All Document Locator Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Lyllcelsius

Verified reviewer

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Excellent and fabulous

It is cost effective, mobility oriented, and adds to data management

PROS

The application is user friendly and as well being adaptive to users. It is an application that is handy and challenging to learn as an administrator

CONS

I have not really find any cons applicable to me as a user and an administrator. Except on the web tools, users that have folder permission on the repository, are not able to see it on the web.

Edward

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Implemented in Engineering, HR, Finance and IT departments in three companies 2 small, 1 large.

Very happy customers. Great pricing. Great support. Integration with forms tool (Perfect Forms). Integration with custom .NET software used to accelerate IT Architecture development. Integration with secure HR systems to manage employee hiring and on-boarding. Ease of use finding Engineering documents.

PROS

Document uses SQL Server as storage for documents instead of a file-share. This provides the ability to encrypt data while stored and retrieve on the desktop without un-encrypting. Thus making it very easy to use for handling sensitive HR and Finance records. Document Locator includes standard and custom workflows that include forms which are routed for approval in a variety of ways. As an engineering tool, Document Locator make SharePoint look like an old-fashioned file server with its ability to add meta-data to each document. Document Locator has a vibrant web interface but also includes access via the desktop app.

CONS

Not much. I have done many document management studies and Document Locator exceeds all the others for my list of requirements. Perhaps some of the icons used on the client could be modernized.

Alan

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2016

Outlook integration is great for emails

PROS

I used document locator with 1 of my previous job and started using it since then for personal use. The best feature we like about Document locator is the email management using my favorite software "outlook". It helps with a number of other features including PDF conversion, Document preview etc.

CONS

The interface is little bit sloppy and need to be worked upon.

Keith

Public Policy, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2017

Excellent Customer Support

Customer representatives have a great relationship with the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin which makes to the support for this product great. Once again a product is only as good as its support team.

PROS

A software product is only as good as the support you can get from the product. This last weekend I was upgrading the Document Locator backend database from SQL Server 2014 to SQL Server 2016 SP1. I called Columbiasoft to let them know during the week what I was doing. In return, they emailed me steps to take when migrating to a new SQL Server failover cluster and gave me instructions on what to do if I ran into issues. I did not expect to run into issues but did on Saturday and sent Columbiasoft an email. The turn around to a reply was sooner than I expected. Rep walked me through some standard checks. The main correction we made was changing the DLRepcatalog database owner to cssadmin. The best news is I still left before 1:00 pm on Saturday giving me enough time to buy my 2010 Ford F-150 to start the camping season.

CONS

This is a hard one in that this product matches our business requirements. That said we use a lot of custom action steps and there are times I wish the documentation on customer action steps would be easier to understand.

Samantha

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Life's more simple

PROS

It is easy to use even for the beginner, not at all difficult and makes life more simple for me in my daily life when it comes to work management. I definitely recommend it to anyone that likes to save time but have organization as well. Definitely saves time rather than trying to do everything manually. I have found that my work life is more organized than before I started using this program....

CONS

There's nothing really to dislike unless you like unorganized chaos when trying to locate files folders and documents, if that's you then this program is not for you because this program is the complete opposite and is a life saver in my opinion. So as far as finding anything I dislike, there's isn't anything that I find that I dislike about this program. Again I recommend this to anyone who works in an office type setting especially.

Scott

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Best document management out there!

I’ve been administering my company’s Document Locator system for 8+ years. Never have I come up with a problem they couldn’t solve. I had 8 different document management systems in my company, and picked this over all the ones I already owned. Never regretted it even one day.

PROS

Not only does Document Locator works seamlessly inside windows, it has a great API and is very easy to administer. Users generally don’t require more than about 15 minutes of training. Support always answers questions within an hour or so, and the help cheerfully even with “dumb” questions.

CONS

Training is only offered a few times a year, and mostly in Oregon, though they will send an instructor onsite if you need.

Reason for choosing Document Locator

Better full text search, faster deployment, better API access. Lower cost!

Louis

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Document Locator offers a self contained convenient and efficient solution which allows our team remote and instant access to company files and data .

Document Locator software works beautifully and seamlessly with Microsoft Office and Browsers while allowing us to configure specific rights per user to the most sensitive company information which often will requires remote access in the field under pressure situations .

PROS

We found Document Locator or DL as it is otherwise known to be consistently reliable offering the ability to to send links which can be controlled offering specific file access to users. DL additionally offers a nice system to organize files so once connected users can find those intended files. DL's customer service support is first rate offering timely and high quality support.

CONS

We are extremely pleased with Document locator however there were was an issue that we encountered. The supplied user interface was some what clumsy as key commands were less intuitive to locate and use. This is a common occurrence though with file acquisition programs.

Alberto

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Very easy document manager

PROS

Document Locator is a versatile and user-friendly application, providing adaptive features for seamless document management. Its integration with Outlook simplifies email management, while offering convenient functions like PDF conversion and document preview. With a great API and easy administration, users require minimal training. The exceptional support promptly addresses queries, even the simplest ones. This product excels in staying up-to-date and ensures a smooth implementation, backed by fantastic customer and tech support.

CONS

Document Locator is a powerful software that requires extensive training, but the inability to link folders can be inconvenient. While telecommuting, it occasionally experiences slowdowns and glitches. Limited to Windows, the web version lacks features, eagerly awaiting the next update.

Rebecca

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Over all a good system. Ability to customize is hands down. Support team is EXCELLENT.

Having both a flat view with metadata and the actual file in one spot.

PROS

The webtool is very easy to use, which is the part most of my team uses. I love that I am able to customize the system to my company's needs, there are very few limitations to the customization. I like the ability to get a spreadsheet report out of any folder and it includes the headers.

CONS

The bulk loading is great for first time in documentation, but if you have updated versions in bulk to existing documents - the bulk load feature is useless. I work in engineering and we typically receive documentation in bulk and several versions over the life of a project. If the bulk load feature would actually version the documents this would be life saving.

Keith

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Document Locator has been one of the easiest and seamless Doc Mgmt systems I have worked with

Versioning and the ability to publish external links usable from other applications

PROS

Flexibility. Its easy to configure to suite almost any need we have. And the way it seamlessly integrates with the Windows environment is outstanding for our users

CONS

I really see no weaknesses to speak of. Every scenario that I have thrown at it it has easily handled. And the few items that I originally though of as downfalls where simply my lack of knowledge.

Eyüp

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Document Locator EO

I no longer feel dizzy while doing errands. Because everything is in its place. Simple and useful interface

PROS

I think they are very successful in workflow management. File sharing is also easy and reliable

CONS

Accessing the folders in the software can sometimes take time. It takes a lot of experience to gain experience

Sylvia

Government Administration, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Highly recommend. Great software

Our experience with Document Locator has been great. We have no regrets. The Team at Document Locator was extremely helpful in working with the migration of our data from our previous software vendor. They went over and beyond to make sure we received not only all of our documents, but the meta data that was attached. The Team customized our platform to meet our needs. The Trainers were patient and detail oriented. The software is easy to use, intuitive, and reliable. Document Locator has improved our efficiency in our daily duties.

PROS

We use Document Locator all day every day. The software is easy to use, intuitive, and reliable. The Team at Document Locator was extremely helpful in working with the migration of our data from our previous software vendor who was not helpful. Each time we have received training, it has been informative, clear, and concise. Folder Structures and Profiles are great tools to allow us to work efficiently with consistency across departments. We have experienced no downtime. Document Locator has improved our efficiency in our daily duties.

CONS

Emails are automatically named which is great. However, we would love to be able to reorder the auto-naming to be specific to us. We heavily rely on the search feature or breadcrumbs. However, we have to manually navigate to the file to save the document in when "printing to Document Locator". The breadcrumbs or search features are not available in the "print to" function.

Reason for choosing Document Locator

The software was intuitive to use and manage, it contained all the features we desired such as setting file permissions, folder structures, profiles. It is easy to use. The

Reasons for switching to Document Locator

Rubex had many bugs in the software, customer support was not helpful or responsive, the account manager was not responsive.

Patrick

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

ColumbiaSoft1

PROS

The indexing or searching for files is really nice and fast.

CONS

Initial setup is a pain when creating workflows or repository setups and security.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback and support, Patrick. Apologies that your setup was a bit of a challenge. Our Services and Training teams have been informed ¿ they take new customer set up very seriously and want to make sure customers are up and running quickly. Your account manager will be reaching out to see if there anything we can do with implementation or training to make it right.

Replied December 2018

Millie

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

DL Review for RIZZO

PROS

I like that you can go back and find older versions of documents. For us that is the most important feature.

CONS

I dislike how outdated it appears at times.

Debbie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

DL software is very user friendly

PROS

I like the ability to offer individuals the rights and permissions to do their job efficiently. The search capabilities are robust. I like to the flexibility that this product offers.

CONS

I would like to see more functionality added based on project management. As a recent grad of CMII practices, I would like to see some functionality added to this product based on the principles established in Configuration Management.

Peter

Wholesale, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

I don't waste time looking for documents.

Overall I like a product. It keeps documents organized and easy to access.

PROS

Having all the documents together makes the job very practical. When I need it, I don't think about which document is where, I don't waste time, I like to have all of them at hand.

CONS

Documents are slow to load, especially if they are large, it takes a lot of time.

Michele

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Document Locator is a great product for Document Management

The benefits allowed our organization to proceed to a paperless environment easily.

PROS

The Document Locator product stays up with technology and is simple to implement and utilize. Best of all their Customer and Tech support is fabulous.

CONS

Reporting is somewhat lacking but since the database has a SQL back end it gives the user the ability to create reports on their own.

John

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Reliable and does the job.

PROS

Reliability and ease of use

CONS

OCR in the Scan Console is not great. Tedious to create/replicate repositories. Not compatible with iOS. No app available for use on ipads/iphones

Vendor Response

John, thank you for your feedback. We would like to reach out and learn more about the OCR concerns, and help fine tune this so it works better for you.

Replied March 2018

User Profile

Miguel Angel

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: