All Tutor LMS Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Darien

Verified reviewer

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Tutor LMS is a very simple & easy to use Learning Management System

Overall, I'm still in the process of building the website that is using Tutor LMS, but have been incredibly impressed with everything Tutor LMS offers. The simplicity of the platform has made the setup very easy, which is incredible as it makes my life much easier.

PROS

Setting up Tutor LMS has been way easier than I ever expected - offering a simple install-and-it's-pretty-much-ready option. We are in the process of launching an e-learning platform for our church, and Tutor LMS has made the process way simpler than I would have ever expected - giving the ability for even tech illiterate people to create courses with only a little bit of training. While this free version does not compare with the added features of PRO, having a free version with this much versatility is incredible - anyone could very quickly setup a website, build a home page with basic info, and then drop Tutor LMS in and have a ready-to-use learning platform. Tutor also allows for paid courses, integrating very quickly with WooCommerce to allow for payment processing of courses.

CONS

Tutor LMS is very easy-to-use and offers beautiful pre-built templates for all Tutor LMS pages, however it does not offer much customizability for those pages (without perhaps extensive CSS coding). Fortunately this does not matter too much, as their pre-built template is very reminiscent of a Material Design 2.0 style, however it could be problematic for people who's web style does not match that of Tutor's.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

The reviews and free tier option that allowed me to use the product before making a purchasing decision

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

The free edition is near perfect for SMBs

The free edition is perfect for SMBs, couldn't face any bugs or technical issues since the deployment and the opensource community is of much support.

PROS

We used the free opensource edition and we were impressed about the easiness of integration with WordPress and ability to edit the source code to fit our need, in short: 1- Ease of integration. 2- Flexibility to be edited. 3- Free.

CONS

1- Lacks some of the major LMS features such as Evaluations, certifications, etc. (It's found in the paid edition of course) 2- No support for the free edition, but the opensource community is more than enough for us.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

1- Free 2- Easy to edit. 3- Easy to implement with WordPress and integrate with other opensource applications.

Reasons for switching to Tutor LMS

1- WizIQ used to be great, but started experiencing server issues which weren't resolved. 2- Poor technical support team who do not reply or do not resolve the issues.

Amy

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2021

Promising but does not live up to potential; support is awful

Awful. Misleading information. Unkind support. I couldn't even get help until I asked for a refund and left a 1-star review. Still no refund, even though they told me they never hold back refunds. They said they'd issue a refund if I get on a video call with their team lead between my local hours of 11PM and 6AM and if he can't fix all the issues I've had. I don't care if he can fix them. I don't support them anymore. I don't want to deal with them anymore. I moved to LearnDash, and it's just so, so much better.

PROS

I like the look of the software and the promise of so many integrations. The potential is what won me over. They promised full Gutenberg editor, integration with Elementor, quizzes, reviews, Woocommerce integration, and so much more. All the functionality and ease of use was so so promising. Too bad it didn't live up to any of that.

CONS

Most of the features and integrations Tutor LMS advertises are not true integrations. Gutenberg can only be used on the course home page. You canNOT use Gutenberg for lessons/quizzes/assignments. You have to use classic editor. It also was buggy for me, where any time I'd edit a lesson/quiz/assignment, everything that was already there would be deleted. When I asked support, they said it wasn't Tutor LMS's fault; it's my theme's fault. And that basically sums up my experience with support. Nothing is ever their fault, ever. Instead of making software that actually works with the giants like Elementor, Wordpress (it was a standard Wordpress theme), they say it's the giants' fault. The Woocommerce integration is also extremely buggy. If you just look at the support forums, there's always people asking about issues. I had so many issues with it, and support kept giving me conflicting advice (different support members told me to have a box checked, but others said to not have that box checked). When I brought it up when I left a 1-star review on the Wordpress plugin page, again it was not Tutor LMS's fault! They said, "We have a lot of new support team members, sorry." No sign that they'll make sure to train them better. Nothing. To sum up, what I hate the most about Tutor LMS is their attitude. They don't care about their customers at all. They don't care that the information they present is misleading. They just say, "Well, we're adding more functions to these integrations."

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2022

It is a good tool for entry level projects

I have developed a whole marketplace for courses, and the experience has been good, but sometimes the software lacks of some simple features that would improve a lot the experience for developers, instructors and students.

PROS

The platform is pretty nice, it does offer a good value for money, the Dashboard offered to browse into the different sections of any account is convenient, easy to use, and the course visualizer is nice.

CONS

It does not offer many ways to be easily customized. And there is a super drawback in the assessment capabilities when designing a course, there is no way to create a quiz without marks nor a poll. Those are must features when it comes to a course platform since many times instructors need to freely evaluate the students without applying any mark, or eventually, instructors need to consult students about the course itself.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

I found the Dashboard offered to be pretty convenient, and the course visualizer offered a nice experience.

User Profile

Saad Ahmed

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

A complete Learning Management System which is easy to understand and free to start selling courses

While working in a software development firm I installed this learning management system for several clients. And this is the first choice we offer to our clients because of its unique functionalities and extremely positive feedback from several clients in the education industry.

PROS

This is the most complete learning management system available for WordPress as well as for the mobile app. The best things about this LMS is that it integrates with Woocommerce and Elementor for free and it also integrates with the mobile app using RestAPI. Moreover, its premium version offers with a lifetime licence, as well as front end course development functionality. These all the capabilities of Tutor LMS make it a unique system that offer every thing required to start an online educational institution.

CONS

The system is so much complete that I cannot find any major problem with it. However, it can be more improved if it offers more shortcodes and front end course development for free.

Reasons for switching to Tutor LMS

Because it offers Woocommerce and Elementor integration for free

Danker

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

There are better LMS than Tutor

Overall, sofar it is a LMS with which I can work, for now, for the time being, but I will not recommend it, the system is not versatile enough. I am still looking for a better alternative.

PROS

It is easy to install once you're used to working with LMS.

CONS

Lacking quiz options. The quiz models that come with Tutor LMS Pro are very limited. The layout of the lessons online is confusing, not clearly delineated what is what, it's not really user-friendly. There are several bugs like overlapping texts that in fact should be side by side. Updating/ saving chzanges does not always work. If you're lucky, any changes are saved, but not always. Exporting quizzes is ok, but importing them fails: the csv files are distorted when importing them (comma problem), customer service is not able or not willing to fix it. Overall, customer service is horrible, unfriendly, unprofessional, unwilling to support.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

It was ready at hand. I would have preferred Moodle, but that is a bit too much for my tech knowledge, I need to delve into Moodle more

Mario

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

The Best Solution on LMS

i tried a lot of LMS, but tutor really is the best one, all my customers are happy with it .. and is easy to use.

PROS

they have a lot of plugins to add, it's a cheaper solution on the market, they have great support. if you are a developer it is the best option, they work with system overrides and if you are a normal user, you can choose from many templates, works with Elementor and is optimized for SEO

CONS

a single customer can't buy X qty of courses to share with their employees, so need to work / think more on b2b

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

payment integration, and posiblity to modify the certificates

User Profile

Islam

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2020

great lms to start ... not to end with

i see that tutor lms has a great functions library to start with, and a very bad UI design effect easy of use a small effort in design will change a lot.

PROS

this software has good advantages points but most of it for me as a developer is easy to develop, unlike other lms; tutor has cool documentation help me with edit classes , controllers and customize view , the ease to develop open the door to dozen function to be add as i have the great built in functions, that make me said that tutor lms is a greate lms to start with , if you have the right developer you can do any thing with it.

CONS

tutor lms has major disadvantage i believe they didnot consider appearance whene they bulid lms i mean what a bad look student dashboard have, they even forget to have breadcrumbs whick cost me nothing to add but that effect the overall image of lms.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

it easy to develop and customize

User Profile

Haradhan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Tutor LMS is only best solution for online learning management system with wordpress

My overall experiance was truely Great With Tutor LMS and again i say that this is best and unbetable Learning management solution available for Wordpress. So if you finding any solution for Selling online cources on your won platfrom so Tutor LMS is my recomended choice.

PROS

Without any complication we easily manage online cources on our website it's very smooth way to reach the target. As we wish we easily sell any cources from our website portal. From wordpress wide dashboard we check our sales information and it's compactiable with woocommerce. That's why payment collection was now more easy from any source almost we collect cource fees without any hassle.

CONS

Tutor LMS is very simple system for developer and for Users it's too much easy to use for everyone.Just required to install Tutor LMS plugin from wordpress dashboard this plugin automitaclly create everything for us. This plugin working properly with almost every popular themes and page builde. Lot's of castomization option also available so I like everything about Tutor LMS.

User Profile

Chandril

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Worth a shot but with reservations

I am confused if the PRO is substantially different from FREE. Because I paid $599 and now am struggling to convince myself that PRO is different from the FREE but it's not really that big of a different. Or if I might say...if you are a beginner like me then go for FREE...not PRO. Pro is just few additional features which are often useless to me at least.

PROS

I loved the UI. It looks good to the customers/students. Looks more professional than many other options. Plus, it's on Lifetime Deal right now.

CONS

The customer care is OKish. I mean not as prompt as you would like. The live chat is mostly for pre-sales queries. Once you buy the product they will not entertain you. They will ask you to email them and wait for days to get their reply. If you are in rush then god save you. Implementation is not easy at all. So, customer care is much required. They have some documentation and few old videos on Youtube but I think they should create more tutorials teaching their latest updates. BTW the refund is not "NO QUESTIONS ASKED" and they will ask you a lot of questions if you ask for refund. I am concerned that once my refund period is over they might not address my issues as promptly.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Tutor LMS para gestión académica

Es un muy buen gestor de contenido académico y de procesos de aprendizaje.

PROS

Facilidad de Implementación y manejo del contenido académico y de aprendizaje.

CONS

Dificultad para personalización de las características del complemento, esto mejoraria para la presentación de contenido.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

Recomendación personal.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2024

Administrando la plataforma Educativay de Aprendizaje

PROS

Al ser un componente de fácil implementación en la plataforma de wordpress. Brinda la facilidad en la gestión de cursos, desde creación, desactivación.

CONS

Su dificultad de personalización de diseños y colores, que seria ideal al presentar contenido educativo y los cursos.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

La facilida de Implementación en la plataforma de base de Wordpress.

Nabila

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

You can literally build a Udemy Clone with Tutor LMS

I have thoroughly enjoyed the UX of Tutor LMS and the amazing details you get with this plugin. The course creation process is not only made easier but very well organized. You can create professional sites and not have any issues whatsoever. Moreover, they have great customer support who have helped me with any query I have had so far.

PROS

There are so many features in Tutor LMS that are really good. I particularly enjoy the frontend course builder which I have not seen in any other LMS. It helps me create courses on the go and see how it looks live. Instructors in my eLearning site can also create courses on the frontend without depending on any admin. The process is made so much easier and efficient with Tutor LMS frontend course builder.

CONS

Although the LMS is quite new in the market, they're still missing a few features like the content drip.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2021

Unsatisfactory Customer Service

Not good. Very displeased.

PROS

The product is not bad for the price however it is priced at the top end for similar versions of the functionality. The plugin is also littered with bugs. The support is slow, has email send and receive issues and also has no ticketing system on their site which makes support virtually impossible. We have since deleted this plugin and moved to an alternative.

CONS

Bugs in the plugin and terrible support. We lost time and money with administrators losing content uploaded to the courses. Very annoying.

Reason for choosing Tutor LMS

Just to try it out. We wish we hadnt.

Tomas

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

The most versatile plugin for online education

Perfect! That is why we have been used for a long Time

PROS

Easy to install and easy to use.There is no long learning period.In one afternoon you can understand all the secrets of the program

CONS

It does not have a system to deactivate courses when a certain time passes

User Profile

Ngalla

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

Tutor LMS for any learning websites

Amazing

PROS

Tutor lms has been far the most easy to use and implement learning management tool. It integrates well with other softwares like MailChimp and buddypress.

CONS

I have had many people complain about redirects on the plugin. Also takes time to send emails.

Charity

Consumer Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed April 2023

Plug in buggy

I am not a happy customer.

PROS

The course builder is easy to use and have so many features.

CONS

I just purchased a license and while building my website I got locked out and could not log back in. I keep getting an endless maintenance mode message. Also, the mockup courses won't delete .

Philip

Animation, 51-200 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: