What are CompensationXL users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using CompensationXL software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.76

29 Reviews

5
22
4
7
3
0
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is very user friendly as well as flexible. We have great support and customer service experience."
  • icon"We were able to customize the reporting so our award approval process is very quick to complete. In addition, the customer service received from our account rep was always very timely and informative."
  • icon"The CompXL system allowed us to go from dividing 50+ spreadsheets to having one platform to capture our leaders recommended adjustments with supporting reasons."
  • icon"The obvious worst part about CompXL is the user interface, which is."

Jump to:

Browse all CompensationXL Reviews

  • Have you used CompensationXL and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 29 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 29 reviews

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

OUtstanding

Great overall experience. Prior to CompXL we had a very labor intensive process using excel files that would be altered by users causing significant administration issues. CompXL provided a framework and functionality to control the data and user interface eliminating the ability for users to to alter sheets.

Pros

Great product. We use excel to a great extent and CompXL allows to leverage excel to manage our compensation information and processes in a very effective customized solution for compensation management.

Cons

I have yet to be dissatisfied. The software has been excellent and delivered as sold and beyond.

Kathy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Flexible software, responsive team to work with

We implemented the software as a temporary solution last year while we determine if/when we'll implement a full HCM that includes compensation. It replaced a system that was extremely difficult to use, lacked flexibility, and took 4-5 hours to refresh reports with a significantly manual process. CompXL gave us exactly what we needed at a reasonable price. This was our first attempt at implementing a common system worldwide and we were able to meet almost all expectations for each of our operating companies and come to agreement on a single configuration solution when necessary. The interface was easy for most managers to use given that it's very Excel-like. The ability to change the hierarchy helps when we have people moving around. The reporting runs in seconds and is up to the minute with changes that have been entered. My only complaint is that the software runs slowly when using the online version of the workbook and when refreshing pages/moving between pages in the application.

Pros

The flexibility of the software to do most of what we needed. We were able to customize the reporting so our award approval process is very quick to complete. In addition, the customer service received from our account rep was always very timely and informative.

Cons

The slowness. When using the software, it was slow to refresh the pages, sometimes taking up to 10 seconds or a little more to refresh.

Response from HCR Software

Thanks for the valuable feedback. Per your comments about latency, we redesigned the home page so that it now has pagination to improve the page load time when viewing a large number of budget groups from the company level. We also doubled the memory on each of the data base servers so that even during peak usage season, the interface will respond promptly.

Replied January 2019

Rebekah

Time used: Less than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2016

Drastically cut down transaction time; New reports function invaluable

Pros

This is my second compensation year using CompXL. After the initial year of implementation, the software cut down my year-end compensation process drastically. In previous years, I would be at the office until 10pm every night for weeks on end and would be meticulously searching for file linkage errors and missed updates. The worst part about distributing Excel files to each of your department leaders individually is how difficult it is to keep track of minor tweaks and adjustments made throughout the inevitable iterations of the compensation process. The software is completely customized to my own uniquely complicated incentive compensation structure at my firm, which I would not be able to find anywhere else to this great of detail. My biggest qualms with the software in the first year was the lack of reporting/filtering capabilities. They have updated that this year and the reporting functionality is literally invaluable. While it might take a less tech-savvy person a while to get the hang of the configuration of reports, for someone like me (who can manipulate excel from an intermediate to advanced level), the new reports allow me the perfect amount of autonomy to configure as many complex reports as I'd like. My CEO requires 30+ reports a year, so semi-automating this process was crucial. This has made my life so much easier that the biggest issue is me being LESS meticulous and detail-oriented because I trust the program more.

Cons

The most obnoxious part is the uploading of employee data since I generally have many small, one-off adjustments to make that add up. You have to import it instead of tweaking it within the system. The obvious worst part about CompXL is the user interface, which is...very excel-like. This isn't going to be like logging into ADP, or Ultipro, or SuccessFactors to do your compensation process. But what it lacks in the modern widget-designed HRIS, it makes up in functionality. You can do a LOT more in this program than you can in any of those programs, because you are basically only limited to the limitations of Excel--which are few.

Kathy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2016

Great Product/Great Service

This has been a very positive experience for my company. I was looking for a tool that would eliminate the manual slicing & dicing of spreadsheets and CompXL was able to provide a product to accomplish this. This tool is now sued for several different processes (Performance Management Ratings, Bonus, Merit) down to providing communication statements to employees for incentives and increases. The support we receive is outstanding. Matt is extremely flexible and supportive of our needs. If you are looking for ways to streamline processes for annual cycles and you cannot afford to purchase other more expensive systems, then this is a great option. Affordable and easy to use.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Would love to eliminate the export and import process and allow managers to enter directly in the system.

Tricia

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

CompXL is a Lifesaver

We went to the CompXL team with very little time to implement this program for use during the annual compensation process. The team assured me that they could have this up in running with plenty of time to test and implement. The team was completely right about the implementation. We were successful that year that we stayed another two years after the initial implementation. I would suggest this software to any company that needs a simple system, low cost, and fully supported. Great system!

Pros

* The software was very simplistic and easy for our manager population to complete a Compensation process * If there were kinks or fixes to be made, we got immediate service to get issues resolved * Programmers were very knowledgeable of the software and very responsive * The program was easy to implement in a limited time

Cons

* The system looks so much like excel that the users wanted it to act exactly like excel.

Ashley

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Great tool if you want to customize

Had a great experience my first year. Worked through a few bumps, which was to be expected, and am excited to continue to perfect it each year.

Pros

The customizable features. I didn't think we would find a tool that met all of our unique needs. Also, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], our rep at the company, was there anytime we needed him.

Cons

There are a few things that we set up that I think I would change for the next cycle. But it was more because we were trying to get a little too complicated with it when we could have simplified the process on our end a little more.

Myra

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Why we have been a client for so long

Our business model has changed throughout the years, and this product adapts and continues to provide the functionality we need. It has been a very positive experience for our organization. I highly recommend it.

Pros

It is very user friendly as well as flexible. We have great support and customer service experience. We have seen this platform grow through the years only to keep becoming better and better. Our organization has multiple uses for this product and it fits our current needs like a glove.

Cons

I can't think of any aspect of this solution that I don't like.

MARY JO

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Customer from 2009 to 2015 with former company and implemented with new employer.

Pros

Ease of use for managers and administrators, several report options, data dump very useful for administrators when reviewing overall increase information, and pdf statement printing.

Cons

Cannot have managers in approval process more than once. All employee increases must be recommended by their direct manager and approved by their Research Unit Leaders. RU Leaders report to the VP and the VPs have direct reports, so the straight line approval process in CompXL does not accommodate our "circular approval" requirements.

Deanna

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

December 2015

Very easy to use, real-time updates makes it easy to adjust tool based on business needs

Overall, I really like the compensation tool and would recommend to others. Last year we used the tool for salary and bonus planning and this year we've added our Long Term Incentive planning to the tool. Ideally, I wish we would have synced up the data elements between the two planning periods for ease of using the same fields, nomenclature to allow for easier reporting, but I'll know that for next year. We are about to launch our 2nd year of salary/bonus planning and I am looking forward to working with this tool again. If you have an excel savvy HR Admin, then you can make most changes you need right in the tool. However, HCR can always make any adjustments you need in the event you're on a time crunch or don't have the technical skills to update on your own. I like the flexibility of who can control the tool and display of the spreadsheets. I would recommend knowing the process and the flow you want for approvals and what is displayed on communications and discuss with your Representative so that you can effectively map out your needs to avoid any re-work or duplicative effort. The customer service level provided is excellent and very responsive, I couldn't have asked for a better Technical Lead than who we have.

Jacquie

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

AMAZING Customer Service & Client Support

Our Client Support is absolutely outstanding! Very fast responses and always a solution during those times of year where time is of the essence!

Pros

It is extremely flexible. The system can meet very specific business needs and requirements

Cons

The Admin side is a bit complicated, however, HCR is great at enhancing admin features and taking feedback for enhancements

Michael

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Consultant's review of CompXL

My overall experience is positive with the software. Even when I have a difficult time figuring something out, the support folks with whom I have dealt have been very helpful and friendly, so I don't hesitate to reach out with questions. Customer support, who has been my contact lately, has been great.

Pros

It is very easy for our users to understand and employ.

Cons

There isn't really a thing that I don't like about the software. It is probably just me, but as the administrator, I find that some things are less intuitive when I need to make global changes to the system.

Stacy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

December 2015

Our merit increase and bonus processing was streamlined and managers found it easy to use.

Pros - CompXL is an excel-based tool that our managers found intuitive when setting merit pay or processing bonus payouts and our compensation team could easily aggregate and load into our HRIS. Cons - Separate stand alone tool. We have used the tool for over 7 years with excellent technical support and beneficial enhancements that kept pace with our compensation needs.

Response from HCR Software

Stacy, Its been our pleasure serving you and the team at Premier. One small clarification for the sake of review readers: From a technical perspective CompXL is an EXCEL COMPATIBLE tool which is built on enterprise grade .NET platform and leveraging a SQL database with hosting on premise or in the cloud. "Excel Based" has different implications to technical folks as there are some solutions which are literally built using the excel software framework plus vba/etc. CompXL is not technically speaking, EXCEL BASED. End clarification :-) Thanks for chiming in on your satisfaction with the product and our team.

Replied December 2015

Jill

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Great software for salary planning!

Great experience

Pros

We have used the software for 4 yrs now for salary planning and have found it to be really versatile and customizable. Their customer support is great.

Cons

Complex customizations require a lot of detailed testing on the part of the client.

Marsha

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Great customer support!

This was my second year using CompensationXL and the staff supporting me at HCR is great. We use the software not only for year-end salary planning and awarding but for housing our complex global market structure as well. We haven't yet migrated to the most recent release and HCR continues to support us and help resolve whatever issues we faced this year which was mostly user error! When we needed something recorded or reprogrammed they got right on it and resolved the problem with haste. We haven't used CompensationXL to its fullest capability probably but whenever I called with challenges or issues, my reps were responsive, helpful and supported me in getting the job done. Even in the midst of Hurricane, my rep was on the phone with me concerned about my go-live the following week. Now THAT's customer service! I found the same level of service with my other rep my first year here and together they make a great team.

LeAnn

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Happy First Time User

As with any implementation there are always last minute hiccups, but our Account Lead, [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was very responsive. Thank you for answering questions in an extremely timely manner!!!

Pros

The CompXL system allowed us to go from dividing 50+ spreadsheets to having one platform to capture our leaders recommended adjustments with supporting reasons.

Cons

We would like to have the ability to sort as we previously did in Excel.

Sandy

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

February 2013

OpenText Implementation of CompXL

I'd recommend the solution for small-mid size companies and even larger companies that continue to rely on Excel based processing for ad hoc reviews/programs - as this solution can significantly reduce the efforts in cutting & consolidating workbooks - along with a secure process for uploading & downloading. Easy to use and well-supported from a customer support perspective make it a win.

Pros

Quick implementation time, easy to support with few resources required, and greatly reduces the administrative effort. Snappy little tool that was well received by end users.

Cons

Not really able to interface with large enterprise apps but the exports and reports make for easy workarounds.

michelle

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp

May 2011

Best used by companies with more than 200 employees

For HR and compensation teams of companies with 200 or more employees, CXL offers a lot of perks. The one I found most appealing was the personal service that comes with the software solution. For example, Davis says that when a company signs on, an HRC/CXL team member is assigned to them and will handle all of their needs. A company does not have to deal with multiple people – as might be the case with bigger compensation solution providers. Full review at http://www.getapp.com/blog/compensationxl-review-a-flexible-and-affordable-alternative-to-painful-compensation-processes/

Pros

I was impressed with the fact that CXL will comport to the processes of the company rather than the other way around.

Cons

not for companies with less than 200 employees

Susan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Easy to implement and user friendly

Easy to implement; implementation partner was very collaborative. No bugs. Comp planning process went very smoothly. Upload into financial planning was a snap.

Pros

Ease of use for our managers who were used to excel functionality

Cons

Could not open directly on google drive without breaking the protected views.

Melissa

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Choose CompensationXL

CompensationXL is a great tool and I would recommend to anyone seeking an alternative to an HCM.

Pros

CompensationXL is a great alternative to an HCM. It is highly configurable and intuitive, even for those Managers who aren't tech savvy.

Cons

CompensationXL was such a great alternative, I don't have any Cons to mention.

Carrie

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

December 2015

Top-notch product & service!

I had been looking for a product for years that could move our excel-based comp sheets online and my prayers were answered! CompXL has met all of our needs and quite frankly might be the most-exciting single product I use as an HR professional. It is relatively easy to use and meets all of our needs. Matt Davis has been awesome to work with and has provided top-notch customer service every single set of the way. He is always extremely responsive and there for me when I need him, and in particular when I need his support the most when deadlines are closing in. Great, great, product that I highly recommend!

Mark

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

December 2015

Enables managers to make strategic pay and performance decisions

My organization has used CompXL for our annual performance review since 2009. Application has tools empowering managers to make sound decisions regarding pay, performance and budget. Managers find CompXL easy to use and appreciate the analytical reports available to them with just a "click". We actually have managers eager to use CompXL each review cycle. Prior to CompXL the annual review process was a tedious paper pushing exercise -- now much more attention is focused on how to allocate review budget in a way which ties pay to performance.

John

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

It truly is as flexible as Excel

Pros

-Fantastic support from the implementation team -99.9% customizable -Comp statement feature saved us an enormous amount of time

Cons

This is not really a con if you take my advice here, but the fact that nearly everything is customizable and configurable makes for a more challenging implementation in terms of designing your comp planning workbook exactly how you want it. I strongly suggest planning for the full amount of implementation time that they suggest and not trying to rush it.

Response from HCR Software

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, John! Glad you're happy with the product and service!

Replied December 2020

Michelle

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Great Product to help solve your complex comp. challanges

Pros

CompXL has allowed us to efficiently manage our annual compensation planning process and more!

Cons

Nothing to point out. The solution is easy to use and continues to upgrade with new features.

Elissa

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

February 2016

Great Product, Easy to Implement and Even Easier to Use.

CompXL saved our department hours of slicing and dicing spreadsheets, managing email approvals and workflow. Our end users found the system intuitive and easy to navigate. I appreciate the total flexibility of the system allowing us to utilize CompXL for many different and varied processes. The Implementation was fast and easy and customer support was superior.

Doris

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

December 2015

My overall experience in using this software has been very positive.

The CompXL software is easy to use and can be configured to meet simple and complex requirements. The customer service aspect is also very good. Our representative is very responsive to our needs. I would not hesitate to recommend the CompXL software to other compensation/human resource professionals.

Showing 1 - 25 of 29 reviews
CompensationXL

CompensationXL

4.76/5 out of 29 reviews
PriceDemo