User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.09

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Enterprise Architect is a good tool for software design. UML diagrams drawing is easy."
  • icon"Enterprise Architect is great for documenting how our infrastructure components relate to each other."
  • icon"Rich web portal interface - easy to deploy. Simple reporting with graphics and dashboards in portal."
  • icon"You have to pay a reasonable cost but it worths the price. It is very intuitive but not automatic, you have to know what are you doing in detail to get a consistent result."
  • icon"Maybe the option for draw, sometimes the cursor can´t move lines on a diagram, and it could be annoying."
  • icon"The program needs a complete redesign of the User Interface. It's unfriendly for first uses."

All Enterprise Architect Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Josmar

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2018

Vital tool for the development of documentation and uml

Pros

Excellent tool for modeling BPM, SOA projects, use cases, activity diagrams and other UML diagrams. Vital in any organization of medium or large size. The consumption of resources is acceptable, you can export the documents to many formats.

Cons

The price of the product is somewhat expensive or at least it does not have a free version for small entrepreneurs and individuals. Forcing people to lower cracks and change the time of the machine to take advantage of this very good tool

Anthony

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Very powerful solution for complex modelling environment

After the initial learning curve EA is a joy to work with. The application runs smooth, is very stable and in case of need Sparx Systems offers good support. The extensive feature set and possibilities for customisation is really remarkable and make Sparx Enterprise Architect a joy to work with.

Pros

EA looks good and is extremely powerful. I discover new way of working on a regular basis. The product is also developed at a rapid pace where customer input is really taken into consideration.

Cons

I didn't like the steep learning curve. I have worked with other modeling tools in which I could start faster.

Reasons for choosing Enterprise Architect

Professional product, feature set, enterprise ready.

Reasons for switching to Enterprise Architect

Pace of development and the combination with Prolaborate for user involvement.

Bas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2022

Student review

Overall very friendly and good in use. But I need more features

Pros

The interface is very friendly and easy in use.

Cons

The least thing is What they offer its not a Total package

Reasons for switching to Enterprise Architect

Needed more possibilities

Ajay

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

December 2020

One of the worst product

If there is a half star rating I will give that to this tool and salesrep\trainer.

Pros

- Cheap but what is the use if we can't even use it

Cons

- Very difficult to use - No Support - Salesrep once sold the product brought in a trainer who was very rude . This is the name of the trainer - [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] , be very careful before committing to the training offered by this guy. They don't even cover database modelling as part of the training. - Documentation is a mess - These guys are out there to sell the consulting services and not the tool itself, so be very careful before making the decision to buy the tool. You won't be able to use the tool and these guys will try to sell the consulting hours to you.

Reasons for switching to Enterprise Architect

Wanted to try EA as this was cheaper but this is a horrible tool and horrible trainer.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

MBSE Solution for Automotive industry

EA is among best solution for MBSE Modelling using UML and SysML

Pros

UML/SysML Modelling for Model Based System Engineering, Cost Effective Solution, Requirements Management and Traceability, Design solution

Cons

integration with third party solution need improvement

Hanno

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Swiss army knife for model based engineering

Getting fluent in EA took a while. I started with ultra simple models. This helpt me in following all the traces between the requirements and the diagrams.

Pros

Download and licencing of the software is simple and convenient. If you are a single user and want to experiment and educate yourself in model based engineering and SysML-modelling, Enterprise Architect (EA) is the right start for you. EA supports many standard notations such as BPMN, UML and SysML.

Cons

There is no strict guidance that leads through the project. So, you should have an idea of what you want to model and how you want to represent the features of your system of interest.

Reasons for switching to Enterprise Architect

Model based engineering is not about drawing diagrams, but about putting together a model from different perspectives. In Enterprise Archtitect the diagrams are drawn from such a central model that keeps all views and representations of the system of interest consistent.

User Profile

karthik

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Great product

The best part of enterprise architect is the ease of use. I am guy who likes using shortcuts a lot when dealing with UML models and this tool fits the bill. With the available UI options, I can also conveniently present models to the SMEs within the tool itself. The makers seem to do a good job keeping up with the changing UML standards. That makes this tool reliable and accurate.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use this software to create different diagrams.

Cons

Customer support could have been better.

User Profile

Jeannette Haydeé

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Enterprise Arquitect is a complete software for model a variety of types diagram

is very useful for make all kinds of diagrams

Pros

On my experience, I use this software for make a secuences diagrams of business serivces. This software have a variety of types elements for make diagrams use case, UML, bpm and database diagrams, even process simulation, manage project, make graphics, and so for

Cons

Maybe the option for draw, sometimes the cursor can´t move lines on a diagram, and it could be annoying

Maria del Rosario

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Enterprise Architect

It's a design tool and UML modeling easy-to-use. Also, has integration with some development environments that allows code generation. Also provides a wide documentation that is useful when you are using the application on the first times.

Pros

-It's based in the last UML version. - Excellent tool for software modeling, includes all the stages from the business modeling to the maintenance. - Provides a good management of models and artifacts, allowing to know what member of the team is on charge. - It's easy generate documentation for a client presentation or team meeting.

Cons

The interface seems very plane. Doesn't allow to change styles or fonts in the UI. Even the objects in the diagrams can't be much customized.

User Profile

Hendra

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2018

I am software analyst, I use EA for my modelling

I can visualize my idea

Pros

This software is a complete tools for modelling. Not only a tool for drawing models, It helps you to validate, versioning, verify, trace. Awesome!

Cons

Not so much I can give for the cons. But I have too admit that sometimes I felt this tool was too big for small task. But actually, it is just OK, not really complaining

Scott

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2016

Enterprise Architect for comprehensive software design

I've used EA since 2005, although not consistently due to different tooling at various companies I've worked for. Recently I've been using the application for the last two years. It is a very comprehensive software modeling and design application suite. My primary usage of it has been to create UML 1.0 and 2.0 compliant diagrams and to model our software architecture artifacts, including database schemas. In the past, I have also used the tool to generate Java code which was a very useful feature. EA makes it easy to organize all of your software artifacts and provides good UML editors for creating and updating existing design diagrams and components. While there are some free alternatives out there for doing UML, I have not found one with the comprehensive set of features, ease of use and fairly low price point that EA has. It is my go-to tool for all software design documentation and description.

Pros

One stop shop for UML modeling of software and creating and maintaining database schema definitions, low price for all the features you get, ability to store data in the external database.

Cons

Windows only (unless you use a VM) - as a Mac user I need to use either Wine or something like VMWare to spin up a Windows VM which is not always an ideal user experience. I'd love to see a Mac version but I know that is probably unlikely with a feature set as large as EA has - it would take forever to port over. That said, I go to the trouble of emulating Windows still because the application is so useful.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Powerful and feature rich but can be hard to learn

Provides quick deployment techniques for web portal access so casual users can access content faster. Updates between formal releases is some times too often - builds can be hard to keep up with. Need easier access to technical support resources via phone support

Pros

Full support for all formal modeling languages Support for ad-hoc modeling and drawing of diagrams Rich web portal interface - easy to deploy Simple reporting with graphics and dashboards in portal

Cons

Can be hard for non-modelers to learn how to use Better support for reporting in native client interface

Carmelo

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2018

A valid alternative to more expensive tools.

I use Enterprise Architect on a daily basis as the main tool for software design. The UI is easy and intuitive, the software is very responsive and contains all the tools a software architect needs to cover all the phases of the software design.

Pros

The code generation is an excellent tool to speed up the development process. The reverse engineering is very useful to create documentation on existing code. I like the UI, simple and immediate.

Cons

On reverse engineering the class diagram could be a bit more tidy. When a class diagram is created the default language is set automatically to Java regardless of the choice in the project header.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

once learn how to - great tool for design

keeps and stores requirements for the developed software, used while working on multiple implementation projects

Pros

fits all the needs of a BA and allows to use the latest features for analysis and design stage. the system of checking out allows not to corrupt data while reviewing

Cons

pretty hard to figure out for a newcomer. overwhelming amount of buttons

Miguelangel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2017

Great tool for design backend

It's is a complete application I've found to accomplish the backend design tasks. The tool is great to work with UML. It's infeasible to use on slower computers, The UI has some annoying things (when I drag the window it doesn't respond at the first time), In summary, it's a powerful tool but has several things to resolve.

Pros

It's a very powerful tool. I ca