All CrashPlan Reviews

1-25 of 238 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Great Software for Business, Slow Support, Frustraing Configurations for NAS

I used this service for several years with multiple PC's before the swapped to the per-device cost. It was an easy set-it-and-forget-it setup and making sure that all files were backed up. Upload speeds could be hit and miss depending on the server or time of day.

PROS

Once configured, the software is easy to maintain, do backups, and encrypt data. GUI interface is simple to use and makes restores much less painful Support can be helpful via e-mail, phone not so much.

CONS

Cost of the software seems to creep up every year, and recently have switched to a per-device cost which makes indivudal backups more expensive. Headless support is almost non-existant and a pain to set up QNAP NAS requires a community written docker container to be able to manage as a cloud backup Phone support is painfully slow to answer questions and immediately requests RDP.

Swapnil

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Good software for individuals but not recommended for business with a lot of data.

Not good. Did not solve the business problems of needing a cloud/offiste backups. We stopped using it.

PROS

It is cheap and offers unlimited cloud storage. That is the only reason we purchased a subscription of this software in the first place.

CONS

Crashes a lot of times, does not upload the whole bank of data, very slow to make a backups, never completed the whole backup.We find it to be useless for our uys case.

Reason for choosing CrashPlan

We only chose it for cost efficiency but later we had to go back to Azure doe to the quality of service.

User Profile

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Has so much potential but is being held back

Unlimited backup storage of my computer system with revision history

PROS

The fact that the cost vs amount of storage you receive is incredible with Crash Plan. I have looked through so many providers for online backups and I don't believe anyone comes close to what is offered by this software. The fact that once you you install the program and sign in, the interface is very straight forward allowing you to select what on your computer you want to back up, all the way down to the entire contents of your C: drive is great and makes the product easy to use. Notifications are also a great feature to notify you if there was a problem during a backup.

CONS

My major issues come down to resource usage and customer support. This software, even though it does fantastic things, is an absolute resource hog. In the past I have been able to run constant backups incrementally at 15 minute intervals without much slow down of my systems. Within the past year however, on a 16GB memory system, as soon as crash plan begins to backup my memory usage jumps from about 15% to over 50% until I stop the program completely. On windows server 2012, the same issue happens, whether Crash Plan is installed for every user, or just my admin account, the instantaneous system slow down is there to where everyone on the system is effected. My two attempts at contacting support about the issue resulted in almost a 1 week wait time between calls/emails and the answer I ended up receiving was that they would no longer be supporting servers with the Crash Plan application. However present day their website still says it supports windows servers. The idea behind the program is amazing, I just wish the execution and support was more clear and helpful.

Shaun

Consumer Goods, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

CrashPlan Review

This software offers a simple and effective data backup solution.

PROS

This is an overall great data backup solution. I have used this for many many years for backing up my parents personal and small business computers. Great tool.

CONS

I cannot think of any real cons for this software. There are some cheaper options nowadays for data backup. However, this is still a great tool.

Reason for choosing CrashPlan

I have used this for years and was familiar with it.

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Legal Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

BEST backup software hands down !!! I love it

It kept all my data, photos and docs safe for years !!

PROS

This is the best backup software for a home user ever. The best part is that you can backup an external USB Drive. I run it on my mac and have been using it for 5+ years. The software runs in the background and backs up my files so I don't have to worry. They have plenty of settings to limit when it backups and how many resources to use. Since I have a capped bandwidth I set it so I just upload in the evening. I've recovered a couple of files by logging into the web interface and downloading a zip of them.

CONS

I'm very sad that they will no longer offer consumer accounts at the end of August 2018 if I'm a small business I would use crashplan. I'm super bummed that the software I recommended to so many is going away :(

Brahm

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2021

Used to be better

Crashplan used to be a better service before Code42 bought it and made changes. It used to just work in the back-ground more or less hassle free. Now it is another tech service that you need to manage. I would no longer recommend Crashplan and am moving to another service.

PROS

The interface is clean and intuitive. Data de-duplication seems to backup lots of files efficiently even if you re-organize your folder structures. Upload and download speeds are generally good.

CONS

Back-up used to run automatically, but changes to the app in 2020 made it so that the app constantly logs outs so that you have to enter your password and run a back-up manually or nothing is backed up. If you do run a back-up manually, sometimes the app will now log you out before your back-up has finished. Worse still, if you move or delete a large number of files in a short time the app treats your computer as a new device and starts charging you for two devices resulting in being charged double. This is hard to fix because customer support isn't very good.

Reason for choosing CrashPlan

When I signed up Crashplan was very economical, has a free feature for backing up programs to your own devices, worked in the back ground consistently and reliably and was generally hassle free. None of that is true any more. I miss what Crashplan used to be.

User Profile

Tab

Verified reviewer

Publishing

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Very flexible backup service that allows you to backup external hard drives w/ strong encryption

Peace of mind knowing our files are safe.

PROS

Strong encryption helps keep our files safe. Unlike many backup services, Crashplan for Small Business allows you to backup files on any number of external hard drives for no additional fees. Also, you aren't required to move the files/folders you want to backup into a proprietary backup folder...this means you do not have to alter the structure of your file system to have an effective and full backup. Power Tip: divide your backup into multiple backup sets for increased efficiency and peace of mind.

CONS

I wish you could more easily view the backup log so you could reassure yourself that your most important files are 100% backed up to the latest version. UX is usable but a bit awkward...it can take several somewhat convoluted click-throughs to find the setting you need to alter.

User Profile

Heather

Verified reviewer

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2019

Good Program

Overall, the potential for the program, and the idea seems great. But unless you have a huge bandwidth or pay for extra it's difficult to use for a some business owner like myself. I flet secure in that my life were kept safe, in an online, web based program, however I could never use it to it's full potential because it took literally days for my to back up just one of my external hard drives full of full resolution .CR2 files.

PROS

This program really does as it says, backups all that you have on your computer incase of lost data, or major computer crash loss. Because it's web based, it's all available and at the tip of your fingers if ever you need retrieve lost data.

CONS

My biggest issue with that program was that it took up so much bandwidth that there was very little left for other things in my home, such as watching youtube, or Hulu, or Netflix. It ate up a lot of my allotted bandwidth for the month, and I had a lot of difficulty using it because of that.

User Profile

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

YOU SAVE MY SKIN!

I had a computer failure, had to wipe it clean but CrashPlan was there with all of my precious files safely tucked away to put on when I got a new computer.

PROS

MY COMPUTER CRASHES ALL IS LOST! Or wait no! I have CRASHPLAN!!! As an author and a graphic designer, there is NOTHING as important as having all of your precious files safely tucked away securely. CrashPlan is like a comfort blanket for me and my files.

CONS

Just make sure you're connected and syncing properly! But seriously there is NO downside to having all of your files backed up safe and secure

User Profile

Aníbal

Verified reviewer

Alternative Dispute Resolution, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

I keep in my cloud, I'm more secure

I have solved my problem of not having to saturate my PC anymore, I keep everything in the cloud since the old file was in the university until I used software that I no longer use

PROS

I feel safe with this software because there I keep all the information of my pc, they have the security that my files need all the data stored in Crashplan have internal backup that guarantee that in the event of a company failure they can always be recovered again .

CONS

This service is the best, it is for all types of users, both desktop operating systems and smartphones

Kyle

Facilities Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2017

CrashPlan does exactly what it needs to do

We no longer need to manage our backup infrastructure. CrashPlan takes care of this. Previously, with Windows Backup, we needed to periodically purge our backups because when using a network location, Windows Backup can't do versioning. So we'd end up filling terabytes of storage of the same files over and over again. CrashPlan fixes this problem for us!

PROS

CrashPlan is really easy to use. I love using it because I can backup to another computer for FREE! The only part of the app that is pay is if you want to backup the the Code42 cloud. If you don't use the cloud, you get easy & free backups! The versioning is also really nice. We can restore a file from any point along it's life. CrashPlan is used to backup our general file server, our email server, and our SQL database dumps. I can centrally restore any file from any server from my location. We migrated to CrashPlan from Windows Backup. It took a lot of overhead out of our backup procedure. CrashPlan has also saved our files from Virus' on a few occasions. With the outbreak of Ransomware, CrashPlan really helps save our files from being encrypted.

CONS

CrashPlan is written in Java, which means, it's pretty much the only reason I have Java installed. Supposedly, a non-Java client is coming, but who knows when or if that will happen. It is also _really_ difficult to manage on a headless server. You basically have to create a SSH tunnel, then from a separate computer 'fake' out that installation of CrashPlan into thinking it needs to connect through the SSH tunnel. Done properly, your desktop CrashPlan will connect to the CrashPlan backend on the headless server. It would be really nice to be able to manage a headless server without any SSH tunneling, or port forwarding, or any of that.

Wayne

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

It's alright (as long as you're behind a normal firewall)

Easy of use and cost effective.

PROS

This software is easy to use and configure. I have recommended this software to others who are not tech savvy and they loved it. It's easy enough for them to "set and forget" and files recovery is as easy as selecting the folder/file you want to recover then process it. Cross platform is a definite positive and we needed a solution that worked with MAC and Windows.

CONS

I have used this software for a few years installed on a MAC and a Windows machine. It was good until I upgraded to Sonicwall Gateway. With the latest firmware it seems as that CP on the MAC had a hard time bypassing the firewall security so I had to explicitly open all the required ports then it started running normally again. Months went by without any issues then problem with the MAC machine reappeared where it cannot connect to the CP server (meanwhile no configuration change was made to the firewall). I have worked with both technical support from CP and Sonicwall, both have different ideas of what may be the problem. It's just odd that the MAC CP is having problems communicating out of the firewall while the Windows machine is fine. Further finetuning of the firewall will be required. In conclusion, CP is a good reliable and cost effective backup solution providing that you are behind generic firewall. However, you may run into frustrating issues if you are behind advance security gateways like Sonicwall, Fortinet, etc. and it's not as low maintenance as one would expect it to be.

Robert

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2018

The cheapest backup solution, but be patient to backup or restore

Overall, Crashplan is a wonderful software for individuals getting into Cloud storage or looking for an alternative to offsite backup. It provides a fundamental experience with setup for beginners, but lacks the higher end competitors. Additionally, in an emergency event, I would not expect CrashPlan to be first priority for a restore. I would use CrashPlan as a last means of backup/ restore.

PROS

The cost for this backup is what most people value. The option to encrypt your backup prior to sending it to Crashplan's server is comparable with other high end backups. The option to backup to multiple other devices also makes CrashPlan one of the very few backups that allow you to multi-backup to different sites, machines, or other users using CrashPlan.

CONS

The time to backup a 1TB drive could take well over a month (My experience). It never tells you when all files are completely backed up, but continuously keeps backing up. The software does not tell you if a backup has failed or cannot pend. Overall, great value for a small business with 5 or less employees, however, if your a larger company, I would look else ware.

Peter

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Backups made easy

PROS

The free plan offers really great features, being able to backup to a separate computer has been in-valuable. With the paid-for option offering an even better service, letting you backup directly to CrashPlans cloud servers. Restoring to previous versions is also super simple, with a simple-to-use user interface it really isn't hard to figure out. Also, restoring is a very quick process, much faster than other backup programs I've used in the past. The initial installation and continued maintenance of CrashPlan is also very straight-forward, taking virtually no time at all to do either.

CONS

The biggest negative of CrashPlan is the sheer amount of resources it takes up on your PC / MAC to get these back ups done. On a pretty powerful machine you can sometimes notice a very slight lag. Integration with other firewalls can be a pain, especially if using a more obscure and not-well-known brand. Also, the web interface doesn't work on some web browsers, which isn't a big problem for me, as I solely use Google Chrome. But it may be a sticking point for other users.

Robert

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Regularly just disappears from computer

Not reliable or cost effective.

PROS

They have good support and their website has good online support.

CONS

Several times over the past year the s/w just disappears from my computer and I have had to reinstall it. Code42 acknowledges that sometimes this happens. The only way I know this happens is that I get an email saying "your computer has not been backed up for ways". The price has also doubled. The s/w also seems unable to complete the backup if scheduled to run only during off hours. I have opted to quit using it when my monthly subscription expires this month and replace it with a less expensive, faster and more reliable product.

Reason for choosing CrashPlan

Recommended by a friend. At the time CrashPlan had unlimited storage for a reasonable monthly fee. Since then the price quadrupled.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Great once user's commit to configuring their backup

It's a great, set-it and forget-it tool, but Code42 still needs to work on improving end-user experience and encourage end-users to keep their backup list up-to-date so Admins don't feel obligated to nag their co-workers about it when things go wrong

PROS

- Fairly easy to deploy - Secure - Noisy when it needs to be - Enables the admin to be hands-off but they can check in on a backup anytime using the admin portal

CONS

- The end-user experience to set up the tool is pour. As an admin who helped implement this tool I had to walk though the initial setup process with a large number of end-users because they were overwhelmed by the setup process - After 1.5 years of this tool being implemented, most end-users still don't keep their list of items CrashPlan backs up up-to-date. Their backup list is only updated when they start experiencing hardware issues - Using Migration Assistant to restore data to a new Mac will corrupt the CrashPlan app and it must be reinstalled which causes confusion for the end-users

Nicholas

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Best Backup Service for Small Business

PROS

Small app that does a good job of backing up important files. It auto restarts and rarely fails. If the app does fail the system notifies you via email. It keeps multiple revisions of the files so you can not only restore them quickly but go back to a later date if you need to. The app allows you to set up a local backup as well as your cloud backup for quick restores. Definitely, a must if you are required to store legal documents for up to 8 years like our company.

CONS

The app can sometimes get stuck on huge files but most of the time it resolves the issue without assistance. Can sometimes take up a lot of RAM depending on how many files you need backed up.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY