All Brightidea Reviews

1-25 of 106 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Deepashu Reshi

Verified reviewer

Insurance

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

We have been using this tool in our project to put forth improvement ideas for our team.

This has become a part of our team activity where we log our ideas, comment on other's ideas and track the ideas to closure thus improving the overall functioning of the team.

PROS

One of our track leads introduced this tool to our team around one year back. Since then, team has raised around 56 ideas and it has led to many process improvements in the team. Team is very happy with the tool because of its ease of use. Email notifications to the wider team audience helps get useful review comments on the ideas. Bright Idea moderators help to move the ideas forward to closure. Overall, the team is happy to use the tool and make a difference to their routine work.

CONS

The email notification feature is very good, however, if it is feasible to include the whole comment in the email, it will help save time to login to the bright idea site just to see the comments.

Joseph

Pharmaceuticals, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Ideation software with built in features that you won't know you need until later

We are a very large company and have been working with Bright Idea for 4+ years. Overall, the experience has been a very positive one with teams using the Ideation software for initiatives such as Process, manufacturing, patient and other areas of improvement. There are tangible benefits to the Ideation process and Bright Idea goes a long way in helping us receive those benefits.

PROS

Having been an Enterprise Admin for 2 years; there are 4 general areas of focus in considering what I like best about Bright Idea. First, the end-user experience, those that come to a Challenge to submit, vote or comment on ideas. The interface is very straightforward and intuitive. I have yet to receive an end-user inquiry about how to use or what to do. Grade: A+ The next areas is Site (or Campaign) Administration; this is relevant for Challenge and Community Administrators - people running the campaigns. Typically, there is a small learning curve where you can show Managers easy-to-configure functional-widgets which provide a wealth of functionality in an easy to teach/use interface. Functional options can range from simple to advanced and can accommodate users on either plain. Grade: A+ As an Enterprise Administrator, there are a large number of features that can be customized for the Enterprise-wide site or individual Challenge experiences. I had one complaint about this tool is that there are too many features, which at times can feel a little overwhelming to when first learning the product. Grade: A Finally, Customer Service. The team is outstanding. Very responsive, easily understood, available when needed. This has made a big difference in the success of our use of Bright Idea. Grade: A++

CONS

As an Enterprise Administrator there is a learning curve for many functional options that can take awhile to understand. Also, I am not a fan of some of the terminology such as "webstorm".

Reason for choosing Brightidea

Spiggit

Timothy

Consumer Electronics, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Unique but cumbersome

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support. I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

PROS

I like how you can customize the entire thing. It's a proper web application. You can make it as advanced, simple, or personally branded as you need. I also greatly enjoyed and appreciate the BI support.

CONS

I generally think it is too cumbersome, and it took me a while to learn how to use, at least the backend. Maybe that is the nature of backends. At first Brightidea felt like I was in a pilot's cockpit, with too many knobs and buttons to keep track of. The features also make the backend slow and not snappy like a fun/good piece of software.

Reason for choosing Brightidea

We are using Brightidea specifically to stoke innovation into our various business centers, from Connected Car services to Personal Audio products. In lieu of more rigorous R&D across various departments, we have found value in collecting all of our employees' ideas from the ground up.

Larry

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Great Innovation Platform!

The experience with Brightidea has been great so far! I believe we made an excellent choice as a company for choosing Brightidea 2 years ago. The fact that Brightidea is also evolving and willing to take on suggestions as a means of continuous improvement of their platform is quite commendable. The company lives and breathes innovation par excellence!

PROS

I have found the customization features relatively easy to use compared to previous platforms that we adopted. The ability to add steps and create rules in the innovation pipeline set up helps to create the various dynamics that we needed as we shape our relatively complex innovation and product development process. Integration with our processes was a bit challenging at first, but overtime we found ways to adapt the platform to meet our needs.

CONS

The ability to have all the functionalities we enjoy on the desktop version within the mobile app option would definitely be a good improvement.

Reason for choosing Brightidea

We had an extensive RFP process and Brightidea came on top for ease of customization and one of the key advantages that Brightidea had was the ability to have the business do their own customizations rather than raise an IT ticket every time a process change or modification needs to be made. This decision came down to the total value proposition for the company and not just for a few departments within the company.

Reasons for switching to Brightidea

We had to make a switch as the old platform did not meet our business customization needs and innovation approach going forward.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

One of the best ideation platforms out there!

Great customer service, abundance of out-of-the box features as well as a company that listens to Customer feedback.

PROS

Outside of the the great customer service the company provides, the ease of use and features are what make Brightidea stand out. Our customers have especially enjoyed the back-end idea management interface to be able to rank, sort, and group ideas that have come in from solvers. With a large company and thousands of ideas flowing in, this is a key features that other platforms have failed to address meaningfully.

CONS

The one potential disadvantage of the tool is that advanced customizations will require professional services support which add up. Out of the box, however, the platform will service 90%+ of the Customer base so that may not be a big issue.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Platform Usage

PROS

The ease of use of the tool. The ability for the end users to collaborate and share ideas across all work streams. The platform captures all submissions and allows the end user group to tailor to their needs what the whole submission and evaluation process consist of.

CONS

When viewing submissions the ease of use can be challenging. When viewing submission within the pipeline you are not able to see the specific number attached to the submission without hovering over the specific submission. Being able to tailor the layout of the submission form to meet the end users needs.

Fatih

Verified reviewer

Airlines/Aviation

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Practical software helps corporate innovators do their jobs best

PROS

A lot of useful and plug and play options in it. It helps corporate innovators easily start idea competitions and gives opportunity to practically managing idea pipeline

CONS

Not much customizable for specifical needs. Customer support can be much creative in solving problems.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Fatih! We do believe that the Brightidea innovation platform is the most customizable solution available on the market. Please reach out to us on Ideaspace if there is particular area where you are getting stuck. https://bi.brightidea.com/ideas

Replied October 2017

User Profile

Charles

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

Enjoyable and rewarding

Employee engagement. Critical in fostering a culture of innovation, and sourcing sustaining and disruptive ideas to our product line, services, operations, and industry.

PROS

Ease of use for end-users and administrators. The program is fun to use. Employees in our company enjoy having a platform to share their ideas and collaborate with their peers.

CONS

Setup menus can be consolidated. Different types and managing communications is confusing: Enterprise Set-up > Site > Newsletters; Enterprise Setup > Site > System Email Messages; Communications pillar; Setup pillar > Rules Engine > Email Templates.

Anonymous

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Positive experience with Brightidea software and support.

PROS

intuitive, easy to use user interface - no end user training required. full function, end-to-end idea management tool. Crowd sourcing, collaboration and built-in social media capabilities. Scorecarding, reports. Configurable, cloud implementation. Automated feedback mechanisms to update submitters and others on progress. Good support. Good value for money.

CONS

Back-end administration not as intuitive to me as the front end. Needs a knowledgeable administrator to take full advantage of all the tool has to offer.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Innovation organized and efficient!

PROS

It is important that it is easy to use to a certain point. Same applies to customization features. But it is improving constantly, so it's great. Offers a wide range of evaluation tools and makes collaboration easy. It boost productivity and innovation significantly. Innovation and initiatives are generated with ease.

CONS

You can extract data to excel and generate your own reports, but the idea would be that those reports were generated by the software itself.

Mike

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2016

Leader In Innovation Challenge Software

Using BrightIdea to help run our innovation challenge program has been a wonderful experience. The software is easy to use for both admin's and most importantly users. Their features cover all aspects of the innovation life-cycle allowing for everything to be completed and tracked in one place. And their customer support has exceed our expectations, they have done a fantastic job and helping us scale our program in the right ways.

PROS

It's extremely easy for users to understand and use it, thereby making engagement an easy sell. The features they support are also extensive and they continue to add new ones to support a growing program.

CONS

A few bugs have made setup from an admin standpoint more time consuming then they should be, but work around are available and they are quick to respond to our needs.

Kalvin

Sporting Goods, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Robust tools with lots of features.

Successful launching of Open Innovation Program. It's hard to tell the story and show proof of engagement without this tool. Thank you!

PROS

Great customer support from the BrightIdea team, from sales to technical support and training. Wonderful support on boarding new customer and tremendous value.

CONS

User interface design can be a bit more simplistic. e.g. like Apple website, or aesthetics of Apps like Slack.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Kalvin! It is part of our design process to stay abreast of the modern design landscape - not just within B2B but also for B2C products like Slack - to identify opportunities to continually evolve and update our product. We are also continuing to invest in growing our product design team. We hope you will like the UI/UX for the latest round of product updates that we've made. Over time, we will also be cascading our updated style guide to more parts of our existing platform.

Replied October 2017

Marti

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2019

Great Innovation Tool, constantly updating features

We use this tool as a customer portal for product enhancements. We've been very pleased overall.

PROS

Their account managers and support are very responsive and update the product with an ear to customer voice. Lots of helpful documentation to help companies learn how to use innovation across the organization.

CONS

Reporting and metrics could use a facelift.

Reason for choosing Brightidea

Easy to implement.

fethi yasir

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

easy to implement and tools are very functional. brightidea team is very helpful. glad to choose

PROS

easy to use, functional and customizable. mobile app is helping us to reach all workers. new features are coming to make our work easier.

CONS

doesn't support multi language and facing bugs. web storm admins need more role in the platform.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review, Fethi! It was great connecting with you at our user conference and learning about how your team is using Brightidea. I'm sorry to hear that you've encountered bugs. Our support team will ensure any issues are resolved as quickly as possible. The software can be configured to support a number of different languages; please reach out if you need help.

Replied October 2017

Lisa

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

In the infancy stages of learning!

PROS

I appreciate the feel and look of the sight. When you are in the application, it does not feel like "work"...like you are completing a task that you have to do...that you are told you must complete. The collaborative feel and functionalities that are available make the innovation process easier to manage.

CONS

At times, there are limitation to the admin adjustments that we can create on our end (i.e. color schemes, pixel adjustments, hiding of functionality, etc)

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Lisa! You can likely make the adjustments you need by leveraging our "Custom CSS" functionality. Please reach out if this does not address your needs!

Replied October 2017

Zack

Paper & Forest Products, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Great product

PROS

Ease of use and administration. Templates for different applications

CONS

Limited out of the box (non-code) flexibility of campaign pages. Something like 3 column and footer layout, or two column layout. The ability to switch these after a campaign is created.

Maureen

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

BrightIdea will positively wow you.

PROS

The best and easiest way to tap into business improvements from the people who know best...employees. Helps with EE engagement and provides the means for collaboration with everyone involved.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the glowing review! -Daniel

Replied October 2017

Wendell

Marketing and Advertising, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: