All YouTrack Reviews

1-25 of 68 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Andrew

Computer Software, 11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed February 2023

A hidden gem in project/bug tracking

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

A hidden gem in project/bug tracking

Our overall experience is positive. We run it within our own environments and can't even remember a time when we've ever had any problems or outages. It's rock solid. It's also very performant and does not have unreasonable system requirements. Internal and external users all comment on it's ease of use, particularly as we can hide away the parts which are not so friendly for non-technical users. We run our projects using the kanban functionality and when we show the boards to some of our clients who are familiar with JIRA often comment on how clean the interface is.

PROS

It's easy to use not just for techies but end users. We use it as a customer support tool and with a simple cheat sheet, they are up and running very rapidly. The same is not true of JIRA which is a bit overwhelming for non-techies and is also way more expensive.

CONS

There's very little to find fault with. There are some minor gaps in functionality but nothing that's been a show stopper throughout the years of use.

Reason for choosing YouTrack

We've used other JetBrains products in the past and they are often of a very high standard. We didn't want to choose JIRA because it's way too complex for non-technical users and also didn't want to get locked in to the Atlassian suite as we find their software generally overpriced and heavy.

Laura

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Lightweight and fast without boundaries

PROS

It's very easy to use and getting startet. Also it's very flexible, it can fit in so many workflow styles.Also the software itself is pretty lightweight and fast (much better than a certain Australian competitor)

CONS

When trying to implement SCRUM, we found it difficult to fit YouTrack into this workflow as it had no "borders" for working with sprints and backlogs etc.

Reason for choosing YouTrack

More and better overview of tasks and the project in a whole

Tom

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Inexpensive alternative to Jira that is a great tool for a startup or SME

Overall, our transition to YouTrack from Jira / Confluence was at first a good cost conscious upgrade for our team. The smooth onboarding process of migrating documentation and tasks from Jira was quite straight forward. However, after some time using the product everyday it was obvious that it loaded extremely slow (even slower than Jira), this included changing ticket statuses, reporting new tickets, etc.

PROS

Onboarding was seamless from Jira / Confluence into YouTrack. It was able to ingest all our existing tickets, comments, attachments, custom fields, etc. without almost any manual configuration.

CONS

The UI is quite confusing and feels clunky. For example when you have multiple projects and looking for the "assigned to me" on individual projects, you have to navigate around before being able to then search. In our opinion.

Reason for choosing YouTrack

Inexpensive in comparison and the team liked YouTrack

Reasons for switching to YouTrack

Initially we were looking for a tool that would be faster and more responsive as we had issues with Jira / Confluence loading tickets very slowly which wasted precious seconds / minutes. Additionally, we didn't want to have to pay for Confluence separately, we wanted an all inclusive tool. YouTrack was an inexpensive alternative that seemed good at the onset.

User Profile

Maicol

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

A great bug tracker

PROS

Can be integrated with VCS repos (such as Github or Gitlab) A lot of custom fields and options to customize issue tracking experience Great customer support from Jetbrains

CONS

UI a bit minimalistic (it can be a pro for users who like a minimalistic look, but personally I don't like minimal UIs. I prefer more detailed ones)

Reasons for switching to YouTrack

Bugify were not updated anymore, its developer abandoned it. It started to be old and I needed to replace it to use new security features and SSO login

User Profile

Silvio

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Probably the best tool for task tracking

Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

PROS

I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

CONS

I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

Reasons for switching to YouTrack

Trello was too simple

User Profile

Dayne

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

YouTrack helps keep projects on track

The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

PROS

The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

CONS

I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

User Profile

Juan Carlos

Verified reviewer

Computer Games, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Best solution for project management

PROS

-Easy to use -Web based -Free for less than 5 people -Not really expensive on the next point (15 users) -Able to add cards to backlog -Custom status pointers -Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back -Customization of user profile -Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns -Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same -Simply perfect for scrum

CONS

-Design wise is not really appealing -Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around -Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

User Profile

Ashi

Verified reviewer

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Simple and useful but not without some annoying glitches

PROS

It's a web based product, which means that teams in different regions can use it very easily without the use of any VPN connection to a central location. Its Dashboard widgets and agile boards are super useful and easy to use. Many of the fields are super configurable to allow for a very personalized integration.

CONS

Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times. Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira.

User Profile

András

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

It is a very capable ticket and issue management system and easier to set it up than JIRA

I'm glad it exists, it looks nice enough to convince the management and knows enough to satisfy most of the developers too.

PROS

Ease of deployment comes first, the integration with TeamCity (CI) and the IDEA IDE itself is another thing worth mentioning, I also like the Android app. But the greatest thing is that you can freely use it with user limits on your own servers.

CONS

The upgrade process between different distributions like, war, jar, docker is not always the easiest.

Arnaud

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Great for project management and tracking

PROS

The customizable nature of the software makes it a very interesting choice.

CONS

Some of the plugin functionality can be a little difficult to set up.

Binigya

Computer Games, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

YouTrack - Track Everything

My time with YouTrack has been very pleasant. Apart from its few shortcomings, I have grown really fond of it, and it is really helpful in tracking and managing projects, even if you are coordinating with an external team.

PROS

YouTrack is in my opinion, THE best project management and tracking tool there is. While it doesn't have a bucketload of features, or does not come on the cheap side, it does what is does extremely well. I love its UI and UX, it really makes using YouTrack a pleasure. I love its take on making tasks and managing them via boards. It is so easy to create a task, assign it's priority and notify the people concerned. I also especially love its Git integration, which makes working it with a second nature when you are coding and you want to make a commit. If you are serious about getting a project management tool, please try this once. You will love it!

CONS

I really dislike that there is not an integrated communication platform like Basecamp in YouTrack. But it has a Slack integration, which is handy and useful. I also don't like that you don't have much theme choices, as for a tool that I will be using everyday, I would like a bit more of layouts, customizations and themes. And also, sometimes uploading files can be a buggy experience. Videos may take a long time to play, some files are indicated as uploaded but you can't view them immediately. These occur very rarely, but are a nuisance for sure.

Matteo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Ottimo software per il project management

Nel complesso ci troviamo bene con questo software, non sentiamo il bisogno di cambiamento

PROS

Abbiamo iniziato a usare Youtrack quando ci siamo trovati stretti con l'altro software che usavamo. La possibilità di creare action e workflow personalizzati è la cosa che ci ha cambiato il modo di lavorare. Ora abbiamo la possibilità di avere dei workflow, scritti in Javascript, direttamente su Youtrack per avere aggiornamenti istantanei sul nostro software di messaggistica

CONS

Richiede parecchio tempo per il setup, ma una volta effettuata la configurazione desiderata difficilmente si deve cambiare

Reasons for switching to YouTrack

Il vecchio software poneva delle limitazioni, mentre con questo software possiamo fare ciò che vogliamo e possiamo creare dei workflow personalizzati

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Holds great promise , allows you to stay on top of things, but leaves a few things wanting

Perfect for small teams to be used primarily for bug tracking, and sprint planning. Easy to setup and use without having to jump through any hoops. The interface and the whole system is rather intuitive which comes in handy especially for companies where teams work on multiple projects at the same time and more often than not each is tied with another project in one way or another. Comes with plenty of integrations so one can customize as needed. Everybody at our company loves this product.

PROS

compared to the various bug tracking softwares, this one is super simple, and easy to set up and get going. The interface is intuitive and helps keep sprints clean and organized. Performance is good as long as the setup has been done properly, else you will experience lags. Best for small teams which don't want to deal with the complexities of using JIRA. Pricing is based on storage so that is really very helpful. you can do custom queries to search for bugs, and my team uses it every day during the agile meetings. It comes in really handy.

CONS

Not cons per say but 1. Features keep changing under your legs. For example, the option to search by `Assigned to me` has altogether disappeared from the main menu. Now you have to specially navigate to find that tag. 2. The url is rather long: mycompanyname.myjetbrains.youtrack.com 3. Comment boxes under tickets look rather medieval.

Nontokozo

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

YouTrack: My Review

Overall I liked it. A clear visual representation shows how much work is done and how much remains. This product is less expensive than others. YouTrack is a software solution that solves the problems associated with agile board development, making it easier to manage project requirements, finish on time, and track bugs and issues.

PROS

Excellent task management support with YouTrack. It has good visibility and helps increase productivity. The collaboration tools are convenient for teams. A friend recommended this app to me. I find it useful in every aspect of my life. It assists in a wide range of fields. In YouTrack, the project tracker and project manager help me stay on top of what needs to get done and how much time each task takes. Through a browser-based interface, it tracks all types of bugs and manages issues.

CONS

There are not many tutorials about how to efficiently use the software. I had to learn everything myself. The learning curve isn't steep because it's easy to understand, but there should be more options for learning.

Dan

Computer & Network Security, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Mom, can we have JIRA? But we have JIRA at home. JIRA at home: YouTrack.

PROS

JIRA knockoff, simple copied all the good stuff…

CONS

Finding tickets is Close to imposibile sometimes.

Zohaib

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Comprehensive Project Management Suite

We love YouTrack now. We can't run our work without it. It has become the main concern for the team to solve issues and work on new tasks reported by the stakeholders.

PROS

YouTrack offers the complete flexibility to do things that are out of the box like adding custom scripts to apply conditions to move a task or to integrate the whole software to a local attendance system using the APIs. If a user is highly enabled and equipped with customizing the features of YouTrack, almost anything can be done in aspects of project management. We have been using YouTrack for over 6 months and everybody has become used to it and happy with it because it has solved a big bunch of problems including the communication constraint.

CONS

YouTrack should be more user-friendly. In order to become a happy user, one needs to use it for at least a month to understand the environment and do basic stuff like creating projects, boards, or reports. It would not be wrong if I call it intimidating but believe me, it's worth it. The complexity of usage pays off once YouTrack is practiced enough with consistency.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Excellent tool for tracking product development projects

We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

PROS

I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

CONS

It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

Joshua

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

The more you use it the better it gets

I don't know how we would do what we do without it. It is so much a part of our process and communication we really would not be as efficient without it.

PROS

It is so easy to use. I don't want to have to spend time setting up, fiddling with or figuring out software. This allows me to just glance at it, update it and move on. I rarely spend any time trying to figure out how to make it do what I need it to do.

CONS

There is a bit of setup for user permissions that needs to be managed. So you need someone assigned to manage the settings, and set up new projects. Once you have things set up there seems to be little time spent doing this.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Functional work manager

With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

PROS

It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

CONS

The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

Thomas

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Helps keep our team organized

YouTrack helps us keep track of tasks in a simple and effective way.

PROS

Its helpful to relay information about a particular account from one team member to the next. It is also easy to figure out what things still need to be completed and which have already been completed

CONS

once I create a ticket it automatically emails me anytime something is changed or noted on the ticket. Sometimes I even get double emails when I am tagged in something. For our team, sometimes the ticket simply needs to be passed on but I don't need to follow the progress every step of the way. Many times I only need to report something and then pass it on. It does allow you to opt out of the emails but I would prefer to simply opt into what I want updates on and what I don't.

User Profile

Max

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE