All OpenShift Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Praveen Kumar

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Openshift: Best tool and software to manage the containers.

We are very happy with the Openshift and features that they offer to the container application deployment and security.

PROS

It's very easy to manage the container applications and issues related to them like container image scanning and the securities related to them before the production deployment.

CONS

Not much resource is available in the market who are expert in the container application security in market.

Reason for choosing OpenShift

Openshift is very powerful and effective product from Red Hat. Red Hat created the c groups and namespace, they are expert in the containerised application software and they offered an incredible support when it comes to OpenShift and container security.

Reasons for switching to OpenShift

Apache Mesos was not very powerful in managing the up-growing of number of containers in the organisation.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Perfect Container Orchestrator

It solved our use case of transitioning from monolith to microservices.

PROS

If you have microservices use case and have following questions like How to scale my services? How to monitor my services? How manage deployment? How to make services resilient to failures? Answer to all the above questions is Openshift. As it eases the pain of development and there is solution available to a known services deployment issue already. Integration of our existing services was smoothly done.

CONS

We didn't face any major issue while implementing or changing our deployment strategy for microservices. However as a developer I think there are many parts that one needs to understand to get going. But I don't think that as an issue. All tools have some learning curve and Openshift is no different.

Reason for choosing OpenShift

It is backed by Redhat. We already have Redhat Products everywhere in our organization so it was a natural choice. Not just that even comparing with similar tools it provides more and same features.

Reasons for switching to OpenShift

It takes quite a bit of effort to setup spring cloud and we wanted to come out of that zone. Openshift by default provides all the features and more we were using with Spring cloud.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Container Orchestration Made Easy

PROS

- Openshift UI to easily deploy, scale and destroy pods. - Has Kubernetes features - Support for public and private cloud deployments

CONS

Sometimes deployments/pods get stuck and are not deleted even after multiple retries.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2021

Openshift - had to leave for Linode due to the forced and abrupt move from Openshift v2 to v3

It was an excellent product, Red Hat's management and treatment of users is the problem.

PROS

Openshift v2 was an excellent product that I couldn't fault at all, in fact I really really liked it. The problem came when Red Hat wanted everyone to move from v2 to v3 and gave very short notice and a very short timeline. Version 3 was completely different, based on containers.

CONS

As stated above, the real problem with Openshift is the way Red Hat forced everyone to move from v2 to v3 in a ridiculously short time. Documentation for migration was useless, I tried to migrate using it - it all failed. I could not trust Red Hat again after that experience, so I moved to Linode and have never looked back.

User Profile

Marco

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Starting a new era in software architecture

PROS

Easy to use, full of useful feature. It make easy and valuable migration to innovative achitecture based on containerized approach. You can use a community edition (Openshift Origin) or chose the RED HAT edition. Based on Kubernetes. Fully integrated with many other useful tool for monitoring and manager the full software cycle, until the deploy.

CONS

Documentation is still poor. Not so fast in receive support from community. Security aspect need to be better debeate.

User Profile

Naveen

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Best Environment for deploying applications

Easy to deploy and manage the applications in Redhat Openshift container

PROS

I am using Redhat Openshift container since 1 1/2 years and i really loved since deploying and monitoring the application is very easy when compare to deploying the application in traditional app servers like Tomcat

CONS

Pricing for enterprise is bit costly when compare with Amazon web services (AWS).Also engaging Redhat support team to troubleshoot the issue is very difficult

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

good tool for deploy your application.

it's a great tool for deploying your application and creating many resources like LB, config map, secrets etc. You can easily learn full Kubernetes by working with this tool.

PROS

you don't need to work in CLI, it has a great GUI and it provides high security for your resources.

CONS

It's too expensive for the normal company or person you want learn.

User Profile

Marcelo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

OpenShift Is A Good PaaS Platform

PROS

One of the best PaaS platforms that I've used. I've sent an Java application there and I had a best experience. It works with Java, Ruby and more. Eclipse extension works very well with OpenShift. But the free plan have some limitations. And the OpenShift is very good if you're learning about Java containers and how it works.

CONS

Free plan is not too good and it has some limitations.

Ankit

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed January 2016

OpenShift - Best platform for developers

I have been using OpenShift for more than 2 years now. I have seen lot of improvements in Openshift and it's getting better and better. The most important thing is that it provides a lifetime free account which can be used as a hands on over OpenShift. Most important, you can attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. Openshift works using gears and cartridges. It has now lots of cartridges available and you can also create new custom cartridge.

PROS

1. Free lifetime account with 3 small gears. 2. You can add multiple cartridges in a single gear. 3. attach your own domain to your application, even on free account. 4. Support deploy on git push

CONS

1. You can sudo login to your gear, but you can always contact customer care they will handle such situation.

User Profile

Amado Alexis

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Ready to use PaaS service!

PROS

Really like the easy to deploy and use the PaaS services on IBM Cloud. The self-management make it easier for developers. I really like the good integration with IBM Cloud Paks.

CONS

A problem is that you can shut down the services, so you are not charge. If you have a disaster recovery scenario with Openshift on IBM Cloud, you can't stop the compute charging.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

openshift through the eyes of a machine learning engineer

In general, I have not used kubernetes through the user interface and it can be said that it provides a lot of ease of use. But the bugs that I had experienced from time to time were quite annoying and it was quite bad that there was no solution.

PROS

I've used gcp, eks and aks before. When I compared them by looking at them, it was very useful that I could load and edit yamls on a user interface of its own.

CONS

Since it uses old versions of kubernetes, you may encounter interesting bugs.

Ignacio

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Application Development is fairly easy although you will need to read documentation

PROS

It's fairly easy to use when it's well set up by the administrators. Documentation is very complete. Creation and management of volumes and persistent volumes. Pod log is fairly useful for debugging.

CONS

Secrets management need more user-friendly editing. Large amount of pipelines in the same project makes it hardly manageable. Pod log randomly skips entries.

Vikas

Banking, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Openshift - move from legacy to cloud and kubernetis

PROS

ease of Deployment ease for monitoring the logs build management Config validation

CONS

Monitoring is poor logs are not accesible directly for real time , only first n number of lines are visible

Alihan

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

Boost my development speed

PROS

Container orchestration platforms overall increased my development speed and agility. However Openshift can be considered as premium class of the sector of orchestration platform providers. Its unique developer experience and ease of use differentiates itself from other platforms.

CONS

Actually I liked it all about the software

User Profile

Muhammed Emin

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great business solution for cloud deployments

Happy to use such an abstractive layer on top of Kubernetes and use cloud deployment strategies with less hassle.

PROS

It is great to have Kubernetes functionality with a professional support and frequent updates. Multitenancy at best.

CONS

It sometimes can be very difficult to debug and manage. Deployment changes can be tricky that you spent hours to resolve.

Burak

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Easy to use, recommended

PROS

It is a system that is easy to use, capable of changing capacity in case of need, or even automatically.

CONS

We are having problems with GPU sharing.

Yusuf

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Great for horizontal scaling

PROS

Ease of deployment and management of Kubernetes cluster. Very comfortable service and route management.

CONS

Not having a gpu scheduling option for machine learning models.

Jorge

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

OpenShif opened Kubernetes to the masses

Openshift made it possible for us to setup a complete docker orchestration solution in an effortless way, including an amazing CI/CD pipeline which basically automates everything.

PROS

* Very simple to setup and configure * Friendly user interface * Great dashboards * Broad set of integrations * Large collection of guides and tutorials

CONS

* Monitoring could be improved * Troubleshooting can be tricky, as it's not always easy to find out exactly what's going wrong

Reason for choosing OpenShift

OpenShift is a lot easier to setup, adapt, operate and monitor than plain Kubernetes.

Nikola

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY