All FOUNDATION Reviews

1-25 of 87 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Project Management

It's been wonderful to implement a new software to our project management.

PROS

This software is great for keeping all documents relating to a project in one spot. It links all the items I use daily to the project so I don't have to store them on my computer.

CONS

Took a little navigation to find where and how to get things in there. As well as the form making, but overall, not much I don't like.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your positive review and taking time to share your feedback with FOUNDATION. We are happy to hear our software is meeting your expectations and making life easier for you and your project management team. Let me know if you'd like to talk with someone about making those custom forms and reports easier for you. We are happy to help. -Robin, rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied October 2020

Jacob

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Great product with AMAZING customer service

We have had a great experience with Foundation, for our size business, it's perfect!

PROS

The software is easy to use, and customizable. It's simple, and customer service is Fantastic.

CONS

I wish there were more standard caned accounting reports like TTM income/balance sheets and the ability to customize standard budget reports. More filtering criteria to run reports would be great.

Reason for choosing FOUNDATION

Because of ease of use.

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

It was bloated and difficult to use. Practically needed a PhD in ViewPoint to use, or spend a lot of money customizing. Their support team was very very very slow.

Vendor Response

Hi Jacob, Thank you for your positive review and taking time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear our software is meeting your expectations and helping to make life easier for you and your team. Let me know if you'd like to talk with someone about those reports. Let's see if we can make them easier for you to work with. We're happy to help. -Robin, rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied April 2021

lou

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2017

Strong Program, lack of support and updates

There are better programs out there.

PROS

The program does it all besides estimating. Has a good system of checks and balances and everything is tracked so very hard for employees to cover their tracks. It does a lot well but everything has its hiccups.

CONS

There are several things I dislike about the product as it has so much potential to be 10x better yet they have no ambition to make it better. 95% up the updates released by foundation software are fixes to glitches or problems. Very rarely is there an actual new feature or upgrade to the program. There are several flaws with the program that would be easy to fix, which have been suggested but go unanswered. Such as the pages scroll very awkwardly, they jump at the end of the page onto the next page but not at the top of the page. Very difficult to review a report on the screen when it keeps going back and forth. Their support team must have a very high turnover as everytime I call I know more than the person who is suppose to be providing the support. To their credit they do go and get the right answer and get back to you but the typical resolution to a problem is 24 hours. For us 2 hours is a long time when your waiting on an important resolution such as payroll.

Vendor Response

Hi Al. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts on FOUNDATION. Honestly it is not what we expected to hear from you and are deeply concerned about your disappointment. We strive to produce the absolute best product and service for our clients, although we understand at times using new software can be frustrating. One of our training managers will reach out this week to coordinate a time that’s convenient for you and discuss your concerns in greater detail. We hope that you will take our call so we can work toward resolving any outstanding issues and make FOUNDATION a successful accounting investment for your construction business. We look forward to working with you.

Replied July 2017

Angel

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Best Accounting Software for Construction Business

I feel like it pretty much has all the features it needs to run a construction business as far as accounting goes

PROS

That we can do AIA billing and. Certified payroll

CONS

Not run on a cash basis and. Dry hard to change posted items.

Reason for choosing FOUNDATION

It has more features geared towards construction

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

More Features

Vendor Response

Hi Angel! Thank you for your great review. We're happy to hear you love the functionality of our software and are benefitting from our advanced AIA and Certified Payroll capabilities. We look forward to working with you and your team and providing you the quality product you expect for years to come. Don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything. Always happy to help. -Robin, Client Success Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied October 2021

Fred

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

One stop shop

We have a greater control on our costs and profitability. It has been a game changer for our company.

PROS

The Project Management feature was a lifesaver for our company. Our previous software was unable to track the RFC. We are now able to monitor the outstanding requests with accuracy.

CONS

There isn't a feature that I do not like. The migration to Foundation was managed extremely well by the i education team. I was the only roadblock in breaking my all habits.

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

Foundation offered features that the software we were using did not offer.

Vendor Response

Thanks for such a wonderful review, Fred. We really appreciate the feedback. We are so happy to hear our software functionality and PM capabilities have made such a positive impact for your business. We will continue working hard to meet the needs of your team in both product and service. We look forward to great working relationship for years to come. Please reach out if you need anything. Always happy to help. -Robin, Client Success Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied September 2021

Dana

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Foundation is great for mid size contractors

Overall experience with Foundation is pretty great. They have a great support staff and generally get calls back very quickly.

PROS

We like the software because it allows PM's to see costs and review their job details in ways other accounting software was not able to do.

CONS

We wish we could use the options for lien waivers or contract/PO templates in a more usable format. Because it's not very user friendly we have processes outside of the software for this. I also wish you could schedule call backs instead of waiting for a callback at a time that may not be convenient for you.

Reason for choosing FOUNDATION

Price and function

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

Ability for PM's to review job costs.

Vendor Response

Hi Dana! Thanks for your positive review. We're happy to hear we are providing a great product for you and making life easier for your PM's. I'd like to have someone from our team reach out to you to discuss lien waivers and PO/Sub templates with you in more detail. Let me know of a time that's convenient for you and I'll get that set up. As far as scheduling those call backs, put a day/time you'd like a call in the subject line of your ticket. Our Support team will try to meet that time as best as they can. Thanks again. Look forward to hearing from you. -Robin, Client Success Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied September 2021

Sherri

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

All encompassing software program

I would highly recommend this program to contracting and construction businesses that employ 20+ people and also wants to track maintenance for equipment. The program, in my opinion, is not cost effective for smaller businesses

PROS

Very user friendly, if you have a basic understanding of accounting practices, it is easy to figure out where to go or what to do to find things, or fix errors. The report are easy to find, run & read. Customer service is excellent! The company hosts a training week for the software that is incredibly beneficial for both new & seasoned users. This software is similar to People Soft in what it can do without the complications and confusions!

CONS

Some of the add on programs (such as project management) appear to be unnecessary or even over complicated. You purchase a specific number of "seats" for users to log on which can be a huge hassle if you do not have enough seats, as it leaves employees waiting for others to finish up their work or stop mid-stream so that another user can log on and work.

Bob

Building Materials, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Foundation Software is an important tool for our install business

EXCEPTIONAL - all the players are interested in helping you keep your business running efficiently. Response times are great.

PROS

Easy to use and understand. Job costing is exceptional. Document imaging is a key to reviewing issues. Support is outstanding!

CONS

Some additional functionality in PO tracking and AP invoicing.

Reason for choosing FOUNDATION

Simple to use and set up. it was easier to transition to . The staff was great.

Vendor Response

Hi Bob, Thank you for your positive review and taking time to share your feedback with us. We're so happy to hear FOUNDATION is meeting or exceeding your expectations, especially with Job Costing and our Client Support. As we strive to provide quality service and a great product, we are always looking for ways to improve, so please let me know if you'd like to talk with someone about the PO Tracking and AP Invoicing functionality. We are always happy to help. -Robin, rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied April 2021

Ronald

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2011

Lighthouse Electric is a commercial / industrial electrical contractor operating primarily in Pennsylvania, West Virginia and Ohio. We are a union shop dealing with many local electricians, laborers, carpenters and operating engineers. We routinely employ several hundred tradesmen. Our software quest started with a goal: increase volume by 50% without adding overhead. That was 2001 and we soon realized our current accounting software was detrimental at current levels and could not support such an increase. We started looking for new software, prioritizing stability, support and functionality. We compiled a list of functions necessary to support our business. The candidates were narrowed to three who could support our efforts. Foundation Software had a clear edge in all three categories and, surprisingly, was the least expensive. We took the opportunity to reexamine our processes and develop streamlined procedures, taking advantage of Foundation’s features. We had in-house training and imported data for jobs, employees, customers and vendors. We paralleled a few payrolls, tested other systems and went live in January 2002. We accomplished our business goal in two years. Currently we operate at 300% of our 2001 sales level with a few more people but the majority of them are estimators and project managers. Foundation continues to add features and functions but stays true to its core competencies: stability, support and functionality. We are certainly proof of their scalability. Foundation provides outstanding job costing and the unprecedented ability to reproduce any report back to your first transaction. The support staff is well-trained and very responsive, traits that are found in all the employees I have encountered at Foundation software. Utilizing Foundation’s data genies (report writer) and Crystal Reports to access the MS-SQL data base, it is a very rare instance when we cannot provide information requested from internal or external sources. Our relationship with Foundation Software is a truly a partnership. Currently, we are using Foundation for Windows version 11.6. There are usually several updates per year which we apply without reservation.

User Profile

Neal

Verified reviewer

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

All around great accounting and project management software package.

Great accounting system with additional project management features.

PROS

Foundation has more features and options then I can hope to use. It is able to be configured and set up work work around any business work flow and accounting style. Our accountants love it and the senior management loves it because they can quickly and easily get a overview of the financial status of the company then drill down to individual invoices and pay applications if they want to. The project management module allows our project management team to tie in everything they generate and respond to the project.

CONS

Some of the features feel tacked on with little integration between the different modules. The project management system could definitely be easier to use and more intuitive.

Steven

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2018

Maybe good for accounting but not anything else..

I think the accounting staff finds this software acceptable.

PROS

I'm dubious of any review that gives this software 5/5. I cannot fathom how any honest and daily user of this software would rate it this high. I can only assume the accounting portion of this software is useful. The project management and documentation modules are weak at best. These modules to have been added only to allow this to be advertised as a complete construction enterprise software.

CONS

I've been using this software for 10 years. I'm not a programmer but this software appears to be pretty outdated w/ a feeble attempt to give it a moderately current appearance. The buttons & menus are very reminiscent of Windows 95 type software. I have never seen a display or output remotely close to the screen shots offered on Foundations's website & marketing literature. I suspect these screen shots have been developed for sales & marketing. The actual software does not look like this. The actual user interface is very unattractive & outdated. The user interface is also very unfriendly. Most of the data input fields / windows are very small. Furthermore the data entry fields are fixed in size. You cannot increase the size even by adjusting the size of the window. They are fixed making typing and editing difficult. I often times write my text in MS Word then copy it into Foundation. Another work around is to write the body of your order in MS Excel or MS word & attach it to a basic non-descript cover sheet prepared in Foundation. This work around is effective for orders, Submittals, RFIs, etc. The included forms are very generic & hardly usable. Developing company specific forms is expensive & cumbersome. Forget custom support. It exists in name only. Major flaws: user interface-fixed data entry fields-no spell check-no UNDO button-long standing bugs that remain, ineffective customer support.

Vendor Response

Hi Steven and thanks for providing your feedback. We¿d like to get a better understanding of how you use our accounting software and, more specifically, the project management features since it sounds like your issues are mostly related to that module. A Project Management support specialist will be in touch to start the conversation.

Replied July 2018

Holly

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

The most user friendly software I've used in the 20 years

Tech support is always there to help and they are extremely knowledgeable in all areas. I usually learn a new feature or shortcut when I call for assistance.

PROS

This software has many automated features that saves the employee time. In Accounting they have a quick reversal buttons which will auto-generate the reversal of an AP Payment, AP Invoice, Journal Entry and more. Change Orders are directly tied with your billing and will automatically bring you to the AIA screen to update the billing line item. All-in-all it's a system that works with you to easily enter your information and generate a multitude of reports for every department. It is the most user friendly software I've used in the 20 years I've been doing accounting.

CONS

I was disappointed that the Foundation Mobile app didn't have the reporting that our management staff needs to run our jobsites. If they ever add more reporting features, specifically clock in time reporting to that module, I will jump at the chance to switch, as it was a seamless import and saved our payroll dept. hours of review time.

Vendor Response

Hi Holly, Thank you for leaving such a great review. At FOUNDATION, we continuously strive to serve you better and are thrilled our team has managed to meet those needs in various areas of your business. As far as your concerns with Mobile, I am going to have a Sr. Mobile Rep contact you to discuss and see if there's anything we can do to better service your needs in that area. Thanks again Holly. Robin, Client Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied May 2021

Ed

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2018

Foundation Software

We selected Foundation over 10 years ago as it appeared to be the best option at that time. At this time if I was looking at construction accounting software I would want to examine other providors as I cannot say that is still the case.

PROS

Fully Intergrated Accounting System. Payroll system has some strengths. Customer service is very prompt and experienced.

CONS

Accounts recievable package is terrible with respect to retainage tracking. Many features in all the modules are cumbersome to use. Reporting is limited in many of the modules. Some of the integrations between modules do not work correctly. Software enhancements take a long time to get implemented. Foundation appears over the last few years to be spending their resources on providing their Third-Party Payroll Service (Payroll 4 Construction) and on other new product development and not on improving the software which is a disturbing trend.

Vendor Response

Hi, Ed! Thank you for your honest feedback. While we do have other products and services to complement our core accounting product, continued product development of our accounting software has always been and remains a priority. So updates and enhancements will absolutely keep coming, and we appreciate your patience as we roll them out as fast as able. Any issues you’re experiencing between modules is something we definitely want to look at to make sure we can’t improve your setup. We also might be able to set up some more advanced reporting for you. I’ll have a manager from our training department reach out to talk more! // —Robin, rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied October 2018

Catherina

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Great Software

Foundation really makes Payroll easy, we do ODOT jobs and they are compatible with the Electronic CRL Ashtoware programs required by ODOT

PROS

We do our payroll in house and the Foundation Payroll Module is the best that I have used

CONS

Reporting under Account Receivable could be better, you can work around it.

Reason for choosing FOUNDATION

I had used it at my previous employer and loved the program, it was superior in almost everyway to all other construction software programs I had used. So when the time came to look at new software there was only one choice for me.

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

Foundation is the best Construction Software in my opinion. I have use Timberline, Peachtree, Quickbooks and Star Builder programs during my career and I have Foundation to be the best overall software for the Construction Industry.

Vendor Response

Hi Cathy, Thank you for leaving such a great review! It means the world to us! It's great to hear you not only love our product and service, but you carried it with you from one company to another. We're thrilled you've stayed with us and we look forward to continuing our relationship with you and your new team! Please let me know if you need anything, I'm always happy to help. Thanks again, Cathy! - Robin, Client Success Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied June 2021

Shelli

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2013

My family owns a complete Road Construction business. We have been in business for over 32 years and have tried many accounting programs. They all were lacking something. Most were just not construction specific or were more geared towards buildings and had very few vague options for Road Work. The other down side was the cost increased every year for support and maintenance, and the programs were just not user friendly! We read an article about Foundation Software in a construction magazine, which in part listed Foundation Software as America’s #1 construction accounting software. We decided to look into it and get a demo cd. We could tell right away this program made sense. It was like the staff at Foundation was running a Road Construction business and knew exactly where everything needed to flow and offered all the options we had been longing for. A few months later, we purchased Foundation Software for windows and could not be happier!!!! The implementation went very smoothly and only took a couple of months. The training was very easy and the support staff is extremely knowledgeable. With Foundation, we have saved time and money. We used to have 4 people in the office inputting different information into our accounting program. We were able to cut down to 2, comfortably. The modules are integrated perfectly and therefore double entry of items is no longer necessary. Foundation Software is extremely user friendly and is setup to fit your specific needs – customized for the way you run your business! Just a few of our favorite things about Foundation Accounting Software - the Date Genie easily creates and customizes just about any report to fit your needs, cutting back almost entirely on manual spreadsheets. You can add notes to a vendor’s record, a job, or a customer, and then view that note in reports. There are no updates or software versions to pay for – just continuous enhancing of the program and the annual fee stays at 18% of the purchase price. The reports offer a wide range of filtering and sorting options – allowing for very specific reporting. Certified payroll reports cover all required forms with a wide variety of options– no need for a manual weekly hours and minority spreadsheet. Import bid’s from estimating software to create estimates and AIA forms– no need to manually type them. Also, we have found answers to most questions/issues by clicking on the help button whereas with previous programs we had to wait to receive a call back. Sometimes it took a day or more! Finally, you can set up each module to prevent errors like double entry, paying a vendor who has an outdated certificate of insurance, posting to a closed gl period, and much much more!

Darlene

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Foundations Software review

Ease of use. Great friendly people.

PROS

Ease of use, easy to learn on your own as I did. The support you get from Foundations is great. They don't make you feel stupid as some tech support people do. People are friendly and make you feel comfortable about calling on them. Using the log a call feature is so easy. They put you at ease. It's like talking to a friend about a problem you are having. I like that they can log into your system and show you right on the screen how to fix a problem or mistake. They were right there when I was learning the system. In the beginning I logged calls daily it seemed like. I was NEVER made to feel like I was bothering them.

CONS

I like it all. For our company there does not seem to be any cons.

Vendor Response

Hi Darlene, We can't thank you enough for your kind words about FOUNDATION Software! You made our day, and we really appreciate it! So glad you are finding our software easy to use and you're benefiting from our client services team. It is our commitment to help as quickly and thoroughly as possible and it's great to know we are meeting/exceeding your expectations in that area. As always if there is anything you need, don't hesitate to reach out. Robin, rmo@foundatiosoft.com

Replied April 2021

Stephanie

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Long time user and Love!

It has been fantastic, webinars are great for refreshers or learning something new or training a new employee!

PROS

I love the ease of utilizing excel to build my own custom reporting.

CONS

Very rarely does something "break" in the software, but when it does, it's not easy to fix.

Reasons for switching to FOUNDATION

Bonding company pushed us to.

Vendor Response

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for leaving such a great review. At FOUNDATION Software, we continuously strive to provide the product and services you expect. From our robust reporting capabilities to our self-learning tools, we are glad our team has managed to meet your needs. We look forward to a continued relationship with you and A-1 Chipseal for years to come. Thanks again! -Robin, Client Success Advocate rmo@foundationsoft.com

Replied May 2021

Daniel

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: