All MindManager Reviews

1-25 of 65 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Edgar

Verified reviewer

Museums and Institutions, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Brain Storming for Pros

You wouldn't believe me if I told you that every big project in our organization starts as a mind map, and Mind Manager works best for us. But mind mapping is only the beginning, with its new templates including Kanban boards, timelines and process mapping, your main idea just keeps on growing.

PROS

I've tried many mind mapping softwares but no one is as simpler as Mind Manager. The main problem I've found is the correct organization of ideas (and reorganizing them as you go along), but navegation and idea organization is quite simple and intuitive. The ability to export your mind mapping to Office apps like Excel and Powerpoint make report making a simpler and faster process.

CONS

With the years its development has made Mind Manager a lot faster and intuitive. It would be great if selecting items and copying them into other apps would give you the option to paste as text, image, or even vector.

Reasons for switching to MindManager

Price and ease of use. Exporting options across MS Office apps is flawless.

Tegid

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Kanban and Mind Manager

As a task manager it is awesome and also helps in ideation sessions.

PROS

The functionality is incredible. If I have an idea, it has a function or feature to help me realize that idea. From kanban boards to integrating with Kira (through a third party integration tool).

CONS

It feels a little dated and you can't scroll using the work space this means having to use the scroll bar constantly. Using the mouse wheel to zoom would also be useful.

Reason for choosing MindManager

For the time being, imindmap is no longer being developed and Ayoa is not quite there in functionality.

Derek

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

You hijacked my screen to advertise

I've just uninstalled it because it posts adverts on my laptop screen, which I find intrusive - and there is no way of turning them off. I consider my laptop screen private space. In my view, it is extremely arrogant to use the privilege of having software installed to post product adverts. I will never use Mindjet Mindmanager again.

PROS

It's a great tool that allows one to create mindmaps and other conceptual diagrams easily

CONS

It posts adverts for itself on my screen. The formatting of the notes is very temperamental. I would have used it much more if it had better formatting capabilities, especially for tables.

User Profile

Ilia

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

About MindManager

Overall super positive as everything seems to work.

PROS

I was fortunate enough to have installed MindManager on my workstation. Initially the idea was to use it for Flow Charts as I dislike using Visio and wanted an alternative. I don't regret my decision. Mind Manager is fairly intuitive, the design is clean with large icons (the layout in Visio was one of the reasons I wanted to try something else). I also like the fact that it integrates with Microsoft tools such as Teams and Outlook.

CONS

I don't think that I've used it enough to uncover any particular issues. The only problem I had was learning how to use it quickly enough and that was helped by the tutorials which can be accessed within MindManager itself.

Reasons for switching to MindManager

I disliked the design and the layouts. I prefer larger icons and a clean look and feel.

User Profile

Steve

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Instant ROI for the Mercedes Benz of Mind Mapping Tools

Education, facilitation, planning, team management, and sharing of meeting results/next steps.

PROS

The look is great and the integration with Microsoft couldn't be better. MindManager 21 even integrates with MS Teams (beyond the already tight integration with the other MS Office tools)! This tool has been something I have used for 20+ years, every version, and it has helped me tremendously for any planning, facilitation, or management project. I always recommend it highest in terms of a Mind Mapping tool.

CONS

I think the Cloud channel and synchronous collaboration possibilities there need to be much better explained. Plus, live help on the MindManager site would be a big plus, as I often have questions and it can sometimes be hard to connect with them. Finally, their invoicing system is terrible and must be fundamentally upgraded.

Reason for choosing MindManager

MindManager has the best look and the best relationship with Microsoft.

User Profile

Ganjar

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Jumbled ideas? No need to worry anymore!

Mindmanager is essential for me. It helps me to explore ideas before writing it as scientific journals or before preparing the idea for a classroom seminar.

PROS

Have you ever felt that you have lots of great ideas but they are too tangled? That instead of feeling excitement on delivering these ideas, you are feeling overwhelmed instead? Well, fear no more! Mindmanager is there for you to help with this issue! Mindmanager allows users to create a mind map of an idea. It is very easy to use and has a simple, smooth user interface which allows users to straight away delve into the business: creating pathways to explore and express their ideas. Mindmanager allows users to add icons or change colours to boxes, making it easier for users to highlight certain parts of ideas. It also allows drag-and-drop to organise ideas collected through brainstorming sessions.You can also tag ideas and present them collectively in tag view. The best part is that you can convert your mind map into presentation slides, making it easier for you to communicate your ideas to wider audience.

CONS

Mindmanager is a commercial application, which requires users to pay. You can use the free, 30-days trial version to test whether the application suits your need before paying the price of the application.

User Profile

Torgrim

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

The best knowledge manager and planner out there

MindManager is my preferred tool for tackling the day, and it's the first program I start each day, and the last I close before bedtime.

PROS

The ease and speed of entering and visualising my information. And the ease and speed of restructurering and making sense of my information.

CONS

No sync of preferences, my (daily maps) panel, etc. between my computers (office and home).

User Profile

Alistair

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Far more expensive than it needs to be

It's a great planning tool but loads of the features are completely irrelevant for my needs. The one online training event I attended was so complex I left half way through. When the current version needs updating I'll be going to a rival offering better value.

PROS

Ease of import and export to and from Microsoft Word. Basics are easy to use (but there are cheaper ways of doing the basics!)

CONS

It's more expensive than rivals. It nags me for upgrades even after paying hundreds of pounds for a licence. Although it's easy to publish a map so others can view it, if you want people to collaborate and edit the map you have to pay a significant additional licence.

User Profile

Andreas

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

MindManager - Get your muddled-up thoughts and visualize them

It was the whiteboard to our business plan when we started our comapny and had a great friend to map out what was in my mind inorder to visualize my growth strategy

PROS

The most intuitive piece of software I have used when tryingto map business ideas into an exectable action plan. Able to add files and hyperlinks easily. Share the document with users and even print the diagram in larger formats. Great for our SWOT analysis to visually understand where we stand.

CONS

Takes a bit to get used to the many ways to annotate the diagram

User Profile

Nairoby

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

The relationship between value and price speak of it

In my experience the use of the SW has made the work much easier, especially to make it more visual or for a presentation of a project

PROS

I love using MindManager for mental maps and individual or group brainstorms, it is exactly like drawing on a sheet of paper with a pencil, with the great advantage of having shapes and icons to add and make the work more visual and attractive. Organize ideas in a clean way. It is relatively easy to use.

CONS

Privative tool, only for windows, I have not been able to update the version since I can not pay for it, the cost is high. There are functions that I still do not learn to use and there is not enough documentation or forums in my opinion.

Alioune

Professional Training & Coaching, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

MIndmanager le meilleur logiciel de Mindmapping

Ne peut plus m'en passer dans la vie personnelle comme professionnelle. Ai même initié mes enfants

PROS

Fonctionnalités Puissance collaborative

CONS

Prix Intégration Nécessite une formation

Reason for choosing MindManager

Meilleur de tous les points de vue, plus professionnel, plus ergonomique

Reasons for switching to MindManager

Plus simple? plus professionnel

Mark

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Long time user - I like it a lot. It's fairly robust. They force you to pay for upgrades.

It's helped me organize, brainstorm and present in my business for many years. It's solid and dependable.

PROS

It gets used a lot! It's very intuitive and seems to not have wasted features you wouldn't use. It's quick and not bogged down at all. The maps look really sharp and professional so can be used on screen shares and look like a champ.

CONS

Price and forced upgrade expenses if you want them. It's understandable to have paid upgrades every now and then. MindJet has always NOT had their client base truly in mind. Even back with their mobile app ... they were charging a monthly price for that when all we needed was to access our maps and be able to make minor adjustments. This company puts out a good product, but their view of your client base does not show that they have our best interest in mind, but rather siphon out all the cash they can get. Not a long term customer centric leadership in my experience.

Toni

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

I love this software!

I use MindManager daily for brainstorming sessions, meeting minutes, project planning, scheduling, etc. The ability to branch out from a single thought in as many directions as I want to go helps me to think about the topic rather than making an orderly list. Additionally, once everything is out there in the mindmap, it is easy to move things around to reorganize thoughts, add additional thoughts/ideas or sub-points, or put things in a specific order. I cannot imagine life without this application.

PROS

It is a non-linear way of representing thoughts, lists, brainstorms, etc. Because it is non-linear, the user can utilize more of the canvas to list out points, sub-points, sub-sub-points, etc.

CONS

That's a tough one! I have heard that some people have a hard time moving branches where they want them because of the snap-to feature, but it has never really been much of a problem for me.

Mike

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Power User

I have used just about every version of MindManager since 2002. I have been a beta tester and a MindManager trainer. The latest version of the software is excellent with a large number of advanced features including HTML 5 export which allows maps to be opened in all web browsers without having the Mindjet application. Maps are navigable and in the same resolution as original. Other new features include a timeline map type and integration with many other apps through Zappier. Mindmanager is just one of many mind mapping applications and positions itself firmly in the business market with tight integration with MS Office and other business tools such as Sharepoint. It's market positioning makes it one of the more expensive Mind Mapping tools on the market but its rich feature set and ease of use makes up for the premium pricing. Similar levelMindMapping packages are iMindMap which is unique in its rich formatting capability that most closely follows Tony Buzzan's original Mind Mapping concepts and Mind Genius with a unique project focus.

PROS

Ease of use and high resolution of text, excellent integration with MS Office apps, Zappier integration possibilities, built in browser pane for fast context based research

CONS

Some advanced features are hard to find in menu structure if you are unfamiliar

Wojciech

Professional Training & Coaching, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

I use Mindjet MindManager to manage information in visual way, ready to share in many other formats.

time saver, great ToDo dashboard supporter, excellent visual management supporter during meetings

PROS

What I love in MindManager is: contextual information management (tags, group of tags, icons, attachments, links, notes). In controlling area, great is calculation option - easy way to write functions. There is great integration w/ MS Office (Outlook, Excel). Excellent views of 1 document: Gantt chart, Schedule, Outline, Map, Priorities. Interesting thing is to use conditional formatting to present important topics with specific data.

CONS

I hope to see more options in reporting area - to export map as more specific document, to share information with others.

Naty

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Mindmanager, un software per professionisti

Sono davvero felice di aver scoperto un software come mindmanager,dato che con semplicità mi aiuta ad organizzare le mie attività lavorative e giornaliere. La sua grafica semplice aiuta molto ed in più ho apprezzato molto l'integrazione con gli applicativi Microsoft.

PROS

Questo software è davvero fantastico, dato che con semplicità, ma anche con molta professionalità, ti dà la possibilità di creare mappe mentali e brainstorming davvero facilmente. La struttura grafica è molto intuitiva e presenta varie opzioni di modifica e creazione ed inoltre si può collegare con vari applicativi Microsoft.

CONS

La grafica mi piace ma secondo me dovrebbe essere un po' modernizzata, in più aggiungerei una finestra di aiuto in tempo reale, in modo tale da aiutare gli utenti in difficoltà.

Miquiel

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

Great Project Mgmt and Visual Organization Tool

Dashboard and organizing everything visually to make me 35% more efficient on my job.

PROS

- Mind Mapping - Brainstorming - Dashboard Design - Attachments - Import/Export to MS Office - Often called the "unknown" part of MS Office - ability to map out sharepoint site as a mind map - ability to connect to sharepoint site - ease of use to organize ANYTHING

CONS

- new features are only on windows - company is windows-centric and not concerned with mac or linux - mac support is 2 or 3 versions behind - linux support is non-existent - online integration with task app is powerful, but not explained or shown enough

Anonymous

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Long time and regular user

Compelling collaboration tool; powerful think-things-through tool.

PROS

It's easy to use, with largely intuitive keystrokes, and offers a pretty wide range of situations it can work in. It's also got decent readers and translators to get it out to people who don't have the software. A lot of folks I've worked with have done the 30-day trial to allow us to collaborate, and that's been pretty successful. The company also has a robust user-supplied collection of templates and guides for using it for specialized things (like ad-campaign planning, project planning, org charts, etc.) It's a powerful visual communication tool that really shines when projecting notes or idea-development progress in front of a collaborative group.

CONS

They have been promising the addition of flow-charting for a couple of years; it's still promised and it's something I would use just about every day if/when it's available.

Logan

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: