All Setapp Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jordan

2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2023

Setapp Review: Nothing Else Compares.

User Profile

Jodi

Verified reviewer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

The most amazing value for the money you can get

I solve so many personal and business problems using the apps from Setapp that it would be a novel-length review. It is 100,000% worth it.

PROS

There are zillions of apps available on Setapp, and you get them all for a single price. Honestly, the price of Setapp is about the same as one single app. It's an amazing value, and there's such a wide variety of apps that any Mac user will find plenty of apps they'll use. It's a subscription service I don't want to be without.

CONS

There really isn't anything not to like, really. The only downside is that there are SO MANY apps you might need to take quite a bit of time to determine which apps will be useful to you.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Great Option if you are using or planning to use the software they offer anyway

Setting up Setapp (what a terrible way to start a sentence!) was as simple as downloading the app and installing it on MacOS like any other software and signing up with their service like you would with any other web service. They have lots of ways to pay, giving you options there too. Installing an iOS app offered by Setapp is also straight forward - they guide you through this process from the MacOS app.

PROS

Setapp has a great selection of software. It functions like an alternative App Store for MacOS, but even has some apps on offer for iOS. There are regularly new apps added and most are high quality polished offers.

CONS

Most of the offers are paid apps that I used to buy directly from the developers. A number have switched to subscriptions. Setapp bundles those into one subscription, and depending on what software offers you use or plan to use this can save you a lot of dough. I figured out I could save money with this service. I use timing for tracking my working hours and rely on a VPN on my travels, both are included in Setapp and in the end I am spending less money on the same (or similar) functions in more areas than these two applications.

Reasons for switching to Setapp

In the end it turned out to save me money to use the Setapp subscription rather than pay for a number of individual ones.

Vendor Response

Thank you!

Replied February 2024

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Very innovative app with some gems available.

Great tools, fair price and innovative business model.

PROS

- Great number of apps to chose from - very easy to use and to install apps. - handy way to have apps on multiple devices. - A few apps are really high quality.

CONS

- Many apps are not that useful or very niche, and they vary in quality. - Unless you are using a handful of apps regularly, you are better off just buying the individual apps that you need. - It could be an amazing service if there were fewer, but higher quality apps. - Support is not always helpful.

Jordan

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

The best Mac apps for 1 price

Setapp has been truly life changing for our team. It helps keeps cost manageable while giving us access to some of the highest quality products out there.

PROS

I've been a longgg time user of Setapp and it's the best-kept-secret-that-is-not-a-secret out there for Mac users. You pay a single subscription and get access to all of the best Mac apps out there. This makes it easy for us to give our team the software tools they need to do their job and ensure they have the best (and most handy) of what's out there. They have everything from meeting software to note taking apps to calendar apps to cleaning apps and more. Setapp is a must have for anyone on a Mac.

CONS

Installing apps through Setapp can be a bit confusing at first since they're installed to your machine, but through a 3rd party and you're only technically licensing them. Not much a hurdle, but it's a real one.

User Profile

Nishant

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

A must have for every Mac user

I use multiple software (10+) from Setapp daily, and I like the simplicity of managing them. Before that, I had to manage them separately, including their subscription.

PROS

The most important feature I liked about Setapp is that the aggregation of many useful software under one hood and the ease of installing and uninstalling. Moreover, under one subscription, it is more cost-effective than buying all the software separately (and managing their individual subscription). With Setapp, I was able to close multiple of my existing subscriptions. Another important thing about Setapp is it helps you discover new and useful software, and since it is anyways part of the subscription, you don't mind trying it out and seeing if works for you right from inside setup instead of going to the website, may be filling a form and then trying it out.

CONS

Nothing I can think of. This is one of its kind for Mac and has been very useful for me so far.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Great and continuously updated of software bundle

We've been using Setapp for nearly a year now in our company and they really deliver on their promises. My team happily uses the big selection of apps (there is something for everyone) and we are always eager to check out the new apps that pop up every few weeks. Generally the apps are of high quality, but some haven't been updated in while and a few are very bare bones. They conducted customer research sessions with me and took all my feedback seriously - they really care for their users. Overall really good value for the price point.

PROS

- Contains many high quality apps - Pricing is very reasonable - Includes iOS and Mac apps - Mac app is nicely done - Great customer support

CONS

- Some apps haven't been updated in a while - Would be great to have a roadmap of what's to come (apps, features) in the future - No Android apps for now - Setapp Mac app sometimes uses too many system resources in the background - Few low quality apps - Switching existing users from one organisation to another can be a bit fiddly

Reason for choosing Setapp

I am not aware of similar offerings

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

SetApp is awesome

Wonderful! It was great from the beginning and I am constantly surprised by the new app offerings that they have. I use it all the time and I will support this company as much as I can. Go team!

PROS

I was one of the first to get setapp and I have been in love with it since the start. They update their library regularly and they partner with companies that make the service a staple of my software library.

CONS

I’m a bit old school and miss the days where I can buy software once and then I can have it forever. Setapp is a subscription based service and if you stop paying them all of the apps that you’ve been using are no longer available to use.

User Profile

Josh

Verified reviewer

Fund-Raising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Incredible value for money

I first discovered SetApp while looking for a system cleaner for my Mac. I realised that it would be cheaper to get Clean My Mac X as part of the SetApp subscription, than buying it standalone. I didn't really expect to use any of the other software, but now that I'm a subscriber I use SO many of them. The value for money with SetApp is outstanding - I get a VPN, a system cleaner, a data recovery tool and so, so much more. I can see myself being a subscriber for a long, long time.

PROS

I doubt a better value-for-money software subscription service exists on the planet. Many of the platforms included cost more than the $10 a month fee alone, so considering there are well over 100 different softwares included, it's a no brainer. Standout software for me is Clean My Mac X, a fantastic system cleaner, and some of the utilities (Cleanshot, Meeter, Gemini etc).

CONS

I had some issues with some of the software, especially ClearVPN, and was also accidentally charge twice for my first month. These were minor issues however, and SetApp's fantastic support got me up and running and refunded the money very quickly.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Setapp makes it easy to try new software

PROS

I love that setapp allows me to subscribe to a software store for a low price. I have found so much new software to use

CONS

Some apps arent really that useful for day to day use.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great value for the small price (but only if you get used to it)

Overall — I loved the ability to get an app that I need at a particular moment very quickly. I enjoyed it while I was using it. And if it wasn't for the lack of apps that I do find on the MacAppStore or very "niche" oriented (they are important in my workflow) — I would definitely continue as a paid subscriber. You have to try it for yourself and see if Setapp has you covered.

PROS

Setapp was very easy to install and start-up. It was a simple process when I needed to add more team members to our account. Getting the desired apps from their collection feels "integrated" and natural in a sense. Doesn't feel like you have to go through too many cluttered steps in order to get your solution.

CONS

The lack of apps that I truly want to see, and that I use daily — they are not there. Though, this is definitely subjective, and you have you try it on your own to see if the existing collection fits your daily/weekly needs.

Gary

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Cheap and great

This is a quality product, a great interface at a terrific price.

PROS

This service has transformed my workflow and practice. The price to get some apps I was already using was cheaper than their direct prices. I also used it to find some quality gems.

CONS

Not thrilled by the recent run of free for a short period of time.

Reason for choosing Setapp

Cheaper and quality products

Zafer

Medical Devices, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Increases the productivity of the entire department

PROS

Setapp is a great platform that provides access to the entire software catalog of the company.

CONS

Subscription model of Setapp should be revised in a way to be more flexible.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Zafer!

Replied August 2022

Kristel

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Incredible, growing collection of apps for a flat rate - great way to save some $

PROS

Setapp is always my first stop when looking for an app that I need. They've curated an incredible assortment of apps, and there is literally something in their library for pretty much anything you need to do on your mac. At one flat subscription for all apps, this is one of the best deals out there, especially for small business owners still developing workflows and infrastructure.

CONS

Hard to think of anything I don't like. Some of the apps have an update process that's a bit more cumbersome than something you might purchase in the app store, but when I've run into this, the customer support for those apps has been very helpful.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Très utile pour éviter de payer de nombreux abonnements de logiciels, grand catalogue

PROS

Je n'ai plus besoin de rechercher et d'acheter individuellement des applications. Je peux accéder à un grand nombre d'applications populaires et bien conçues grâce à un abonnement mensuel.Toutes les applications sur Setapp sont sans publicité, sans achat intégré et sans logiciel malveillant, ce qui garantit une expérience utilisateur sûre et agréable.

CONS

Le prix mensuel est peut-être un peu élevé.

Julien

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Une solution intéressante pour découvrir de nouveaux logiciels

PROS

Un catalogue d'applications variés et professionnels. Il existe presque un logiciel pour tout faire, c'est donc idéal pour tester régulièrement des nouveautés. De plus il est possible de profiter de certains logiciels également sur son iOS.

CONS

Le prix reste relativement élevé surtout qu'il faut rajouter un supplément pour profiter des applications sur mobile.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

The Timing App is Worth The Cost of Subscription

Ulysses, Paste, Timing, Cleanshot are the must have apps in this suite.

PROS

The amount of software in the software is significant. The timing app along is worth the cost of admission.

CONS

Licensing across most of my devices gets tedious. Can get more expensive with multiple devices. The usefulness of 60% of the software on here is questionable and looks to only be added to increase the software number.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

A Toolbox that Keeps On Giving

PROS

Setapp gives me apps I didn't know I needed; I encounter an new workflow challenge or need to adapt a process, I open Setapp, and discover a product that does what I need. A few clicks, the app is installed and I'm ready to get productive.

CONS

The only thing I wish could be better about Setapp is about new apps; it would be great it Setapp would recommend their new app offerings to users, based on what apps we already use.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback!

Replied September 2022

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

The best app bundle for mac

I love the app recommendations and how often new apps are added to the bundle.

PROS

There are a lot of great apps that I had already purchased before I got to know setapp. With the package, the value was much lower

CONS

Some apps are not great, thats is a little frustrating sometimes.

Cayo

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY