User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(76)

76

4 stars

(23)

23

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "The customer support is incredible. Any time I have a question or an idea they have real people talking with you."

  • "I really love that this software lets our teachers monitor what their kids are doing on their Chromebooks. For teachers to have instant access like that is important with 1:1 devices."

  • "It is easy to use, and it helps me to monitor what my students are doing in class. In addition to this, it is a time saver because I can get my students back on task very discretely."

  • Cons

  • "Theres really not much to not like. Occasionally it will block a site we need our students on but it is a quick fix"

  • "- Sometimes slow to adding new features, but when they're added it does it right the first time."

  • "There have been some technical issues regarding logging in and accessing student screens from time to time, but these problems are received well by technical support and solved in a timely manner."

Browse GoGuardian Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 104 results

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Nathan from Central Valley Christian School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Top of the Line Chromebook Monitoring Solution

We have had great success in our 1:1 program with GoGuardian. We have been able to reach out to families when a child was endangered, and our staff is feeling very comfortable using devices in the classroom.

Pros

GoGuardian provides many different features that make implementing a 1:1 Chromebook program fairly easy. The filtering solution is fairly quick and easy to learn and can work off-site. They also have Smart Alerts which notifies us when a student is doing something that could cause self-harm or is looking at pornography. Lastly, the teacher portal allows teachers to monitor and easily step in to help students stay engaged.

Cons

The teacher side of things could use some improvements in the way that it interacts with the Chromebooks, although this might require a different type of installation. It would be great to get a constant live snapshot of Chromebook devices rather than just the current tab.

October 2020

Josh from Kimberly Area School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Good Device-Monitoring Software

Overall, GoGuardian is great as long as it is working. It seems to be plagued with issues in the past few weeks which makes it a bit unreliable. Beyond that, I have enjoyed using it and am satisfied with my choice.

Pros

One of the big pros of GoGuardian is its integration with Google. With just a few clicks, our staff are set up to monitor and guide students through appropriate device usage. The ability to apply Scenes to regulate how much freedom students have in their browsing really helps class time to be used efficiently. The ability to personalize how many "screens" are visible at once on the dashboard is really helpful as well.

Cons

The biggest complaint I have is how unreliable and limited the software is at times. I understand that, more than ever, people are using the internet and devices, but it is fairly common lately where the service is experiencing issues and cannot be used or is extremely limited. The program is great when it is working smoothly, but it experiences issues often enough to be irritating.

Reasons for Choosing GoGuardian

Features seemed easier to quickly adopt. We believed our staff could more easily handle the transition to GoGuardian due to its easy interface.

March 2021

Khristina from Southwestern City Schools

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

GoGuardian

GoGuardian has helped myself and colleagues during remote learning. We have been able to assist students if they are stuck during instruction. We are able to guide the students to get to the correct website or app on their Chromebook. It has also been really helpful with class management during online learning because we can restrict access to website that the students don't need to using during instruction.

Pros

It has allowed me to be able to help my students during remote learning. After completing the training, it was pretty easy to use the software in the classroom and during remote instruction. I was most excited about being able to put website restrictions on the student's Chromebooks. It was helpful because the students can get easily distracted with Youtube, Netflix and other websites instead of focusing on their schoolwork. I liked that I could restrict websites during school hours and allow access for the evening.

Cons

The training was a little long. It also would have been helpful to have an interactive training. This may be a district training decision to have only online training. I felt that I would have understood more if I was able to set up GoGuardian and use it during the training sessions.

May 2019

Brendalee from Creston Community Schools

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Big learning curve needed

It is ok. It does a good job at filtering on chromebooks.

Pros

It does well filtering what you put in if it is worded correctly

Cons

I know everything is a learning curve but this is a tad more difficult. Thank goodness support is very helpful!

March 2021

Kathi from Conway School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Makes Monitoring Classroom computer usage easy

This software makes my job easier as I am trying to maintain social distancing and this enables me to see was student's screen when they have questions or concerns. I can still individualize as we can carry on a chat without other students being aware of a child's difficulties.

Pros

This software is easy to set up classrooms and the ability to monitor students' web usage. I did not realize you could even monitor web usage when students were virtual until this year. This was a big plus!

Cons

I have not delved too deeply as I just use it for easy monitoring of students. I wish it would not have set times for classes as trying to find individual students when they come in during study hall to work would make it even better!

December 2019

Daniel from Bradford County School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great product!

GoGuardian Teacher has been a great product and is loved by our teachers. They can choose to monitor or restrict Chromebooks. We use GoGuardian Admin to monitor Smart Alerts and track lost Chromebooks.

Pros

GoGuardian gives you the ability to easily manage your Chromebooks in the classroom. It allows our teachers the freedom to teach instead of monitoring devices.

Cons

There is not much to dislike. They recently added a feature to allow Admins to log in as teachers to troubleshoot issues. That was a previous complaint that has now been addressed.

Reasons for Choosing GoGuardian

GoGuardian allowed more control for the teachers and the platform was user friendly.

October 2019

joseph from PHCSE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Go Guardian one stop shop

Pros

I appreciate how easy it was to get up and running with full content filtering and device monitoring. THe ability to add and remove sites from the restriction lists is simple and intuitive. We also use the Teach classroom monitoring product that has made a sweeping difference in the classrooms .

Cons

the cost feels high when first deciding to use the products. but after using for a couple years i cant imagine a better implementation.

Reasons for Switching to GoGuardian

GG has better managment and content filtering options than lanschool offered.

October 2020

IRINA from Berlin Public Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

GG 4ever

it is pretty good. Great customer support as well, the CSRs are very friendly and helpful.

Pros

I like the ability to track user's activities to ensure their safety

Cons

I wish the company offered loyalty discounts. we have been using it since 2015 in our district

Reasons for Choosing GoGuardian

FERPA, CIPA, and COPPA compliant. works great with Google for Education

August 2020

Jessica from BHHS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Guard On!

Effective!

Pros

Easy to set up and use classrooms due to how it works with other programs.

Cons

I wish it had a few more features to make synchronous learning super simple!

Reasons for Switching to GoGuardian

Confusing, didn’t work well, not user friendly

March 2021

Dawn from Bay City Public Schools

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Keep Kids on Task

I can record every students' activity and have it set up to do so automatically. Very easy to use even without training. Best change to teaching in years.

Pros

This is the best software I have used in years. It is the number one tool to use with students in the classroom or remote. I can send them impossibly long urls with two clicks: no more running around to help them type it correctly. I can close their tabs, send a chat, and see what they see on their screens.

Cons

I cannot think of one thing I do not like about this tool. It has put control of technology in the hands of the teacher.

April 2019

Michael from Whitehall CSD

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

GoGuardian is an acceptably good solution with some weaknesses.

GoGuardian served our purposes right out of the gate. We needed a good filter for our 1:1 deployment, with hundreds of students suddenly now having the net at their fingertips. We had other firewall based solutions, but we needed more, and something we could rely on. GoGuardian had a social pricing scheme, more referrals cheaper pricing. This was a bit meh, but we pushed on, paying a pretty steep price. Initially the feature set was good, but between google, and GoGuardian, some features started dropping away, like screen shots, and more. Reporting features were not-existant. We could see what we wanted, but not get a quality looking printed view, without copy and pasting and doing a lot of work. (May have changed in the newest version). We voiced our displeasure and were given free months, and continued on. Eventually our account reps changed several times, and we were licensing subscriptions at a discount for lost features. We were offered previews of newer versions that were incomplete and unusable (nor fixed our issues). Before long we were getting sales calls from them trying to sell us a product we already license. After a couple years of issues we started shopping around, and eventually we found a solution that has our originally desired feature set.

Pros

GoGuardian is an excellent Chromebook filter. It provides a good set of rules, easy transparency, quick settings, and almost a brainless setup.

Cons

GuGuardian is highly priced. Features get pulled out for other side packages. The software has limitations that will come to light soon. Reporting features, while visible, are not good for printing either.

October 2019

Kearstyn from GGUSD

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Modern Panopticon

My school has only had this software for a few months but what a difference it has made; fixing a problem I suspected was there but had no idea the severity of. Even from a different classroom, I can keep on eye on my students’ online use to ensure they are using the internet safety and correctly.

Pros

This software is a game-changer. In today’s digital age and with how easy it is to find and do anything on the internet, GoGuardian is the Batman of the classroom: the silent sentinel who keeps watch over what the students click. Every day my students use their chromes for all sorts of reasons: research, typing a response for an assigned reading, taking AR quizzes, taking online tests, and more. In the past, I would catch glimpses of a student being on the wrong webpage or even cheating by looking up the meaning of the words they were being tested on. GoGuardian as stopped (or at least massively decreased) all of that distracting web surfing and cheating. I can easily click on a student’s name and see what webpage they’re on as well as their computer’s history to see if they had visited any site(s) they shouldn’t have. I can easily monitor the progress a student is making on their assigned writing without alerting them so they can’t just click out and claim innocence. With every student cautious and worried about being caught, this modern panopticon has prevented a lot of inappropriate content from reaching my elementary school students.

Cons

Thus far, there has been no noteworthy negativity. The software works well. It would be nice to view more than one student at a time but that’s more a wish than a con.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Top tier product for content filtering and classroom management

We've used GoGuardian Admin to filter our fleet of Chromebooks both on site and off. Our parents enjoy knowing that regardless of where the device is at, the students are still protected. The reports have been very useful in working through student discipline issues and justifying our 1:1 program to the BoE / community. We've used GoGuardian Teacher to help educators manage their classroom. Teachers are able to keep a better eye on what is going on during a lesson. They can redirect students that need it with ease.

Pros

GoGuardian is incredibly easy to install. There are two extensions that need to be pushed to your devices and then you're up and running. The interface for administrators & teachers is clean and intuitive. The application allows you to block websites by category or URL based on your organizational structure. For example, you can block some websites for younger learners while leaving them open for your older students. Teachers can see all the screens of students in the classroom from one dashboard. They can close tabs, lock screen, push websites out, etc. So many ways to help manage the classroom.

Cons

The issues we've experienced most related to the device itself. We've found that if a student isn't showing up in a teacher's classroom, a quick reboot of the student device will solve the problem.

September 2020

Brittany from Troy 30C

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Essential for 1:1 Districts

Pros

I love that I am able to view everything my students are doing. I love that I have the control and ability to close out any tabs which should not be open at a given time. Being able to send an announcement to all of my students at once is great when my class blocks end. I also LOVE the new features GoGuardian has created: audio calls and presentation mode. The reports at the end of each class are also amazing. You can see a timeline with what each student was doing at a given time and for how long. All of these features are a must during a normal school year, not to mention a remote one!

Cons

There are been some issues with the system status as of lately. With remote teaching right now this has essentially left me flying blind- especially when I cannot see my student's computers or see who is online.

May 2019

Bryan from Red Bluff Union Elem School District

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great solution for what we need

After searching and testing multiple other products, we implemented GoGuardian a few years back across our district, using the Admin and Teacher portals. The main purpose was to implement web filtering that we could control for devices going home, trying to keep students safe on the web in school and at home. We have been impressed with the system's features and functionality. If we have questions or issues, their support team is ready to assist with Fast response times. They provide easy to access training materials.

Pros

Over the years of use, many new features/upgrades have been release, at no additional cost to us. The support is great!

Cons

The price was pretty steep, until we negotiated lower pricing through our vendor. There are still some granular Admin permissions that are not yet available. But, I have been part of multiple brief one-on-one discussions or panels with GoGuardian reps, regarding adding these features and more.

May 2019

Greg from Calvary Christian Academy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Excellent web content filter for any environment

Being a private school, our parents love that we have a system in place that continues to filter off campus. The ability to create a dual policy that switches to a slightly relaxed mode off campus allows parents to feel secure and students some extra freedom when away from school.

Pros

We had used a competitors product for several years prior to switching to this one. I have found GoGuardian to have a much better track record with accurately filtering category based items. The interface, especially the 2.0, is much improved and allows you to quickly find what you're looking for. They are constantly adding and improving.

Cons

I have not found anything I dislike. There are small interface tweaks I would like to see, but these are trivial items. They do have a feature request board, and they do seem to implement the top requested items.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great Classroom Monitoring Tool

Over the past 4 years our district has been phasing out its Windows PCs and have gone with Chromebooks for classroom use. To date we have over 10,500 Chromebooks throughout the district with more than 9000 of those used daily. Being able to monitor them within a classroom setting has become critical. GoGuardian provided us with the tools necessary to make the PC to Chromebook switch successful.

Pros

It is an easy to use intuitive tool that provides a lot of classroom functionality necessary to keep kids focused in a digital world. Our teaching staff that use this product have nothing but good things to say about it. They enjoy being able to lock screens, view what students are watching, and look through history as needed to verify what a child had been doing during class time.

Cons

The only con for us so far has been the price. We looked at around 6 products prior to going with GoGuardian, and it was on the higher end.

Reasons for Choosing GoGuardian

It had all the functions we needed and more.

January 2020

Shana from Newport News Public Schools

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

GoGuardian Makes Guiding and Monitoring Student Work a Piece of Cake

I work with younger students who are new to the school system. There's a learning curve with technology as students must log into the computers, navigate to a website, log-in again, and complete work. The scenes feature of GoGuardian dramatically cut down on lost time as it auto-populates tabs for my students and they are able to get right to work. The scenes feature also allows me to limit students to a single website, which helps when they need to complete a certain number of minutes on a program per day/week. Overall, using GoGuardian has made my students more successful with what they are doing on the computers and reduced the amount of time off task (or lost time due to confusion over how to navigate). I've recommended it to multiple colleagues and helped them set it up with ease.

Pros

Instructional videos are easy to follow. Features are mostly intuitive. Multiple groups/classes can be monitored at once, allowing for greater flexibility. Scenes auto-populate tabs, reducing lost time as students figure out where to go.

Cons

Glitches are difficult to troubleshot, but seem to resolve on their own eventually. Does not prevent students from opening installed apps and getting off-task.

April 2019

Quenton from Hutsonville Schools

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Decent Product for Cost

Overall, the software works well for what it's worth, it has flaws but isn't bad at it's job to any extent, just generally lower quality from a interface standpoint.

Pros

It works well for day to day usage and gradually improves usability throughout the years. The alerts system is fairly decent at seeing issues and reporting them to the administration in the district. Customer service is very helpful and friendly.

Cons

Several components of the software do not work or otherwise have low functionality. The product was poorly transitioned over from an old interface to a the new, more user friendly one. This causes users to have to jump between old and new to manage the software which is a bit of an inconvenience.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great classroom management tool for schools on 1:1

I love using GoGuardian as a classroom management tool in my classroom; because our school is 1:1 with Chromebooks, misuse of the devices while students are online has been a challenge to overcome, and GoGuardian definitely assists in tackling that.

Pros

Ease of being able to monitor proper use of Chromebooks in my classroom without having to walk around the room and view actual screens. The ability to chat privately with students to get them on task as well as to lock their screens when needed is also a plus.

Cons

There have been some technical issues regarding logging in and accessing student screens from time to time, but these problems are received well by technical support and solved in a timely manner.

July 2019

David from Our Lady of Grace Catholic School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Eliminates Off-task tempations

Overall my experience has been great with GoGuardian! It really keeps students on task. Students are less likely to search for non-approved material knowing I have access to their timeline.

Pros

I love being able to restrict certain sites. I love being able to allow only approved sites for students to browse. This eliminates students getting off task and forces them to be only on approved sites. I also like the ability to screenshot student screens. If a student is on a questionable site, it's great to have proof in case problems arise. I also like the ability to look at a student's timeline.

Cons

I wish there was a way to block "unblocked" sites. Unfortunately some sites get through the system and appear to be google. Our tech savy students have figured out a way to play games that don't get blocked.

May 2019

Loyal from South Hamilton CSD

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Has great potential.

Mostly good. It is easy to install and mass push to students. It can give you a 24/7 review of all computer activities for the most part on the student Chromebooks.

Pros

It alerts us to inappropriate searches, monitors youtube, and other daily student activities. It has a great teacher interface to monitor their classrooms as well.

Cons

It is pricey for what it does. If they raise the prices one more time, we will drop them. You have to switch between two different user interfaces to get a complete look at student activities. They have a new admin 2.0 panel, but have not merged the full functionality of the old and new panel together yet. Not sure why?

May 2019

Mark from Marshalltown Community School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Great product!

GoGuardian had what we needed when we needed it and they keep getting better all the time. The smart alerts in particular has been able to provide us with information to get help to students that need help on multiple occasions.

Pros

GoGuardian was the first of it's kind to offer a "Chromebook only" cloud-based filter solution so that we could filter students on (only) Chromebooks at school and while they're home. They keep adding features that school and tech admins need and they're always updating their product to make it more user friendly and provide better performance.

Cons

Reporting - would love to have more customized reporting capabilities.

August 2019

Don from William S Hart Union High School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

GoGuardian

Students are getting more tech savvy with computers. GoGaurdian allows to spend more time teaching and less time dealing with students that are misusing technology.

Pros

This software lets me see the screens of my students' Chromebooks while I am at my computer. I can lock their screens and also push websites onto their screens. It ensures that students stay on task while working

Cons

It can be a little buggy. Sometimes when I "unlock" student screens so they can begin working again, several student's chromebooks remain locked and then I have to go back and give the command again. It's a minor inconvenience and the pros far outweigh the cons.

July 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2020

GG Review

Overall, the product has been good. I'm not the district decision maker for purchases, so my input, even when asked, was never taken into consideration. I thought another product may have serviced our needs better.

Pros

I like the ability to set up scenes that attempt to control the webpages that students have access to in the classroom. I also like the ability to screenshot what pages the students are engaged in if they are off-task.

Cons

I dislike the fact that there are too many work-arounds to where students can by-pass the GoGuardian protections. There are numerous videos on YouTube that show how to get around their software. I'm also not a fan of the "chat" feature in GoGuardian. Only being able to have canned responses is not effective when trying to communicate with a student subtly, in my opinion.

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Kevin from Ritenour School District

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A Must for One-to-One Schools

I cannot imagine how I would be an effective teacher without this (ever since we went one-to-one). In addition, their customer support has always been friendly and helpful.

Pros

It is always running, both at home and at school. It automatically sends alerts about any potentially harmful internet use. It allows teachers to help kids stay focused in class. It provides another way for teachers to show parents what their child is doing during class time.

Cons

I wish individual students could be put into different "scenes" at the same time, but that is just me wishing for an additional feature.

April 2019

Trevor from Liberty Center Local Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

K-12 School Must-Have

We have been with GoGuardian for three years and have had an enjoyable experience. They have helped save us many headaches that would have otherwise occurred had we not had them.

Pros

Ease of use - once set up, the information we get about student usage history, the ease of locking down custom filter policies, Smart alerts are a nice feature for tracking and being alerted to students more risky behaviors.

Cons

Sometimes sites would be categorized under a different category than one would expect. There is no "super-admin" access to GoGuardian teacher to oversee teacher classroom setups.

April 2019

Dillon from Cape Girardeau Public Schools

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

GoGuardian Review

Overall, I'm pleased with GoGuardain. Especially after getting past the learning curve with our teachers. I would recommend it to other schools that are need of 1:1 monitoring software.

Pros

For the teachers that use GoGaurdian to manage their classroom, it has a very easy and quick learning curve. When used properly, it works very effectively.

Cons

My biggest complaint with GoGaurdian is that as an IT Admin, I wish there was an administrator dashboard where I could edit/alter a teachers sessions. There are too many times that a teacher will have a sub, but will forget to unblock certain sites that their students need while they are away. The only way to get around this is to contact GoGuardian and ask them to edit the session.

April 2019

Sarah from Sheboygan South High School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Guiding Students to be Better Digital Citizens

Positive experience hands down! They are willing to listen to new ideas or improvements and are diligent when it comes to finding a solution to a problem.

Pros

Goguardian is a great resource to keep tabs on students without having to hover over a computer screen or their shoulder. You can set scenes to keep students academically honest and keep the integrity of the lesson while knowing that your student is paying attention to the task at hand.

Cons

There are some glitches, however, their customer support personnel reply within the hour of a request.

September 2020

Daniel from LLT Academy Tampa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Essential for 1:1

GoGuardian has been amazing as a tool in my classroom. Their customer support and outreach has been phenemenal. Not only does the GoGuardian team respond to my emails and requests, but they are happy to reach out for feedback and ideas for improvement. I love that the company interacts with their customers to help build a better product and experience.

Pros

GoGuardian's teacher end content managment is easy to set up and use. Class rostering is amazing simple with Google Classroom sync. I love the new video chat feature on GoGuardian Suite

Cons

N/A. I am totally satisfied with this product.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Natalie from Prairie du Chien High School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Amazing Teaching Software

GoGuardian has been a great program for our entire high school staff. Is allows us to limit screen time on sites we don't approve of, and keeps students aware and honest with the work they are doing.

Pros

GoGuardian makes it easy to assess in-class work. As a teacher I can filter what websites students have access to during my class period which ensures the work they submit is genuine.

Cons

The screens are not always updated frequently enough to get a "quick view" of what an entire class is doing. But, this is ameliorated when individual pages are opened.

May 2019

Mitchell from Indianola Community School District

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

GoGuardian is a teacher's saving grace for Chromebooks

GoGuardian has been amazing for our Middle School 1:1 program. Teachers can easily set up classes how they see fit. They can block all sites, except what the teacher wants them on. They can also keep it open, and just block things like games, youtube, etc. Administrators also get alerts for inappropriate activity. There is a feature called the "penalty box" which can be set up so they can only go on approved sites. This is a great deterrent for inappropriate use of the device. You can also have different settings at school and at home. This is nice if you want to block social media at school, but allow them to use it on their own time.

Pros

GoGuardian makes it easy to block sites and manage classes to keep students on task during the day.

Cons

Besides our middle school Chromebook 1:1 program, we also have 1:1 program with MacBook Air's. There is no good way to utilize GoGuardian for the Mac's in our environment. We have been told they are working on this though.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

GoGuardian Review

Overall GoGuardian does an amazing job of not only content filtering but general work when it comes to controlling technology in the classroom and making it a productive and effective expierence.

Pros

GoGuardian is the safety net we give our student Chromebooks at my school. We have this as a way to manage what our students can see even what they should be looking at during class and outside of class. It functions really well and has the features we need for structured tech time.

Cons

Everything seems to be really easy to set up and have working I do wish I could just set preferences as a teacher and then when I had students enrolled in my class those preferences were just applied to those students.

June 2019

Jana from San Marino USD

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Love GoGuardian!

GoGuardian helps with communicating directly with students without other students hearing because I can send the student a chat message.

Pros

We use GoGuardian to increase monitoring student 1:1 devices. Students and parents are aware that devices are monitored.

Cons

I want to be able to group certain courses together so that when I identify that a student is on/off task I want that learning in the app to apply to that entire group of classes so that the learning of the app is quicker.

December 2018

ANDY from south Arknasas Christian School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Works great!

GoGuardian has worked great for us. You will not even know it is there, unless you try to access a page that is off limits. If the page should actually be accessible you have an option to enter a password to allow access to it.

Pros

GoGuardian does exactly what it says it will do. It guards our chromebooks superbly and was not hard to get set up. It has many customizable settings that you can tweek to get the notifications you want. The reports are easy to read. Their support is great.

Cons

Sometimes it can be confusing trying to get everything set right. Once I locked everyone out of accessing the internet and had trouble figuring out what I did so I could change it bac.

May 2019

Todd from St Marcus Lutheran School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Easy to use and provides perfect filtering solution.

Filtering and monitoring our kids Chromebooks is much easier to do now with granular filtering by grade without difficult setup!

Pros

Easy setup - less than 15 minutes for initial setup but will require some tweaking beyond the defaults. Works everywhere a user is logged into a Chromebook or Chrome browser.

Cons

There are 2 admin interfaces and the "New" interface isn't as easy to use as the old one. There are several features like YouTube filtering that only sort of work.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

GoGuardian

Pros

I like the ease of use, the opportunity to send alerts, and the learning filter. With a filter that learns and adapts we can be more effective in the protection of students while they are online. This protection occurs while on and off campus with their District issued devices.

Cons

The Theft recovery has been an issue the entire time we have had the software. It is slow and doesn't seem to work as seamlessly as I would like.

February 2020

William from Claymont City Schools

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

GoGuardian - The Next Step for Classroom Evolution?

I really like GoGuardian and recommend it in addition to filtering software.

Pros

I really love that this software lets our teachers monitor what their kids are doing on their Chromebooks. For teachers to have instant access like that is important with 1:1 devices.

Cons

Some of the features are harder to set up for staff and often times kids screens will time out on the teacher's display for seemingly no reason.

May 2020

Lisa from Gaston Day School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great web filtering service for schools!

It's an easy to use web filter service and has worked very well for us as we transitioned to a remote learning environment. Staff find it easy to submit requests to have sites unblocked and the website itself is easy to work with.

Pros

This is an easy to use web filter tool for small schools that need to manage separate filters for different age groups. It is very easy to set up different profiles.

Cons

It is expensive. The fees to maintain our accounts are more than we expected and it's hard to negotiate once you already have the tool set up.

Reasons for Choosing GoGuardian

GoGuardian was cheaper.

Reasons for Switching to GoGuardian

cost

May 2019

Chad from Bondurant Middle School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great product for Teacher and Admin Monitoring

Pros

I love that I can see what each student is doing and open a direct monitored chat with that student when they are having issues or have questions. Very little to no interruptions of service.

Cons

So far, I have no dislikes. Any time I have had questions, the service team has been ready to answer and very helpful!

April 2019

Kevin from Tapestry Public Charter School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Comprehensive Suite

The fastest online support of anyone I have ever worked with. They just get this industry segment, and there is no typical "Did you try to Reboot" answers.

Pros

The Complimentary products in the GoGuardian Suite makes managing schools and grade levels simple while detailed and comprehensive.

Cons

The theft recovery option will yield very few results.

October 2019

Miranda from Crossroad Academy Charter School of Business

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

GoGuardian Review

I am enjoying it.

Pros

Ease adding scenes Google Classroom Integration Set Schedules

Cons

There are no cons for this product at this time.

Reasons for Switching to GoGuardian

The school made the switch

April 2019

Alexandra from Arkansas Arts Academy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Amazing resource for the classroom!

Pros

GoGuardian is incredibly easy to use as a teacher and it makes monitoring very simple. I can look and check in a couple of seconds what each of my students is doing, if they are on task and, if needed, close their tabs.

Cons

I don't think I would change anything. I love all the features!

May 2019

Tiffany from Buckeye Trail High School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great Product!!!

I have really enjoyed having Go Guardian as a tool this year. Using this along with the Google Suite has made interacting and sharing information with my students super easy and streamlined. The MVP club has also been a fun way to interact and learn more about the features. THANK YOU for creating an awesome experience!!!

Pros

I like that it provides me another way to discreetly interact with my students. I also like how it saves the student activity if it is needed at a later time.

Cons

The scheduling is very linear. We follow many different schedules through the year and it would be nice to have more options for scheduling (which I believe may be in the works as I type!)

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Best Chromebook Management System

GoGuardian is the best chromebook management tool.

Pros

The customer support is incredible. Any time I have a question or an idea they have real people talking with you.

Cons

It sometimes takes a while for new features to be implemented but they typically have very large updates over the summer.

April 2019

Brian from CTSD

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

GoGuardian

Pros

- Puts teachers back in control of technology usage - Allows for administrative involvement immediately when an issue is detected through SmartAlerts - Easy to digest data

Cons

- Multiple Admin panels (Admin 2.0 and Classic view) that contain different bits of information

April 2019

Logan from Loganville Christian Academy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Protection and Management in a Great Package

Pros

- Easy to use and manage - Offers various ways to manage and view user history and data - Smart Alerts help with the small details on things that we may not catch on

Cons

- Sometimes slow to adding new features, but when they're added it does it right the first time.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

GoGuardian Awesomeness

I LOVE GoGuardian! I was skeptical at first, as I thought my class was very well managed. The first day, I caught students off task and bullying another. This software is priceless.

Pros

I love that I can track, see, and redirect students to be more engaged and on task in the classroom. Even in the most engaging of classrooms, this software improves students on-task behavior.

Cons

I can't think of anything! Go Guardian is amazing!

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Excellent Product

Pros

GoGuardian is very simple to set up in the classroom. It allows for teachers in a 1-to-1 setting to be able to help students stay on task in the classroom.

Cons

When it comes to GoGuardian, there is nothing that I can complain about.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Valuable to Teachers

Pros

My teachers find GoGuardian helpful in classroom management and student engagement. They can easily view student Chromebook activity, whether in real time or after the fact.

Cons

So far, there haven't been any cons to speak of.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 104 reviews