User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(25)

25

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "It is a great software to evaluate the candidate in an objective way and also to understand the strength of the candidate with the different tasks. "

  • "DevSkiller has an intuitive and user friendly interface. Makes the recruitment process faster and more efficient. "

  • "There were plenty of different subject areas to test users in, the app was super easy to use and the account service team was a pleasure to deal with. "

  • Cons

  • "My only issue is that i would like to have more code review questions to choose from. However that is just a small issue for me."

  • "About the invitations should be link to the test that you send to the same person, but from our point of view should be link when you send it to a different email. "

  • "Would like more questions around the senior .net stack criteria"

Browse DevSKiller Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -17 of 33 results

February 2018

Jonatan from Ericsson

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Awesome!

Pros

DevSkiller helps make tech recruiting easier, faster, and smoother because it provides many different tests for various programming languages, libraries and technologies, with different difficulty levels. The tests include real programming projects and not only questions which I think is very valuable. The rating of the tests is automatic and takes into consideration not only implemented functionality but also coding style, following best practices etc. It is also very easy to use.

Cons

I have found no real drawbacks to DevSkiller. What might further improve the product would be to keep building the test library with options to test even more libs/languages.

April 2018

Bryan from Cricut

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Pre-screen candidates with relevant questions

We've cut down the amount of in-person interviews we need to hold by 65+% by being able to realize what the level of experience the candidate demonstrates within code very similar to our own. When we do bring in a candidate, we have a good baseline idea of where their skillset it at, and can tailor the in-person interview to allow us to determine the candidate's rate-of-growth and dive deeper into what they know.

Pros

Out of the box, we're supplied with relevant questions and programming solutions we can customize a test with. It didn't take long at all for us to get a list of questions the team liked together in a test, and start testing candidates in our funnel. There's a large pool of format of questions- we don't need to format the coding questions into weird multiple choice questions where you select the correct code as other platforms have you do. Along the same vein, we can have the candidate complete coding projects that are similar to work our developers do each day: find and fix the existing bug(s), implement a new feature, or perform a code review (similar to Bitbucket or Github pull request code reviews). We ended up writing a few of our own questions, which wasn't difficult, that allowed us to test candidates how they'd perform against some of our own code. The code reviews especially have been great at determining the candidate's skill level based on the feedback they give. Being able to have the candidate download/upload code from Devskiller so they can modify it in their own IDE, or allowing them to grab the code from a temporary Github repository is a big plus.

Cons

Some bugs had come up, such as not being able to turn on/off an option in a test question. These were resolved quickly in a few hours after sending an email to the support email. The test isn't fully automated for some types of questions (as you would expect for code reviews), but there's also not a way to give automatic partial credit on multiple-choice questions. This requires us to go through the test questions individually to give partial credit (4 / 5 correct doesn't seem like a 0% to us), but the time isn't significant. Brackets seem to break the SQL questions, which is odd and hangs some candidates up.

May 2020

Aya from Talents Arena

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Diverse technical assessment tool

DevSkiller filled a gap in our technical assessment process.

Pros

The diverse library and different types of tests. DevSkiller has tests like test coverage, code quality, daabases queries, debugging and devops tasks. All these reflect the real qualifications needed in a software engineer other than problem solving assessment tools that test algorithms skills only.

Cons

DevSKiller can improve user experience and expand their test library.

February 2018

Willian from The Pixel Shop

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

It's a great platform and saved me time and has improved the hiring process

Pros

Great database of tests, the plagiarism detection helps a lot and the possibility to create custom tests.

Cons

For big tests (>3h), I had some issues with the platform not loading the test, but the Customer Support was excellent and fast solving that issue.

September 2019

Petros from Eventera

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Perfect tool for startups and young organisations

Honestly, Devskiller helped us hire our Senior Backend Engineer and also filter out many Frontend Developers. This is invaluable since hiring the wrong person in an early-stage startup can have the most catastrophic effects. The MVP will be buggy, the team frustrated, and the whole recruitment process will have to start all over for the specific position. I would like to commend their service culture, which is one of the best I have ever seen. We were offered a trial, with 14 candidates to test and no strings attached. On top of that, they have a reliable product that is intuitive and has many robust, pre-defined tests with various difficulty levels. Therefore, I highly recommend Devskiller to all entrepreneurs out there.

Pros

- Fantastic customer support - Wide range of tests - Good test combinations (theory + practice) - Good range of difficulty levels - Easy to set up - Easy to use

Cons

- Slow web editor (depending on the time of usage)

Reasons for Choosing DevSKiller

Unlike their main competitors, which were extremely expensive and did not even consider helping out a fellow startup, Devskiller customer support was with us from day 1. As a matter of fact, most of the other companies did not even bother offering a trial period!

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Intuitive, practical and with a great support team

With Devskiller we’re able to evaluate candidate’s technical skills in a more efficient and faster way. It saves time not only from the recruitment process, but from the seniors developers that used to have to manually create and correct the tests before we started using Devskiller.

Pros

Devskiller has really contributed to improve the performance of our Recruitment Team. One of its advantage is the possibility to create custom tests to evaluate candidates in all sorts of levels and technologies, saving us time during the recruitment process. Another great benefit is the customer Support team, who are very fast and effective! Always solving our problems and quickly answering our questions and doubts.

Cons

When the same candidate answer more than one test, it doesn’t shows the results separately, only the average score, which can be a little confusing.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Amazingly useful, Outstanding customer support - An absolute Lifesaver

Using Dev Skiller was a lifesaver. I was lost for how I was going to choose a developer when I have no experience within coding however this help immensely. That being said, even if you have coding experience the tool is very valuable, if not more so because you will be able to dive in deeper to check the results and build an amazing test. This is a great tool to evaluate candidates and compare against each other.

Pros

Having no coding/develper experience I had no way to screen, test and compare my candidates to find a developer for my website. Dev Skiller was a lifesaver in allowing me to do all of these and easily shortlist my candidates and see where their strengths and weaknesses lie. The set up process was simple and intuitive and was up and running and testing people very quickly. The support from Dev Skiller is outstanding and the team are genuinly invested in helping try to find the right candidate.

Cons

Nothing. Maybe a few features (and that's any platform) that could be added but nothing negative about the system.

August 2019

Roger from Orbis Education

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A very nice evaluation tool for hiring developers with excellent customer support

The reports and analysis of the results including rankings of candidates has been very beneficial in assessing candidate skill levels.

Pros

The flexibility in defining skills tests from predefined questions and tasks across a variety of languages and frameworks. The reports and analysis of the results including rankings of candidates has been very beneficial in assessing candidate skill levels.

Cons

I do not have issues with the product/services.

April 2018

Amir from PSH Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

LifeSaver!!!!

ability to test developer candidates. as we hire remotely, I cant imagine hiring someone without running them through these tests prior.

Pros

There are many testing sites out there but Devskiller has so many different tests to choose from, that it was a no-brainer. As we were looking for someone with strong time and dates skills, their "advanced" PHP test was almost like creating a custom made test for my needs (I believe they even offer custom made tests, if your budget allows) Super user friendly site and they offer a limited free version also.

Cons

it was a bit pricey for us as were a lean startup but worth every penny! It sure beats hiring someone unqualified!

July 2018

Ricardo from Lavu Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Awesome tool for screening candidates before interviews

Pros

I have used other similar solutions like Codility, Qualified.io, and also trialed HackerRank. DevSkiller offers the best mix of powerful features for the price. Their customer support is always very responsive and knowledgeable and willing to work with you to tailor the product to your specific needs. I also really like that they also include code review and bug fix type tasks.

Cons

The user interface is a little complicated and could probably be made more intuitive. Library of tasks could be expanded to cover other (less popular) technologies.

April 2018

Marios from Impact Tech LTD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

The product is amazing. The whole flow for the admin but also the candidate is seamless.

DevsKiller gave us the opportunity to complete utilize and customize our recruitment process as a company. Using a variety of features but also because of it's seameless workflows we benefit so much from it in many ways.

Pros

I really like the professionality that is shown to the candidates by using this product. In addition it is really easy to use, and has a braod library of predefinded tests. The admin panel is so wel organized with so many settings make it very easy to configure the test experience exactly on my needs. Customer support is very helpfull and professional and it seems that even though the product is excelent they still find ways of improving and also updating their database including much more tasks.

Cons

My only issue is that i would like to have more code review questions to choose from. However that is just a small issue for me.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Great Product!

Pros

Devskiller is a great way to evaluate efficiently the developers technical skills. Their predefined tests are perfect for cost-efficient recruitment processing or you can simply create your own evaluation using this tool. Devskiller also offers a great customer service and ensure to provide you with a plan that will meet with your requirements. User friendly for both the recruiter and the candidates.

Cons

It would be great to eventually have bigger selection of software products, technologies, or languages to evaluate in predefined tests.

March 2018

Per from ADACA Authority AB

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great way to screen tech candidates so we don't waste time interviewing devs who don't have it

We were looking for a tech screen that got us better results than the algorithmic tests we had used before. We tried Devskiller and never looked back. The results that candidates get give a good indication of their future performance so we no longer have to spend time and money bringing every candidate in for a technical interview.

Pros

It is super easy to give my developer candidates a real programming test. Candidates love it and their results do a good job of predicting future performance. It is easy to use and you can choose from their library of premade programming tasks or build your own.

Cons

Devskiller is a super easy way to identify the best dev candidates to invite for an interview. But I would love more premade programming tasks to choose from.

August 2018

Richard from Plutora

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Great product, so much potential

Great, attentive support and very easy to get into

Pros

Great layout and ease of use Good selection of different tests Great metrics Love the plagiarism comparison, very powerful for prospective employers

Cons

Would like more questions around the senior .net stack criteria

April 2018

Calvin from Cricut

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Devskiller has made it a lot easier to find candidates with the abilities we're looking for

Saves a lot of time screening applicants for development positions.

Pros

Having the ability to build custom tests in the exact environment we're looking for is amazing. The candidates can choose how they want to complete the tests, one of which is downloading the complete project and working in the IDE they are familiar with. It's a more valid test since that is how they will be working once we hire them.

Cons

The notification on when a candidate completes the test is only sent to the person that invited the candidate (in our case it's someone from HR). I only get notified to check the test if the HR person let's me know they are done. It would work better if I could subscribe and always be notified, even if I didn't invite the candidate.

October 2017

Tanveer from WonUpIt, Inc.

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

We've used it to screen iOS developers. The software has been super easy to use.

Pros

- ease of use - great user experience for the candidate and the company - varying questions of various degrees of difficulty that can be used to screen different candidates

Cons

- the programming tasks are quite intense (good thing), but the programing environment is intimidating (lots going on), perhaps a more streamlined approach to programming Q&A would be helpful

November 2017

yitzchak from Smart Stock 360

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

This is a great tool to test developer skills early on in the interview process

Pros

The ability to have developers show their skills early on in the interview process. Great tool when hiring with large volume of candidates to help you filter down to the ones with the skills you need.

Cons

Although it is user friendly, there are some performance enhancements that can be made that would make this an even better product.

August 2017

Ivan from Netconomy

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Previously we spent a lot of hours on candidates selection, actually devskiller is saving our time!

Pros

With Devskiller we are testing candidates against frontend and backend technologies. Measuring coding skills is automated, we use tests created by our experts and also create programming tests from scratch.

Cons

Creating own coding task could be a bit easier we have had troubles to achieve it. Maybe it is only about our own skills!?

October 2017

Stelvin from Excel Bangkok

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Easy to use and enables us to screen candidates quickly and effectively

Pros

There are many preset tests for different software skills to pick from, and in addition to that there is a custom test feature that allows team managers to build their own tests to focus on skills that are important for them. Devskiller allows us to perform technical assessments of candidates quickly and effectively, which is especially important for us when we need to scale the teams fast.

Cons

There could be more preset tests for senior skill levels, e.g. C#/.Net. But I have been told by their customer service rep (shout out to Will, thanks for everything!) that these tests will be added in due time so this is not really an issue.

June 2019

David from Voisonics

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Excellent fully-featured service

We wanted to evaluate the technical skills of candidates and were able to do that.

Pros

Devskiller includes everything you could want for technical testing candidates. It's easy to use, and things like the in-app development environment are impressive.

Cons

More flexible pricing for small users would be good.

November 2017

Justyna from Cloudity Sp. z o.o.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

User friendly tool which improves recruitment process

It saves time and allows one to find the best candidate to a team.

Pros

DevSkiller has an intuitive and user friendly interface. Makes the recruitment process faster and more efficient.

Cons

More subscription options would definitely be an advantage, yet the support team reacts to the customer needs fast.

October 2018

Maria from OPTIMA

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Platform that give you an overview of the candidate

This platform brings us the opportunity to evaluate in an easy and objective way the skills and knowledge of the candidate.

Pros

It is a great software to evaluate the candidate in an objective way and also to understand the strength of the candidate with the different tasks.

Cons

About the invitations should be link to the test that you send to the same person, but from our point of view should be link when you send it to a different email.

January 2018

Natália from Sensedia (DA Software e Serviço S/A)

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2018

Very easy and nice! I used for Intern Program and recruting.

I bougth a simple plan, so we dont have a lot of options about technology. For us it is very important to have a lot of technology like Java, .Net, Java Scrip.

Pros

All time on Customer Support and Sales were very nice! And it is ease to create the tests. I created 2 tests in the same day.

July 2019

Antony from Think HQ

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Practical, easy to use, quality software

I saved time in developing appropriate tests to screen candidates.

Pros

There were plenty of different subject areas to test users in, the app was super easy to use and the account service team was a pleasure to deal with.

Cons

The pricing model for the product is aimed at much larger companies making it difficult for smaller operators to take advantage of these tools.

Reasons for Choosing DevSKiller

The app was easy to use, and offered plenty of subject areas to test in.

October 2018

Paweł from Aviva

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Pre-screen candidates, save your time

Devskiller can also be used for internal company needs. It is perfect for employee development programs and progress tracking

Pros

Devskiller is a great tool to speed up your recruitment, it makes hiring process more efficient. User interface is easy very intuitive. You can choose from a wide range of questions (many technologies, types of questions). Measuring coding skills is automated and tests reports standarizedm, so comparing different candidates is very easy.

Cons

Devskiller is a bit pricey but I really recommend to use the free trail for start

July 2018

Gavin from Devshack International

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Powerful and easy to use candidate testing

We have reduced the load on senior resource for technical competency reviews, our great techs can now spend more time on tech and less time on marking.

Pros

For many years we created our own tests for candidates and marked them manually ourselves. Candidate interviews generally took up 10 to 20 hours of senior resource just in technical competency reviews. The option to upload to a git repository, automatically run unit tests and summarize results is by far the best feature of the software. Senior resource is spending an hour or two reviewing test results now. Other good features: solid library of built in tests, easy to search, easy to mix and match questions, easy to create your own questions.

Cons

The lack of some tests in the first paid tier seems arbitrary, iOs is the one we missed most in our case.

April 2018

Johanna from blink.it

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great customer service, a lot of different questions for different experience levels.

Pros

Devskiller has a lot of questions for different experience levels. We are very happy with the test we build. It makes our hiring process more efficiant. Great customer service to help us with all our questions and needs. -good value for money!

Cons

The overall experience with Devskiller was really great. it should be noted that it isn't possible to get access to all the question in the smallest plan. Apart from that everything was fine.

October 2017

Monika from SWPS University

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Different to any other way I have been tested

Pros

I have been searching for a job for a little while now and done a few different tests. They were boring and didn't let me use my own IDE as Devskiller did which was really cool!

Cons

From my perspective, it was great but if I was to say one flaw it would probably be the time duration. I am busy person and I needed more time to complete the test. I told the recruiter and they sent a second test with a longer time limit so it worked out well in the end.

October 2017

Maciej from Semantive

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

We wanted to test functional skills, that's why we chose Devskiller

Semantive is a software house, specialized in big data and data science solutions. With DevsKiller we reduced costs and time of our company recruitment process. Right now we can narrow candidates to those with desired competencies.

Pros

The interface is clean and easy to use. Our recruitment had no problem setting things up. With multiple user seats, our developers could even create our own tests and it made our recruiting less time-consuming and fast.

September 2018

Gert Jan from InfoSupport

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Good site for testing candidates

We use Devskiller to test candidates that apply for a job. It helps us to check whether they have the knowledge they need for their job.

Pros

The possibility to define your own tasks and tests. There are a lot of different types of questions and different platforms that are supported.

Cons

To make your own programming tasks you have to upload a zip-file with a project. If something is wrong, you don't get very clear error messages.

December 2018

Tal from SafeBreach

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Offshore developer recruiting using DevSkiller

-- Recruiting offshore developers

Pros

-- Big verity of tests and assignments -- Various test levels for all levels of developers -- Online developer environment -- great support team

Cons

-- Unclear how to view the candidate code "live"

October 2017

Kady from CCS

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Great customer support team, easy to set up user tests!

Pros

Their customer support team is phenomenal. They are very helpful and responsive, quick to help out when we needed it.

December 2017

Rob from Anchor Computer Systems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Easy to setup tests and get out to candidates quickly, results give a great insight into ability

Ability to quickly filter candidates with little effort so we only speak with the ones that are technically worth speaking to!

Pros

Ease of use to set up a test with different types of questions, e.g. mixture of Multi choice questions. programming tasks and code reviews.

Cons

Would like more plans and options to choose from the full task list. Its a bit all or nothing at the moment.