All Tharstern Desktop Reviews

1-25 of 38 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Clifton

Verified reviewer

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Thumbs Up for Tharstern

Our administrative process was always the lagging function within the company - with Tharstern we have managed to get our booking in process (Quote Request to Artwork Approval) down from an average of 4 and a half days to 12 working hours.

PROS

An easy to view dashboard allows for easy training and knowledge gain from everybody who uses the system. Once set up, the system is almost fool-proof and anybody with a basic knowledge of print can do an estimate.

CONS

The Planning Board could be more automated, but I do acknowledge we are a production house that relies on the Planning Board more than most companies.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

While being slightly more expensive, Tharstern allowed us to integrate both ways without having to spend exponentially on other third party applications/software.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

All-inclusive system able to integrate start to finish, with a future view to automation.

Susanna

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

High Quality Product, Great Company to Partner with

Tharstern has allowed us to zero in on the profitability of our business. Down to the specific level of machine profitability or job profitability - we now have a cohesive place to see all this information to allow us to make educated business decisions. The company is great to work with. They are a team of growth-minded individuals that are customer oriented and have a shared internal goal of helping customers achieve their goals.

PROS

The integration process was great! The team held our hands throughout the whole process, helped us map out a plan in detail on how to cover all bases and checked in with us regularly to ensure we were using the software without hiccups. The organized structure of the software really helps a user navigate to their specific destination. Estimates, Invoices, Jobs, Shipping, Estimate Requests - all have very defined areas. One of the best things about the software is the freedom to come up with creative solutions. There's an abundance of custom fields, custom statuses and products and the flexibility to make the software conform to your company's specific needs. If you need a custom field defined to act as a flag for a special circumstance to alert all users - that's an easy addition! As a software developer, this software has leveraged a stable database with an unlimited capacity to create adjacent solutions that work for your company. Integrations with major software and manufacturer affiliations are usually always possible. Their API is a must if you are looking to develop custom solutions. Their support team always has a solution and follows up with each request.

CONS

Tools that are mobile to specifically work with our mobile staff (i.e. Sales) is a bit lacking. Also, the UI could use some modernization, but it's still very functional.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

Tharstern was a company we wanted to work with. We enjoyed their business philosophy and it was in line with where we wanted our business to grow. We feel free to ask for help and suggest modifications to the software where we feel are necessary.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

It became too difficult to manage custom changes.

Francis

Printing, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Tharstern could work for you, it just didn't for us.

I can't say I felt an improvement in my productivity at all while using Tharstern. I'm not blaming the good folks we met at Tharstern, but you really need to make sure Tharstern is the right solution for you. Tharstern was initially deigned for the offset printing world. If you are fully digital and extremely varied then Tharstern may not suit your needs. I had hoped to become an advanced user with Tharstern. Lot's of nice little animated videos out there showing the capabilities, but no user manual as such.

PROS

Being able to group jobs into a single work instruction was a plus

CONS

Very "clicky". Almost 10 mouse clicks to perform one operation. Constant timeouts due to our restricted license of 4 users. It generated an enormous amount of paperwork. Filtering information was time consuming compared to single clicks in MS access. Installation process is quite time consuming and complex for a windows program.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

We thought Tharstern would streamline our workflow. It did not, but these systems are only as good as the information entered into them. If you have good operators and skilled staff, you could develop your own database with much cheaper database solutions.

Jeff

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Best of Class Print Specific MIS/ERP

Tharstern is now the heart and entire circulatory system of our business operations. It is a powerful system that provides unlimited reporting to monitor key business performance metrics. But this depends on accurate input from users throughout the company, in other words a full commitment to optimal use of the software at every level of the organization.

PROS

Interconnected feature-rich modules. Highly customizable with open access to core MSSQL database. Robust reporting functionality (Crystal Reports). External software connections via API, Tharstern developed integrations along with full API access for customer integration development. Customer support in second to none, in my experience. Tharstern is staffed with a broad range of responsive experts who are available to help customers through any level of implementation, integration, and development. Handles multiple facilities, departments, and product lines. We are a commercial printer with 3 facilities, 6 warehouses, operations in offset (litho), digital, wide format, and a range of finishing capabilities. Integrates with web-to-print software and Enfocus Switch for creating fully automated workflows.

CONS

There is not currently a good solution for handling liquid inks for wide format and inkjet press technology (ink consumption based on weight). CRM module is limited in functionality when compared to stand-alone CRM software and full ERP solutions. This is the most versatile and open MIS I have worked with, which equates to a high degree of complexity. To get the most out of the software, company executive leadership must be willing to commit the necessary resources to implementing and operating the software.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

Best met our needs and provide for future needs and growth.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

Others did not meet our needs.

John

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Tharstern

We are still in the implementation phase but my overall experience has been very positive. The implementation team and support staff is responsive (about as well as expected, considering they are 5 time zones away).

PROS

The estimating system seemed to fit our processes better and it flows directly into the job to create proper specs for the production team. It has modern apis for integration with our other applications and actually already had integrations built for our CRM and accounting software.

CONS

There were a few areas where it didn't seem to be as flexible as we would have wanted - one example is with inventory units of measure and pricing units. However, I understand that it is necessary to make the estimating system work well and feed the requisitions to the jobs.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

We felt that making a clean break to a completely new environment with a modern interface and apis was in our best interests and gave us a solid foundation for our changing print industry.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

We had been using our current software for 20+ years and it was not being enhanced or modernized to the level that we desired. They offered new add-ons and plug-ins but were very expensive and just pieced together. Our front-end process needed to be overhauled and Tharstern just fit that process much better.

Andrew

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Solid MIS Platform

Generally I have found it a reliable platform to run our day to day production and it has been invaluable in analyzing our efficiency overall.

PROS

Its reliable, flexible to suit multiple production processes, regularly updated and improved. The online Customer Happiness Portal is an invaluable resource for learning the software and looking to add new features. Interface is simple to navigate and easy to use. Have been using for over 10 years.

CONS

There some very specific limitations that arose when trying to perform some particular combinations of production processes but there is usually a workaround. The modular/per user pricing structure can get high with more users involved but they have historically waived certain fees in consideration of the big picture of what we use.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

At the time the main reason was Tharstern supported JDF workflow.

Asif

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

The go-to for Print estimating

Got to give a special mention to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] who have been excellent in all dealings with them.

PROS

The fact that it can integrate with Hubspot and the support from Tharstern.

CONS

I'm only involved with estimating and CRM and I like all the features within there.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

More user friendly interface and better support

Gary

Printing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

Lots of possibility with some great features, once the problems are resolved.

We hope that the result will be more efficient production that isn't hampered by traditional thinking and assumptions. To me, personally, there's a great deal of complexity involved and the need to input lots of data for your whole business (manufacturing) operation. The volume of this obviously depends on an individual business, with smaller, simpler companies needing a much easier level of implementation. I think you need a clever person or two who can get their head around the whole thing end-to end. It's more complicated than you think. We have been lucky enough to benefit from a couple of really good, helpful, patient and knowledgeable experts in Tharstern who have helped with the many issues we've come across. Without these people and their cheerful enthusiasm for the products, I think it may have been impossible to get where we are now or it would have taken a lot longer. Calls logged on the online Helpdesk can take a long time to be answered. However, this is probably because the really helpful expert that you lean on quite a bit has a backlog of such calls and will get to it eventually. Tharstern should devote some more people to enable quicker responses of logged issues. Be very careful to understand the products (difficult because there are many) and what questions to ask to make sure that these products are the best for your business.

PROS

So, this review is mostly about the IMP software, Layout Library and Die Library modules. The ability to quickly achieve an imposed layout with interlocked die-cut shapes using IMP is superb. Very quick to process, easy to output with any press marks you wish. Obviously, there is a huge amount of work required to set up the devices in the first place and it does take a while to get ones head around how this needs to be organised. In terms of ganging items for print, this does the job quickly and efficiently, producing safe output of imposed pdfs and cutters. I can appreciate the point of Layout Library for your specific, specialist laydowns and again, there's a major head puzzle getting to grips with the way sheet and layout profiles are created, which suddenly seems to come together after a period of uncertainty; perhaps it's trying to be too flexible or too clever? Die Library is in its first weeks of implementation and although it appears clever and configurable (to a degree), be sure you understand how it could work in your business. Jury still out...

CONS

Overall, I do find the PRIMO and IMP interfaces confusing and it takes a while to understand how it is laid out - think Word or Excel messiness; if you like those GUI's then this'll be right up your street! With regard to Layout Library, the point of this software is to cope with non-standard laydowns. There is some serious brain work involved in aligning with how it is setup and needs to be configured, which won't be for everyone. I think most people will think this more complicated than it needs to be. Die Library looks perfect on first view, but ensure you understand what exactly it will do and how your people might interact with it. I think it has lots of potential but does need some further input from the software people to make it a top product.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Estimating perfection

it is very good and ticks all the boxes that we need from estimating to purchasing ,sales and customer relationship management the Implementation staff are very good with all aspects of the program and training

PROS

The ease of use on estimating when you set it up with a tharstern professional who will set up all the possible print and finishing options that your company has at its disposal the estimates will be very accurate with the more information that you supply the overall software is fantastic to the printing industry we could not imagine trying to work without it

CONS

it can be difficult to set up at first Because we are in Ireland we had to wait for a consultant to come over

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

Better back up

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

To get the best and most efficient software possible for our industrial A lot of big printing companies use it so we follows suit

Gill

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Why Choose Tharstern ?

I have worked with Tharstern now for over 15 years and would not consider looking for an alternative solution for our business. The support that is provided by the support team and also by using the Portal is prompt and is an excellent service

PROS

The software is easy to use and in my experience can be integrated with most other applications which is essential for streamlining services. I particularly like Estimate Pro. The ease of use means that providing an estimate for approximately 90% of our products can be done by our Administration Team and saves critical time when working to tight deadlines.

CONS

Although I rate Estimate Pro I do find that there are certain processes that I would like to follow that are a bit rigid and I have to use a workaround. I did find that setting up and testing Estimate Pro was quite time consuming and if I had the time again I would definitely invest in a professional consultant from Tharstern to provide a service for doing the initial set up.

Aaron

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

Tharstern Helps Us Run Our Business

In general, Tharstern as an organisation employ people who are from the print industry and this is invaluable as they understand the business and have deep experience with many businesses big and small all over the World. They are kindred spirits and want you to succeed. All of my dealings with Tharstern have been pleasant and they feel like part of the business rather than just a supplier.

PROS

We have been a long standing client with Tharstern and much of our business is built around the system. It is essentially a workflow and that workflow, when translated into the real World shapes how we work. Tharstern helps us to brand our business with templated estimate letters/emails and also allows us to standardise our communications with our customer. The reporting features that come as default are invaluable and allow us to assess the whole business in real time. We have used Tharstern to build business cases for investment using "what if" scenarios and it has also alerted us to areas where investment will increase turnover. It also communicates clearly throughout the entire production cycle from initial customer contact through to shipping.

CONS

The UI can be confusing to operators not experienced with it but the addition of the ribbon system in Pro does help.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

We were already with Tharstern and switching would have been too expensive - we felt that Tharstern would offer much better support and they also help to promote our business through their social media channels.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

This was in 2004. Shuttleworth didn't offer us the breadth that Tharstern did and the UI was far too complex in comparison.

Chris

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great System...!

Exceptional - customer service and tech support very knowledgeable indeed. Not just of the system either (which is all too often the case elsewhere) but with actual print and its processes too.

PROS

Tharstern provides a very dynamic and forward thinking environment in which to work; it encompasses all of the cutting edge elements a print business now requires (Web-to-Print, Automation, Ganging of Jobs, JDF integratable etc.) which has allowed us to streamline our workflow significantly.

CONS

Personally, I haven't really found anything that i would say is something i don't like! A Mac compatible version would be REALLY useful though; a lot of people in our industry use Macs of course; and requires use a Microsoft RDP to use.

John

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Tharstern Primo review

I was involved from day 1, I played a leading role in the decision to go with Tharstern, I was and still am the implementation lead and administrator of the software. Implementation/Deployment was long but Tharstern are with you all the way through implementation. The Tharstern support desk is excellent, all agents are very knowledgeable and extremely helpful.

PROS

Very structured software, functionality, ease of use, open database, customizable. Ability for custom development which we needed. We were able to import almost everything from our previous software via csv files.

CONS

Licensing for the shop floor users but that would probably be the same with most software packages.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

To have a complete all in one MIS package, the software is very structured and the estimates are configured to match how you produce the product/part. Production planning is based off the estimates and therefore is only as accurate as the estimates which forces good disciplines, otherwise garbage in-garbage out. We added some custom development for BOMs and warehouse, Tharstern also developed mobile inventory which only adds to the experience.

Teri

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Estimating

It is ok, the guys on support are good, some more knowledgeable than others but they are happy to pass on to those that know. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is awesome, so patient and your star player.

PROS

It is quick and accurate when something is straightforward.

CONS

When you are midway you cannot change the Classicafication When you are midway you cannot change the customer or edit the customer details When you start a quote in the customer section you cannot add a customer in that area, you have to go into the customer tab, we have prospective customers call and they ask you for a quote who are not on the system, there is not a quick way to add them. I am finding that I have to save the quote, close down, go into another part, then open back up and all this takes time, I find it frustrating. I have been using Tharstern for years and there is no improvement in this.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

At the time it was ahead in terms of ease of use and more cost effective.

Brett

Printing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Great software, great company.

The implementation process was very well planned by Tharstern. The time spent with the Tharstern consultants was invaluable, as the took time to learn our business and needs over simply deploying a software package. The consultants were always well prepared to deliver and support training content. The software platform has driven us to look at our processes and become driven to maximum the tools abilities. Our user acceptance has been very high and the transition to maximizing new software has occurred very quickly. We have realized many of our short and medium term goals already, and we can see the long term goals being very achievable.

PROS

Tharstern provides great ability to integrate to 3rd part software platforms. It's flexibility to match our business needs is a desirable quality that a number of other industry solutions did not have. The user experience utilizing the software brings great efficiency and accuracy to our daily tasks.

CONS

Any shortcomings or issues with the software are often quickly overcome with Tharstern's ability to deploy updates and new features quickly and consistently.

Colm

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Excellent Product & Great Team

Delighted with our decision to go with Tharstern. Brilliant team, extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

PROS

Great piece of software that is feature rich. Yes implementation is not quick but you are setting the foundations for a a system that will run every aspect of your business for years to come and the Tharstern team carrying out the implementation are brilliant. Estimating is super quick & consistent & you trust the figures it gives you. We have our system fully integrated with our accounts package and our web2print / workflow software removing a substantial amount of data entry.

CONS

It is a complex system so there is a learning curve. You can't cancel invoices you can only issue credit notes which can be a pain as mistakes are made sometimes.

Reasons for switching to Tharstern Desktop

The whole experience from the first time we contacted them made us realise this was the partner for us to work with. Also their integration experience is second to none and was a deciding factor.

Kevin

Printing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Tharstern Truth

We manage to get through a large number of jobs with us having tharstern. Helps keep jobs very organised by being able to track the progress.

PROS

Estimate Pro once setup is very easy to use. I liked the integration to web2print when we were using it. I generally like the overall usability.

CONS

I would like to see a more user friendly way of setting up machinery for costing jobs. Often forget different steps as only do it every so often. Pricing large format doesn't give us an accurate price when we are cutting shapes. Being able to quote lots of different sizes of correx or posters and tharstern would be helpful rather so it nests them all and gives a ore accurate price.

Reason for choosing Tharstern Desktop

Price and I have previously used it when I originally started looking and took other peoples advice. I was happy and am happy with tharstern.

Rebecca

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE