All OmniFocus Reviews

1-25 of 59 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Eddie

E-Learning, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

Reviewed August 2021

Overkill to the point of unusable - impractical even for the most organized of us

User Profile

Ben

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Indispensable productivity software for busy professionals on Apple platforms

I use OmniFocus as a second brain, to implement the ideas encapsulated in Getting Things Done, Building a Second Brain, and The Productivity Habits. Without OmniFocus it would be much harder for me to manage a demanding day job, my family life, my freelance career, and my creative hobbies.

PROS

Omnifocus is an excellent task management system that integrates seamlessly with macOS. It is based on the Getting Things Done workflow, making it easy to capture tasks and process them effectively. This is a major strength of Omnifocus compared to other similar systems, and makes it an invaluable tool for staying organized and productive.

CONS

OmniFocus is a powerful task management tool, but it is falling behind with regards to integration with AI. It would benefit from bringing ideas from more advanced project management to the individual, such as load-balancing, to help users better manage their tasks. Additionally, any context awareness has to be manually set-up, which can be time consuming and tedious. It would be nice if it guided the user using AI/ML to help them better manage their tasks.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

OmniFocus is Mac-native, which is important to me as I generally dislike web apps and Electron apps. It's carefully desigend and considered. And its out-of-the-box support for the Getting Things Done workflow is exemplary.

Jakob

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

A well featured tool with a steep learning curve

Trying to juggle multiple roles at work with different projects and deadlines, OmniFocus helps with the defer dates, to not have something pop up until you have decided to work on it. So it is easier to avoid being overwhelmed. So long as you consistently use the system and review weekly.

PROS

When you are invested in the system and the GTD (Getting Things Done) Methodology, OmniFocus works quite well.

CONS

The learning curve! It takes a lot of time to internalize how OmniFocus works and the flow daily and weekly use.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

OmniFocus is a professional project with consistent development behind it. Things development at the time appeared more sporadic.

Reasons for switching to OmniFocus

OmniFocus had enhanced functionality with the custom perspectives.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

A more or less satisfactory experience with the software

As the title says, it was a more or less experience with the software, it could have been better but I think it was missing important points, we can understand that all software is not the same and that over time they improve their development and proposal towards the end client.

PROS

It had a well-developed priority system within the panel, I think it was the only and best strength that existed with this program, thanks to that the team became accustomed to developing tasks with a lot of balance, everyone in less than 1 week already knew how to organize their tasks. parties and be able to enter information about what they did and what they were missing regarding their software development task.

CONS

I had a very limited project review, it was difficult for us to enter several projects at the same time, I thought it was a more robust program with greater capacity, the individualization of each program could not be easily found and this, instead of saving time, set us back quite a bit. The login crashed very repeatedly during the day.

Reasons for switching to OmniFocus

similar but more complicated to use in my team

Greg

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

When you need it, you need it

As you can see, I really like Omnifocus. It helps keep me on track. When I'm doing GTD well and doing my Weekly Reviews (which Omnifocus supports very well) then I'm staying on track with my life. I'm a big fan.

PROS

I've used a lot of iOS and Mac task managers. Omnifocus is the best for me when life gets super busy. I love the automation and the project management templates. It makes it so easy to deal with recurring projects. The different perspectives let me see only what I need to see at any given time. It really is a joy to use once you get the hang of it. I have it on my Apple Watch, iPhone and Mac.

CONS

There is a learning curve, but don't let that stop you. Just because a task has a million fields you can you doesn't mean you have to use them. I would say just use the basic for a while and learn the more advanced features as you go. It's pricey but totally worth it.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

I love Things but Omnifocus just offers more power and advanced features. If you can get away with using Things, it's a great looking and wonderful app.

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

The Name says it all

The name says it all. Omni stands for 'universal' - focus is kind of the opposite. You can't have focus and also center you attention on everything. It is a great tool, don't get me wrong. But I would often get caught up in working that the task manager perfectly reflected my work, rather than just getting on with it. But I have some colleagues who love it and would never want to work with anything else again. If you need the level of granularity that OmniFocus provides, this tool is for you. For me, that was more of a distraction.

PROS

OmniFocus gives you massive options in how to manage your tasks. It is certainly well thought out and a tool that lets you get into a lot of detail on your task management game. OmniFocus lets you integrate with other tools through Zapier and share with team members.

CONS

OmniFocus provides a great level of detail in managing your tasks. So much so, that it was distracting me from doing the actual work.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

I ultimately switched from OmniFocus to Things, due to its simplicity which worked better for me. I did test them each for some time to make the call, that would be my suggestion too. If you need a team collaboration tool Things is the wrong choice, and OmniFocus wins.

Amy

Education Management, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Too Much for My Needs

Overall my experience was great! I enjoyed using OmniFocus and if it were free or cheaper I'd still be using it. I didn't want to switch away but couldn't justify the cost.

PROS

I'm a visual person and OmniFocus has an attractive design that I enjoyed using. It was easy to figure out how to use all the features. I'm a [SENSITIVE CONTENT] fan and like how well OmniFocus fits into the Getting Things Done system.

CONS

It did way more than I need for my small business and cost more than I was able to pay. But I can see it being super-handy for an "executive" type job.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

I chose OmniFocus over Asana because Asana was more expensive than OmniFocus, and [SENSITIVE CONTENT] recommended OmniFocus. I chose it over Trello because the Trello Board doesn't fit the way my brain works and was just confusing to me.

User Profile

Tammie

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Fantastic "to-do" software but very in-depth

I tried a dozen to-do apps before purchasing OF3 and stuck with it a few months but the interface wasn't right for me and it was too fiddly and too overwhelming. If you can get into it properly and can handle how in-depth it is then you'll be fine but it was just too much for me. The price when I got it was actually great, it was a one-time purchase, not subscription like it is now. However, I have switched to Todoist which meets my needs so much better.

PROS

It had all the features I needed including setting repeating reminders, ease of adding a task and setting dark mode.

CONS

It's too in-depth, if you've never used it or one of Omni's other software it's a heck of a learning curve. The online manual is huge and there's so much to find out. Setting repeating tasks is quite fiddly, there are a lot of options. Other software I've used let's you just put "water plants every Monday" and it'll set that reminder. In OF3 you have to select so many options just to do this. It's very fiddly on a phone especially.

User Profile

Petio

Verified reviewer

Animation, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

The GTD Swiss-Army Knife

I swear by OmniFocus. It is a central part of​ my workflow chain. If you are a believer in GTD, this is the app for you!

PROS

This piece of software includes all you would ever need to stick to a strict GTD regiment. It is by far the most complete task manager I have tried out. For tasks, it allows the user to set time-requirement, due date, defer date; and for the projects, nesting, and sequential or arbitrary task execution. It has iCal integration, and reminders for weekly review (with a separate page tailored to that activity). Not to mention the custom Perspectives option that the paid​ version offers to the user, which opens up a world of possibility in controlling the way the data is interacted with.

CONS

The learning curve is non-trivial. If you are not going to use this for a serious GTD workflow and/or are not ready to put the time and love in learning it, then this software is not for you. Another gripe I have with the Omni Group is that they are not very open to third-party integrations. OmniFocus exposes an AppleScript API, but the functionality is limited. This means that you won't find many exciting IFTTT or Zappier integrations.

User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Literally my number one favorite application - an absolute lifesaver

I would seriously pay hundreds of dollars for this software. There's an iPhone and Apple Watch companion app for the desktop version, which works seamlessly. Custom perspectives are highly recommended, and for them, I would always purchase the pro edition. If you are serious about personal task management, this is the last software purchase you'll need to make.

PROS

Omnifocus has allowed me to fully practice GTD methodologies. Creating projects, actions, and managing them is simple and straightforward. The application offers exactly as much customization as I need.

CONS

With no linux support, I'm tied to Mac OSX. Additionally, there aren't any options for collaborative projects and tasks.

User Profile

Tony

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Most Incredible Productivity Software-Sad you can't use with team

I have used omnifocus for more than 10 years to implement GTD (Getting Things Done) and I would never use another personal productivity tool. Using omnifocus initially changed my life. It's that good. I fly through my reviews and tasks and it never gets in the way.

PROS

Weekly review feature lets me set review frequency for each project, and I can mark them reviewed as I do it. The software is easy to use if you follow the GTD system and not too hard even if you don't.

CONS

Omnigroup recently added a little more functionality for teams, but really it's still not a team tool. If it were, my professional productivity life would be complete.

Mark

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

My most frequently used application, Keeps me Sane!

I would feel completely lost without OmniFocus and have attempted to use some other workaround software but it failed miserably, doesn't even come close. I need all my commitments and tasks with me instantly for on-the-go decision making about what I do next, according to what context I'm currently in. This does it seamlessly and the customer service is great. An unreserved recommendation from me.

PROS

For those who are familiar with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Getting Things Done methodology, this is a must-have. But you don't have to be familiar with GTD for it to keep you focused. It keeps me on track in my demanding full time job as well as running my side-hustle company. It also keeps me on task with personal commitments. I use it constantly throughout the day to make sure I'm committed to the right projects and doing the right tasks, at the right time, in the right context. For me, this is my #1 application I use in any business or personal category. It was a little pricey for an app, but pays multiple dividends to me every day. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who needs to get business and personal commitments under control and keep them that way. And to get maximum benefit, read the GTD book from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to understand how it REALLY can benefit you day to day on all kinds of levels. For me, people marvel at how I stay calm and focused in the midst of accomplishing so much, and this is my secret.

CONS

I was surprised it cost a little more than other apps and services, but well worth it. I can use it across platforms on all my devices including PC, and stay up to date everywhere at once. But it is more expensive than some lesser products. I think you get what you pay for with this one.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Powerful and Versatile Task Management

I use OmniFocus for ever single thing I need to take action on. From personal projects and errands with a clearly-defined end point, to routines that repeat at various intervals, I use OmniFocus to remind myself what I need to do now, what’s coming up in the near future, and what long-range plans and ideas I have percolating in the back burner. Tony Stark has Jarvis. I have OmniFocus.

PROS

Omnifocus allows me to structure my tasks and projects virtually any way I want and then filter them so that I only have to see what I want to see, when I want to see it. This cuts down on the confusion and overwhelm and has made me a much more productive human being.

CONS

I honestly have no complaints. However, I do have a couple of caveats. 1) There is a learning curve. As with any application that offers so much power and flexibility, OmniFocus is more complex than one might expect at first. 2) You need to have your own task management system. Omnifocus was originally designed as an implementation of David Allen’s Getting Things Done system and it still works beautifully for that. Changes over the past few years (most notably replacing Allen’s “contexts” with “tags”) have opened up ways of breaking out of the strictly GTD framework. But however you choose to organize your life is up to you and OmniFocus will only ALLOW you to do it. TL;DR OmniFocus is an exceptional tool to help you sort yourself out. But you have to do the work.

User Profile

Prudencia

Verified reviewer

Research, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

OmniFocus Review

OmniFocus is a great tool to help me stay organized, productive, and on top of all my tasks.

PROS

OmniFocus has been incredibly helpful in bringing order to my life, allowing me to be more productive and efficient. Its user-friendly interface makes it easy to create projects and tasks, assign due dates, and prioritize them using tags and contexts. I really appreciate that I can also assign tasks to specific people and it has a great calendar view for a quick overview of my upcoming tasks. Furthermore, it integrates with popular apps such as Reminders, Calendar, and Apple Mail, making it even easier to stay organized. Plus, security features like two-factor authentication and end-to-end encryption ensure that my data remains secure.

CONS

One of the main things that people dislike about OmniFocus is its relatively steep learning curve. While it offers a lot of features, it can take some time to learn how to use them effectively and efficiently

Eddie

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Overkill to the point of unusable - impractical even for the most organized of us

I abandoned it because there was too much maintenance, tagging, and clicking. Even my friends who recommended OmniFocus abandoned it for the Tasks App in the iPhone after only a few months, and now I use Google Keep instead because it integrates my work to do list with my personal lists well. Now with the proliferation of Amazon Echo (Alexa) you can add things to the Alexa to-do list by voice, so you don't want to have to go and type into OmniFocus when you can just now add tasks by voice

PROS

A number of features that allow you to sort tasks and arrange them in a multitude of sophisticated ways, so you can organize tasks in ways not possible through a simple to-do list.

CONS

To keep up with the best and most unique features of the platform requires so much work on tagging and organizing that everyone I know who used it just went back to simple to do list apps. After a while you want something quick and easy that you can jot down, and there are so many free solutions out there that are better integrated into your life.

Reason for choosing OmniFocus

Greater amount of functionality and classifying/organization of tasks

Reasons for switching to OmniFocus

Needed more simplicity in list creation, paying for a new more complex product is actually not necessary for most people.

Margurite

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Literally Runs My Life, People

Overall, I would say that Omni is the tool I use the most both professionally and personally. It is truly a catchall where I can store professional and personal tasks and projects, where I forecast them out, and where I can perform easy reviews to see where I am stalling and what I need to be working on. It has been invaluable in my professional growth and is definitely credited with my success.

PROS

I love OmniFocus. Seriously. I would be more likely to ask what I DON'T like about it, because I like basically everything. I love the fact that I can set up projects and group them any way I want. I love that I can run simultaneous projects and concurrent tasks, or make it so one task becomes due once I complete a different one. I love that I can sync Omni with my cell phone so reminders show up in my Omni inbox. I love that I can email tasks to my inbox. I love that I can have task reminders pop up based on date, time, deferred time, location. I love that it quite succinctly puts GTD into effect. Trusted system? Check. Catchall? Check.

CONS

It's only for Mac, which is a bit of a pain because I'd love to have it available for PC so I could use it across any platform. How nice would that be? I also don't love the iOS app - it's cumbersome and involves too many taps to make it really useful for people looking not to waste time.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Best personal task / GTD manager if you are full into Apple ecosystem

PROS

It is not more than a task manager for macOS and iOS, but it’s built in its own mindset. People either love it or don’t understand it. It was originally the first application that was officially GTD® “acknowledged” (not certified because there is not such thing). If you are into GTD, there are some little gems that are difficult to find in other softwares: - Defer date: action is unavailable until then - Review perspective: a view specifically to make the “weekly review” easier, it lets you go through every project to review its associate actions - Review every date: if you are an advanced practitioner, there will be projects that you want to review more often; you can set some projects to be reviewed daily while you can review others weekly - Specific views to detect stalled projects - Powerful configurable views

CONS

If you have an Android phone you can have a hard time accessing your info. There is no official Android app (and probably will never be). Since version 3, OmniGroup is building an “emergency” web access to your lists, for those users who have macOS at home but Windows at work, and it works on Android too. It’s not the most usable interface but can save your day.

Ben

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

I really wanted to love OmniFocus

I really wanted to love OmniFocus, and I know it's a very poplar app, but it just never clicked for me. It always felt cumbersome for me to use. It has a ton of really cool features, and some really useful ways of helping you keep track of your tasks and projects. And if your'e really into the Getting Things Done method, it's great for that. I tried it for a year or two and struggled to make it work for my workflow. I watched several videos on how other people were using it, and tried to do a fresh start on it a few times, but finally switched to Things 3 and haven't looked back.

PROS

I like how feature packed and powerful OmniFocus is. There's a lot of ways you can customize the app, and lay it out in a way that helps you in the way you work. It's a great app to pair with a Getting Things Done workflow, as it's kind of tailored for that. I like the focus mode, in which it blocks out everything else in the app except for what you are currently working on, so that you can really focus on your current tasks and not be distracted by other things you have coming up. I also like the review feature, that allows you to review how you did each day or each week and what all you accomplished, and how your ongoing tasks are fairing.

CONS

I always felt like OmniFocus was a bit clunky and verbose. It was progressively harder for me to want to use it every day. The user interface felt a little crowded and hard for me to navigate effectively, and I just never felt I could use it efficiently without becoming too bogged down in all the features or other little things in the app.

Daniel

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY