What are EMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using EMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.28

25 Reviews

5
11
4
10
3
4
2
0
1
0
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Their manual and online help resources are good."
  • icon"You can see everything about an event quickly. You can drill down and create more levels of complexity however you see fit to use it."
  • icon"This gives the institution great flexibility when deciding which modules are needed for any particular tasks."
  • icon"When we had turnover we lost knowledge base. On-boarding staff with this software was not easy."
  • icon"Super difficult to learn so it can really kill a new hire. We are looking at other options but when you have a lot of data in the system it makes it really hard to finally make a move."
  • icon"I was disappointed with the sales rep for our account. We had been clients for several years and had the software on our server."

Jump to:

Browse all EMS Reviews

  • Have you used EMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 25 reviews

User Profile

Taylor

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Exceptional product and very user friendly

Overall EMS Event Management Software is very easy to use and tracks data very well. The reporting options that are available are very helpful to get out to our staff and tracking events and billing is very easy to do.

Pros

I really enjoyed all the capabilites EMS has with its event booking software. It is very customizable and easy to book and track events. It made event planning very easy when we manage thousands of events per year.

Cons

There isn't much I do not like about this software. EMS does have a bigger software that allows you to customize for different user groups who oversee different venues within the operation but I do wish they had a smaller version of this.

Amanda

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

EMS Software

Overall it's very powerful and wonderful to use. Implementation wise it's piece-mill. I would highly recommend before any University purchases it, they get buy in from campus leadership about unifying scheduling policies on campus before moving forward. Don't be cheap, get everything you need up front. Implementing it piece by piece is terrible especially if you have to engage multiple areas on campus to implement anything like we do. It's like herding wild buffalo... and that is because we didn't know better up front and we're staggering along with a ton of legacy issues because of it.

Pros

I love using and training ffolks in the software. It's robust and generally anyone who feels comfortable using a PC will enjoy it. We host the database, and the test and dev environment on our own servers in our computing center on campus rather than the cloud offerings by Accruent but a smaller university can really benefit from that service. It is an amazing and very flexible software, easy to train users on it and set up spaces and special use facilities fantastically .

Cons

Does not work for Apple OS, Web Client is not updated to keep up with newer versions of EMS Client so can cause template bugs and issues in teh client if items are created in the Everyday users admin tools. The mobile application is not really viable or working properly on the platform services, and the UIX is terrible according to any of my users who are trying it out. . They both seem to be the ugly step child of the client software. Support is more generic ticketing and less helpful and frustrating to engage with. It used to be one day turn around on solutions to an issue, it takes forever now. usually gets lost in ticket system hell, and they nickle and dime licenses under "professional services" outside of the paid for service agreement under accruents ownership these days. They close tickets before solving the problem to keep their "ticket" stats looking good I guess for potential buyers of the product it seems. Obviously it frustrates me as I've used the product since 2008 and loved it until the purchase of it by accruent.

Reasons for choosing EMS

25 live is fine but the developers named the fields and making reports and queries off their tables in it is a nightmare because the terms a developer came up with are absolutly gibberish to a scheduling admin in any facilities. It's a steeper learning curve to use Resource 25 now 25 live. I will say their web page although made for teh very very blind in scale is quite smoothe. I use both because we have not integrated academic and non-academic scheduling into EMS fully at this time.

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Ok, but not as good as previous

Managing Rooms for events

Pros

Very powerful software and it can serve your organization regardless of size (and can expand with you as you grow. They have moved into the online presence very well and we have used them as a company with close to 100 rooms with little complaint.

Cons

We've used EMS for years and i would brag that there software was my favorite to use as a systems admin. easy to deploy and do monthly updates. However, that has dropped off severely in the last year or two. While it is not bad, it does not rise to the quality that I have come to expect from them.

Rachel

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Lots to Offer, Lots to Learn

EMS is very complicated up front because of everything that it offers. There are so many different uses and parts of the software, so it does have a steep learning curve. However, once you learn the system and its shortcuts, it is very useful and offers a lot for your organization.

Pros

I appreciate all of the different functions that this software offers. I use the reporting, calendar, and billing systems almost daily, and could not do my job without them. I am lucky that my designated customer service rep is knowledgeable in EMS, and can quickly guide me through any questions that come up.

Cons

Before switching to EMS Campus, the biggest issue we had was that only two users at a time could be on the software. Our team was too big for this, but once switching to Campus, it has been resolved. With EMS Campus, my biggest pet peeve is that everyone on our umbrella account has their own information in each drop down menu throughout the system, so it is difficult to keep the system clean and overly personalized for our office.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Complex, yet easy at the same time.

We used EMS for internal and external events within our organization. We recently switched to Communico and I'm desperately missing EMS, which seemed built for our needs. We could easily tell what events were internal and which ones were external, what was a meeting and what was a special event.

Pros

EMS let us view all of our events happening in one day on one easy-to-view screen. I could easily sort via a drop down and insert things like furniture, a/v needs, and other information by copying it over from another event. I also liked the ability to copy an entire event without having to do much work. Reports are easy to read. I liked that I could see who created each event so I knew who to contact if I had questions.

Cons

There's a lot going on with this software. It seemed as though some ways of doing things were convoluted, but once I figured it out, it was easy. It was a little slow at times, but we DID have an outdated version.

Laura

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Performing Arts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Great software, not so great support

I enjoyed working with the software. It was easy and did everything that I wanted it to do.

Pros

EMS is a robust platform with so many functionalities. It is relatively easy to learn and use. Their manual and online help resources are good.

Cons

I was disappointed with the sales rep for our account. We had been clients for several years and had the software on our server. When we made the decision to go cloud-based, there were other companies that were anxious to talk immediately and give us sample accounts to test. When I asked for the same from EMS, our sales rep was too busy for us. He wouldn't even set up an appointment less than one month out. I felt that he wasn't interested in our business so we switched to another company.

Rebeka

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

EMS

Overall this works very well for us and keeps a large organization running efficiently.

Pros

EMS has proven to be a good organization system for room bookings. We use it internally for a large synagogue where there are multiple classrooms and function rooms that are used all day, every day between the synagogue staff, day school staff and religious school staff.

Cons

The "look" of it is very antiquated. There must be a more attractive platform on which to present this software. Also, you have to go through (sometimes hard-to-find) wizards to duplicate booking details, and it always seemed like there must be a smoother way to accomplish that step.

Gary

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Easiest tool for setting meetings

Overall, EMS is an important tool in our day-to-day meetings. Overall, it is an easy software to use for setting up meetings. It's very responsive and has never crashed on me or disconnected my calls. I would high recommend for any businesses that operate virtually to use EMS as a video conference program.

Pros

The most I liked about using EMS is how easy it is to set up conference rooms for meetings. Compared to zoom, EMS has an easier interface and can allow my teammates to simply join rooms for meetings and set up scheduled times. In addition, the video conference calls are high in quality.

Cons

The least I liked about this software would probably be the interface. While it's easy to use, the UI may need an update in appearance as it appears to be outdated.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Powerful tool with clunky interface

Pros

EMS has a lot of powerful features and robust reporting. Their customer service is always willing to go the extra mile to help you out.

Cons

EMS pushes updates to the software at least monthly but a lot of bugs go unnoticed. Some of their notification features, the Web App and Room Sign App/Kiosk leaves much to be desired. I don't always feel that EMS values the input of their customers.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

EMS

Pros

I work in a large event space and EMS helps to keep all of our info organized and everyone on the same page

Cons

I wish you could search out certain equipment being used throughout the building instead of viewing event by event.

Emily

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Hidden Information

Pros

We use EMS to create reservations, and other scheduling processes. I have found that finding the usage history is easy to access and there are several other filtering options like which time periods and properties. Once you have the hang of how to create a reservation, it really isn't too difficult. You just have to be practiced.

Cons

It's difficult to learn how to make a reservation, there are a lot of hidden spaces where you need to put information in other tabs. The way things are labeled in EMS don't really make sense, like to create a new reservation you have to click on Wizard not Book. When I put in the number of people on the reservation, I have to find a different tab to input the numbers.

Bruce

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

EMS Software

The software once installed is quite solid and reliable. Updates come out periodically, but it's not necessary to install them all. Update scheduling is done at the convenience of the administrator.

Pros

The EMS suite requires a number of software installs which varies depending on institutional needs. This gives the institution great flexibility when deciding which modules are needed for any particular tasks.

Cons

There are a lot of moving pieces all requiring separate installs, and separate updates. I'm not viewing this as a negative, but it does come with the territory.

Jeanne

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

I have used EMS for years. I can do everything I need.

It helps multiple groups coordinate our facility usage here at our school and church. We are able to quickly and cleanly see whether a space is for use. It has streamlined communication about space usage over many users.

Pros

I like the level of detail it provides. You can see everything about an event quickly. You can drill down and create more levels of complexity however you see fit to use it.

Cons

It can be time consuming to really use it to its fullest and add all those event detiails, but its always optional. You can include as much or as little as you need.

Loreli

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Good system but not so user-friendly

We are able to use this to organize our rooms and events and communicate with each other.

Pros

I like that our office can use this software to log and communicate events with each other and keep track of everything.

Cons

The software is not too easy to use. There are quite a few functions that took us a while to figure out how to use.

Brian

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

EMS allows us to schedule events in our building with ease

Scheduling events and reserving rooms has never been easier for our staff and students.

Pros

This software is a powerful tool for managing all of the rooms within our building allowing us to prioritize the needs of faculty and staff and giving access to reserve rooms for all who frequent our building.

Cons

Sometimes the interface can be a little clunky or glitchy when reserving a room. The interface feels a little dated but overall is an excellent product.

Kelsie

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Conveniently Easy

Pros

It's really easy to find reservations that have been booked, and look at reservations that same day, in a week, month, or year. Which helps our organization plan ahead of time for set up and take down. The reports that we download are easy to read and sort through.

Cons

When we go through Wizard to create reservations, there are some details that we want to add but it's difficult to find how to add those reservations. I have not been able to find a way to add comments in the reservation, which can be frustrating for us and the customers that booked the reservation with us.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

After years of use we left

Pros

The system is very robust and our staff could do alot of things with the system. Multiple staff could have access at any given time.

Cons

It was not intuitive. When we had turnover we lost knowledge base. On-boarding staff with this software was not easy.

Robert

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Two of the facilities I support use EMS for scheduling room for events.

tracking of many events daily.

Pros

It will handle a lot of rooms, and provides details about what services and equipment is needed. The detailed lists can be edited and prompts the staff to ask for more information.

Cons

The interface is difficult to navigate, and reporting has a steep learning curve. We publish reports to support staff every morning because the interface is too difficult for them to navigate.

Tammie

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

EMS Review

It can be a challenge to use it if you only use it about once a week to pull reports for each area who needs it.

Pros

I am able to see what events are occurring in which buildings we have on campus. One of the administrators has set up queries for me to look for specifics in our buildings. That saves me A LOT of time.

Cons

One of the recent complaints I have received from one of our craftsmen is that those who are doing the scheduling can override the system or skip some of the blocks that are purposely built in that causes them challenges.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

User-friendly compared to other systems but missing features

Pros

At this time, I am able to complete everything I need with EMS (specifically Web Client EMS). You can customize your reports and easily schedule events. You can also add as much or as little detail as you need.

Cons

Customer Service has not been easy to work with (at least for us as Web based clients) and usually can not fix our issues. We have to fix them ourselves.

Matthew

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Feature rich but a pain to learn

Pros

It does it's job and because of all the features it allows use from rooms to property and more.

Cons

Super difficult to learn so it can really kill a new hire... We are looking at other options but when you have a lot of data in the system it makes it really hard to finally make a move.

Nathaniel

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

EMS User

Pros

There is a department on our campus that schedules some of the events around parts of campus, and it's really easy to pull reports they create and look what events were booked so we can create work orders for setup, cleanup, repairs, and so forth. Those reports save me a lot of time, and I'm able to be more efficient in my assignments.

Cons

After we create a reservation, it has to be approved by the scheduling office. Sometimes they miss confirming it, therefore, reservations can get overridden because we had to depend on other people to confirm the reservation. This causes challenges with our customers and other departments that we would like to avoid.

David

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2015

Best Student Center Application period

We love it and have been using it since the year 2000.

Response from EMS Software

David, Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We're thrilled to have you as one of our long term customers and look forward to continuing that relationship! Thanks Chris Binding Marketing Manager

Replied March 2015

Brianna

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Good Software

Pros

My office uses this software to schedule events around our campus and other entities we use. I really like the options the reservation system offers. It tracks every reservation that has been scheduled whether it's been cancelled or not. The function of putting in the actual attendance vs. the anticipated attendance helps us keep track of groups and plan for the future reservations.

Cons

I've always felt that this software is not easy to use initially. It's easier now that I have used it more often, but from the beginning, it was quite difficult to figure out how to use it.

Madison

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

EMS

Pros

We often have to pull reports in our office, and EMS makes it really easy to get the data. I love the usage reports that we can pull and tailor it to what we need. The reports are easy to pull edit to what you need.

Cons

When we make reservations, we have to specify a beginning and end time for the reservation. However, when there are multiple days, the two initial times remain and it's difficult to change the times to what we need. It's a confusing feature that is not user friendly.

Showing 1 - 25 of 25 reviews
EMS

EMS

4.28/5 out of 25 reviews
Learn More