All RevenueCat Reviews

1-25 of 45 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Critical for running my subscription business

Happy customer!

PROS

Just works — provides server-side software and client-side APIs the Apple and Google should provide but don't. Useful charts Supports iOS, Android and many integrations It just works! No drama.

CONS

Nothing comes to mind. It does its job well.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

Actually we did have our own homegrown software, client-side only for a while. Then thankfully we found RevenueCat and ditched that code, which had a few bugs and did so much less. Now as Apple and Google come up with new nonsense and hoops for people to jump through, RevenueCat just takes care of it!

Dakota

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Simple Solution for In-App Subscriptions

We turned to RevenueCat because of the hassle that exists trying to verify purchases manually. Doing this ourselves would mean setting up a server, handling all the different cases across the App Store and Play Store, and making sure this server is maintained and always live. For a small team like ours, this just wasn't viable and any potential money "saved" doing it ourselves would be lost in the time we would spend setting up our own solution. That would also mean extra time before an app can be released which would increase our time to market. RevenueCat handled everything we needed it to and took about a week to fully integrate.

PROS

RevenueCat made it really easy for us to implement In-App Subscriptions for our app with absolutely no prior experience in taking payments on mobile devices. It saved us the upfront cost of paying for our own server to verify purchases along with the potential months of headache to handle all of the different scenarios you need to plan for and handle with in-app purchases (buying, renewing, pausing, canceling, etc.) Being able to pull information directly from RevenueCat instead of hard-coding it into our app also meant we could have a single source of truth (the App Store/Google Play Store) where we would update our available products.

CONS

The only thing I wasn't a fan of (which has since been changed) was the payment model. When we first integrated it, the payment model was a fixed monthly rate versus the percentage cut that it is now. Extremely useful features like webhooks weren't accessible for us at the time because of this, but as I stated they've now changed this. Because of that, I cannot name anything I dislike about RevenueCat.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

The competitor we considered didn't look bad, but we trusted RevenueCat because large app companies were already using them.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

A good tool but still need lots of work

Ok, could be much better but still the tradeoff between implementing everything and relying on it is still worth it

PROS

We decided to use revenuecat in order to have "one ring to rule them all" for our IoS and Android app to manage our products and subscriptions. It works fine (most of the times) and takes away that burden from us.

CONS

The key points that come to my mind are: - Calculated revenue is wrong! It does not match the actual app revenue since it does not take into account neither the day of the purchase exchange for the currency and also automatically uses USD dollars for everything - When some events happens RevenueCat is often quite slow in contacting our APIs to tell us about it. I reckon it might be due to the Store updates but still want to mention this since often it gave us problems in sync subscriptions purchases - Sometimes support has taken even 4-7 days to answer our emails and we had to ping them

Maciej

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

no brainer for small mobile app

when i started building our app RevCat was a no-brainer. now, when we grow and have $30k revenue monthly, the product starts to be a little bit pricy. in the future, we may consider building our own system and use native apple api. what could hold us at RevCat is a possibility to reach to users who cancel their paying plan and send a push notification with a special offer.

PROS

- easy setup for a developer - i did it a long time ago and since then it works perfectly - dashboard with charts that i check almost daily to have an idea of how many users we have on trials/how is the app performing. - MOST IMPORTANT: i can instantly see if the new version converts users to a paid plan better.

CONS

- there are bugs in the iOS iAPs, so it's hard to point where the fault is, but some of our users complain that they can't restore purchases on their second device. RevCat support suggested they can remove the app and redownload - and that helps... but it is a lot of work for a new user.

Simon

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

A must have for cross platform indie developers

PROS

Super easy integration and saved months of development time for cross platform subscriptions. The SDK also helps out tremendously when doing customer support. And it saves a bunch of time when building support for new subscription features or when configuring products. Signing up for RevenueCat was one of the best things I have done for my company!

CONS

The charts are a bit slow to update and don't seem to be accurate when it comes to revenue from countries that have VAT added to the price. For example, the revenue from countries like Sweden, where I have a large percentage of my customers, is reported as having a take home percentage of 70%. The real number is around 55% due to VAT, so the charts are inflated.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

I Need RevenueCat

Over all I am 100% happy. I can continue to be happy when you keep iterating as we all must in the subscription world.

PROS

I have to chose 1 thing? I can't. 1. I love how you built this for hardworking app developers. You saw the unmet need and you filled it with love. 2. I love your response from your team when I have a question or problem. 3. I love how you offer a very affordable service and when we want more features you hook us so we have to pay more but we like it ;)

CONS

Better communication with Apple when we update our price of subscription. Have that reflect on our charts side.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

We met them at WWDC. That helps. We heard about you before WWDC too. You were the right tool for the job at a scalable price.

Chad

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

An amazing service for facilitating the development of StoreKit-enabled apps

PROS

I give RevenueCat a truly enthusiastic recommendation. Apple does not make it easy to get up and running with StoreKit-enabled apps; RevenueCat eliminates all the pain from developing those apps, cutting out months of development time. Not only is the service exemplary, but so is their documentation and their customer service, even for their lowest-level "Build" plan. The RevenueCat team know they are investing in the future of those who use RevenueCat, so they provide prompt, professional support to RevenueCat's users. I can recommend RevenueCat without reservation. Don't pass up the opportunity to use this exemplary service!

CONS

I can't think of anything I dislike about the service— it's really that good.

User Profile

Sudipto

Verified reviewer

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Using RevenueCat server from app inception to release to the App Store

The integration is stable. Once coded, I seldom need to revisit it. So, it's now a seamless experience for my users and the app

PROS

The integration mechanism into swift code base is detailed in RevenueCat docs. This made it possible to successfully integrate it. It is very helpful that testing in the sandbox is possible using a sandbox user

CONS

The concepts of Entitlements, Offerings, Products is difficult to memorize. It's good that RevenueCat has readily available detailed documentation to cover these concepts

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Exactly what I needed!

PROS

I like how the setup is very easy and fast, and it has all the feature I needed especially the one source of truth. I am currently using it for free, and thats a major plus as my app grow and sales grow I will be joining the paid plan which is very fair considering the benefits and the revenue I will be making. Having react-native library was a major plus for me as well.

CONS

Nothing, really. If I had to say something I would say that when I tested on sandbox, I experienced some delays for test users to show on the dashboard, but that is not really a major issue and most of the time its working just fine.

User Profile

Oskar

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Flutter App Development w/ RevenueCat

I am very satisfied with this service and hope to use it for the next years to come.

PROS

Implementing custom billing structures that are reliable and secure is difficult. When building our app, RevenueCat made the implementation process much easier. It allowed us to quickly implement subscriptions and in-app purchases with Apple and Google Play.

CONS

Since I've been working with this software (for 3 months now). I have not encountered any problems, and if so, the support team was quick to help me solve them.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

Our requirements left us with no other options than RevenueCat.

Niels

Individual & Family Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

RevenueCat Evaluation

We love the value that RevenueCat has brought us. It's honestly saved us thousands of man hours if we had not used them. During covid-19 our business has been hit hard and had to get rid of other services but RevenueCat we never one them we thought we could do without.

PROS

The ease of use to plug directly into our Flutter Application.

CONS

The Charting with Churn Reporting is completly broken. We've been keeping track of every cancellation and failed payment internally and we have drastictly different numbers on the daily numbers. Because of this our subscription count will jump up and down on the dashboard and show weird daily numbers that start off for the previous day way higher that it should be and then reduce down to where they should be in a day or two. We love RevenueCat and what it gives us and as a startup ourself, we understand growing pains. We have a internal meme that there is someone at RC is manually adding the numbers and doing it wrong and then on Mondays someone else is manually adjusting them! All in good fun!

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

We've been with Revenue Cat now over 2 years and been through the growing pains together and we would not have it any other way! When we first looked at the product it seemed like this would be a much better choice than trying to build all this ourselves for iOS and Android. And the decsision was the right one!

Sophie

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Useful but expensive solution for mobile app subscriptions

PROS

RevenueCat makes it easier to handle subscriptions for mobile apps through the Apple and Google Play Stores. It handles a lot of the behind-the-scenes mechanics of checking users' subscription status and dealing with refunds and cancellations.

CONS

It's very expensive - because you're charged based on revenue processed, it can wind up eating a huge percentage of your profits for apps with moderate or low margins. It's tough to make a business work when Apple or Google takes 15-30% and RevenueCat takes another significant cut off the top. Other issues: the app often has significant downtime/outages which aren't always reported or resolved promptly, and the charts features are quite unpolished.

Michael

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Quick and Convenient

Fantastic! Customer service has been incredible. Very impressed by the dashboards and the SDKs that you can use to implement into your app. I am honestly amazed and would highly recommend them.

PROS

As an app developer, I ran into several nuances with how different platforms have different requirements for processing payments. RevenueCat made it easy to implement In-App payments in a time when I was pressed for time. I also use Stripe and will be implementing Google Play IAP when they force it in fall 2020. RevenueCat makes it easy to combine all subscriptions into a nice dashboard where I can go to see and manage all of my subscriptions regardless of the platform.

CONS

I somewhat struggle with the thought of paying a small percentage of my revenue rather than paying a flat, monthly rate. Currently, with revenue so low, RevenueCat is definitely worth it. As revenue increases, I may have to consider implementing some of these webhooks myself to manage my own subscriptions.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

They had the SDKs I needed to integrate with capacitor applications

Harry

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2020

Great platform for integrating subscriptions into your iOS app.

It's been great, no problems so far.

PROS

RevenueCat makes it easy to keep track of receipts, and I also enjoy using the metrics recorded as a basis for future decisions.

CONS

Nothing serious that I don't like. But, if I were to nitpick, the charts could use an UI refresh. They're looking a little old.

Trond

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent, would absolutely recommend!

PROS

Very easy to use, did really like how they made a complicated process easy to integrate in apps. The SDK and documentations is just awesome with good written articles, examples, tutorials and also great youtube tutorial videos for getting started. Integrating in app purchasing/subscription in apps is a big hassle, a lot of stuff must be implemented in backend/frontend and must be 100% stable. RevenueCat just fix all that hassle for you so you can use your time on the important stuff, creating apps. It's free until you reach 10k USD/month, I would gladly pay for this service when reaching that amount and maybe do it sooner to access the extra features they provide.

CONS

The concept of Entitlements, Offerings and Products was not so self explaining at start and I had to read the documentation to understand it. However after integrating it into my apps I understand why it's very good way to go.

Asher

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2020

Good to manage subscription billiong

PROS

We like the fact that it saves us from building out our own subscription management system. It has enabled us to focus a lot more on helping our customers succeed.

CONS

Reporting can be improved and additionally more integrations can be made available for a lower fee for indie developers.

Zafer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

App Subscription Business

PROS

Fast and easy implementation. Reliable in many aspects.

CONS

For big companies no problem at all but when you think of a startup and integration with other third parties you must pay for it. And the payment is not affordable for startups.

Reason for choosing RevenueCat

i put revenue cat last but when i got bad experiences with other platforms, I turn to revenuecat. I am very satisfied with the performance.

Reasons for switching to RevenueCat

reliability and accuracy issue.

Mehmet Emin

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE