User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

3.95

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3

Value for money

3.5

Functionality

4

  • icon"It does everything you can think of. Probably the premiere RMM solution on the market."
  • icon"Nice interface with LOTS of features. Fast remote access with lots of control options."
  • icon"It's a good product once you get through the learning curve. The product admins are eager to make the product more effective and efficient at helping you manage your client's networks."
  • icon"Limited reporting functionalities. The API is also very limited."
  • icon"The risk of failure seemed much too large for a system built on an OS that we don't know very well. Finally, the sales tactics are incredibly strong."
  • icon"Support is frustrating to deal with at the initial levels."

All N-central Reviews

1-25 of 41 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

A must have as a RMM solution for any MSP.

Easy to use and learn. A must have for our clients where time is of the essence when an incident occurs where downtime is business threatening.

Pros

The ability to automate as much as possible is key in our business. Using maintenance scheduling is one of the most important features and was key to choosing this product over others.

Cons

I wish there were more integrations with other industry software.

Reasons for choosing N-central

This was more established and had more features for our business between the two.

Reasons for switching to N-central

Poor implementation and support was heading downhill since being sold a few years ago.

Elias

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Powerful RMM Tool, Reporting Can Be Improved

Overall, we have been very happy with the product. It does require some investment in configuration, but that investment allows for a very powerful product. I have been extremely impressed with N-Central management's willingness to help ensure our deployment is successful.

Pros

N-Central is very powerful and customizable. Configuration is very granular and allows experienced administrators to configure almost limitless monitoring. N-Central staff has gone above and beyond what was expected to make sure our deployment is successful.

Cons

Reporting could be improved. The reporting interface is very basic and requires a separate Microsoft Windows SQL server to use. From speaking with contacts at N-Central, this system is planned to be replaced in the very near future.

Reasons for choosing N-central

N-Central proved to be a much more customizable product than Automate. Our previous experience with ConnectWise support led to skepticism about the level of support that would be provided.

Reasons for switching to N-central

After being sold to a venture capital firm, Kaseya support had been lacking. Additionally, the product improvements began to suffer at that time.

Jaden

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Very helpful tool for MSPs

So far so good. This product has been great to use as we are migrating to it

Pros

I have only been using this tool for a few months. However I really like it. It seems to have more features and more reporting than other RMM tools we have used

Cons

The only feature so far that I am not in love with is being able to use remote background like we were able to previously.

Reasons for switching to N-central

We acquried a company and we really liked the features of N-Central better than the RMM tool we are currently using

Phillip

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

April 2020

Covid-19 - reduction of services applied after 5 years during a pandemic.

Over all they are very good at taking your money and over the years have been hard to communicate with. It’s all sales sales sales.

Pros

Over the years this software has been hit and miss, we would spend a lot of time trying to get errors fixed. It was getting better, they also keep changing the sales rep that deals with me. When they call they talk about a different business and advise the customers name and customer to me. It’s happened twice!

Cons

The biggest thing I didn’t like was when they removed remote control from my essential Licence’s. To make it worse it was done over the covid-19 pandemic. they are asking me to buy Licence’s and I have refused. We are social distancing and this has made it stressful for myself and my customers.

Reasons for choosing N-central

For the Licence service that’s now been removed.

Response from SolarWinds MSP

Hi Phillip, I'm very sorry that you are unhappy. Our decision to remove remote control from N-central Essentials licenses was made months before the COVID-19 outbreak. We believe Professional N-central licenses provide the proper remote monitoring and management capability that workstations and servers require. We understand that remote work and therefore remote control is very important for you right now. Therefore, we have offered SolarWinds Take Control Plus, a standalone remote support solution, free of charge for 90 days. In addition, for a limited time, Take Control Plus licenses also come with 25 additional end-user accounts (for a total of 35) for partners to extend to employees and clients. Simply complete this form before June 30, 2020 https://www.solarwindsmsp.com/products/take-control/trial You may also be interested in these resources to help you navigate this unprecedented time: www.solarwindsmsp.com/covid-19-resources Be well. - Shelley O'Brien, N-central PMM

Replied May 2020

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

It works well most of the time, however...

SolarWinds is turning into a VERY large company. This is great as they get the cash flow to perform R&D and bring some interesting products and tools to the table, HOWEVER, this means they are reaching the point where one hand is not talking to another, products are becoming "designed by committee" and other issues that can be resolved with improved internal communication.

Pros

Working for an MSP this is a very feature-rich product for remote control, remote monitoring, deploying and monitoring Anti-Virus, and some backup features (However I DO NOT recommenced the ArcServe-based product.)

Cons

-Support has been very hit or miss and lately they have fallen into the "Miss" category -We had an issue where monitored services of a device were disappearing. After opening a ticket with SolarWinds support they informed me that the software cannot properly track how/why these services were disappearing from devices. This lead to at least 2 events where monitored hard drives were not longer being monitored, we were not made aware of it, the drives filled up, and services crashed -Product names keep being changed and we are not immediately made aware of it.

User Profile

Javier

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

It cost us a client

After months of back and forth with support we finally figured out what the issue was and was never issued a refund and they refused to release of from our contract after that ghastly experince.

Pros

Nothing much, the interface was terrible.

Cons

The monitoring agent broke our customer's network

Reasons for choosing N-central

Our Service Manager did because of price. He's gone now

Reasons for switching to N-central

Labtech was far too involved and expensive

Response from SolarWinds MSP

We're really sorry for the experience you had that sounds like the exact opposite of what we strive to provide to our Partners. If you're interested in helping us better understand where we went wrong, please do reach out to me at chris.reid@solarwinds.com, so that we can take a look at the details of your case.

Replied October 2019

User Profile

Kelly

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2021

N-Central: Yes, there is a learning curve!

I have dealt with N-Central for many years and have repaired badly set up systems and worked it up from scratch. It is a complex beast, but every hour you devote to the program is worth it, you can automate many day to day actions, not just patch management... worth every penny but you have to put the time into it, period!

Pros

It has a ton of out of the box monitors. With customization there is almost nothing you cannot monitor. WMI, SNMP, it is all there.

Cons

It is hard to understand for the average system administrator to set up. It also is NOISY, out of the box it will overwhelm you with alerts, it takes a lot of work to reduce the noise, but it is worth it!

User Profile

Chris

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

N-Central is a great tool in a bad package

Love that I can drop a probe on a clients network and scan and find all devices in that network. The remote agent is great, allows me to remote into any device easily if it has the agent on it. Monitoring is fine, but no real dashboards, and it is about 10 to 20 minutes behind. If you are watching the dashboard and see a device is offline, you are already 20 minutes late. It's not the prettiest, but it does a good job.

Pros

Remote agent feature is great. Software inventory and license monitoring is great. Once you learn it, it works great.

Cons

Dashboard for monitoring is not real time. Steep learning curve. Very counter-intuitive on instructions. Figuring out thresholds for alerting can be difficult.

User Profile

Devon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

IT engineer review

Has helped me immensly as an IT engineer and allowed me to maintain and improve my environment

Pros

Great control of an entire network. easy RDP tools and detailed stats. Great customised reports.big fan of the product as a whole and many functions to use within an IT industry

Cons

difficult to implement at first. the support is good but i would like a more interactive support like calling in as the IM is abit tedious. the patch management needs to be simplified abit more. license compliance report is extremely confusing. Just an overall easier UI. Would be nice if you could integrate live graph monitoring to drill down into devices and IPs over a firewall etc. essentially you do have the NPM but that needs to be intergrated in nCentral then i would procure it. thus we can have a monitoring team and throw it on the screen. right now the alerts from SNMP is great but is difficult to drill into and shut down rogue devices etc

User Profile

Tharini

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

API is not fully fledged and needs more attention

Overall a good RMM tool

Pros

Efficient RMM tool. Feature rich and mostly easy to use.

Cons

Limited reporting functionalities. The API is also very limited. Specifically when it comes to 1) Tickets- if two tickets are created for the same issue only one is displayed 2)Cannot get details about notification profiles and many more They need to give more attention to the API module and Reporting functionalities

George

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

N-central is very useful for managing a large amount of Customer PCs

For the most part N-central helps me greatly in managing, backing up, and remotely logging into client PCs. if a few little kinks were ironed out of the system and previously mentioned patch management issue were resolved I would have no complaints at all. The on-boarding and setup process could possibly be made a little simpler with a default setup / template but that may be something that other users would not want depending on their configuration.

Pros

N-central makes it easy to deploy a "probe" to one server on a domain and then with the correct credintials deploy the client to all of the rest of the domain connected PCs automatically(scary virus like automatically).

Cons

I hate that every time I get all of the patches approved and working in the n-central patch management it seems i come back a week-month later and they have made an update that breaks the patch management and i am getting warnings that patches are not installing. If the patch management had default patch all / patch important things only profiles that worked 100% of the time i would be very satisfied with N-Central.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Best RMM Tool for MSP's!

Getting Solarwinds N-central setup can take some time if you want more than just out of the box. I recommend learning about all the features and functionality before engineering your N-central setup. Overall, another great product from Solarwinds!

Pros

We switched over to Solarwinds N-central several year ago now and could not be happier. The web interface is filled with tons of features. It has helped us streamline our managed services processes. Their custom automation manager allows for us to create custom monitors and custom auto-heal actions for our monitors. The patch management feature is far superior compared to any other platform I have used. They are partnered with BitDefender offering an integrated AV solution providing a true complete RMM solution. Their remote connect tool called MSP Connect has been the best and smoothest tool I have used for remote access. The possibilities are endless with how you can configure and setup N-central.

Cons

I have no complaints about Solarwinds N-central!

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Good Product

Overall I would recommend the product as it has been very beneficial for our company. To get the full use of the product, you'll need to dedicate a resource to managing the platform so that they can learn the various ins/outs of the product.

Pros

It's a good product once you get through the learning curve. The product admins are eager to make the product more effective and efficient at helping you manage your client's networks.

Cons

Support is frustrating to deal with at the initial levels. If you can get past the L1 technicians in your support case, it is usually pretty good but it will take some work to get the case escalated. Product development is pretty slow as it often takes several releases that are 'coming' to make it into the product. And then the first iteration of the new feature usually isn't fully developed and will take another release or two to be fully functional.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Our RMM of choice, for a number of reasons

Pros

Solarwinds has made their N-Central product one of our greatest tools as an MSP, the remote support, AV, and backup solutions being rolled into the central product make it a no-brainer for us to deploy the product to all of our managed devices, and for monitoring various hardware points via SNMP. One of the greatest strengths of the product is the ability for the monitoring API to get integrated with our ticketing solution to automatically generate tickets when monitored items flip from Good to Bad...

Cons

While their API isn't bad, there's a number of features I would like to see added to it, mainly the ability to pull some information about clients, sites, maintenance windows and rules... Being able to manage/manipulate and otherwise work with those things would be of an even greater benefit.

Andrew

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4