All Solid Edge Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Best to create engineering designs.

The solid edge helps us to design our products in 2d and 3d. We use solid edge for doing calculations and analysis of the design.

PROS

The solid edge is a engineering design software which helps to create drawings of parts and assemblies for the production. We can create design in 2d and can do analysis of the design to avoid errors during production. They have a great customer support if we hav any issues.

CONS

No issues were found in our use. But the user interface need to be improved.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for your honest review on your experience with Solid Edge! It is great to hear that our platform has been so great to help you with your 2D and 3D designing. We will work to continue developing our platform to continue to give you a great experience.

Replied February 2022

Peter

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Great CAD software

I can quickly provide customer solutions, with great quality 2D drawings, 3D models, Video fly-throughs, machine animations, stress and displacement analysis and reverse engineering. This software is critical to my business.

PROS

Solid Edge delivers great results quickly and design changes are very simple. The user interface is simple and clean and you do not need to sort through a hundred buttons to find the function you need. The software is great at importing and exporting other CAD formats. The drawing options are very good and quality drafts are produced in very little time. The software is more powerful and stable than some other brands and the support staff in Australia is fantastic.

CONS

The software installation and updates are a big drama and require technical assistance every time. When a new version comes out I need to allow at least a day before I will be operating again.

Reason for choosing Solid Edge

I found at the time of purchase that Solid Edge had the best sheet metal design tools.

Reasons for switching to Solid Edge

User interface and compatibility with other CAD brands.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2019

Solid Edge ST3 Review

Just being honest with ST3 version, there was just to many bugs. It can’t process to many features or large assemblies. This caused so much lagging. I once waited 10 minutes just to turn a DFT file into a pdf because I wanted color. I shouldn’t have to choose between color and time. Just my opinion. I wouldn’t be to proud of using this software year.

PROS

Okay so just to say, this is for the ST3 Version I used to had. Not the new up to date version I now have, ST9. ST3’s strong point was definitely it’s ability to help our manufacturing shop with sheet metal work. I could make a complicated sheet metal part with good accuracy. With sheet metal factors are always causing problems, this software excells in that area.

CONS

Okay so, when I used the software, the thing that absolutely really bugged me the worst when I was creating an assembly in the “ordered environment” all my features and assembles were based off my parent sketch. As you know, things changed in designs. Well when I change/update my sketch, my assembly would either not change with it, or more commonly, it would just blow up. This would cause me to seriously have to update it manually, hours of work. This happened with large assemblies. (12 or more parts)

Vendor Response

Hello, sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you are facing. The bugs and your problems should have been resolved with our current version.

Replied July 2021

Ever

Airlines/Aviation, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Very intuitive and easy to use

PROS

The tools are really easy to find and the visual hints helps a lot. The interface is very intuitive

CONS

It uses more computational resources than other applications but it is worth it

Reasons for switching to Solid Edge

Because solid edge it is being used more and more in the industry

Vendor Response

Ever, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! As the industry shifts we are glad that your shift to using our platform has proved beneficial for your creations.

Replied January 2022

User Profile

Hiran

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

A good mechanical design software tool with 3D Modelling and assembly.

A PLM software where a user can build an accurate CAD models.

PROS

The User is allowed to do geometry constraint while sketching. The measurement standard can be selected before creation of the sketch. Recording option is helpful to make a video of the workspace. 3D drawing is easily done. 3D model drafting into 2D sheets are done easily with all detailed views. Intelligence in selection of line is helpful when there is difficult in selection of line in sketch.

CONS

We need to purchase the software from a reseller. Customer support need to improve problem-solving skill. The software doesn't run smoothly in a low configured workstation. User interface need to be improved. The software should not proceed for next design steps if there is error in sketching.

Vendor Response

Dear Hiran, thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear, that you like the drawing tools within Solid Edge . If your are an active student, we offer a student edition with a license that does not expire as long as you're an active student. Here is the link: https://www.siemens.com/solid-edge-student

Replied July 2021

User Profile

JongHoon

Verified reviewer

Military, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2023

The Review of Solid Edge

It's a helpful program for both beginners and experts because it's incredibly simple, quick, and easy to create with.

PROS

The software efficiently designs and models components and assemblies, and it operates quickly and smoothly. Solid Edge is simpler to use and learn to use when compared to other CAD software.In order to prevent mistakes during production, we can generate designs in two dimensions and analyze them. If we have any problems, their customer service is excellent.The drawing options are excellent, and quick, high-quality sketches are created. The support team in Australia is excellent, and the software is more robust and stable than some other brands.The finest CAD software for beginners is Solid Edge because of its user-friendly interface and simple-to-understand functionality. You can create 2D to 3D designs with ease.

CONS

The thing that definitely truly bothered me the most when using the software was that all of my features and assemblies were based off of my parent sketch when I was constructing an assembly in the "ordered environment." As you are aware, designs have changed. My assembly would either not change when I updated or changed my sketch, or, more frequently, it would just explode up. I would have to update it manually, which would take hours of labor. This occurred during sizable assemblies.

Vendor Response

JongHoon, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! Hopefully Solid Edge 2023 updates has addressed your previous concerns.

Replied April 2023

User Profile

Revanth

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Easy and User friendly Mechanical CAD Software

As for me It didn't long to learn basic design stuff, because its interface and features are simple yet advanced. 2D documentations, 3D part modelling or Part Assembling, all are quite good and Easy to perform.

PROS

Solid Edge is Simple yet Advanced CAD Software, It is best for beginners because its interface is simple and features are also easy to learn. You can easily Perform 2D to 3D designs. The software runs smooth and fast with effectively designing and Modeling parts and Assemblies. When Compared to other CAD Software, Solid Edge is more easy to use and learn. Their is no doubt with ability of Modeling Features, So Solid Edge is a good Choice.

CONS

More Advanced features are to be introduced which we might see in NX, Catia etc.. I am specially interested in More advanced Assembly mate features, i wanted a Complicated Gear chain mechanism mate assembly, it was quite difficult to assemble it.

Vendor Response

Hey Revanth, thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear that our software has been easy to use and to learn. Regarding your complicated gear chain mechanism mate assembly, perhaps the tutorial I have linked below could further assist you in your efforts. https://solidedge.siemens.com/en/resources/tutorials/. Feel free to also check out this video about Solid Edge Assembly. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSK2YJi1q7M&list=RDCMUCYR5Kgzn6suihs56iJ8_vfw&index=9

Replied July 2021

Khaled

Plastics, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

easiest 2D 3D CAD , assembly and standard parts program

I used solid Edge for more 15 years it is best CAD Drawing software

PROS

what is best and easy i like it in solid Edge is 2D drawing cad tools , 3D tools , Selecting plane and surface and assembling

CONS

I dislike error message without troubleshooting or giving more information to solve

Reason for choosing Solid Edge

because it is easy

Alaa

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Very good 3D model from great Company

Solid Edge is the best solution for those who use Siemens devices.

PROS

Solid Edge has many good things like user-friendly and having a wide range of functions, but it actually I most liked was the integration with Siemens peripheral tools

CONS

Solid Edge has a limitation with file types.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Solid Edge

Very useful for making 3d parts for another distributions in Engineering.

PROS

Very useful and good for engineers. Making 2d and 3d drawings.

CONS

Sometimes few bugs with saving drawing (2d) on pdf.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! We´re glad you find it useful. Your comments about the bugs will be communicated to our development team.

Replied January 2022

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2019

Useful 3D designing software for basic designing

As a freelancer I have used Solid edge for sheet metal designing and the features are very impressive and helpful. It allowed me to design any given model in no time. Recommended for designs with less designing and simple sheet metal designs.

PROS

1. Easy to learn 2. Designer with basic designing knowledge can grasp the features of software quickly 3. Assembly of CAD models is easier and convenient as compared to other softwares 4. Very fast software which helps in quicker designing of models.

CONS

1.3D to 2D converter is moderate with few features missing in comparison with other softwares of this caliber. 2.Supported file formats are also no great in comparison with other softwares 3. User interface with menus are a little too cramped up and completely user friendly

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review of Solid Edge. We are happy to hear, that Solid Edge is suitable for your sheet metal design efforts. We are working on more features, supported file formats and interface improvements. Check out our latest version, it addresses most of your cons: https://solidedge.siemens.com/en/. Perhaps this tutorial helps you convert your 2D drafts into 3D models: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwMGdS1SYDg

Replied July 2021

Krupal

Design, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

My personal review on working with Solid-edge

PROS

User friendly, easy to use especially in the mechanical transformer field, I used to use this software for making enclosure of transformers. Mechanical design is very easy to understand. We can connect this to excel and make modifications accordingly.

CONS

Takes time to open, some errors are unrecoverable.

Vendor Response

Krupal, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! We will continue to keep the platform as user friendly as possible and continue providing a platform that you enjoy using for your mechanical design efforts.

Replied January 2022

Chanderkiran

Automotive, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

How to select Engineering Design and Manufacturing software?

I have used for simple to mid level of designing mainly. For high end desiging I moved to Unigraphics. Solid Edge was very easy to create assembly manuals for servicing, prodcut catralogs etc. It is a excellent tool for creating individual components of a complex assembly.

PROS

Solid Edge is reasonablly priced software. It has excellent integration with next high end software called Unigraphics. Hence designing using a easy interface of Solid Edge one can take the same data into Unographics for advance functionalities like creating digital manufacturing data, high end analysis, live simulation, Aesthetic presentation.

CONS

It lacks few surfacing functionalities. It the 3D solid model becomes large it demands hgiugh resources to function properly.

Reason for choosing Solid Edge

basically we were looking for a mid range prodcut which had direct connectivity with Unigraphics. We wanted to avoid converting data to be carried over to high end software like Unigrapghics, Catia or Pro-E.

Vendor Response

Chanderkiran, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! We're so excited that we have been an asset in your design process and the ease of use with Unigraphics have helped you. For further help with the surfacing portion please refer to this tutorial as it may be of some interest for you: - https://support.industrysoftware.automation.siemens.com/training/se/en/ST5/pdf/spse01560-s-1050_en.pdf

Replied January 2022

User Profile

Joel

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Solid Edge for CAD Designs for Engineers and More

I am able to evaluate designs for performance, safety, and durability using simulation and analytical tools.

PROS

Solid Edge enables real-time project collaboration amongst teams, enabling teammates to work on the same file at once.

CONS

Although Solid Edge is user-friendly, it can take some time to become proficient with all of its features and functions.

Vendor Response

Joel, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! It is great to hear that you're able to take advantage of the many features of Solid Edge.

Replied April 2023

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

3D Modeling Application

it can be used as a full solution for modeling and machine design containing modeling, simulation and animation.

PROS

it is very good in 3D modeling for machine design and part drawing. Also it can be used for simulation and stress analysis which is very good feature that add to the value of the application.

CONS

2D drawing is not good. I think it is specialized in modeling so it is not concerning the civil drawing and 2d drawings.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! It is great that we can assist in the creation of full solutions for modeling and machine design. Please refer to this link for a quick tutorial on 2D drawing that could hopefully improve your experience using it: - https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/data_services/resources/se/107/help/en_US/selfPacedExt/sbddadr/index.html

Replied January 2022

Tomasz

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Delaval user-Production engineer

I use it every day. So far, I have not encountered any serious problems in operation.

PROS

The software is easy to use, very intuitive, even if you switch from another programming. A lot of options that facilitate fast drawing.

CONS

Some options could work better. For example, cutting several shapes at once in the model - when using the cut tool. Maybe I don't like it because I used to work with other software before and it worked differently.

Reasons for switching to Solid Edge

I changed jobs, we are now using Solid Edge in the new job

Vendor Response

Tomasz, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! We're glad to hear that your switch to Solid Edge has been an easy transition for you.

Replied April 2023

Ramon

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Great starter CAD program

It was my first step into CAD, and while it was tough to do anything at first, I came away from it with the ability to make all sorts of ideas come to life on my screen. This is a good tool for anyone who needs to get into CAD.

PROS

You can create custom parts in solid edge and have them made and shipped to you with all sorts of different materials to choose from. If you know what you are doing, you can design things of incredible complexity by stringing together part files.

CONS

There is definitely a learning curve, as with any CAD program, and it is going to take time for a beginner to learn how to manipulate things the way that they want to. For example, it took me a long time to figure out how to make a wire that corkscrews around a curved line, and none of my teachers knew how to so I ended up getting somewhere close to what I wanted after watching countless videos on it.

Vendor Response

Dear Ramon, thank you for choosing Solid Edge as your first CAD tool. Our Tutorials might help you to move forward using Solid Edge and to learn about all the integrated features. I have included the link in here: https://solidedge.siemens.com/en/resources/tutorials/

Replied July 2021

Scott

Mining & Metals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Best All Round 3D Software that you can own outright

Solid edge in my opinion would be more successful if they lowered the price slightly, offered a 2 year free maintenance period, and then ask you as new features come out about a 1 off fee. There are lots of small businesses who would prefer to own the software.

PROS

I own it. Yes it needs a maintenance fee for upgrades, but if i had no intention of ever upgrading the software then there are no ongoing fees. Inventor is a 365day user license. I am not a fan of those programs.

CONS

If you do want to upgrade from say ST8 to ST11 or some thing like that, they make you pay the maintenance fees for the years you didn't use it. That to me is outrageous. They should treat you like a new customer and just pay a one off new software fee.

Reasons for switching to Solid Edge

This program allowed me to import more options.

Vendor Response

Scott, thank you so much for your honest review of your Solid Edge experience! Your concerns will be communicated with the product development team.

Replied April 2023

Sudipto

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY