All AppFolio Investment Manager Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2023

AppFolio Investment Management is the best!

Jennifer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Great Tool for Investor Management

We had a dedicated team for the upload that worked with me to make sure all our info was transferred accurately. Very robust with new updates and improvements weekly, so still learning all the features.

PROS

The ability to upload documents and tax forms in bulk

CONS

Not having the ability to process dividend payments from the software

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Investment Manager

The decision was based solely on the fact that AppFolio offered both a PM and IM side that could communicate and cut down on duplicated tasks. Syndication Pro was just adding this feature as we were offboarding. If They had offered this feature a few months earlier, we may not have switched.

Gary

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2021

AppFolio is great

They're new to the game, which I like because the price is lower and their team is eager to improve. And we get to give our advice and feedback so the product is created in ways that fit our needs

PROS

It's a secure way to trasnmit K-1s and receive bank info, etc. It's a great CRM system. Our investors love having a portal they can access at anytime to see their investments, distributions, monthly reports, sign subscription documents, etc.

CONS

There are some features that are still missing, but it's still a great value and they're constantly improving and making updates.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

Good value, morse expensive than smartVault, but lots more capabilities. Way cheaper than Juniper Square or Yardi and the easy-to-use interface.

Giulietta

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2020

Time Saver

The initial experience converting data could have been better managed. We were provided with limited information and had to rely on customer service to get through the early stages. Our experience with customer service has been exceptional. They are attentive and respond back quickly. Over the past year we have worked with members of the different product teams. They have been able to adapt IM so it meets our needs. We have a few more outstanding items but with time we know these too will get resolved. Overall great product.

PROS

Saving so much processing time. Our quarter end process and K-1 year end reporting went from days to hours/minutes. It is so beneficial having all our investor information consolidated in 1 system compared to many separate excel spreadsheets. We also use AppFolio Property Manager and both systems work well together for accounting purposes.

CONS

Not having all the capable functionality available to us. We have an active fund and the functionality we would benefit using is only available to "New Offerings" The Investor Statements still need work before our company can utilize them.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

We were already using AppFolio Property Manager (APM). APM is a great product and felt confident in trying another of AppFolio's products.

Mandy

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2022

Easy to use but not very good with reporting

I like that it is easy for the investor to use and makes their experience better.

PROS

It is easy to use for both investors and team members

CONS

The reporting capabilities are terrible.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

I didn't have the final decision but I believe the easiness of the system and its look was why it was chosen.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Investment Manager

CrowdStreet was clunky and not easy for investors.

Michael

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

[SENSITIVE CONTENT] is the Man

It's been realatively easy to use. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is very patient, takes his time with our team and goes through various challenges completely. He knows his stuff, is nice to work with and doesn't seem to complain when I ask idiotic questions and request things that I likely should simply know how to do. He is a pro and I'd give him a bonus in the realm of 100% to 200% his annual salary.

PROS

As a smaller developer having a professional client-side portal helps to instill confidence in our product and investments. Appfolio allows us that in a very simple fashion.

CONS

The software is a bit primitive and still needs a few features. It feels like it's going in the right direction and I've watch this team systematically build the dnamic property management side in a very cohesive and sensible fashion and I'm sure if those same people are working here we'll look back in a couple years at a masterpiece.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

Used Appfolio for property management so I didn't really consider other products... although these questions are making me wonder... lol.

Vendor Response

Hello Michael, Thank you so much for your kind words for our Customer Care team member! We're happy to hear our software is helping you instill confidence with your investors. We look forward to continuing to invest in our product and services, and to working with you as a valued partner for many more years!

Replied August 2022

David

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Great Customer Service by [SENSITIVE CONTENT]

Great - super knowledgeable, professional, friendly and timely support.

PROS

Ease of use and great communication tool. Also, the AppFolio team really understands how real estate sponsors operatoe.

CONS

A few features are buried - and recently you changed from having entity co-signers to having entity "required signers" - didn't like that change.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

Cost and ease of use.

Vendor Response

David, thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We value your partnership and feedback, and remain committed to investing in new innovations for our clients and building the best Investment Management platform in the industry!

Replied August 2022

Ryan

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Andover Review

Great experience thus far. Customer support [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is excellent.

PROS

Very easy to use and has been a great tool to improve efficiency in managing investor data, fundraising, and document dissemination/storage.

CONS

The calculations of financial waterfalls don't always match up to our deal structures so we still are using spreadsheets to calculate distributions. In addition, the reporting features are good, but would like to see them be more customizable.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Investment Manager

Same product quality at a much lower price.

Vendor Response

Ryan, thank you for the positive review! We are happy to be part of your success in creating internal efficiencies. We value your product feedback and will continue to invest in improving our financial and reporting features.

Replied August 2022

Sally

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Appfolio IM - An Excellent Choice

We have been hooked on Appfolio Investment Management from its inception and have enjoyed watching it mature as an integrated database. Its ease of use and information platform have been an excellent experience that keeps getting better!

PROS

As an existing Appfolio PM product user, we were an early user of the Investment Management platform. IM allows us to have information about our investors and their history with us at our fingertips. And the Portal puts information at our investors fingertips! This is such a time saver. Appfolio was a big help in the transition from our old database. The transition was smooth and, surprisingly, easy!

CONS

Report functions have come a long way within IM, but still lack some robustness. Appfolio is very open to suggestions and they encourage team meetings with us to see how things are going and what we see a need for in the various areas.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Investment Manager

Cost

Jeremy

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Greatest business enabler so far

We were using email and conference calls to communicate investment information previous to AppFolio IM. Every time we had a call or sent an email different content was shared and it was a labor intensive process that we couldn't keep up with. Even worse, our accounting team managed investor reports via Excel reports which were cumbersome, time consuming to create, had errors, and we weren't always sure which was the latest version. Using AppFolio IM we can add all investors to a prospective opportunity and launch fundraising with one distribution... and we never attach files to emails that used to get forwarded far beyond where they were intended. And our accountants save whole days worth of time. In numerical terms, we have probably 10-20x our equity raise from the time we started to just 4-6 months forward. And we were able to hire new staff to help raise capital and know they could rely on our pushing information out through the portal consistently and quickly to their new prospects. We've quickly moved past 6-figure investors and well into 7-figure investors.

PROS

Very intuitive and user friendly from an administrator's perspective to get up and running quickly and with only limited time available. Our customers report back we are a stand out among peers and everyone has commented that accessing the site and using the features was simple. The support from the AppFolio IM team is unparalleled; they adapt the program in response to feedback and are always available to help answer technical questions. You never get a "help desk" type experience!

CONS

No complaints yet. New features are added all the time which is great. We are also a user of the AppFolio Property Management site. We evaluated many options and this was the easiest and quickest way for us to launch.

Daisy

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Great All-In-One Investor Management System!

Appfolio has been great when it comes to customer service and helping us get the system all set up properly. They have even offered solutions when it comes to replicating some of the complicated structures in the system. They have also been open to any feedback that would make the system easy for us and our investors to use.

PROS

The Appfolio Investment Management software allowed us to consolidate all of our various spreadsheets into one system. This allowed us to have one go-to place for investor information. It will also allow our investor to check their investments and access docs whenever they need to. The system has been very easy to use overall!

CONS

There are a few changes that need to be done on the back-end. However, every Appfolio associate I have talked to has been really helpful and quick with the turn around time.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

Compared to another software we were approached for, Appfolio was at a much better pricing point. We were using the Appfolio Property Management software already, which we really liked, so decided it would be great to just have everything in one place. Also, we loved that Appfolio would take our feedback and possibly make changes to match our reporting needs.

Sidney

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

AppFolio is great!

Our overall experience has been very positive. The customer support team has to be the single best part about the software! They are prompt and get to the bottom of all our questions quickly.

PROS

Our team loves how many different features AppFolio has. We jumped in 3 months ago and have been refreshed by the ease of use.

CONS

We wish there was more customizability within the layout of the software.

Reasons for switching to AppFolio Investment Manager

Customer service and AppFolio is a 15 minute drive from our office.

Vendor Response

Hello Sidney, Thank you for your review and praise for our customer support team! We are also very happy to hear about your positive experience with usability. Since you are local, we would love to have you visit our office soon to meet our team in person!

Replied August 2022

Brian

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Software you can shape...

PROS

While AppFolio's Property Management software is the industry standard, they've only recently introduced their investor management software. With this you get the resources of a juggernaut with the nimbleness of a startup. We've been using AF for over a year and have seen the UI grow by leaps and bounds. For us the 2 greatest aspects of the platform are the ability to request features, edits, requests (big or small) and actually see them get implemented. The other is the customer service. Hands down the best experience we've had with a software provider. Their responsiveness, knowledge and overall thoroughness is critical. Pair all this with a reasonable price and you can't lose.

CONS

Whatever bells & whistles other providers may offer....AF has either implemented them or has them on their horizon.

David

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Appfolio Investment Management has worked well for me

Very good service and support.

PROS

The software is easy to use and helps me provide an attractive front-end to my investors. They have a single place to view all of their investments with my firm. The software actually has a lot of great features that I don't have the need for today, but it's great to know that I'll have the tools when I'm ready. The email and CRM functionality has come a long way. After a rocky start with the editor, I've started to use IM for all of my investor communication.

CONS

It's all easy to use but I wish it could integrate with other partners who also operate with their own Appfolio IM license. There should be a way to share that info.

Reason for choosing AppFolio Investment Manager

Value for price.

Lucy

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Management made easy

It's been excellent, 10/10 would recommend, technical support makes sure to contact you back about any requests

PROS

Appfolio helps manage your properties in a much-organized way, it lets you customize your account and notifications so that way you make sure you always get email notifications about the most important subjects for your team

CONS

Its been 3 years of use, so far only 1 time there's been an issue with the software and it was fixed within hours

Natalie

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Amazing Experience

Once we are completely on line this software will allow all our investors to be able to see what is going on with their investments and will cut back on the calls I receive.

PROS

The investment features are very important to our business and upon educating myself with the help of [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] Team and [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] we are working toward utilizing the software and also having all of our investors use it. An amazing software that is transitioning as needed.

CONS

The only real problem we experienced was our upload that did not work due to comas and periods in the upload. I have worked with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] a lot with getting this process completed. This is minimal to the need for this type of software.

Daniel

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Appfolio Investment Management

My experience with IM has been excellent, but our interactions with the IM team, have been even better.

PROS

I love how Appfolio Investment Management enables us to streamline our fundraising and reporting activities.

CONS

I wish we had training videos for IM features, so we can utilize more of the software.

Jon

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY