User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(20)

20

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use. Intuitive. AppFolio team is very responsive and implements my feedback. Secure way to distribute K-1s and other sensitive info."

  • "I find easy to search everything in the top bar, the help center has been of great help during my training and solved every issue in a blink of an eye. "

  • "Great user support and a very responsive product development team. The platform has robustly boosted our efficiency and streamlined our investor communications. "

  • Cons

  • "Would love to see more built-in option to make larger distributions. Would be great to have more internal reporting features for current and past deals. "

  • "It's a new thing, so they're still working out some kinks and bugs, but nothing big."

  • "More user functionality on the back end would be nice rather than having to rely on submitting a support request for the Appfolio team to solve the problem on their end. "

Browse AppFolio Investment Management Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

February 2020

Will from Fairlawn Capital

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

AppFolio IM Provides Tremendous Value at a Great Price!

The biggest benefits of AppFolio Investment Management are that we now look and feel more professional to our investor group, and implementing the solution was neither time-consuming or costly. On an ongoing basis, the platform reduces the time required to keep track of our growing investment and investor base, enhances our investor communication methods, keeps us closer to and more constantly in contact with our investors, and helps ensure data accuracy via integration with AppFolio Property Manager.

Pros

My investors love the portal and it makes my life exponentially easier versus manual and scattered investment tracking methods. My firm already uses AppFolio Property Manager, so it was an easy decision to add Investment Management, and the integration is seamless. We also felt that the price point was very attractive compared to other stand-alone programs, but without making any real sacrifices from our "must-haves." The customer support has been tremendous and I feel as if the software is continually evolving for the better.

Cons

Some features and functionality are still lacking, although the product team is constantly in contact for feedback and advice on new features. For some minor items, we had to create workarounds until newer functionality is fully built-out, but nothing has held me back from becoming fully operational in the platform. That said, we appreciate that the system is getting better-by-the-day and that we have a voice in future versions of the product.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Cost and seamless integration with our operating software

December 2020

Peter from International Capital, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

On the way to a great product

We got rave reviews from many investors. It is a great platform and (still as of this review) costs a fraction of the leading products out there who have a few more features and are a bit more mature. However, AppFolio has been awesome in listening to reasonable requests which make the product better and hence they roll out new features often. This to me is very valuable. Try to have any of the 2-3 "leading elephants" move or change something .... Good luck. So I am very happy with the decision to go with AppFolio. It does 95% of what we need for 50% (or even less) of the price of the others.

Pros

- The Investor view is very good and easy to understand for the investor. Good overview with easy drill down. - You can send out new investment solicitations from within the system - Integration into Email

Cons

Still a bit rough in some aspects like file management, if you have A LOT of files. If you only have let's say up to 10 or so files per investment, all is peachy. You can have an endless amount of files, but it is not that easy to display. They are working of making that easier on the eye.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Price to Feature ratio and a motivated team to race to the top with this product. And they deliver!

February 2021

Gary from Woodside Health

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

AppFolio is great

Pros

Easy to use. Intuitive. AppFolio team is very responsive and implements my feedback. Secure way to distribute K-1s and other sensitive info.

Cons

It's a new thing, so they're still working out some kinks and bugs, but nothing big.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Worked well for what we needed and was competitively priced.

November 2020

Giulietta from Access Financial Group, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2020

Time Saver

The initial experience converting data could have been better managed. We were provided with limited information and had to rely on customer service to get through the early stages. Our experience with customer service has been exceptional. They are attentive and respond back quickly. Over the past year we have worked with members of the different product teams. They have been able to adapt IM so it meets our needs. We have a few more outstanding items but with time we know these too will get resolved. Overall great product.

Pros

Saving so much processing time. Our quarter end process and K-1 year end reporting went from days to hours/minutes. It is so beneficial having all our investor information consolidated in 1 system compared to many separate excel spreadsheets. We also use AppFolio Property Manager and both systems work well together for accounting purposes.

Cons

Not having all the capable functionality available to us. We have an active fund and the functionality we would benefit using is only available to "New Offerings" The Investor Statements still need work before our company can utilize them.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

We were already using AppFolio Property Manager (APM). APM is a great product and felt confident in trying another of AppFolio's products.

February 2021

Tristan from Birgo Capital

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Appfolio IM for Real Estate Investment Funds

Overall it is a very positive experience. One of the best things about using any Appfolio software is the great team at Appfolio. I have used many cloud based software solutions, and the Appfolio team really goes above and beyond for their customers.

Pros

Appfolio IM is constantly being improved and developed. I see new features added constantly, which increases the value of the product for us. If you are an Appfolio PM customer the syncing between IM and PM will significantly cut down on your administrative time recording information in your accounting system and your investment management system. As far as the investor facing portals, they are clean and easy to use. I have never received any negative feedback from an investor on accessing/utilizing their portal.

Cons

Nothing major to note here. There are minor inconveniences that I stumble across sometimes while using IM; however, this is to be expected when using out of the box cloud software. I'm really impressed with how Appfolio responds to feedback, asks questions, and is honest about whether or not the feedback can be implemented.

December 2020

Nicholas from Dreamstone Investments LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Love our AIM portal

My team and I love using it

Pros

Ease of use, easy to find items, the flow to setting up new deals is much easier. Investors enjoy using the platform

Cons

Could use more waterfall options, not being able to change docs once the investments goes live to investors.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Pricing, customer service, ease of use

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

IMS was too expensive, too confusing and lacking in certain areas

December 2020

Jerry from Watermarq Capital Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Watermrq Capital Partners

We were very impressed with the smooth transition, customer service is outstanding. A big shoutout to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] always responsive and attentive to my concerns. A great team to work with!

Pros

The ability to be transparent with our investor and have all our investment history neatly in one place added a tremendous confidence that our investor have with our firm.

Cons

Would love to see more built-in option to make larger distributions. Would be great to have more internal reporting features for current and past deals.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Much cheaper and we were familiar with their other program and had confidence that they would provide a quality product

September 2020

Raffaella from Remida Management LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Appfolio a great discovery

It is a great product which helps taking care of tenants and finances. I daily use it and the more I do, the more I like it.

Pros

I find easy to search everything in the top bar, the help center has been of great help during my training and solved every issue in a blink of an eye.

Cons

it is not easy to understand reports that split rents and prepayments. I wish there was a way to customize reports according to the data I need to get to fill out my monthly statistics.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

We needed a more complete product to be able to cope better with multifamily properties and had asset investments features to create a portal for our clients .

December 2020

George from Headwall Investments, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Excellent Centralized Platform

Pros

AppFolio Investment Management enables our firm to tie property management, accounting, investor reporting, and fund raising all into one platform in an incredibly efficient manner. Our favorite feature is the investor portal which allows us to keep our equity partners up to date on all of our properties. We love being able to offer our partners features such as this which prior to AppFolio would have only been available to firms much larger than ours.

Cons

We have run into very few problems with the software and anytime we identify an area of improvement the AppFolio Investment Management staff is quick to assist.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

The initial reason for the decision was cost. We have since seen beyond just the baseline cost savings.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

Moving from four platforms into one was more cost effective and integrated more seamlessly.

March 2021

Morgan from Emmett Ochs Investments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Extremely Intuitive and Excellent Value

Excellent experience from day one. The migration/onboarding from our previous platform couldn't have been smoother. The user interface is intuitive and thus very easy to learn and make changes. Workflows are smooth and we feel like we can trust AIM as our system of record, full stop.

Pros

The seamless integration with AppFolio Property Manager has saved us countless hours and headaches. The level of automation AIM provides (e.g. K-1's) has saved time and made us look smart to our investors. Processes that used to require a lot of manual setup and back-and-forth with investors have been reduced to a few clicks of the mouse with virtually no need to hold investors' hands. The reporting will save us additional time in the future.

Cons

We'd like to see a bit more functionality with regard to sales and transfers, but AIM has informed us this is in the works so we have no complaints.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

The integration with AppFolio Property Manager saves us valuable time and reduces the possibility for errors. The intuitiveness of AIM simplifies investor communication so we can spend time on business development.

May 2019

Jeremy from Argo Property Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Greatest business enabler so far

We were using email and conference calls to communicate investment information previous to AppFolio IM. Every time we had a call or sent an email different content was shared and it was a labor intensive process that we couldn't keep up with. Even worse, our accounting team managed investor reports via Excel reports which were cumbersome, time consuming to create, had errors, and we weren't always sure which was the latest version. Using AppFolio IM we can add all investors to a prospective opportunity and launch fundraising with one distribution... and we never attach files to emails that used to get forwarded far beyond where they were intended. And our accountants save whole days worth of time. In numerical terms, we have probably 10-20x our equity raise from the time we started to just 4-6 months forward. And we were able to hire new staff to help raise capital and know they could rely on our pushing information out through the portal consistently and quickly to their new prospects. We've quickly moved past 6-figure investors and well into 7-figure investors.

Pros

Very intuitive and user friendly from an administrator's perspective to get up and running quickly and with only limited time available. Our customers report back we are a stand out among peers and everyone has commented that accessing the site and using the features was simple. The support from the AppFolio IM team is unparalleled; they adapt the program in response to feedback and are always available to help answer technical questions. You never get a "help desk" type experience!

Cons

No complaints yet. New features are added all the time which is great. We are also a user of the AppFolio Property Management site. We evaluated many options and this was the easiest and quickest way for us to launch.

December 2020

Jon from Access Financial Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Real Estate Investment Fund Servicing Software -

Our company is a smaller private real estate investment company, and have one fund at this time. We have about 100 investors in the fund. This software allowed us to have an online presence for our investors, which is not perfect, but has been improving over the 12 months since we started using the software. Software also allows us to take care of a lot of the back end accounting and tracking for our real estate investment, membership capital, quarterly distributions, as well as communication hub.

Pros

Cloud based Built in CRM to track all client information. Can email directly from software to borrower. Includes Investor portal that allows investors to track balances, history, transactions for investment account. Appfolio customer service is great This software works directly and integrates with Appfolio Property Manager software, which we have used for 8 years. We have reduced our need for spreadsheets for tracking purposes by about 80% Ability to pay, reinvest, distribute, track dividend payments right in the software- we do this quarterly, so this is a big time saver.

Cons

Improvements are needed as far as ability to customize certain areas of the investor portal, and the investor statements. Ability to add, or remove information, headings, titles, categories from investor portal and investor statements. Appfolio does take support requests seriously and has made some adjustments based on recommendations.

November 2020

Brian from Four Oaks Capital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Software you can shape...

Pros

While AppFolio's Property Management software is the industry standard, they've only recently introduced their investor management software. With this you get the resources of a juggernaut with the nimbleness of a startup. We've been using AF for over a year and have seen the UI grow by leaps and bounds. For us the 2 greatest aspects of the platform are the ability to request features, edits, requests (big or small) and actually see them get implemented. The other is the customer service. Hands down the best experience we've had with a software provider. Their responsiveness, knowledge and overall thoroughness is critical. Pair all this with a reasonable price and you can't lose.

Cons

Whatever bells & whistles other providers may offer....AF has either implemented them or has them on their horizon.

September 2020

Natalie from The Ritchie Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Amazing Experience

Once we are completely on line this software will allow all our investors to be able to see what is going on with their investments and will cut back on the calls I receive.

Pros

The investment features are very important to our business and upon educating myself with the help of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Team and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we are working toward utilizing the software and also having all of our investors use it. An amazing software that is transitioning as needed.

Cons

The only real problem we experienced was our upload that did not work due to comas and periods in the upload. I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] a lot with getting this process completed. This is minimal to the need for this type of software.

December 2020

Morris from NWCREI

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Investment Management Software

Pros

It makes me much more efficient in what I do everyday. It has transformed the way I do my business and how interact with my customers

Cons

Can't think of anything. Appfolio is always improving the product....it seems almost weekly they and new features

December 2020

Trevor from RanchHarbor

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

RanchHarbor

Pros

The platform is extremely affordable. I am impressed with the constant upgrades and improvements that are being added as Appfolio continues to improve the program. The customer service is excellent, responsive, and quick to help solve issues or answer questions.

Cons

More user functionality on the back end would be nice rather than having to rely on submitting a support request for the Appfolio team to solve the problem on their end.

February 2021

Andrew from Presidio Capital Partners

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Great Product Development Team

Pros

Great user support and a very responsive product development team. The platform has robustly boosted our efficiency and streamlined our investor communications.

Cons

Like most platforms, a continuing work in progress; the development team behind the product is though, is on it... they are very responsive to user feedback and constantly adding and enhancing features.

February 2021

Mike from Magma Equities

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great Value

Not only has this portal improved and increased communication with our investors, it demonstrates a level of professionalism to them that usually only large companies can afford.

Pros

The setup was fast and effortless and the portal is very user friendly. Customer service has been 10/10 every time I have reached out. But most importantly it has made it easer for us to communicate with our investors, so we do it more often, which they value.

Cons

We have funds and properties on the portal. And sometimes a fund invests in a property. Investors in our fund have a more limited view of the property than someone who invests directly in the property.

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

It was really a cost based decision. I was impressed by the demo I saw, but figured the price point would be closer to some of the competitors we looked into. I was so happy with the proposal I signed up that day.

February 2021

Karri-Lynn from Island Estate Group LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Great Company

Easy to use, support is super helpful with a quick response time.

Pros

Keeps all of our investors, their information, their documents all in one spot.

Cons

When you are in for example investing entities and you are working with someone with the letter P and need to go back to S, you have to go back and scroll through the entire list.

February 2021

Amy from Emmett Ochs Investments

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

User-friendly and Intuitive Design

The onboarding process with AIM's team was incredibly easy and efficient. We've also received wonderful feedback from our investors regarding the owner portal.

Pros

AIM is extremely user-friendly, and the software's intuitive design made the onboarding process a breeze. The integration with AppFolio Property Manager also allows for increased efficiency and accounting accuracy. AIM offers a wide range of functionality without over complicating the backend process. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I could do in the software with minimal training.

Cons

The waterfall calculation could use some added levels of complexity.

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

As a long-time user of AppFolio Property Manager for our accounting software, the integration with AIM is what initially got our attention. We were updating two different systems with our previous investment management software and catching various oversights. However, the ultimate reason for our switch is AIM's capital account statement functionality and the ability to include current net equity in our IRR calculation.

September 2020

Devin from DJE Texas Management Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Happy we made the switch

Pros

Pricing, ease of use, responsiveness of support

Cons

Digital signatures were very basic when we started, they have since been improved

Reasons for Choosing AppFolio Investment Management

Pricing, features, and support

Reasons for Switching to AppFolio Investment Management

Technical issues

November 2020

Frank from Frank Kurre

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Real estate portal

Pros

Great customer service! Administrative burden significantly reduced through on-line portal with electronic signatures on documents.

Cons

Could improve the ability to remove investors and put investments into active status.

March 2021

Daisy from Greenwood & McKenzie

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Simple and Easy to Use

Pros

Transfer Position is my favorite feature. Transfers can easily and quickly be done within minutes.

Cons

I think reports can be improved. With time, I am sure they will improve.

October 2019

Jerry from JMG Capital Investments

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

great investor software

Pros

Appfolio being new to this field gave us leverage and flexibility as we already used their property management software. Since we started using the software in March they have made dozens of changes to add additional features and features.

Cons

Basically, nothing as we new to automating investor management

May 2020

Atticus from Montecito Venture Partners, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Outstanding Product

After spending an hour or so driving the features with the assistance of an AppFolio representative, it became easy to use and navigate. Whenever I have questions I receive thorough answers promptly, which is very helpful.

Pros

Easy to use, investors love it, and it is a great and efficient way to communicate with investors and distribute tax information.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to send emails from a no-reply address, but not a big deal, and Appfolio is constantly improving the features and functionality.

March 2021

Ryan from Third Coast Development LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Great Customer Support!

Had an issue with a couple of property set-ups in AIM, and Customer Support responded quickly. They took care of things so I had very little to do on my end.

Pros

Integrates nicely with Appfolio Property Management, so there's very little duplication of work.

Cons

Nothing, very few issues thus far.