What are DevSkiller users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using DevSkiller software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.8

44 Reviews

5
35
4
9
3
0
2
0
1
0
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Great layout and ease of use. Good selection of different tests."
  • icon"They helped us reduce the candidate droput rate by 40% during the technical screening. They also helped us save hours of time both for the recruitment and tech teams."
  • icon"Love the plagiarism comparison, very powerful for prospective employers."
  • icon"When the same candidate answer more than one test, it doesn’t shows the results separately, only the average score, which can be a little confusing."
  • icon"The lack of some tests in the first paid tier seems arbitrary, iOs is the one we missed most in our case."
  • icon"To make your own programming tasks you have to upload a zip-file with a project. If something is wrong, you don't get very clear error messages."

Jump to:

Browse all DevSkiller Reviews

  • Have you used DevSkiller and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 44 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews

Vivien

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Great results and outstanding customer service :)

We are really happy with the tool, it is absolutely user-friendly, customizable and effective. The account manager and the support team are very responsive and helpful.

Pros

They helped us reduce the candidate droput rate by 40% during the technical screening. They also helped us save hours of time both for the recruitment and tech teams.

Cons

Although they have great predefined tests, we prefer our own ones which are a bit trickier to set up and automate the correction. But anyways, it is great the we can customize it and it still saves a lot of time even if there are some parts of the solutions that we have to check manually.

Reasons for choosing DevSkiller

We used the trial period to see which one has the best functions, which is the easiest to use and compared prices as well.

Pallavi

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Cuts down on the recruiting time significantly

My overall experience has been very good with the platform. It has helped me to reduce the recruiting time by at least 50%.

Pros

I like the fact that you can custom create assessment tasks and can find the legitimacy of the candidate since it lets you see the recorded session when the candidate takes the assessment. It is very user friendly.

Cons

I would like to see the candidates IP location within the downloaded report. Secondly, I would like to see DevSkiller cover some more skills particularly on the telecom side.

Reasons for choosing DevSkiller

The fact that you can customize it as you like and can do a video interview through the platform.

User Profile

Willian

Verified reviewer

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

It's a great platform and saved me time and has improved the hiring process

Pros

Great database of tests, the plagiarism detection helps a lot and the possibility to create custom tests.

Cons

For big tests (>3h), I had some issues with the platform not loading the test, but the Customer Support was excellent and fast solving that issue.

User Profile

Ash

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Good for the nitty-gritty, surprising what you'll find out about your candidates

We needed to find a developer that suited our team, both in terms of personality and in terms of coding abilities. Tests are never a perfect way to assess a candidate alone, but they should be used in conjunction with other information (as some people just perform badly in tests). I am really happy with the information that Devskiller is surfacing on the candidates that we are getting in, it is surprising how different seniorities of developers perform (or don't perform). I assessed a few options before choosing the tool, this one seemed to be the best option and has certainly been good for us. Excellent customer service and very clear results reporting.

Pros

The depth at which you could assess candidates. For example, you can assess them on a range of code libraries - my focus was on Vue.js. The answers are not findable in Google and the company have internal tools to ensure this, so developers won't be able to find the answers on Stack Overflow by searching them. The questions are good, the multiple choice questions are challenging enough to prevent people from simply guessing (or the old cliche of choosing 'c'), particularly the questions that require you to choose multiple options (one or many answers to a question). The programming exercises are really the creme de la creme though, I was actually really surprised at the differences between candidates at different seniorities. These are not questions you can find in Google, these are live programming exercises which have a number of tests that need to be passed. You can view the approach, you can check their abilities to use GIT, you can use cheating-prevention mechanisms.

Cons

The pricing structure is a little bit restrictive and it would be great if it was more modular. That said, I moaned about this to their customer services team and they were very helpful in helping us find a fit. The interface is a little cumbersome at times when trying to build tests.

yaron

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Printing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Kornit Digital for SW developers and QA engineers candidates

Pros

The best customer support ! fast, and help in any issue I had. Easy of use - filter and monitoring candidates Easy of use - creating tests platform Automatic scoring for almost all test types Can view recording session Good analytics are provided about the candidate

Cons

not enough tests for non experienced candidates (like students) - maybe i did not find and the system support it in case a test is canceled then it is counted as a used test - in case of limited license

Fayanne

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Efficient way to screen candidates

Pros

- Diverse suite of coding tests for software engineers - Ability to customize and create own tests - Ability to playback candidate's coding session - Each coding task has a difficulty rating and results show how candidates score based on difficulty - Intuitive and easy to use - Responsive customer support

Cons

Better pricing plans to support hiring spikes / lows

Reasons for choosing DevSkiller

Better test library suite than competitors

Swati

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Excellent dev hiring tool!

Prior to Devskiller, our development team was spending a lot of valuable time developing their own tests to verify the technical skills of dev applicants. Devskiller has helped streamline that for us right off the bat!

Pros

Devskiller has augmented our technical hiring practices for our development team. We really like the depth and breadth of coding tests available and we have the ability to add our own tests. Starting with a free trial was a plus as it allowed us to easily assess the tool's capabilities before subscribing!

Cons

We look forward to Devskiller expanding its test library and making the user interface more intuitive.

User Profile

Jonatan

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Awesome!

Pros

DevSkiller helps make tech recruiting easier, faster, and smoother because it provides many different tests for various programming languages, libraries and technologies, with different difficulty levels. The tests include real programming projects and not only questions which I think is very valuable. The rating of the tests is automatic and takes into consideration not only implemented functionality but also coding style, following best practices etc. It is also very easy to use.

Cons

I have found no real drawbacks to DevSkiller. What might further improve the product would be to keep building the test library with options to test even more libs/languages.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

This platform is amazing, saved a lot of our time in hiring members of our development team!

Pros

Venturing into a new line of business, we wanted to ensure that we're able to choose the perfect team members(developers) to join our family. Our head developer saved a lot of time screening the candidates as Devskiller offered a lot of options to test the applicants. It was also easy for us to reach out to their customer support when he had some questions.

Cons

We're in the early stage of usage, and haven't encountered any yet.

User Profile

Amir

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

LifeSaver!!!!

ability to test developer candidates. as we hire remotely, I cant imagine hiring someone without running them through these tests prior.

Pros

There are many testing sites out there but Devskiller has so many different tests to choose from, that it was a no-brainer. As we were looking for someone with strong time and dates skills, their "advanced" PHP test was almost like creating a custom made test for my needs (I believe they even offer custom made tests, if your budget allows) Super user friendly site and they offer a limited free version also.

Cons

it was a bit pricey for us as were a lean startup but worth every penny! It sure beats hiring someone unqualified!

User Profile

Ricardo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Awesome tool for screening candidates before interviews

Pros

I have used other similar solutions like Codility, Qualified.io, and also trialed HackerRank. DevSkiller offers the best mix of powerful features for the price. Their customer support is always very responsive and knowledgeable and willing to work with you to tailor the product to your specific needs. I also really like that they also include code review and bug fix type tasks.

Cons

The user interface is a little complicated and could probably be made more intuitive. Library of tasks could be expanded to cover other (less popular) technologies.

Bryan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Pre-screen candidates with relevant questions

We've cut down the amount of in-person interviews we need to hold by 65+% by being able to realize what the level of experience the candidate demonstrates within code very similar to our own. When we do bring in a candidate, we have a good baseline idea of where their skillset it at, and can tailor the in-person interview to allow us to determine the candidate's rate-of-growth and dive deeper into what they know.

Pros

Out of the box, we're supplied with relevant questions and programming solutions we can customize a test with. It didn't take long at all for us to get a list of questions the team liked together in a test, and start testing candidates in our funnel. There's a large pool of format of questions- we don't need to format the coding questions into weird multiple choice questions where you select the correct code as other platforms have you do. Along the same vein, we can have the candidate complete coding projects that are similar to work our developers do each day: find and fix the existing bug(s), implement a new feature, or perform a code review (similar to Bitbucket or Github pull request code reviews). We ended up writing a few of our own questions, which wasn't difficult, that allowed us to test candidates how they'd perform against some of our own code. The code reviews especially have been great at determining the candidate's skill level based on the feedback they give. Being able to have the candidate download/upload code from Devskiller so they can modify it in their own IDE, or allowing them to grab the code from a temporary Github repository is a big plus.

Cons

Some bugs had come up, such as not being able to turn on/off an option in a test question. These were resolved quickly in a few hours after sending an email to the support email. The test isn't fully automated for some types of questions (as you would expect for code reviews), but there's also not a way to give automatic partial credit on multiple-choice questions. This requires us to go through the test questions individually to give partial credit (4 / 5 correct doesn't seem like a 0% to us), but the time isn't significant. Brackets seem to break the SQL questions, which is odd and hangs some candidates up.

Petros

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Perfect tool for startups and young organisations

Honestly, Devskiller helped us hire our Senior Backend Engineer and also filter out many Frontend Developers. This is invaluable since hiring the wrong person in an early-stage startup can have the most catastrophic effects. The MVP will be buggy, the team frustrated, and the whole recruitment process will have to start all over for the specific position. I would like to commend their service culture, which is one of the best I have ever seen. We were offered a trial, with 14 candidates to test and no strings attached. On top of that, they have a reliable product that is intuitive and has many robust, pre-defined tests with various difficulty levels. Therefore, I highly recommend Devskiller to all entrepreneurs out there.

Pros

- Fantastic customer support - Wide range of tests - Good test combinations (theory + practice) - Good range of difficulty levels - Easy to set up - Easy to use

Cons

- Slow web editor (depending on the time of usage)

Reasons for choosing DevSkiller

Unlike their main competitors, which were extremely expensive and did not even consider helping out a fellow startup, Devskiller customer support was with us from day 1. As a matter of fact, most of the other companies did not even bother offering a trial period!

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Intuitive, practical and with a great support team

With Devskiller we’re able to evaluate candidate’s technical skills in a more efficient and faster way. It saves time not only from the recruitment process, but from the seniors developers that used to have to manually create and correct the tests before we started using Devskiller.

Pros

Devskiller has really contributed to improve the performance of our Recruitment Team. One of its advantage is the possibility to create custom tests to evaluate candidates in all sorts of levels and technologies, saving us time during the recruitment process. Another great benefit is the customer Support team, who are very fast and effective! Always solving our problems and quickly answering our questions and doubts.

Cons

When the same candidate answer more than one test, it doesn’t shows the results separately, only the average score, which can be a little confusing.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Amazingly useful, Outstanding customer support - An absolute Lifesaver

Using Dev Skiller was a lifesaver. I was lost for how I was going to choose a developer when I have no experience within coding however this help immensely. That being said, even if you have coding experience the tool is very valuable, if not more so because you will be able to dive in deeper to check the results and build an amazing test. This is a great tool to evaluate candidates and compare against each other.

Pros

Having no coding/develper experience I had no way to screen, test and compare my candidates to find a developer for my website. Dev Skiller was a lifesaver in allowing me to do all of these and easily shortlist my candidates and see where their strengths and weaknesses lie. The set up process was simple and intuitive and was up and running and testing people very quickly. The support from Dev Skiller is outstanding and the team are genuinly invested in helping try to find the right candidate.

Cons

Nothing. Maybe a few features (and that's any platform) that could be added but nothing negative about the system.

Aya

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Diverse technical assessment tool

DevSkiller filled a gap in our technical assessment process.

Pros

The diverse library and different types of tests. DevSkiller has tests like test coverage, code quality, daabases queries, debugging and devops tasks. All these reflect the real qualifications needed in a software engineer other than problem solving assessment tools that test algorithms skills only.

Cons

DevSKiller can improve user experience and expand their test library.

Alternatives Considered

Codility

Marios

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

The product is amazing. The whole flow for the admin but also the candidate is seamless.

DevsKiller gave us the opportunity to complete utilize and customize our recruitment process as a company. Using a variety of features but also because of it's seameless workflows we benefit so much from it in many ways.

Pros

I really like the professionality that is shown to the candidates by using this product. In addition it is really easy to use, and has a braod library of predefinded tests. The admin panel is so wel organized with so many settings make it very easy to configure the test experience exactly on my needs. Customer support is very helpfull and professional and it seems that even though the product is excelent they still find ways of improving and also updating their database including much more tasks.

Cons

My only issue is that i would like to have more code review questions to choose from. However that is just a small issue for me.

Roger

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

A very nice evaluation tool for hiring developers with excellent customer support

The reports and analysis of the results including rankings of candidates has been very beneficial in assessing candidate skill levels.

Pros

The flexibility in defining skills tests from predefined questions and tasks across a variety of languages and frameworks. The reports and analysis of the results including rankings of candidates has been very beneficial in assessing candidate skill levels.

Cons

I do not have issues with the product/services.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

Great Product!

Pros

Devskiller is a great way to evaluate efficiently the developers technical skills. Their predefined tests are perfect for cost-efficient recruitment processing or you can simply create your own evaluation using this tool. Devskiller also offers a great customer service and ensure to provide you with a plan that will meet with your requirements. User friendly for both the recruiter and the candidates.

Cons

It would be great to eventually have bigger selection of software products, technologies, or languages to evaluate in predefined tests.

Per

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Great way to screen tech candidates so we don't waste time interviewing devs who don't have it

We were looking for a tech screen that got us better results than the algorithmic tests we had used before. We tried Devskiller and never looked back. The results that candidates get give a good indication of their future performance so we no longer have to spend time and money bringing every candidate in for a technical interview.

Pros

It is super easy to give my developer candidates a real programming test. Candidates love it and their results do a good job of predicting future performance. It is easy to use and you can choose from their library of premade programming tasks or build your own.

Cons

Devskiller is a super easy way to identify the best dev candidates to invite for an interview. But I would love more premade programming tasks to choose from.

Richard

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Great product, so much potential

Great, attentive support and very easy to get into

Pros

Great layout and ease of use Good selection of different tests Great metrics Love the plagiarism comparison, very powerful for prospective employers

Cons

Would like more questions around the senior .net stack criteria

Calvin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Devskiller has made it a lot easier to find candidates with the abilities we're looking for

Saves a lot of time screening applicants for development positions.

Pros

Having the ability to build custom tests in the exact environment we're looking for is amazing. The candidates can choose how they want to complete the tests, one of which is downloading the complete project and working in the IDE they are familiar with. It's a more valid test since that is how they will be working once we hire them.

Cons

The notification on when a candidate completes the test is only sent to the person that invited the candidate (in our case it's someone from HR). I only get notified to check the test if the HR person let's me know they are done. It would work better if I could subscribe and always be notified, even if I didn't invite the candidate.

Tanveer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

We've used it to screen iOS developers. The software has been super easy to use.

Pros

- ease of use - great user experience for the candidate and the company - varying questions of various degrees of difficulty that can be used to screen different candidates

Cons

- the programming tasks are quite intense (good thing), but the programing environment is intimidating (lots going on), perhaps a more streamlined approach to programming Q&A would be helpful

yitzchak

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

This is a great tool to test developer skills early on in the interview process

Pros

The ability to have developers show their skills early on in the interview process. Great tool when hiring with large volume of candidates to help you filter down to the ones with the skills you need.

Cons

Although it is user friendly, there are some performance enhancements that can be made that would make this an even better product.

Ivan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Previously we spent a lot of hours on candidates selection, actually devskiller is saving our time!

Pros

With Devskiller we are testing candidates against frontend and backend technologies. Measuring coding skills is automated, we use tests created by our experts and also create programming tests from scratch.

Cons

Creating own coding task could be a bit easier we have had troubles to achieve it. Maybe it is only about our own skills!?

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews
DevSkiller

DevSkiller

4.8/5 out of 44 reviews
PriceWatch Demo