All Virtru Reviews

1-11 of 11 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kyle

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2020

Encrypted emails all from your inbox!

Overall Virtru is my go to email encryption solution. It really give peace of mind when you need to send sensitive information

PROS

Alows you to send encrypted emails natively inside gmail inbox. This will also encrypt any attachments you add also!

CONS

Since this is essentially a browser extension there are some weird bugs that happen, but most of these are dealt with a simple off and on of your browser.

Erica

Biotechnology, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Pleased - so far so good

I have been using Virtru for 3 years and primarily send medical records to patients. Overall, it's been very positive but as I mentioned, we have had to develop clear instructions to make it more user friendly for our patients and partners.

PROS

Pros: - it's easy to set up and train new team members to use. - when toggled on/off it's very clear with the color change which setting you have it on - it is a simple process to revoke an email. I like that you don't need to visit the dashboard to do so - I reached out for customer support and received timely responses

CONS

Cons: - Sometimes there is an issue with attachments. I have heard from many recipients that they have difficulty accessing them and it's not obvious to me as the sender why this happens - the messages often go to a spam or junk folder - it's not always clear when an email has been accessed - there isn't an option to export or easily filter messages in the dashboard - once you have accessed a secure message it's easy after that, but it can be confusing for first time users. I have had to start sending instructions about how to retrieve the passcode, but it results in frustration from time to time. patients just want to read their message. they don't want to jump through hoops to do it. - if sending from an alias, you cannot tell which person read it

Maricel

Telecommunications, 10,000+ employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2019

Not that Functional

PROS

It’s function to secure privacy of my email was not relevant for me. Other recipients (does not have virtru) outside my company is having hard time accesing my email though my email is intended for all the recipients. There are still other software which is better than this.

CONS

I don’t like that when virtru is enabled I still have to click another botton in order to send my email. It took longer to load the email before I can read which is not helping for me.

Christian

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Protection Made Easy

We are in the mental health business and have the confines of HIPAA to pay attention to. Virtru is a product that allows staff to deliver sensitive reports to other medical providers in our area in a secure manner. I also value this added layer of protection for email within the agency - to protect information at all times.

PROS

The extension into Chrome and working seamlessly with Gmail is wonderful. The ability to set controls and even making sent mail disappear after 10 days is outstanding. I value that everyone receiving can easily open our encrypted email and not have to deal with another user ID and password. This product is very sophisticated.

CONS

Once in a while the extension disappears from Chrome. I have had a number of employees suddenly no longer have Virtru installed and wondering how to get it back. While not that hard to "reinstall", it is bothersome that this occurs.

Reason for choosing Virtru

The ease of use to apply encryption and the controls that give even more control over the email (e.g. blocking any forwarding). I also wanted something easy for receiving clients that would not require an "account".

Heather

Machinery, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Convenient and easy

I love virtru because it is so easy and accessible and secure.

PROS

I love that this is integrated directly into my outlook so when I create a new email all I have to do is click the virtru button and it sends my email encrypted. I can also search for previous emails specifically sent with virtru within outlook.

CONS

There have been a few instances when I have used virtru to send emails outside of the organization and the recipients were for whatever reason unable to open the message or attachment. I'm not sure if it was due to user error or not though.

Matthew

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

User friendly encryption

It has been a pretty solid product. There are some hiccups here and there, as is the case with anything, but I am happy with the experience.

PROS

It is very easy to use. All you need to do is click a button and you are good to go. It seems pretty secure and, by and large, it is a reliable program.

CONS

Occasionally, Virtu will lag or not work at all. I was ready to write this off as me having issues with my own bandwidth, but my colleagues working from home would tell me they were having similar issues at the same time. Another is issue is people to whom I send encrypted emails who do not have a Virtu account sometimes have difficulty opening emails. I don't know if this is because of user error on their end, software error, or if the instructions for non-account holders are difficult to follow.

Jennifer

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great service, easy to use

Positive experience, only frustration is when sending to someone, they can't open the message on their phone the first time which I wish we would have known up front.

PROS

The best feature is the ease of use. I have used other privacy software in the past that left me feeling frustrated and confused. Virtru is user friendly but still provides the security we need in a healthcare setting.

CONS

You can't open a private message on your phone :(

Reason for choosing Virtru

Price, ease of use

Reasons for switching to Virtru

Price, features, and ease of use

Lonnie

Mental Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Use of Virtu in Mental Health

Overall the experience has been good using Virtru in our office.

PROS

Our Agency utilities Virtru to encrypt our emails that contain protected health information. For the most part this is effective tool, it is easy to use for the user. I like the feature that if you accidentally send it to the wrong email that you can retract the email without worry about HIPAA violation.

CONS

Some of the providers that we send our enrypted emails to have trouble opening them epscially if they are using IPAD for email so I wish this could be resolved.

Lance

Mental Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

EASY solution for HIPAA-compliant emails

Product is GREAT for ease of use. Customer support is some of the most prompt, knowledgeable, courteous, and helpful I've ever encountered. That makes up for the rare times when VIRTRU gets cranky, LOL!

PROS

We use VIRTRU with OUTLOOK Desktop; with one click of a button (or none, using the default setting) ALL emails are encrypted AUTOMATICALLY and received, decrypted AUTOMATICALLY. No extra steps - very time-saving!!

CONS

VIRTRU will, at times, save the email you though you sent to the DRAFTS folder without alerting you that it has done so. We chose to accept that anomaly and simply work around it; we moved out DRAFTS folder so that is visually right above our INBOX. That way, you never miss that that anomaly happened.

Tess

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Functional Encryption to Keep Your Data Safe!

Virtru allows us to include multiple elements of PHI in our communication without concerns that HIPAA will be breached. Our IT department thoroughly vetted the product and we're confident that Virtru provides compliance we can depend on.

PROS

Easy to use product. I've encountered few issues with recipient access to encrypted e-mails. At-a-glance confirmation that Virtru is enabled or has been utilized on an e-mail thread.

CONS

Did experience a .dll conflict with an older version of Windows but no issues since then.

Ilan

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Secure data

I like it, it is solid and reliable and makes my professional life easier.

PROS

In the legal world securing and encrypting our date is a must. Virtu makes that possible and allows us to transmit information and limit the ability to transfer it further.

CONS

The interface is not easy to use. I thought it would be more intuitive than it is. That being said it is improving all the time

Showing 1 - 11 of 11 Reviews