User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(7)

7

4 stars

(17)

17

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "It's a very powerful tool. I can handle UML without problems."

  • "The code generation is an excellent tool to speed up the development process. The reverse engineering is very useful to create documentation on existing code. I like the UI, simple and immediate. "

  • "One stop shop for UML modeling of software and creating and maintaining database schema definitions, low price for all the features you get, ability to store data in the external database."

  • Cons

  • "The program has some issues in UI and it needs a refresh on UI "

  • "On reverse engineering the class diagram could be a bit more tidy. When a class diagram is created the default language is set automatically to Java regardless of the choice in the project header."

  • "It's not that friendly but in comparison to other tools with the same functionalities it's not like if that is absurd in the market."

Browse Enterprise Architect Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -23 of 27 results

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Josmar from SOAINT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Vital tool for the development of documentation and uml

Pros

Excellent tool for modeling BPM, SOA projects, use cases, activity diagrams and other UML diagrams. Vital in any organization of medium or large size. The consumption of resources is acceptable, you can export the documents to many formats.

Cons

The price of the product is somewhat expensive or at least it does not have a free version for small entrepreneurs and individuals. Forcing people to lower cracks and change the time of the machine to take advantage of this very good tool

July 2019

User Profile Picture

karthik from Freight Delivery

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great product

The best part of enterprise architect is the ease of use. I am guy who likes using shortcuts a lot when dealing with UML models and this tool fits the bill. With the available UI options, I can also conveniently present models to the SMEs within the tool itself. The makers seem to do a good job keeping up with the changing UML standards. That makes this tool reliable and accurate.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use this software to create different diagrams.

Cons

Customer support could have been better.

December 2020

Ajay from US Venture

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2020

One of the worst product

If there is a half star rating I will give that to this tool and salesrep\trainer.

Pros

- Cheap but what is the use if we can't even use it

Cons

- Very difficult to use - No Support - Salesrep once sold the product brought in a trainer who was very rude . This is the name of the trainer - [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] , be very careful before committing to the training offered by this guy. They don't even cover database modelling as part of the training. - Documentation is a mess - These guys are out there to sell the consulting services and not the tool itself, so be very careful before making the decision to buy the tool. You won't be able to use the tool and these guys will try to sell the consulting hours to you.

Reasons for Switching to Enterprise Architect

Wanted to try EA as this was cheaper but this is a horrible tool and horrible trainer.

October 2018

Carmelo from GE

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

A valid alternative to more expensive tools.

I use Enterprise Architect on a daily basis as the main tool for software design. The UI is easy and intuitive, the software is very responsive and contains all the tools a software architect needs to cover all the phases of the software design.

Pros

The code generation is an excellent tool to speed up the development process. The reverse engineering is very useful to create documentation on existing code. I like the UI, simple and immediate.

Cons

On reverse engineering the class diagram could be a bit more tidy. When a class diagram is created the default language is set automatically to Java regardless of the choice in the project header.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Jeannette Haydeé from Stefanini Informatica y Tecnologia (Colombia)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Enterprise Arquitect is a complete software for model a variety of types diagram

is very useful for make all kinds of diagrams

Pros

On my experience, I use this software for make a secuences diagrams of business serivces. This software have a variety of types elements for make diagrams use case, UML, bpm and database diagrams, even process simulation, manage project, make graphics, and so for

Cons

Maybe the option for draw, sometimes the cursor can´t move lines on a diagram, and it could be annoying

July 2019

Maria del Rosario from Personal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Enterprise Architect

It's a design tool and UML modeling easy-to-use. Also, has integration with some development environments that allows code generation. Also provides a wide documentation that is useful when you are using the application on the first times.

Pros

-It's based in the last UML version. - Excellent tool for software modeling, includes all the stages from the business modeling to the maintenance. - Provides a good management of models and artifacts, allowing to know what member of the team is on charge. - It's easy generate documentation for a client presentation or team meeting.

Cons

The interface seems very plane. Doesn't allow to change styles or fonts in the UI. Even the objects in the diagrams can't be much customized.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

once learn how to - great tool for design

keeps and stores requirements for the developed software, used while working on multiple implementation projects

Pros

fits all the needs of a BA and allows to use the latest features for analysis and design stage. the system of checking out allows not to corrupt data while reviewing

Cons

pretty hard to figure out for a newcomer. overwhelming amount of buttons

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Hendra from Mitrais

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I am software analyst, I use EA for my modelling

I can visualize my idea

Pros

This software is a complete tools for modelling. Not only a tool for drawing models, It helps you to validate, versioning, verify, trace. Awesome!

Cons

Not so much I can give for the cons. But I have too admit that sometimes I felt this tool was too big for small task. But actually, it is just OK, not really complaining

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

It's a great modeling tool!

In general terms, this tool is powerful for designing diagrams adding all the required information. Though the application is enough intuitive, there is a lot of features that you only can discover if you explore in a detailed way the application. It's robust and allows to generate collaborative work (this part it's great). One of the things that I consider they can improve, is the UI, maybe, giving easy access to more tools from the main window toolbar.

Pros

- Powerful - Intuitive - A lot of features!

Cons

- Generate code from this application creates a lot of code behind - Needs improvement in UI

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Good tool, hard to master

In my daily work, Use Case, Deployement, Sequence and Classes diagrams are made with Enterprise Architect.

Pros

Enterprise Architect is a good tool for software design. UML diagrams drawing is easy. The reverse functions are powerful and simple to use.

Cons

The tool offers a lot of modeling and simulation functionnalities. But they are difficult to master and a great effort is required to delve into to use them efficiently.

December 2016

Scott from Varsity Brands

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Enterprise Architect for comprehensive software design

I've used EA since 2005, although not consistently due to different tooling at various companies I've worked for. Recently I've been using the application for the last two years. It is a very comprehensive software modeling and design application suite. My primary usage of it has been to create UML 1.0 and 2.0 compliant diagrams and to model our software architecture artifacts, including database schemas. In the past, I have also used the tool to generate Java code which was a very useful feature. EA makes it easy to organize all of your software artifacts and provides good UML editors for creating and updating existing design diagrams and components. While there are some free alternatives out there for doing UML, I have not found one with the comprehensive set of features, ease of use and fairly low price point that EA has. It is my go-to tool for all software design documentation and description.

Pros

One stop shop for UML modeling of software and creating and maintaining database schema definitions, low price for all the features you get, ability to store data in the external database.

Cons

Windows only (unless you use a VM) - as a Mac user I need to use either Wine or something like VMWare to spin up a Windows VM which is not always an ideal user experience. I'd love to see a Mac version but I know that is probably unlikely with a feature set as large as EA has - it would take forever to port over. That said, I go to the trouble of emulating Windows still because the application is so useful.

April 2017

Miguelangel from Incostas

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Great tool for design backend

It's is a complete application I've found to accomplish the backend design tasks. The tool is great to work with UML. It's infeasible to use on slower computers, The UI has some annoying things (when I drag the window it doesn't respond at the first time), In summary, it's a powerful tool but has several things to resolve.

Pros

It's a very powerful tool. I can handle UML without problems.

Cons

The program has some issues in UI and it needs a refresh on UI

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Tool for serious business

Systems interaction, layout schemas

Pros

System design layouts, which software connects with what and how. All easily drawable and customizable. Thumbs up for over the project search, keeps being handy.

Cons

It requires few weeks to get used to it, but after that it is good tool to describe how systems interact with each other.

June 2017

Howard from University of Puerto Rico

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

This is the perfect partner to document a software project, we can build almost all the diagrams

It is a developer's dream come true, with an excellent cost-quality. Professional diagrams in the software documentation.

Pros

Full life cycle modeling of software process, we can load extremely large models in seconds, we also can model and manage complex information... The best for me is that you can transform the design in code for many languages and the documentation generated have a professional look.

Cons

It is not open source. You have to pay a reasonable cost but it worths the price. It is very intuitive but not automatic, you have to know what are you doing in detail to get a consistent result.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Carolina from Mercantil Banco

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

I used it for uml diagrams

It's a good tool for uml graphics

Pros

This software is perfect to diagram and has various kind of graphics, the user interface is very intuitive and easy to use

Cons

You must have previous knowledge about UML grafics for avoiding mistakes because the tool allows certain things that could not be a perfect uml sintaxis.

November 2017

Isis from INCOSTAS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Excellent analysis and design tool uml

Support for code C#, Java, PHP, Etc. Allows using several databases.

Pros

*Enables project management and prioritization according to the needs of the business. *The ability to see how each business process relates to the organization as a whole and the different systems that are in place to support them

Cons

*The EA software systems with so much functionality, they are expensive. *It's a highly complex system that requires lots of training.

May 2017

Carlos from Incostas

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Great work to design backend!

Pros

Enterprise is one of the most powerful applications for handling database design, UML The way it create code to C# is very helpful...

Cons

It's so much heavy for slow computers. The program needs a complete redesign of the User Interface. It's unfriendly for first uses

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Complete software modeling tool

Pros

Wide set of options, plug-ins and customization make this product a complete tool kit. Manage the software architecture for modeling

Cons

Slow learning curve. Not that intuitive for begginers

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Excellent

It is a tool that can be considered to define a complete software architecture.

Pros

It is a very efficient tool to define the architectures related to a software project and some of its artifacts, easy to use.

Cons

The installation is a bit complicated since it has some dependencies, additionally, it has some difficulties to create some resources related to the web services.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great for Architecting Infrastructure Systems

We use EA to generate as-built documentation based on our architecture, which we can view in great detail.

Pros

Enterprise Architect is great for documenting how our infrastructure components relate to each other. For each component, you can save information into various fields; you then can search on field contents or view a single item with all fields. When linking the information to other systems, the true value can be found, because the information can be used a a source to generate as-built documents.

Cons

It's another software app that you have in your inventory. But one that you can't work without, if you prefer a less time consuming workflow.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It Makes your life easier

Pros

This sofware gives you the ability to find in a single place a lot of templates to diagram component diagrams, sequence diagrams, BPMN and is drag and drop so is really useful

Cons

I couldn't find a way to export the diagrams with documentation in a nice format tu use right away without having to write your own document

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Another most For Enteprise Architects

Pros

you have everything you need in one single tool, UML diagrams, database diagrams, it has a wizard to help you start so you don't have to do it from scratch

Cons

It's not that friendly but in comparison to other tools with the same functionalities it's not like if that is absurd in the market.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Rafael from McAllen Data Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

A very complete and professional tool for your project presentation

Business project modeling for every presentation can look the same, that makes people on the company always be focused or in context of what does everything in the graphic means and how to read it.

Pros

You can do a lot of different diagrams, the modelling will always looks professional and it is very easy to use. You can connect the models or diagrams to you database and make a more organized and logical data modeling.

Cons

It is very simple, it doesn't look impresive, everything is too serious or professional and then ig you want to do a more vivid work you can't

January 2020

Dara from Aviation & Aerospace

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

Extremely difficult to use, restrictive, not functional

Horrible. Very difficult to use. Cannot add any symbols to a diagram.

Pros

Sequence diagram function to draw call flows. Some functions of the sequence diagram is good like pushing down the arrows.

Cons

too many to mention. Cannot copy diagrams between files. Did an export and import and I lost my imported file since it overwrites everything. The most stupid thing is it actually writes to the same filename during importing. It didn't ask if you want to save the imported file.

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Richard from Cyttek Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

its a great software, but the license cost an a high price

very good to get data modeling, quickly and organized

Pros

allows to connect to database, model objects, perform entity relationship models, obtain source code of the model

Cons

it has a high cost for the license, it consumes many resources, it must include new formats for the reports

December 2016

Alberto from Ave María San Cristobal

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Not remarkable

Learning curve is really hard, with many hours needed to really take advantage of this software. But for professionals, may be a great tool to design software

October 2017

Umesh from softdel.com

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Best tool for architecture and design modelling

Architecture and design representation and auto code generation

Pros

Create UML diagrams based on oops and use for design representation and best part is convert the design into code like C++, C#

Cons

You have to pay for this tool which is obvious. Easy code sync up and design changes for iterations can have more flexibility.