All Sentry Reviews

1-25 of 65 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Maxim

Verified reviewer

Computer Software

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Sentry has been a default backend error tracker for years

We didn't have to configure and support anything for error tracking and alerting, Sentry is really a one-click solution

PROS

- Very easy to integrate with python projects - Nice UI, trace page has all the context, you may potentially need to debug - Can post exceptions right into Slack

CONS

No cons so far. I think I was confused by the UI navigation a few time, but I was able to figure everything out by myself eventually.

Aivar

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

When something goes wrong, you'll see exactly what and why

Sentry allows me to catch bugs in the live environment and captures all of the relevant information that led to them.

PROS

Easy to set up Lots of details about each error Ability to quickly ignore, postpone, assign errors

CONS

A little bit hard to search through the resolved issues Emails about new errors sometimes go to spam, with multiple emails providers

Reasons for switching to Sentry

Raygun.io was a bit too expensive, and I was still limited in the number of projects I could track. Sentry removes this limit for far less, and even slightly beats Raygun featurewise.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Great App logging service but with a cost

I do like the UI and the events logging integration but the crash detection is not one of the best and the SDK integration wasn't that easy.

PROS

The way it displays error loggings and how easy is to query and filter for types of events

CONS

The SDK integration wasn't easy. We had crashes and performances problem due to the Sentry SDK

Reason for choosing Sentry

For the error logging feature which not everyone includes.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Sentry Experience

The experience was very good . I Have used it in many apps. A must try tool for error and performance montioring.

PROS

1. Easy to setup in projects like flutter , nodejs , strapi. 2. See related data in one place like issues or performance issue. 3. Details info for an issue . It's easy to identify the bug. 4. extra info like crash free session and releases are very helpful. 5. Docs are easy to find and well organised.

CONS

1. Need a bit of knowledge of error reporting to work 2. Some kind of tutorial video or detailed blogs are needed to use. 3. The team plan is very pricy 26$ per month. 4. No benefit for student or startups.

Reasons for switching to Sentry

Sentry can be easily implemented with strapi and we need to configure firebase for firebase crashlytics.

User Profile

Dilraj

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Easy to configure Backend alerts for your production environment

Overall experience was really good with production alerts being fired anytime there was an exception or an outage on the backend server.

PROS

Sentry can be easily integrated with your platform for generating email alerts for any issues on production backend server. Be it an exception on the server or the outage, sentry will send an alert to your email and once you login to the dashboard, you can easily see the stack trace for the error which occurred on the server along with the frequency of occurring error. Sentry integration is available for different programming languages.

CONS

Setting it up with your backend server for the first time can take some time. Also we faced some issues with integrating the HTTPS sentry link with Node.js. Other than that, its a great tool in helping you keeping your production environment available 24/7.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Simple and straightforward error monitor

PROS

Simple to integrate with any system. A complete tool to track bugs and share bugfix with the team in our project.

CONS

I believe that some automations are missing to be implemented, but the tool is very complete

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

A Great Application Monitoring Solution

Sentry has given us vital information that we have not been able to source from other application monitoring software. This in turn allows us to diagnose issues faster and get work on solving issues rather than working out what the problem is.

PROS

Sentry is used as one our our application monitoring solutions and we use it to stay on to of regression, bugs, and core web vitals. It not only tracks these issues but gives us the information to troubleshoot them

CONS

There can be a lot of information to digest when diagnosing an issue so it can take time to become familiar with the UI

Jesse

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Keeps our developers informed about the errors

PROS

One of the best parts is the easy installation of the app, there is almost nothing to do and worked with every integration, front- and back-end. Also, the interface is easy to use.

CONS

Blocking of events that you don't want to measure is a bit harder as we thought it would be. Sometimes it happens that we reached the maximum limit, but after sending an email to support they did reset our rate limit.

Ciprian

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

A great tool for gathering JS errors from remote users

Sentry did half the work of the QA department.

PROS

Great, great, great! I have used this tool for a long time and it helped identify hundreds of errors and feed them to the QA department. A great tool for any Javasvcript-heavy website or web app.

CONS

Absolutely nothing, it helped a lot with user generated errors.

Mikhail

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Really nice and powerful tool

We are really happy with Sentry. It was integrated into 3 products and we plan to do more.

PROS

It just works. easy to start, and easy to operate. Powerful dashboard and a lot of information available.

CONS

The main problem is issues spam. If customer have same problem again and again - it may burn out oll you budget, filters are exists but do not worse some time

User Profile

Xavier

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

It made the development easier

PROS

It makes my development easier allowing me to track all the errors

CONS

Its dificult to deploy your own instance of Sentry

Stewart

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Tracking issues like a Pro

perfect for me in monitoring bugs and the ability to debug issues that did not occur in my development environment

PROS

Sentry is a clear and simple way to track, issues and bugs, along with the environment and context in which the occurred

CONS

transactional an application, performance monitoring quota disappears very quickly without topping up with cash

Reason for choosing Sentry

it does what I need

Omer

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Error Tracking and Reporting with ease

It has been an indispensable tool for many of the projects I was involved in. I was tasked with setting up the Sentry accounts for some projects and I found it easy to do so without having to read a lot of docs.

PROS

1- You can use it on both frontend and backend to track errors. 2- It collects many metadata about each error event, which makes it easier to debug the error in question. 3- It allows uploading of source maps so you can see where the errors are happening in the code you write rather than the minified released versions. 4- It's secure and has default masking for sensitive data (but you must make sure you are not sending sensitive info in the errors) 5- It has a generous free tier 6- It's easy to set up and deploy with client libraries for almost any framework you use. 7- All events data is downloadable up to 3 months after they are created.

CONS

1- Grouping of issue events is a bit strange sometimes if you don't write your own error handlers. 2- Documentation can be outdated sometimes.

Reason for choosing Sentry

Our first project was built with React Native Expo, which supported Sentry out of the box, so we decided to go with it.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Stay ahead of system errors

We set sentry up for all the software we develop. It has helped us greatly to always know when an application crashes so that we begin working on fixes. We loved sentry because it's easy to setup and use. We set it up once and run for the software lifespan. It shows a lot of information in a non-overwhelming way

PROS

The interface is so easy to use, it's almost natural for me. It sends notifications to my e-mail and often when I click view on sentry I don't need to re-login it just takes me where I need to go Version Control integration which make it easier to resolve issues when making a commit

CONS

When an issues occurs multiple times I want to view breadcrumbs for multiple cases at once but this option isn't there and if an issue occurs thousands of times this is a challenge I can seem to find resolved issues to review them for whatever reason, at least if resolved issues were accessible for some time this would be great, or if this is already there making it easy would be great

Sven

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

The best way to monitor applications & websites for issues

Sentry is used within almost all of our applications, whether they're run by ourselves or our customers. It provides amazing peace-of-mind because I can rely on Sentry to report any issues & also keep logs & error reports handy for further investigation of such issues. We've never regretted using Sentry and are very likely to not consider moving to another platform anytime soon.

PROS

Sentry is the best way to monitor your websites / applications for issues. It supports virtually every programming language, runs on every system, is easily set up and maintained and is really easy to use.

CONS

Sentry in the cloud can be a little pricey for smalle projects & developers but there is a self-hosted plan of the app which can be set up on your own servers, so really even pricing-issues are pretty much non-issues for us and, I'd imagine, most potential users.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Instant issue notifications to the entire team with visual reports, issue timelines, assignees

PROS

Anyone on the team can subscribe to get instantly notified about the issues; multiple projects supported in the same dashboard (in my team we use separate projects for different types of environments). Automatic weekly and monthly reports are simple but informative. Gitlab integration is available. I also really like visibility into team members who have already seen the issue. Issue search filter is very detailed as well. Open source and cloud versions are available so any team's needs can be met.

CONS

Since all screens are minimalistic, they all look the same at a first glance, perhaps some color or header accents would be nice, also some sort of labelling for more customized filtering could come in handy. As a PM I think I am more picky about things like that than developers on my team though. Overall this is a good product.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

A must-have in our tool kit

PROS

Sentry has helped us track down countless, countless bugs in our platform before they could have been reported by our users. Thanks to their platform we are instantly made aware when someone has an issue on our API, dashboard, or one of our worker bots fails for an unforeseen reason.

CONS

Sometimes a bug occurs that impacts a lot of users / traffic. Especially if you use an API. This can in some cases prevent other errors in other projects from showing up. Simple fix, just don't get any errors ;)

Andréas

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2020

A guardian for your projects

Sentry is a my first alternative to finding bugs in software due to easy setup and usability.

PROS

Sentry is simple to use and gives a good overview of bugs and errors in projects. It will immediately alert you, which is important in time critical projects.

CONS

It is somewhat difficult to configure alerts and alert content to your custom needs. It will bloat your email inbox if you are many persons working on the same project.

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Straightforward to set up and use, crystal clear documentation

PROS

We use Sentry for our website and app alert handling. They have excellent docs to get set up and integrated across a variety of languages, web, and app frameworks. Getting alerts piped into Slack and Pagerduty was super simple.

CONS

Small nit, but wish they made it easier to get full stacktraces from mixed environments, like React Native! Would be nice to get both native and JS traces in both iOS and Android.

Sander

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Gives insight in your bugs / errors

PROS

Al bugs are tracked in Sentry and additional data can be found bundled with the error in the dashboard. Support for hidden sourcemaps (uploaded by CI/CD pipeline) makes it a lot easier to see what went wrong.

CONS

Not a real con, but the package are updated weekly. As a result, the version will soon no longer be up to date

Reasons for switching to Sentry

Support for multiple languages

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE