Salesforce CPQ & Billing Software Reviews

Salesforce CPQ & Billing Software Reviews

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.24

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"For growing businesses, it makes it that much easier to scale your business with a structured quoting process."
  • icon"We have so many different SKUs, pricing from different product families, various discounts etc all are been taken and we are happy."
  • icon"The ease of creating Quote and configurating the product."
  • icon"For a Salesforce's owned product inside salesforce...the CPQ line formerly Steelbrick still isn't up to a level of performance where I feel it's seriously saving (rep's) time."
  • icon"Maybe I'll get used to it and more familiarized, but it definitely isn't intuitive or efficient."
  • icon"Costly for medium sized enterprises. Calculation times can be sometimes slow."

All Salesforce CPQ & Billing Reviews

1-25 of 49 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Anastasiia

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Salesforce CPQ for managing invoicing process

Absolutely delightful - I fully recommend it.

Pros

Salesforce CPQ is absolutely fantastic software to manage the whole invoicing process. The time spent on the invoices management has gone down drastically when using Salesforce CPQ and it is very easy to use. It is used in order to automate Billing and Invoicing, Recurring Payments, Discounts and Order Management. I recommend it to anyone working at the company with complicated invoicing processes. Also the documentation and courses in Trailhead are great!

Cons

The configuration might be quite hard at times, but it is rather because of the fact that the businesses processes are very complex and they are hard to model.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2021

Better for Simpler Pricing Modules

Overall its easy to maintain and allows for native SF features which makes it a great add on for customers already using Sales Cloud.

Pros

Since this is obviously an SF platform- the ease of implementation is great as well as the fact that there is not a huge learning curve- it operates just as other SF objects.

Cons

It can be very complicated to implement a pricing structure if you do not have a "simple" pricing module. We have tried 3 separate times (& used certified experts and contractors) to try and implement our pricing module and it did not work- I will say our pricing structure is much more complicated than it should be but its still been a huge issue.

Reasons for switching to Salesforce CPQ & Billing

Zuora was not as customizable in terms of templates and product adjustments as SF was- and we did not have a dedicated Zuora admin where as we have an SF Admin.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2021

CPQ requires a lot of clicks and is far from intuitive

It streamlines approvals somewhat, and makes for a more standardized quoting system, so I understand the business reasons for switching to it, but from an end user perspective, it has been a huge pain to use.

Pros

The thing I like the most about CPQ is that it allows me to keep multiple quotes attached to one opportunity a lot easier. There are also some great ways to add multiple products and makes that aspect of quoting easier.

Cons

CPQ was recently introduced at my org and it is so cumbersome to work through. It requires a lot of clicks and updating price/making price changes is very difficult. Creating a quote used to take me about 5 minutes and now it takes about 20 depending on the complexity. Maybe I'll get used to it and more familiarized, but it definitely isn't intuitive or efficient.

Reasons for switching to Salesforce CPQ & Billing

We used to just use regular Salesforce for this but added CPQ for the reasons explained above.

Matthew

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Huge feature set with multi-level deployment options - takes some getting use too

Large scale tracking of employee, customer and device information to include maintenance and tasking necessities. Generates an integrated DB option that allows for global tracking, management and metric options with a broad reporting feature.

Pros

The broad scope capabilities of Salesforce allow for a multi-departmental integration and deployment functionality with multi-scope database options. Integration with third-party systems is phenomenal, and the allowance of homegrown development is almost limitless when designing to the needs of your organization. Speed of deployment and development is only mitigated by internal knowledge but a large knowledge base and user set globally assist in speed of change.

Cons

Despite the large scale integration options with salesforce there can be a slowed user capability due to functional UI. This can of course be customized to meet the needs of your internal customers, but still requires considerable training to the tools available. Ensuring internal department integration and assistance will speed an organization to use.

Chris

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

September 2015

Steelbrick is Promising

We looked at a few CPQ tools to help us automate a few obstacles in our (complicated) SaaS model. Steelbrick was the best solution out there for your buck. Pros: We were in a situation where our current (custom) CPQ solution did not allow the flexibility to add new products, adjust order forms, support local currencies (without an expensive developer resource) and it really empowered out business to address new opportunities by being able to do these things. There are a lot of objects and we needed to use them all to make our multi-year product model work and it seemed daunting, but really, I was able to pick up how everything fit together after a few days of diving in and playing around. The support and customer service team are absolutely amazing. Special shoutout to my CSM (Kelly Wilson) who responds day and night to emails and is always willing to find time to get on a call. Our primary support agent (ChrisL) is also really smart and easy to work with. No implementation of CPQ goes perfect, but we had great implementation engineer (ChrisT) and implementation consultant (ChrisH) who really PARTNERED with us to make sure the tool was what we needed to accomplish our goals. You can trust the product management team. We have already seen features that they have promised to us (contract amendments, for example). Cons: - We did not realize this until after implementation (and product management has promised us that it is a high priority), but the CPQ tool will only work in full data replica sandboxes. Partial and dev sandboxes do not bring over the 20+ object records that come with Steelbrick. You will need to make sure you also consider some data migration solution between environments. You can do this yourself. I did it once successfully and it took 4 hours. :( - CPU timeout errors. If you have complicated pricing on multi-year products and you make changes to those quotes (for example changing a 5 year deal to a 3 year deal), we often get a "CPU timeout" error. We can't ever get beyond this. We need to build a new quote. :( Again, Steelbrick product management has assured us that this will be addressed in future releases with more precise code.

Shahid

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Incredible quoting tool cover all our exception cases.

Our product array is huge and our discounts system is complicated, we needed a tool which can handle most of our exception cases. CPQ can leverage most of our requirement.

Pros

It is very easy and user friendly, even if you're new you can grasp easily. We have so many different SKUs, pricing from different product families, various discounts etc all are been taken and we are happy. Multiyear quoting, contracted pricing and others are very simple using CPQ

Cons

Contracted pricing isn't flowing from partner to customer account. Incremental quote for Multi year deals should be made available with CPQ rather with CPQ plus.

Reasons for choosing Salesforce CPQ & Billing

We have salesforce crm so it make sense to salesforce tool for quoting as well

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2018

A Scalable Quoting Platform

Create internal/operational efficiencies Improve business process agility Improve business process outcomes

Pros

The application provides rich functionality in product catalogs, commerce and report generation and is scalable to support future organizational growth. The user on boarding is easy due to cloud based solution. Support of solution to run on Mobile platform and channels drives high adoption

Cons

Lack of maturity of pre-built integration APIs or adapters with other products / applications which can be improved further.

Madhur

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Its Awesome! Make your complex business process very user friendly

Its Awesome! Make your complex business process very user friendly

Pros

Its Awesome! Make your complex business process very user friendly

Cons

Need highly experts in CPQ for all development and deployment procedure

Reasons for choosing Salesforce CPQ & Billing

Its Awesome! Make your complex business process very user friendly

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Bit of a learning curve

Consistency across quotes, pricing integrity, speed of producing quote docs, order forms.

Pros

When things (namely quotes) have become complicated, and you're selling multiple lines of business, lots of options, multiple years, with lots of variance this (CPQ) is a must have. SF CPQ is attractive to Salesforce users because there is that layer of familiarity and notion that it's part of the ecosystem.

Cons

For a Salesforce's owned product inside salesforce...the CPQ line formerly Steelbrick still isn't up to a level of performance where I feel it's seriously saving (rep's) time. The UI is distinctively Salesforce (lightning not classic) but the speed makes me question whether it's yet native to Salesforce. This is far from building a personal shopping cart on Amazon, adding and subtracting items with agility.

User Profile

Dain

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Salesforce CPQ is Great!

My experience has been great - I am a frequent user of quotes and this system makes it easy and efficient for creating professional quotes.

Pros

Salesforce CPQ allows me to easily go in and create quotes with different formats without allowing users to adjust things they shouldn't. You can add the quotes to things like simple quotes clients can sign to SOW's and more.

Cons

I know it was quite difficult to implement for my team. It took a few months to have it completely built out.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

Not as easy to integrate as it is made out to be

I need to put this disclaimer in front of what I'm about to write, because it will sound critical. I left the company using CPQ about seven months after we started to integrate it into our SalesForce platform. So, it may have ended up being a success. At the time I left, it was not a success. Not a failure either. Maybe the payback was still coming. It was sold to us as being a quick, seamless integration that would be easy to get up and running and customized to our business model. It was not that. It is a potentially elegant solution that we wanted to use so we could scale up our selling process and hopefully reduce the sales cycle. There was no evidence that it succeeded in doing that for us.

Pros

I love the concept of starting the quoting process and having that all captured in the CRM database. Also, that it looks and feels like SalesForce so the sales people are not scared off by it immediately.

Cons

The spin-up was very difficult. It did not work as seamlessly as advertised. Ultimately, it required us to rely on a consulting agency that did not show the same level of quality and customer service that one would expect if dealing directly with SalseForce. It turned out to be much more costly than expected to implement this "plug-in."

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

SALESFORCE CPQ FOR YOU

Salesforce CPQ has helped the vendors to sell the products and services very fast with no help of the technical support team because they can see the catalog updated all the time. And if the client like they can generate the proposal very fast.

Pros

- All the products and services live in the same place. - You can generate proposals - Can Integrate many tools in CPQ like DocuSign and Xauthor -You can update or upload information very fast by using Data Loader

Cons

- We need more support team to solve our doubts or problems - More guides or videos for the application (Translated in Spanish )

CECILIA

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

One of the best CRMs

Overall, Saleforce.com helped me drive my sales into a better direction giving me a clear view of my performance and serving as a guide to what was needed to keep my sales in check.

Pros

I used Salesforce for the past 6 years as a Sales Director in a fashion firm. We used it on a daily basis to keep us informed of our performance, give us a complete view of our clients and monitor our work with numerous reminders and reports.

Cons

The reports are customizable but it can require a bit of a learning curve. The alerts, unless managed can become a bit of a pain.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

A great alternative to get fast proposals.

It's has been a very good experience for the business units that are using it right now inside the company, we are taking efforts to make it useful for all the company.

Pros

I liked the Salesforce integration, we were looking for an alternative to get more detail in cost, price and quotas for our customers inside the same Salesforce platform.

Cons

At the beginning you have to make clear your business objetives to map all the fields you will use in this platform. To define the right catalogs is crucial to make this tool work.

amrit

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Salesforce CPQ User review

Pros

Bundling of sub products and accessories with specific price points was an important consideration for us while selecting Steelbricks CPQ. They have most of the business scenarios covered out of the box.

Cons

CPQ has a steep learning curve. However, once you spend the initial hours in the training , you get better at it. It took us time to train the inside sales to configure products themselves for standard bundles.

Terri

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Great Standardization Tool - Big Learning Curve

Overall it's fantastic to have a tool that allows for consistent and professional quoting -- but it took probably 2 months of regular working sessions (1-2 times a week) with our entire team to get everybody up to speed on it.

Pros

Once you get it figured out, it's easy to modify, add, and make it work for whatever we need it to do for us on the Quoting side of things. The customizability is nice and adaptable for our rates that change with trends and easy to add new items into our model as we add more languages to our business.

Cons

Much of our pricing is based around a "per word" model, and discounting our "per word" rate by $.01-$.02 was really difficult for our teams to figure out for several months.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Robust CPQ solution for Salesforce users

This tool makes life so much easier for your sales team and eliminates a lot of risk that is inherent to having your quoting process be done via excel, etc.

Pros

It is a powerful and fairly robust CPQ solution that makes the lives of your Sales team that much easier. For growing businesses, it makes it that much easier to scale your business with a structured quoting process.

Cons

Because the tool is so robust and the quoting process is often complex, it is imperative to have a strong implementation firm with CPQ specific expertise. This can be expensive.

Talha

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY