All DevSkiller TalentScore Reviews

1-25 of 51 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Vivien

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great results and outstanding customer service :)

We are really happy with the tool, it is absolutely user-friendly, customizable and effective. The account manager and the support team are very responsive and helpful.

PROS

They helped us reduce the candidate droput rate by 40% during the technical screening. They also helped us save hours of time both for the recruitment and tech teams.

CONS

Although they have great predefined tests, we prefer our own ones which are a bit trickier to set up and automate the correction. But anyways, it is great the we can customize it and it still saves a lot of time even if there are some parts of the solutions that we have to check manually.

Reason for choosing DevSkiller TalentScore

We used the trial period to see which one has the best functions, which is the easiest to use and compared prices as well.

Pallavi

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Cuts down on the recruiting time significantly

My overall experience has been very good with the platform. It has helped me to reduce the recruiting time by at least 50%.

PROS

I like the fact that you can custom create assessment tasks and can find the legitimacy of the candidate since it lets you see the recorded session when the candidate takes the assessment. It is very user friendly.

CONS

I would like to see the candidates IP location within the downloaded report. Secondly, I would like to see DevSkiller cover some more skills particularly on the telecom side.

Reason for choosing DevSkiller TalentScore

The fact that you can customize it as you like and can do a video interview through the platform.

User Profile

Willian

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

It's a great platform and saved me time and has improved the hiring process

PROS

Great database of tests, the plagiarism detection helps a lot and the possibility to create custom tests.

CONS

For big tests (>3h), I had some issues with the platform not loading the test, but the Customer Support was excellent and fast solving that issue.

User Profile

Ash

Verified reviewer

Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Good for the nitty-gritty, surprising what you'll find out about your candidates

We needed to find a developer that suited our team, both in terms of personality and in terms of coding abilities. Tests are never a perfect way to assess a candidate alone, but they should be used in conjunction with other information (as some people just perform badly in tests). I am really happy with the information that Devskiller is surfacing on the candidates that we are getting in, it is surprising how different seniorities of developers perform (or don't perform). I assessed a few options before choosing the tool, this one seemed to be the best option and has certainly been good for us. Excellent customer service and very clear results reporting.

PROS

The depth at which you could assess candidates. For example, you can assess them on a range of code libraries - my focus was on Vue.js. The answers are not findable in Google and the company have internal tools to ensure this, so developers won't be able to find the answers on Stack Overflow by searching them. The questions are good, the multiple choice questions are challenging enough to prevent people from simply guessing (or the old cliche of choosing 'c'), particularly the questions that require you to choose multiple options (one or many answers to a question). The programming exercises are really the creme de la creme though, I was actually really surprised at the differences between candidates at different seniorities. These are not questions you can find in Google, these are live programming exercises which have a number of tests that need to be passed. You can view the approach, you can check their abilities to use GIT, you can use cheating-prevention mechanisms.

CONS

The pricing structure is a little bit restrictive and it would be great if it was more modular. That said, I moaned about this to their customer services team and they were very helpful in helping us find a fit. The interface is a little cumbersome at times when trying to build tests.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Intuitive, practical and with a great support team

With Devskiller we’re able to evaluate candidate’s technical skills in a more efficient and faster way. It saves time not only from the recruitment process, but from the seniors developers that used to have to manually create and correct the tests before we started using Devskiller.

PROS

Devskiller has really contributed to improve the performance of our Recruitment Team. One of its advantage is the possibility to create custom tests to evaluate candidates in all sorts of levels and technologies, saving us time during the recruitment process. Another great benefit is the customer Support team, who are very fast and effective! Always solving our problems and quickly answering our questions and doubts.

CONS

When the same candidate answer more than one test, it doesn’t shows the results separately, only the average score, which can be a little confusing.

Francois

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Hiring candidates with devskiller

As soon as we got devSkiller in our hiring process, we saw a direct improvement of our developer and code quality in our project. It helped us better target our candidates and skills we needed and gain a huge among of time in the hiring process.

PROS

The flexibility of the type of test, the in-browser developer experience, the number of pre-defined test that gets updated all the time makes devSkiller the best way for us to best assess and improve candidate in our projects.

CONS

The candidature management is hard when dealing with a large among of candidates. note taking, grouping could be a nice add-on.

User Profile

Ned

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Excellent Software

No complaints, it has been a positive experience. I will try and take advantage of more of the features, there are a lot!

PROS

Setting up new tests is easy, with so many preconfigured selections (by language) - which can then be tailored as appropriate. The tests are less about random syntax questions, and more about fixing broken code or doing pair programming.

CONS

Sometimes candidates struggle to operate the coding challenge console - or they try and do it external to the platform, then upload. But I don't see that as a DevSkiller, more the nature of the beast. In a few cases I have let the candidate retake the test if they give a plausible explanation for why it didn't work.

User Profile

Jonatan

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

Awesome!

PROS

DevSkiller helps make tech recruiting easier, faster, and smoother because it provides many different tests for various programming languages, libraries and technologies, with different difficulty levels. The tests include real programming projects and not only questions which I think is very valuable. The rating of the tests is automatic and takes into consideration not only implemented functionality but also coding style, following best practices etc. It is also very easy to use.

CONS

I have found no real drawbacks to DevSkiller. What might further improve the product would be to keep building the test library with options to test even more libs/languages.

User Profile

Amir

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

LifeSaver!!!!

ability to test developer candidates. as we hire remotely, I cant imagine hiring someone without running them through these tests prior.

PROS

There are many testing sites out there but Devskiller has so many different tests to choose from, that it was a no-brainer. As we were looking for someone with strong time and dates skills, their "advanced" PHP test was almost like creating a custom made test for my needs (I believe they even offer custom made tests, if your budget allows) Super user friendly site and they offer a limited free version also.

CONS

it was a bit pricey for us as were a lean startup but worth every penny! It sure beats hiring someone unqualified!

User Profile

Ricardo

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Awesome tool for screening candidates before interviews

PROS

I have used other similar solutions like Codility, Qualified.io, and also trialed HackerRank. DevSkiller offers the best mix of powerful features for the price. Their customer support is always very responsive and knowledgeable and willing to work with you to tailor the product to your specific needs. I also really like that they also include code review and bug fix type tasks.

CONS

The user interface is a little complicated and could probably be made more intuitive. Library of tasks could be expanded to cover other (less popular) technologies.

Bryan

Arts and Crafts, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Pre-screen candidates with relevant questions

We've cut down the amount of in-person interviews we need to hold by 65+% by being able to realize what the level of experience the candidate demonstrates within code very similar to our own. When we do bring in a candidate, we have a good baseline idea of where their skillset it at, and can tailor the in-person interview to allow us to determine the candidate's rate-of-growth and dive deeper into what they know.

PROS

Out of the box, we're supplied with relevant questions and programming solutions we can customize a test with. It didn't take long at all for us to get a list of questions the team liked together in a test, and start testing candidates in our funnel. There's a large pool of format of questions- we don't need to format the coding questions into weird multiple choice questions where you select the correct code as other platforms have you do. Along the same vein, we can have the candidate complete coding projects that are similar to work our developers do each day: find and fix the existing bug(s), implement a new feature, or perform a code review (similar to Bitbucket or Github pull request code reviews). We ended up writing a few of our own questions, which wasn't difficult, that allowed us to test candidates how they'd perform against some of our own code. The code reviews especially have been great at determining the candidate's skill level based on the feedback they give. Being able to have the candidate download/upload code from Devskiller so they can modify it in their own IDE, or allowing them to grab the code from a temporary Github repository is a big plus.

CONS

Some bugs had come up, such as not being able to turn on/off an option in a test question. These were resolved quickly in a few hours after sending an email to the support email. The test isn't fully automated for some types of questions (as you would expect for code reviews), but there's also not a way to give automatic partial credit on multiple-choice questions. This requires us to go through the test questions individually to give partial credit (4 / 5 correct doesn't seem like a 0% to us), but the time isn't significant. Brackets seem to break the SQL questions, which is odd and hangs some candidates up.

yaron

Printing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Kornit Digital for SW developers and QA engineers candidates

PROS

The best customer support ! fast, and help in any issue I had. Easy of use - filter and monitoring candidates Easy of use - creating tests platform Automatic scoring for almost all test types Can view recording session Good analytics are provided about the candidate

CONS

not enough tests for non experienced candidates (like students) - maybe i did not find and the system support it in case a test is canceled then it is counted as a used test - in case of limited license

Petros

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Perfect tool for startups and young organisations

Honestly, Devskiller helped us hire our Senior Backend Engineer and also filter out many Frontend Developers. This is invaluable since hiring the wrong person in an early-stage startup can have the most catastrophic effects. The MVP will be buggy, the team frustrated, and the whole recruitment process will have to start all over for the specific position. I would like to commend their service culture, which is one of the best I have ever seen. We were offered a trial, with 14 candidates to test and no strings attached. On top of that, they have a reliable product that is intuitive and has many robust, pre-defined tests with various difficulty levels. Therefore, I highly recommend Devskiller to all entrepreneurs out there.

PROS

- Fantastic customer support - Wide range of tests - Good test combinations (theory + practice) - Good range of difficulty levels - Easy to set up - Easy to use

CONS

- Slow web editor (depending on the time of usage)

Reason for choosing DevSkiller TalentScore

Unlike their main competitors, which were extremely expensive and did not even consider helping out a fellow startup, Devskiller customer support was with us from day 1. As a matter of fact, most of the other companies did not even bother offering a trial period!

Fayanne

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Efficient way to screen candidates

PROS

- Diverse suite of coding tests for software engineers - Ability to customize and create own tests - Ability to playback candidate's coding session - Each coding task has a difficulty rating and results show how candidates score based on difficulty - Intuitive and easy to use - Responsive customer support

CONS

Better pricing plans to support hiring spikes / lows

Reason for choosing DevSkiller TalentScore

Better test library suite than competitors

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Amazingly useful, Outstanding customer support - An absolute Lifesaver

Using Dev Skiller was a lifesaver. I was lost for how I was going to choose a developer when I have no experience within coding however this help immensely. That being said, even if you have coding experience the tool is very valuable, if not more so because you will be able to dive in deeper to check the results and build an amazing test. This is a great tool to evaluate candidates and compare against each other.

PROS

Having no coding/develper experience I had no way to screen, test and compare my candidates to find a developer for my website. Dev Skiller was a lifesaver in allowing me to do all of these and easily shortlist my candidates and see where their strengths and weaknesses lie. The set up process was simple and intuitive and was up and running and testing people very quickly. The support from Dev Skiller is outstanding and the team are genuinly invested in helping try to find the right candidate.

CONS

Nothing. Maybe a few features (and that's any platform) that could be added but nothing negative about the system.

Aya

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Diverse technical assessment tool

DevSkiller filled a gap in our technical assessment process.

PROS

The diverse library and different types of tests. DevSkiller has tests like test coverage, code quality, daabases queries, debugging and devops tasks. All these reflect the real qualifications needed in a software engineer other than problem solving assessment tools that test algorithms skills only.

CONS

DevSKiller can improve user experience and expand their test library.

Marios

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

The product is amazing. The whole flow for the admin but also the candidate is seamless.

DevsKiller gave us the opportunity to complete utilize and customize our recruitment process as a company. Using a variety of features but also because of it's seameless workflows we benefit so much from it in many ways.

PROS

I really like the professionality that is shown to the candidates by using this product. In addition it is really easy to use, and has a braod library of predefinded tests. The admin panel is so wel organized with so many settings make it very easy to configure the test experience exactly on my needs. Customer support is very helpfull and professional and it seems that even though the product is excelent they still find ways of improving and also updating their database including much more tasks.

CONS

My only issue is that i would like to have more code review questions to choose from. However that is just a small issue for me.

Roger

Staffing and Recruiting, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE