All Bitwarden Reviews

1-25 of 162 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Renato

Retail, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2022

Password management

User Profile

Elisabetta

Verified reviewer

Apparel & Fashion, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Securely Manage Your Passwords with Bitwarden: The Ultimate Password Manager Solution

Bitwarden has a user-friendly interface and is easy to use across multiple devices and platforms. It also has a free version with many of the same features as the paid version. Although Bitwarden has an open-source codebase, it is a closed-source product, which means that some users may be concerned about transparency.

PROS

Bitwarden is a highly secure password manager that uses end-to-end encryption to protect your sensitive data. It offers a range of features, including password generation and auto-fill, secure note storage, and two-factor authentication.

CONS

While the free version of Bitwarden is feature-rich, some advanced features, such as secure file storage, are only available with the paid version. Some users have reported occasional glitches or bugs in the software, but these issues are generally quickly resolved by the Bitwarden team.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

1Password is a paid software, which means that some users may be deterred by the cost. While the user interface is generally user-friendly, some users have reported that it can be a bit overwhelming, especially when first starting out.

User Profile

Alson

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

The best free password manager out there

It's easy to use, easy to onboard with such an important feature (password management) and at the same time extremely cost-efficient.

PROS

BitWarden is free, and has the ability to allow you to self-host it in your own premises. This is a feature a lot of password managers do not give. It's usually either local or on their cloud. Bitwarden is the only one that allow you to host it locally on-premise.

CONS

The UI is a little dated and not as polished. Using it is also a little bit wonky, having a separate plugin and the standalone software is a bit confusing too.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

1Password is a paid software, Bitwarden is free.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass had security breaches in the past that were quite serious. Also, BitWarden has more free features.

Charles

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Good tool for passwords across different platforms

Moved from LastPass which became paying. Bitwarden has similar features for free but not as user intuitive.

PROS

Syncs passwords across Windows and Android devices, easy to create new passwords, secured on Android by finger print

CONS

Sometimes end up with multiple entries for the same site, name of site copied by bitwarden is not always accurate, doesn't auto fill always

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Became paying only for multiple operating systems

Veona

Chemicals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

BITWARDEN: THE MASTER OF PASSWORD MANAGEMENT

Bitwarden is a long term solution for password Synchronization and management as well as an excellent tool to improve overall cloud data security.

PROS

Bitwarden takes password management to a whole new level. It unapologetically eliminates all the headaches of having to remember hundreds of password. Once I create/generate a unique and strong master password, my job is to keep it in a safe and remember it then the rest of the passwords are secured through its advanced security features such as access/permission control, password encryption, cloud data security, 2F authentication among others. Additionally, it automatically saves login credentials for all my online accounts and services such that when I want to access a particular website it auto-fills the login fields and I don't have to manually type the credentials each an every time I need access.

CONS

Bitwarden satisfies my passwords management needs, I've not encountered any downsides.

User Profile

Nir

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Simple and reliable

Overall I'm pretty satisfied. It allows me to keep separate containers per client and the ability to wipe details as I don't need them anymore. Easily generating passwords etc.

PROS

Login notifications are welcome. iOS extension built in and works pretty well, although not as accurately recognizing URLs as the native extension.

CONS

The interface can be clunky and some keyboard shortcuts can be added. For example easily editing or replacing a password. It seems like a webapp packaged in a container, rather than a native macos app.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

price performance and recommendation

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

I lost mobile access all of a sudden so decided to make the switch.

Brian

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Very solid and configurable

Overall, very happy with Bitwarden as a product and have always received great support from them.

PROS

The availability on virtually every platform is very welcome. The ability to configure many things is useful.

CONS

The interface has never been given much love, and has never really changed. It's very utilitarian, and not always intuitive. I think it could be friendlier.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

KeePass is a great product for an individual, but not really useful when needing to share and sync passwords.

Ryan

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Bitwarden Password Manager

Excellent. Much better than my experience with my previous product.

PROS

The ability to use multiple devices and the Autosave & Autofill feature of the Chrome extension.

CONS

The incomplete version of the Android application, given that it does not suggest logins for every application, which requires me to open the Bitwarden application and copy the credentials from it manually.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass' free tier does not allow using multiple devices, which is critical for me.

User Profile

Edwyn

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Once I knew about this LastPass alternative, I never tried any other alternative!

My experience has been awesome since day one I tried it! The transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was done very quickly and just like that I switched to this one without any issues, also I get used to the UI/UX very quickly, as iin any case t isn't difficult to understand it either. I highly recommend this tool!

PROS

This is the best alternative for LastPass I've ever found and I love the fact that it is open-source! After LastPass changed their terms for Free users I started to see for similar tools as an alternative that would fit my needs, then I started to saw a lot of opinions and reviews over the internet, so I tried it and immediately loved it! Also the transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was very smooth and quickly! After 2 mins all of my passwords were imported successfully to Bitwarden, I highly recommend this one!

CONS

Probably the UI/UX could improve a bit more, other than that this product is awesome! Actually, a refreshed UI/UX would just be a plus, as the service itself totally worth it!

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass changed their terms for Free users, these new terms were very limited for Free users so I decided to seek for a Free alternative and from there I totally love Bitwarden.

User Profile

Ho'omana Nathan

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

The best password manager I've used by a wide margin

I use Bitwarden many times a day, every day, for various applications (password generation, storage, filling, etc), and it just works for every application. Can't recommend it strongly enough!

PROS

Bitwarden has a clean interface, it's super simple to use, it's open-source, it's free, it never tries to pressure you into upgrading, it syncs beautifully across all kinds of devices, and it integrates great with Android's autofill feature.

CONS

I have no complaints at all about Bitwarden. So far, there's nothing I don't like.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass worked well, but recently started requiring Premium in order to use it on multiple devices. Bitwarden has the same functionality for free.

Rakawi

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Current Best Password Manager

Bitwarden does what it sets out to do really well as a password manager. Being open-sourced means greater security as anyone can check the codes and report any potential issues, bugs or exploits. This is really important as you have to trust the software to keep your valuable information safe and sound, something not all of its competitors can provide.

PROS

Bitwarden is an open-sourced password manager that lets you remember and manage the many different logins you have. It lets you generate complex passwords that are difficult to guess even for other computers, which means greater account security and in the event that one of your password does get leaked, none of your other accounts will be compromised since you should already be using different passwords for different sites.

CONS

The greatest hassle of using Bitwarden is that you'll need to manually click on the Bitwarden extension icon to start the auto-fill process, something which other competitors may have better ways to deal with this.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Policy changes to the software after being acquired by LogMeIn, a company with a number of questionable and shady practices.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

This is the best password manager that I have ever used.

Having a different password for all of your online accounts is vital to protect your personal and business information. Bitwarden does that. While it is not the easiest password manager to set up for multiple people, once set up, it is nearly seemless to use.

PROS

Bitwarden does a great job of working with nearly every website and app. And when it doesn't automatically add username and password (some sites won't allow it), it is quite easy to copy and past them from the app or browser extension.

CONS

I wish that when you manually add a password that it would save automatically, rather than having to hit the save button, or at least ask if you are sure you want to quit without saving.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

Price, online recommendations, after trying-it was the one that worked best for our situation.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

I lost a number of passwords that the LastPass extension said that they had saved. Neither the Android and iphone apps worked very well, except as a copy and paste solution.

Piotr

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

Intuitive and easy password management

I have been using Bitwarden for almost two years and it is close to perfect. The app runs smoothly and seamlessly on both smartphones and desktops. It is supported on a variety of browsers, ranging from the more well-known ones like Chrome and Safari to the less-known ones like Brave and Vivaldi. According to the user's needs, it can be used from the desktop app, mobile app, browser extension, or even from the command line. Quite a few features, such as unlimited passwords or multi-factor authentication, are included in the free version. The paid one contains more extensive functionalities, at a reasonable price. Because Bitwarden is a well-known software, it has a large community across the internet and great customer support. Also, the developers keep in close contact with users. The only problems I found are the autosave function, which could be improved. Additionally, the creation of a 'share' button could make the app even more user-friendly, as now you have to manually copy and paste items to share them outside the app. All in all, I think Bitwarden is a great piece of software that not only improves personal security, but also makes everyday life easier. Definitely worth considering, especially if you don't have a password manager.

PROS

The number of features. Seamless and smooth running. Vast community and developer support. Free private version/reasonable enterprise price. Cross-device and cross-browser support.

CONS

Autosave sometimes doesn't recognize passwords. No easy items sharing outside the app.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Bitwarden is much cheaper, has better functionalities and does not restrict logins on different devices

Bill

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Sharing and self-hosting, at a winning price point

After using Keepass for years, the need to share customer credentials in case of the "hit-by-a-bus" scenario led me to search for a solution. Bitwarden had the self-host and open source features I sought. Have been running a BW server in Docker for over a year, and most of my customers now have read-only access to their subset of my password database.

PROS

Bitwarden has been audited for code security. The pricing model is very fair and affordable by almost anyone. And you can self-host if you have the need to keep all your data internal. Passwords can be organized into folders, and shared as collections with privileges set by user. You can store credit cards as well. It has an extension or app for every major platform, and auto-fills logins on web pages and in phone apps. It also supports 2FA.

CONS

Setting up users to share collections is a little complicated. It could use a little work on user management - admin should be able to reset user passwords.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

BW has a third-party version written in Rust, that can be set up in a docker container easily. Self-hosting that image for privacy, and the collection sharing met my needs.

Renato

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Password management

PROS

Bitwarden has a feature set that is comparable to all its competitors, at a fraction of the cost. It's also compatible with most OSs, which makes it one of the few viable options if you are a Linux user.

CONS

The UI is less intuitive compare to its mainstream competitors, but it's not a problem for experienced users.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass licence price doubled every year for a few years with no tangible improvement to the product.

Jeffrey

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Bitwarden - A fantastic password manager that provides a cross platform solution.

Having used this product for years I could not be happier. As an administrator who works on hundreds of systems it is critical that I have a single source to access all those individual credentials.

PROS

Cross platform solution that provides password access accross IOS, Windows, Linux, Android and more.

CONS

I cannot think of a single con with this software package other than we have to depend upon the parent company to live up to its obligation to keep our passwords and data secure. That said they have yet to give a reason to doubt their ability to do so.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Loved lastpass until they had data breaches, then I made the switch.

Neil

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Your First Choice of Password Managers

Easy to use and very less subscription fee. Free users are able to sync across multiple platforms and don't have restrictions on device limitations. High value of money.

PROS

Bitwarden is a highly reliable encrypted password manager. Its organization function allows you to share specific passwords across your team members, which extended team collaboration. The Premium version also supports embedded 2FA, so it helps you to log into any 2FA enables sites even faster.

CONS

Autosave password on browsers is not as smart as Lastpass.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Bitwarden provides similar functions and cheeper on subscription.

Hector

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Use this instead of LastPass

I switched to it due to LastPass's new limitations, is OpenSource you can install it on your own servers and manage your own key management system, is cheap, and has a ton of features, the same as LastPass.

PROS

Its free version offers the same as the previous LastPass plan, you can use it in both Mobile and PCs, pricing is much cheaper, the android App is not as buggy as LastPass.

CONS

The UI could be better, there are some quirks but you can move around them easily, Its design is not as nice as LastPass.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass is really expensive in comparison to BitWarden, and the switch to only allow one type of device made the switch necessary.

Chris

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Bitwarden's Free Version is Excellent

PROS

I have currently only used the Bitwarden free version. It has an awesome set of features and I would highly recommend it as a password manager.

CONS

I switched from Lastpass. It had a feature that would scan all your saved passwords and provide you with recommendations of passwords that might be considered insecure. I liked this featured and so far have not seen anything similar in BitWarden.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Lastpass changed some policies that made their product much more restrictive without upgrading to a more expensive plan.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY