All Spanning Reviews

1-25 of 27 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

JP

Verified reviewer

Investment Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Excellent Salesforce Backup Utility

Backing up both Salesforce records and metadata was critical to our organization, as we've invested dozens of hours into creating a Salesforce framework and populating data. Spanning's backup solution seamlessly integrates with Salesforce and allows us to track the status of our backups and restore selected information with ease. The price was exceptionally reasonable for a small and cost-conscious organization such as ours.

PROS

Spanning is easy to use, effective, and has great customer support. One of Spanning's most valuable features is that it functions withing Salesforce, integrating very well and eliminating the need to visit another website or use a different application to check the status of and access backups.

CONS

While initial sales and setup support can be conducted via phone, ongoing support is primarily conducted via email.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Spanning for Salesforce is a Must-Have

We needed a backup solution for our Salesforce metadata primarily. We run multiple Salesforce environments due to the nature of our business and we are also migrating from one environment to another. Spanning was among the tools used in that migration project.

PROS

I liked the ease of installation and configuration. It took about 15 minutes of effort to install/configure and begin using. The backup function is seamless to administer once the app is installed. The restore function is easy to navigate through to submit and watch the status of a restore. Overall an easy to navigate user-interface. Authenticating across different Salesforce environments is easy as well.

CONS

It would be helpful to be able to conduct Field Level restores. We're limiting to restoring an entire object. We can restore Flows and Workflows, but not Processes in Process Builder specifically. In this role, I inherited a mix of different automations, so this is not specifically a problem with Spanning other than it does appears that no all of our automations are accounted for.

Reason for choosing Spanning

I had previous experience with Spanning for Google and really liked it. I knew that Spanning had a solution for Salesforce backups and it was my first and only choice when I was hired by this company.

Tucker

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2023

Avoid Spanning

The overall experience with spanning was poor. We really wanted to like the product, and the way it was demo'ed to use was fantastic. However, once we started deploying it to our customer base we quickly realized there was many downsides to the management of the product and at that point Kaseya has their grips on you and wont let go.

PROS

From the surface spanning looks like a fantastical product. In a demo it it is very easy to use, end user friendly with a self service portal. Sales does a excellent job selling it. The self service portal and linking it to your M365 login is fantastic idea, Setup is fairly straight forward.

CONS

Kaseya that is all that really needs to be said. On the surface Spanning is a great product and has good potential. When it works it does exactly what we would expect. However, the partner management inferface that Kaseya has developed for the product makes it almost useless for us. Kaseya sales over promises and under delivers once you start utilizing the product with multiple customers. Constnat login issues, multiple errors on backups that never stop. The management of the product becomes overwhelming.

Reason for choosing Spanning

We had an existing relationship with Kaseya for a couple other products which ultimately played into our choosing Spanning. Ultimately however the Spanning mess has caused our partnership with Kaseya to sour and we will be avoiding their products going forward.

Reasons for switching to Spanning

We were switching from Veeam for M365 to get the data moved to a cloud provider and for the customer facing self service portal. Ultimately we went back to Veeam for M365 as spanning was just to painful.

Rik

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Unitrends Spanning Backup

The ability to restore One drive files from deleted users is MUCH easier than the same process through powershell.

PROS

Once you get set up it's pretty much independent. No further tweaking needed. No schedules, no worries.

CONS

GUI was a little difficult to set up for a lot of users. Needed to get into powershell to license for a large group.

Reason for choosing Spanning

Best price and best interface

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Customer support degrades after takeover by Kesaya

As a small Startup we used this to backup Google Suite account data for > 5 years. Restores we needed during that time worked fine.

PROS

Simple setup, with "set and forget" functionality. The few restores we had to make worked flawlessly and in acceptable time.

CONS

We were presented with pricing to sign up which did not transparently state an increase once a certain quota was reached. That needs to improve, else it feels like false advertisement.The offer that we received to cover for the overage was actually reasonable and comparable to competitors. Just the lack of transparency did not sit right with us.We decided to leave and it was and still is impossible (since > 6 months!) to get a confirmation of our cancellation from customer support which has degraded considerable after the takeover of the company by Kesaya. Is it correlation or causality?

User Profile

Paul

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Great company until it was taken over by Kaseya

PROS

Simple to use cloud-based and reasonably priced

CONS

The customer service and billing process. After Kaseya took over the company when the billing renewal occurred there was no simple way to pay for the services. They requested us to use some weird helpdesk form to put our credit card in for billing which seemed unusual and suspicious. Then they did not bill us for more than a month once we followed this even though we followed their instructions. Got angry and told us we need to pay even when they did not bill us, we then decided to cancel the service cancelled our services with them, and advised them. Their response was to put our debt with a debt collection. Hopeless!

Kevin

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2019

Beware Bait and Switch!

We tried their backup for GSuite and although it initially took a long time to index everything it seemed to work as expected. We then bought a couple licenses, but when reviewing the settings found that the team drive backup disappeared and it said to email support. We emailed support and they said "To have Team Drive Backup enabled for your domain, we ask that you have at least 90 percent of your users licensed with Spanning." which doesn't make sense for our business since most of our users are very light email-only users. Nowhere is this requirement documented in their terms, quotes, faq, master service agreement, service level agreement, "definitive guide to backup for gsuite" or administrator's guide.

PROS

Software can do what it says, and setup is fairly straight forward, but beware you are likely to get caught without backups when you need them most!

CONS

Google Team Drive Backup is enabled during the trial but after you purchase they disable it on you without warning.

Reason for choosing Spanning

It successfully backed up and recovered everything we checked against during the trial period where other products did not. Unfortunately the backup of drives stopped working once we actually purchased the product.

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2021

No development, bad UX and really slow Interface

After we cancelled, it was claimed that the contract would continue for another year, although contractually something else was agreed. I wish, I had never started with them.

PROS

Implementation and rollout was fast and easy.

CONS

Unfortunately, Spanning Backup has not seen any further development in the last two years. The user interface and the UX is a disaster. The backup of the data itself works, but when you search for data, you need a lot of time and a lot of patience. A complete export of the data is factually not possible. A single mailbox with 20GB of data took a week to export.

Vedran

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Review

Great experience so far with backing up all G Suite accounts (emails, docs...)

PROS

Ease of overall usage, does what it has to do. Flexible licensing, great support.

CONS

Nothing in particular. Sometimes errors appear in backup, but mostly the problem is on Google's side and is resolved in a day or two.

Bill

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Spanning

Overall positive, recovery capabilities and interface is excellent

PROS

Very advanced functionality. Ease of setup and recovery.

CONS

Integration with VSA could be more featured

Reasons for switching to Spanning

Switch to Kaseya VSA

Ben

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2021

Totally inadequate for business grade protection

This product is just not ready. The support is not easy to reach and when you do, it rarely provides what I would call a resolution.

PROS

It is cheap. Price is the only thing going for it.

CONS

That it takes several weeks (YES, literally several weeks) to get the initial backup of some user mailboxes. In addition, when there are errors (and there are always errors), you have little meaningful visibility into the cause or resolution options. You have to call into support and pretty much every time I've done that they say it will resolve itself on the next backup. Those run only once per day. The latest time, she advised we'll keep an eye on it for a week or so and see how it does. The other negative is that I have called for support and on more than one occasion, the hold time was 30-40 minutes. When I discuss this with account management, they advise that they really do prefer providing support via email.

Reason for choosing Spanning

Price. Yes, I was dumb and greedy.

Reasons for switching to Spanning

Price. The only reason. and it was a HUGE mistake. Backupify is reliable and robust. I'm hoping this blunder will not cost me the thousands of dollars on the agreement. It'll be a costly lesson but I'll happily tell everyone about my experience to help prevent others from making this mistake.

Patrick

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2022

This cannot be trusted

PROS

The functionalities and interface work great.

CONS

Spanning (now Kaseya) started sending us surprise invoices for 20k USD, and then went completely unresponsive after more than 6 months trying to get them to send us a new contract. After 20 email to their support, accounting & management team, nobody seems to know what they are doing, and nobody is able to reply to an email within 6 months. Is that the type of company you want to put in charge of your data safety?

Reason for choosing Spanning

Pricing

Laurent

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2023

Mauvais Depuis Kazeya

Avant le service et le sav étaient bons mais Depuis que Kazeya a racheté spanning backup le service est catastrophique : bugs et service client bidon

PROS

Backup / restore dans le cloud pour G suite

CONS

Depuis que Kazeya a racheté spanning backup le service est catastrophique

Aaron

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Spanning Backup for G Suite makes backup and recovery simple.

Spanning is easy to use and staff have access to the tool (if allowed) to recover their data without needing IT Support. It allows them to feel like they are empowered and in control and not to be embarrassed by having to ask. Being cloud based means the manual tasks of physical backups is gone freeing up time and effort to be spent in other areas.

PROS

Easy to use Secure Dependable Price Cloud Based Self Service for staff

CONS

Deleted staff backup recovery is not obvious. Weekly reporting can be a bit cryptic.

William

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Peace of mind.

PROS

So our team kept losing emails. Not sure if they were accidentally being deleted or if it was a network problem but we lost many many emails and documents in google drive. So this is where spanning came in. Wonderful to have the peace of mind and I cant tell you have many times its saved my butt.

CONS

I wish it were a bit cheaper, or it would backup an entire team under one domain. like a entire google apps acount.

Stanley

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2021

Lost my data, TWICE!

Due to someone not provisioning our licenses correctly they lost years of data back in 2020. We decided to continue to use their services, but just recently the SAME thing happened and we lost 30 days.

PROS

Touch free and ease of use. The expectation that data would be backed up automatically.

CONS

The software worked. But due to some mixup they did not provision license correctly which caused us to lose our backups.

Mike

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Easy, quick, simple 365 backup

PROS

The ease of the setup, and once you set it up it just works without much interaction at all!

CONS

I would like to be able to schedule more frequent backups but I think that limitation is on the microsoft side

Victor

Textiles, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE