different types of deployments to various on-prem and cloud based targets. Even legacy based targets. We have not found a blocker that has stopped us from integrating our deployment requirements with Octopus yet. Octopus has ample amount of community based steps and first class steps out of the box that make it VERY powerful. Octopus is very customizable in how you handle deployments. Its really up to the end user to define what standard their business requires and Octopus makes it very easy to implement. For us we love step templates. Its re-usable code blocks that we can use at scale for thousands of deployments. No need to copy and paste the same code block into hundreds or thousands of deploys that are identical.

CONS

For the most part Octopus scales really well! We have over 13k projects with ~4k users in the tool and for the most part works fine. Though there are some inherent issues with UI/API performance when dealing with this many projects and users. They are working on these issues. But right now that's our biggest issue. Another topic of improvement would be around how step templates are version controlled. Right now all code in step templates is stored in the Octopus Database. I would love to see this moved to GitHub using the OCL language used for other parts of Octopus Config As Code. Lastly there are no good ways to template deployment processes besides cloning projects. I would love to see some sort of templating capability (similar to how TeamCity handles it). This would help greatly with scalability.

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

At the time it was much more cost effective to use Octopus Deploy over UCD. I would say the gap has shortened some now. But at the same time Octopus Deploy has grown much more than UCD has. Also UCD had reliability issues with its Database. Octopus seems to still have some scale and performance issues at large sizes. But they are actively working on that.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

Octopus - when deployment becomes easier every day

Very good. I realy like this tool I dont how much experience with others, but i am happy my company is using this one. I think o know this well.

PROS

Easy to use. Fast. I think its reliable. Most of the things are straightforward. I like the way portal is build, where options are etc.

CONS

Basically we can improve each part but hard to recall. For example if i am in variables, maybe some compare functions ? Whenever i work with with varaibles, lots of libraries, sometimes it becomes hard. Also why i can leave empty scope, and everyone can updated ?? this is a security bridge i think. I dont like when octopus is loosing connection (* health check). Sometimes i have issues with the service. Even if se to automatic, it doesnt start after windows server reboot. When i pick a lot of machines during deployment ( target ) would be nice to type like in the search, or role attachment, just a names or like *name. When i have lots of machines to exclude would be easier. nothing very urgent. Process creation - adding steps, moving, sometimes but irritating. You know to know the tricks. What would be awesome - interacive checks. Like i attach a role in the process and a message that currently not attached or a variable and some hints. Adding description to the variables could be easier. I realy dont like that when i do even a small change in the process i edit a script or something i have to create a new release. Audit log could be improved. I alredy shared my ideas on the previous page. I guess integration with AWS maybe could be more usefull.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

i wasnt involved

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

i did switch the company

Steve

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Solved our deployments and is now solving our Ops tasks too

Octopus Deploy was a key tool in taking our company from folk-developer roots to being a high-performing technical heavy hitter. Not only did we claim back people-hours from our previous deployment processes, we also started deploying more frequently - letting our customers use features as soon as they are ready rather than gathering together months of work in a big release.

PROS

Octopus Deploy makes it really easy to automate software deployments. It handles the variables for different environments and just works with minimal fuss. It's really easy to use.

CONS

We haven't experienced any issues with Octopus Deploy.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus Deploy was really easy to set up, which meant we could train it into more people. We could also create sign-off stages that business people felt comfortable using while we took the wider organisation on the journey to continuous delivery (these approval steps were discarded long ago when they gained the confidence in the "unremarkable deployments" we could do).

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

4-6 developers were allocated 0.5 days to complete the release process into multiple customer instances. Octopus Deploy immediately saved use 3 days of effort per-release. It also made the deployments reliable and repeatable (previously the success rate for each deployment would be <100% due to a file being missed, or a configuration change not being applied, or a server being forgotten - even with checklists!) The time spent deploying to pre-live environments had not even been captured. We could then also increase the frequency of deployment from monthly to "as often as we like", which is commonly daily.

Andrew

Biotechnology, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Best CD tool I have ever used.

We would not be able to function without it at this point. It helps release management team stay in sync, it automated our deployments so DevOps does not have to work so hard. It is focused on deployment, Jenkins is not strong in this regard, so it was a big win there.

PROS

I love how easy it is to set up projects and the visibility that this tool offers. I liked it so much that I brought it over to my new organization. I have been using this tool for about 4 years now and have seen the gambit with it. Deployments were a mess before we introduced this in both companies. I love the Tenent feature, that really changed the world for me. Customer/Production management became a breeze at that point.

CONS

There are some things I do not like about octopus, but they are not deal breakers. The view can some times get a little wonky when you are changing releases and pushing different versions all the time, and the "view" can become out of sync with reality.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

Octopus had a much better price, and Harness dashboard just could not matchup to the visibility that Octopus gives you.

Reasons for switching to Octopus Deploy

It was to hard to get visibility into what was being deployed, and we accidentally wiped our production account with it once. We made the switch after that. I love that octopus has manual intervention steps to gate mistakes like that.

James

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Octopus review

Overall we enjoy using the OD product as it helps us complete our daily deployments in an efficient manner. Administration is rarely any issue and we don't have to spend a lot of time with any vendor support, we have personnel who manage the app and they don't routinely run into issues that can't be solved.

PROS

Consistency of use over 7 years has proven OD to be a valuable tool to the organization. We have an 'admin' who runs the tool but our expectation is it more or less runs itself and allows us to focus on other technology issues.

CONS

Moving from a 'per server' to 'per seat' license has caused some initial issues, for instance we didn't used to renew every year due to not requiring upgrades, but now it's forced so that is getting extra scrutiny from the purchasing department. I've never found the reporting function in OD to be overly useful as I'd prefer it to be.

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

We have used OD for many years now and one of the main reasons we choose to continue to use it is that it works best with the MS .Net architecture that we have in place.

Laura

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Highly recommended

Since a few months there's now this feature called "config as code" where all deployment steps are commitet to a given git repository. It made it very easy to configure new projects for our microservice environment using this configuration as a template.

PROS

We startet with continuous deployment with octopus, it was really easy do deploy our IIS Applications on mutiple environments. The deployments can easily be triggered from our CI plattform (TeamCity) and/or manual with user confirmation. In combination with Jira, every changes with each package are displayed during deployment making it easy to track when did any change reach the server

CONS

Despite there are a lot of build in steps, unfortunately a "rollback" step does not exist (or we haven't found it yet) thus implementing a rollback strategy must be done manually via script or manual. This could be a helpful improvement, to enable an automatic rollback in case any error occurs during deployment

Reason for choosing Octopus Deploy

We did not consider any other product, as Octopus fulfills all our needs. We are a small team and our budget is not very much, so pricing was also an argument for staying with Octopus.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Octopus Deploy is an exceptional deployment orchestration solution

Excellent! I really like this product and it makes my life easier as far as deployments go. I would highly recommend it!

PROS

I have found Octopus Deploy to be a very well thought out and intuitive deployment orchestration system. It is very easy to use and quite simple to get started. Originally it was focused on .net / Windows platforms but now can be used to deploy anything to Windows or Linux. We use it for both. It is a very stable, reliable and easy to use product and I highly recommend it.

CONS

For many years my organisation has been given a free community licence as a not-for-profit, but this is now changing and we will have to pay starting 2022. Even so, I think it is still worth the money by a long shot. The only issue we have at the moment is we need to upgrade to a newer SQL Server version to support the latest version of Octopus Deploy as there is some security vulnerability in older versions. Due to Microsoft licensing and infrastructure issues, this is dragging on and we are trapped on a certain version for now.

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Excellent product

Simply fantastic, a must have part of web development for me. This product simplifiies release procedure. so now we can release many times a day if we want. So for example releasing to our test environments are now fully automated. (This probably happens 10 times a day)

PROS

Octpus Deploy is a very simple concept that is elegantly executed. I really like the ability to configure releases, (they can be either simple or complex). Once configured, it's then a very simple process to move a release from one environment to another. Octopus Deploy does not dictate infrastructure, so it's up to you as to what environments etc you want. As the needs of our organization has changed so has the release process. Octopus Deploy is straight forward and simple to configure. The ease of use of creating releases. . I love the fact that Octopus Deploy removes any drama about releasing or "rollbacking" software. It just works.

CONS

Not a big fan of version immutability, but I understand it and have accepted it.

Russel

Capital Markets, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: