Actus

Actus Reviews

RATING:

4.67

(58)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.67

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"I found the software was user friendly and each screen operated in the same way. It lends itself to an all year cycle of managing performance and ensuring dialogue is frequent with the employees."
  • icon"As a small business owner that works with a whole range of other SMEs, Actus immediately appealed to me. It is low cost and a great way to implement and embed best practice."
  • icon"The support team are really helpful and have worked through issues that we've had and helped implement suggestions for development and improvement which is really positive."
  • icon"We do that manually now, but it is hard to get people to remember."
  • icon"I cant think of anything that i dislike about the system as the team have reviewed and updated it for us as we go along."
  • icon"Small text boxes, difficult to read. This may change when we move to the latest version."

All Actus Reviews

1-25 of 58 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Gail

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

Simple process to set up, helpful friendly support staff

The ability to ensure all our employees are receiving quality, regular 121s and appraisals

Pros

It is extremely simple to use, cost-efficient and it has helped us role out a collaborative, transparent 121 and appraisal process which benefits both the direct reports and the line managers. Additionally, they are continually improving the product and ask for feedback.

Response from Advance Change

Hi Gail - thanks so much for your Capterra review and your ongoing referrals. Your feedback is hugely appreciated!

Replied November 2017

Lukasz

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Simple to use and always improving

We have found the service and support from the Actus Team to be exceptional. I am a techie so they have also provided lots of guidance around people stuff and culture which has been helpful.

Pros

I like the simple intuitive design of Actus, we have only a small team and they regularly change so I dont have time to train up new users every time they start. The fact that you can easily find your way around Actus without training is a real advantage.

Cons

We have found the absence module has a few clunky aspects compared to the other modules, although you do get used to them. I understand it will be having a refresh next year so hopefully that will be resolved.

Reasons for choosing Actus

It was recommended by an HR Consultant that I have worked with before

Response from Advance Change

Thank you Lukasz for your constructive feedback, it means a lot as you are a tech expert yourself. There are lots of exciting new developments coming in 2020 so we hope you will be delighted then.

Replied December 2019

Megan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2017

Mixed bag. Some real positives and some frustrations.

We have recommended this product... The focus on performance management is higher within the organisation than it was. This helps people make clearer links to business objectives and focuses their performance against personal targets. It has ensured that people have clear records where performance is good or where there are issues to be addressed and having the system in place has helped embed a more regular 1:1 process.

Pros

The fact it keeps a focus on performance through the year. It is logical (mostly) and provides a wealth of information should you choose to use it and allows for performance management to be continuous rather than set to specific financial years. The new appraisal format brings together everything onto one page which is brilliant and ensures an holistic view is taken to performance looking at personal development, career aspirations, objectives, links to the organisation... it is well thought out with great monitoring tools for managers and individuals to track where things are at. The support team are really helpful and have worked through issues that we've had and helped implement suggestions for development and improvement which is really positive.

Cons

It can be glitchy and it is not always clear what / where to do things so comments can look saved but they are not. It is in places too specific or complex so there is the capacity for user error and a well developed system should be set up for this not to be the case. I know that some of the issues we've had have not been seen elsewhere and can not be replicated to test but they have still happened and having no reason why is frustrating as preparing for 1:1's or appraisals is time consuming and personal.

Response from Advance Change

Thanks Megan for continuing to recommend us despite some of the challenges that we have undoubtedly experienced. I am pleased that you still gave our support and functionality a five star rating despite the glitches. I very much hope that we can continue to get your feedback and involvement via the forthcoming Customer Forums to enhance the product further, certainly around ease of use. Most people are saying the new format is really simple so we will be in touch soon to see if there is anything we can do configuration-wise to improve your perception! Lucinda

Replied June 2017

Rebecca

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Our experience with Actus has been outstanding. From initial contact and tender process through to implementation and launch of the system I cannot fault the service we received. We had a very short schedule for build and launch to meet our internal deadlines but the whole team at Actus worked hard to ensure that we were able to achieve this. Every member of the team we have dealt with has been extremely helpful and patient with all requests we have made. I would highly recommend Actus to any organisation looking to implement a Performance Management system.

Pros

The main selling point of Actus was the level of personalisation they offered us as a business. When we began looking for a Performance Management system this was our No.1 criteria and Actus where able to deliver exactly what they had sold us. It was very important to us that the system we purchased was both user friendly and adaptable to the differing needs of our diverse workforce and this is exactly what Actus delivers. The reporting in the system is also excellent and has already enabled us to significantly improve our Performance Management reporting across all areas.

Cons

There were a couple of amendments we would have liked to make in the system before launch that we weren't able to implement due to it being part of the core build of the system. These however were only minor points and the implementation team worked hard to come up with suitable suggestions on how we could adapt these elements to better suit our needs.

Reasons for choosing Actus

n/a

Response from Advance Change

Dear Rebecca Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I know it will mean a lot to Swags and the team who are so dedicated. Credit is also due to you and your internal team because it was definitely a partnership approach getting everything over the line on time. We look forward to continuing to work and collaborate together Warm regards Lucinda Carney CEO

Replied December 2019

Helen

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Feedback on Actus Software

As a company employee feedback highlighted a lack of development discussions and employee engagement. The software has benefited in both areas as well as allowing managers to see the benefits of more regular discussions.

Pros

I found the software was user friendly and each screen operated in the same way. It lends itself to an all year cycle of managing performance and ensuring dialogue is frequent with the employees. It also is split into logical sections so a review/meeting can be tailored and as long or short as required to cover possibly one area at a time. This helps with focus and allows reflection between meetings.

Cons

To start with it seemed disjointed but the more you use the product the more you realise it's better to be sectioned as I mentioned above to keep meetings short and focused.

Reasons for choosing Actus

Actus was chosen as the software was developed and evolved from an organisational development company and not purely a seller of software. The staff were able to really understand organisational behaviour and how the product could be tailored to address our requirements

Response from Advance Change

Helen thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with a review, we are glad that the design of Actus lends itself to year round conversations and brought benefits to your business in terms of development discussions and employee feedback. We always welcome constructive criticism as well so we can continue to improve the product.

Replied December 2019

Emma

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Actus

Throughout the selection, implementation and launch we were kept well-informed. We've been appointed an account manager post-implementation and received regular calls and training when needed. The system is straight-forward to use but has some really useful features, such as adding milestones to Objectives and creating Department Objectives to demonstrate how individual targets are linked to the overall business goals.

Pros

We liked that the software has the features that we need and is easy to navigate, and gives us a trigger when something is due, such as Appraisals, Probation Reviews, 360 Surveys, Objectives and Training Needs - this takes some of the burden away from the HR team in having to monitor and co-ordinate these tasks. We like that all employees have access to their performance record and this allows ownership of their goals, objectives and their career progression.

Cons

We can't think of anything we do not like about this software. A new talent management function is in the pipeline and this is perfect timing for our organisation as we are working on creating a succession plan which will now be possible through Actus.

Response from Advance Change

Emma thank you so much for taking the time to provide the team with such a glowing review. I know that both Swags and Jane have worked really closely with you and this is wonderful recognition of their support. Thanks again

Replied January 2020

Claire

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

Great company to work with. Actus is a very user friendly system.

Pros

The fact the employee and manager can both make updates and the system advises whichever of them did not make the update so they can chose to look if they wish. It is so easy to use that even employees who do not use technology in their daily roles can use it. They can use it anywhere that has internet access. Dashboards make it easy to see where you and your team are in terms of progress Easy to read reports Lots of add-on's available I implemented this system with my previous employer and used it for a couple of years before moving onto my current role. I implemented it with my current employer within 6 months of arriving. I love the fact it constantly develops and the technical team find smarter ways of doing things. It will never get out of date with legislation or look like an old system as the development team are first class. If you want to work with a company who value their customers, give personal service, can provide training and have a system that does everything it says on the tin then work with Advance Change Actus

Cons

We have just had a 2 day internet issue which has meant that nobody has been able to log onto the system at work. Not great when it is review time and managers are getting their objectives into the system! Not the systems fault at all. To be honest there is not anything you really could dislike.

Fran

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Efficient, Useful & Supportive

A very effective tool for managing performance and increasing employee ownership. Like the actions sections very much as a to do list so that outcomes and actions can both be recorded. Flexibility of system to really bespoke to individual organisational needs is also useful as well as the ability to link to Vision and Values to embed behaviours as the way we do things around here (the reward element).

Pros

Ease of use - agile and intuitive Excellent technical support and the provider really listens to opportunities to develop the system further Working groups to support development and ongoing enhancement

Cons

Ability to link with other software systems in a streamline way , eg, Relias Not as easy to align to other platforms such as mobile phone and tablets. Training hindered implementation as the principles of performance management took too long so roll out and use of the system was rushed during the training session and felt like an afterthought - this was rectified by the team v quickly though

Reasons for choosing Actus

As set out in overall experience - we got what they said it would do and more.

Response from Advance Change

Hi Fran Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such a constructive review. As you know, we take feedback on board all the time and more features are coming in 2020 Many thanks Lucinda

Replied December 2019

User Profile

Sharon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

Advance Change support staff have been wonderful, very prompt and patient.

More engaged staff in 1:1 meetings. Much improved documentation. Ease of preparation for mid-year reviews.

Pros

We like how all the components (1:1, competencies, objectives, development etc) funnel into the mid-year & final reviews. It saves significant time. Capturing the content of the 1:1, empowering staff to help set the agenda and the automatic reminders about annual mandatory testing (like CPR, WHMIS and TDG) are all valuable features

Cons

Creating templates is not very intuitive, but the Support Team is always very helpful. I'd also recommend that there be some way to differentiate the manager's comments from the staff comments in the 1:1 and for date of entry to appear in the fields in the competency boxes. We do that manually now, but it is hard to get people to remember.

User Profile

Stuart

Verified reviewer

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2017

My clients use Actus and have nothing but praise for the way it has transformed their business

It enables my clients to manage their staff effectively and efficiently therefore making my life easier

Pros

Any business that is looking to grow and achieve its long term objectives has to engage with staff and ensure that they come along for the journey. Buying into those objectives creates opportunities for self development and opportunities. Actus provides the platform to document those objectives and ensure staff know exactly what is expected of them, creating a personal pathway to success and helping the business reach its targets

Response from Advance Change

Stuart, it is great working with partners like yourself, thanks very much for taking the time to give us a review

Replied November 2017

Lisa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2020

Essential Recruitment Ltd Review

Overall the experience, implementation and the using of the system as been a positive addition to our working day. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] our Account Manager is always on hand to assist, give suggestions - she is a pleasure to work with and a credit to the Actus team.

Pros

I liked that our training programme could be in one place and all could have access to this. That all development reviews are tracked, monitored and accessible in one place. Most of the features on this system add value and give you a structure to work to.

Cons

The system is sometimes a little slow. A couple of the features we are not currently using as these didnt appear to fit with how we work.

Reasons for choosing Actus

It appeared easy to use and had the features we required. It could incorporate our internal training programme (with some work) which was a massive plus for me, in fact a game changer. The after care was in place which is also crucial when using a new system.

Nicola

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

Great overall experience - the team are excellent and a brilliant support throughout the project

Pros

It is easy to use and developed to be specific to our organisations needs. Its overall functions - reviews/1;1's/Feedback/recognition - all in one place and linked.That it is web based so our staff can access it outside of their work environment if appropriate.

Cons

I cant think of anything that i dislike about the system as the team have reviewed and updated it for us as we go along

Response from Advance Change

Hi Nikki Thanks for taking the time to give us a review, we love working with you and the team at ESTH and look forward to continue developing the system functionality with your input Lucinda

Replied November 2017

Steve

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Highly versatile software and excellent OD support, the team can't do enough to help

Improved engagement, culture change, we hope it will support us in achieving a Good CQC rating at our next assessment.

Pros

Actus provides visibility of performance right down the organisation and the simplicity and user friendly design has proven really popular with our field based paramedics who are able to carry out 121's and update their CPD in quiet times. Actus is supporting us in our culture change programme and we are using it to encourage more frequent, quality conversations and to embed and bring our values to life. New functionality like the recognition tool and the 360 feedback is also proving popular. The Actus team have also been highly responsive to us, helping us to configure bespoke elements of the system so we hope to gain added value for using the system for onboarding and exit interviews as well as clinical audits.

Cons

I like the fact that Actus is mobile, but I do find it fiddly to use on my IPAD. We would love to integrate it with ESR but are unable to do so

Paul

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2019

Much better!

Things just work and when there is an issue, the support desk are swift to sort things out.

Pros

Intuitive for our users which means less hassle for our admin function. Allows people to integrate 360 feedback easily into appraisals. Easy to maintain organisational hierarchy now we are set up. Easy for people to add in external emails etc.

Cons

Had to set up an FTP to maintain user hierarchy but this is all set up now. Not making use of the whole functionality so hopefully something we can do in 2020

Reasons for switching to Actus

Old system was a headache for users and anything but intuitive to use. This product was able to meet our needs more than others at procurement.

Response from Advance Change

Thanks Paul, we appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. Hopefully in 2020 you can make use of more of the functionality!

Replied December 2019

Chris

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5