User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(11)

11

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The software provides traceability within and between documents with customizable outputs. The web-based program makes working from different machines a breeze."

  • "Easy and flexible. Use of standards e.g. json. The csv export is useful. Exporting from a csv is a useful feature, but sometimes it won't work. "

  • "Easy to use, having most of the features needed for managing requirements in our projects. Unlike many other tools, ReqView is not overloaded with lots of stuff you won't ever need. "

  • Cons

  • "The software can feel a little intimidating at first glance, but they supply tutorials & documentation. "

  • "When features are missing, we can ask the Reqview team and they show their roadmap and progress done with features we are interested in. We can vote for upcoming features as well."

  • "Currently a licence expires after one year. There are no liftime licences."

Browse ReqView Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -32 of 18 results

March 2021

Romuald from AXILUM ROBOTICS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Using Reqview to manage requirements of medical devices

On-line documentation covers a very broad panel of use and configuration topics. The documentation is very easy to read and understand and also very straightforward. The support via email or their support portal is very efficient and effective in solving our issues or helping with advanced topics.

Pros

We use Reqview to record specifications of our medical robotic devices, both for hardware requirements and software requirements, in the scope of the EN 62304, ISO 14971 and ISO 13485 standard of the medical device industry. We use Reqview to analyze risks and trace the mitigations up to specifications and test cases. We record and trace test cases specifications in Reqview using multiple document projects. Everything is stored as json files which allows us to store the source files in a GIT server. Reqview has very easy to use export features allowing us to export Reqview documents into EXCEL or DOCX files matching with our company formatting templates so they can be archived within the documentation folder of our medical devices for regulatory purposes. ReqView is a perfect tool to support and enforce our quality process.

Cons

When features are missing, we can ask the Reqview team and they show their roadmap and progress done with features we are interested in. We can vote for upcoming features as well.

Reasons for Switching to ReqView

IBM Rational RequisiteWeb was complex and heavy to use or configure, and with a poor online support.

Response from Eccam

Replied March 2021

Thank you for great feedback with more information about your regulatory compliance usecase!

October 2017

Malcolm from R&D

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

'Right-sized' between capability versus ease of use and maintenance.

An easy-to-implement and -maintain requirements management system. It doesn't try and be the answer to everything we have ever needed in our development process, which usually leads to overly complicated software which drives your system, rather than the other way around. ReqView fills just the slot we need it to.

Pros

We are a small development group that does not have the bandwidth to justify dedicated resources to learn and customize a complex tool. We have periods of heavy activity followed by months of not touching the tool, so ease of use was at the top of our list of priorities. Additionally, being in the medical device field, we already have many systems in place and do not want to disrupt what is already running smoothly. ReqView is very specific about what it is trying to accomplish, and does it well. It is easy to learn (we have only needed the online documentation) and the pricing makes it a no-brainer to start playing with. The product is definitely a work in progress, with new features being added on a regular basis. A couple of them have been as a result of requests I made personally, so you can't get better responsiveness than that! Rather than trying to do everything, ReqView provides straightforward import and export to standard MS Office software. For version control, we treat it like source code in a Subversion database, but it can be used on a shared drive. Updates are easy and automatic. It's not SAAS, which our IT department would have nixed for security reasons, plus there's not the delay involved with remote servers.

Cons

Customization of outputs to fit the needs of the project documentation is usually a bear, and ReqView is no exception. We had the same issue (except worse!) with previous RM software. Someone who is well-versed in HTML and CSS might find this easy, and there is copious documentation available at w3schools.com, but I admit to spending much more time to generate a half dozen or so output scripts than the rest of the first project in its entirety! Now they are done, so it's no longer an issue for the future, but it was a steep curve. Obviously, if you only need formats closer to those provided, your experience will be easier.

November 2017

Luca from freelance consultant

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Perfectly-sized requirements management tool with all the most relevant features; responsive team

Pros

It has apparently been created by people who understand requirements management. It checks almost all boxes that are important to me. It pretty much takes the good parts of DOORS, and leaves out the bad ones. The ReqView team are very responsive, and attentive to the desires of their users. I have great expectations for future releases.

Cons

There are currently three different implementations (native app, web app, Chrome extension), all of which are missing a bit of functionality that's important to me, even though other implementations have it.

March 2021

Peter from Wipac Technology Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

ReqView requirements management tool

The support the team at ReqView give is incredible, always quick to respond to any questions, offering unprompted advise. Great bunch of people.

Pros

The tool is easy to learn, very user friendly interface, easy to customize, useful help file. Allows the user to focus on the task of managing rqmts and not waste time learning the tool. The SVN integration is just great, makes commits, updates, merge a breeze.

Cons

At the moment, you cannot view more than one document in a project at a time (you can open several projects at the same time) when linking and reviewing linked rqmts takes a little more effort. However, the people at ReqView have told this is planned to be fixed so two or more documents from the same project can be viewed at the same time.

Response from Eccam

Replied March 2021

Peter, thank you great review! You'll be able to view and edit projects in more application windows very soon because we plan to release the first beta of this feature in few days. Linking documents displayed in different project windows will boost your productivity to the next level.

May 2019

Oguz from KLS Martin

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Enhancing Requirements-Engineering with ReqView

Previously we were doing Requirements-Engineering with MS Office (and lots of scripts). ReqView enabled us to quickly switch to a Database driven tool. ReqView is easy to use and is effectivly tailored for lean documentation. The JSON-Files of ReqView are easy to process with python-scripts, so we can generate Latex documents. And generate our traceability analysis. In addition to Requirements, we also included RiskAnalysis into ReqView, which also was Excel-based before.

Pros

Easy to use, having most of the features needed for managing requirements in our projects. Unlike many other tools, ReqView is not overloaded with lots of stuff you won't ever need.

Cons

Realtime Collaboration ist not yet implemented. Working two or more people on same documents sometimes is difficult. But it looks like ReqView V3 will include that feature soon.

Response from Eccam

Replied May 2019

Hi Oguz, Thanks for the awesome review. Moving the team collaboration experience to the next level is our main focus at the moment. Regards, Libor

April 2019

Philipp from KLS Martin GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Reqview als an alternative to Excel

We use ReqView as the "front end tool" to specify system and software requirements for projects. We use ReqViews project concept to include requirement documents from a product line and the option to define custom relationships between documents to extend, append or overwrite generic product line requirements with project specific requirements. The "backend" is a set of scripts which will merge the ReqView files (product line requirements with project specific requirements), convert it to LaTeX and generate nice PDFs - all that automatically in a CI environment.

Pros

First of all: It's lightweight and not bloated like many other requirement engineering tools. During a relaxed afternoon you'll be able to have played with *all* of its features and have learned how to use it. Also important: The database format is basically just plain ASCII which makes it easy to compare with earlier versions, easy to be parsed by scripts and easy to convert to whatever-you-want.

Cons

Currently a licence expires after one year. There are no liftime licences.

Response from Eccam

Replied April 2019

Hi Philipp, Thank you for your awesome review! We are amazed how powerful automated document generation back-end have you set up. Regarding perpetual license, we are flexible and can offer a longer licence period fitting your needs, for instance PRO license valid for 5 years. Regards, Libor

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Exactly what I want for a requirements management tool

Fantastic - highly recommended for systems engineering and requirements management. I don't know why this tool isn't more widely recognized.

Pros

I wished for something like this software for years - a world above manual requirements management in Word or Excel, inexpensive, able to customize to whatever extent you want. I use it for tying together system/stakeholder requirements, design architecture, risk management, and verification testing. The support is top-notch - I've received replies within a few hours of every question I've asked, and they even implemented an update into their software within a few weeks of me outlining a particular issue I ran into.

Cons

Takes some learning to get it set up correctly and some additional examples to start from would be helpful. Exporting documents (to Word/PDF) is a little clunky.

Response from Eccam

Replied March 2020

Thank you for wonderful review! Regarding export to Word, please check ReqView v2.8.0 , which we released recently. This version introduces enhanced direct export of MS Word DOCX and MS Excel XLSX files. You will like it.

November 2018

Stefan from ME

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Reqview for SW and System Requirements

I use Reqview to manage multi-customer complex projects, including HW and SW requirements. ReqView serves our purpose very well.

Pros

It is a lean tool, which is quick and has good performance. Easy to use, no unnecessary features. It works very stable and it provides all vital functions you need for professional requirements management.

Cons

Multi-user support could be improved, merging is difficult. It would be great if vector graphics (PDF pictures) and tables would be supported. An automated PDF-book-export feature would be nice.

Response from Eccam

Replied December 2018

Hi Stefan, Thank you for your awesome review! We plan to introduce seamless team collaboration solution in the next major release, the work is already in progress. The other feature requests sound interesting. Lets discuss details on the Feature Request forum. Thank you for your trust and being our customer for almost 3 years. Regards, Libor

October 2018

Tom from Turner Imaging Systems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Great for Small to Midsize Companies who need to manage requirements

We are tracking requirements for a product in a highly regulated industry. ReqView allows us to manage requirements and risks from the system level to the component level with full traceability. The function is very similar to a limited DOORS product but at a fraction of the price.

Pros

The software manages requirements very well and allows traceability through the entire Requirements/Risk document structure. The basic functions are easy to use. The ReqView team is very good at tracking user inputs to improve the software and they are very responsive to customer needs.

Cons

To use more advanced features requires at least a light knowledge of programming. I was able to figure out the features that I needed and the support at ReqView was very helpful and responsive when I did ask questions.

May 2019

Roberto from ConMed Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Highly recommend ReqView

We've deployed ReqView across several platforms, even integratng with our Configuration Management platform (SVN). The program is highly configurable and our export documents are great.

Pros

The software is easy to use and Eccam has provided outstanding support to customize reports and templates to meet our needs.

Cons

Importing existing requirements documents is a very manual process, but Eccam has held our hands in doing so.

Response from Eccam

Replied May 2019

Hello Roberto, Thank you for nice feedback. It is great working with you and your team. Regards, Libor

December 2017

Bernd from Pilz GmbH&Co.KG

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2017

It works fine, very flexible and easy to use. I miss the possibility for trace and impact anala

Linking between requirements of different documents (but without analysis)

Pros

Easy and flexible. Use of standards e.g. json. The csv export is useful. Exporting from a csv is a useful feature, but sometimes it won't work.

Cons

I would like tpo have a intelligence in some rows. Referencing others and esecute a small script (e.g. LUA ). I miss the possibility to run two instaces with different projects.

Response from Eccam

Replied December 2017

Hello Bernd, thank you for your review. Regarding missing possibility for trace / impact analysis, you can generate custom multilevel traceability HTML reports enabling coverage / impact analysis. Please file a support ticket if you are unsure how to use this feature or if you have additional special needs. We will be happy to help. Good news is also that we are going to release soon the first beta of Templated Columns feature which will enable adding custom logic directly in the UI. For instance you will be able to display additional traceability information from the linked objects (even across multiple traceability levels) or display value of a calculated expression (e.g. Risk Priority Number). BR, Libor

January 2021

Emily from iQmetrix

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Love this product

I am running a year-long product build with multiple integrations, UI work, backend work, all driven by a number of compliance requirements. I needed something that can handle cross-references (where most product management software is more checklist-based) and generate multiple types of documents on demand. Reqview allows me to create a single source for data that would normally be spread over multiple Word & Excel documents, and cross-reference between them. This is a fantastic tool for managing complex projects.

Pros

I spend more time on the data, not the formatting. Reqview handles the numbering, formatting, and technical requirements of creating EDD's and external docs, so I can focus on content. I can track multiple data types (files, images, lists) elegantly. I can add custom attributes to my data to customize it.

Cons

The software can feel a little intimidating at first glance, but they supply tutorials & documentation.

May 2019

Torsten from mynaric

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Flexible requirements management tool with a responsive and helpful development team

ReqView is a very good comprehensive tool which is helping to manage dependencies of hundreds to thousands of elements without getting lost in several documents.

Pros

Its flexibility and configurability to very specific needs. It allows to structure and trace needs, requirements, tests and everything you want to manage in the tool in the way you wish. Very helpful is also the possibility to use the free version for viewing the database, which is managed by the license owners.

Cons

As every software which is not already used for decades, it has some bugs and inconveniences. But, the very responsive and fast development team was always able to find solutions for these, when I reported something like that.

Response from Eccam

Replied May 2019

Hi Torsten, Thanks for the nice review and good ideas you have suggested in our previous discussions. Regards, Libor

November 2017

Robert from GE Healthcare

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Simple and functional but not expansive enough

Easy requirements management vs excel

Pros

Very easy to get started with and use, like a spreadsheet specifically designed for requirements. I like the plain text storage, since i can get keep it in a git repo for changes.

Cons

some areas are a little too basic + theres some annoying features of the workflow i.e. when jumping between docs the page will often jump to the top when you wanted it to stay on a specific requirement.

Response from Eccam

Replied November 2017

Hello Robert, Thank you for your review. Can you please file a new support ticket providing more details about the issue with jumping between docs which you described? We will fix it asap. Thanks, Libor

April 2019

Dawie from Etion

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Initial thoughts

It is a simple and affordable tool (so don't expect it to compete with expensive alternatives) that gets the job done. I am a new user so this is only an initial view. First time I needed support the response was quick and professional.

Pros

It's simple and can do the basics without being cluttered.

Cons

Some customization (like creating custom attributes, reports etc), is not done a very user friendly way. I got by by copying and editing from examples.

Response from Eccam

Replied April 2019

Hello Dawie, Thank you for sharing your thoughts as a new ReqView user. You can set up a requirements engineering project much easier now. Just reuse new requirements specification templates introduced in the just released ReqView version 2.6.0. These templates are based on ISO/IEC/IEEE 29148 standard and Volere process and they are configured with a common set of attributes recommended by the standard. When you create a new document based on a standard template, check the detailed instructions displayed in the right pane for further guidance. Of course, you can still tailor the templates according to your needs. Hope this helps, Libor

May 2020

Robert from M&P Business Solutions GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Finally the right tool for requirements management!

It's my favorite tool to collect, organize, describe and distribute requirements in process-management, company-organisation and software-apllications.

Pros

I like the simplicity. The feature of the user-specific fields allows the use for various project types. The links between the entries can be used to map complex networks. With seld created templates I can help my colleagues to ask the right questions in a logical order. With self cerated instructions I can help them to have more background and details.

Cons

The customization of WORD templates for professional outputs.

Response from Eccam

Replied June 2020

Robert, Thank you for awesome review! If you need any help with customization of Word reports we'll be happy to offer custom services and tailor the reports to match your needs. Regards, Libor

November 2017

Kenneth from Trevilon

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Great software that is easy to use and most importantly, they are responsive to new feature requests

Pros

The software provides traceability within and between documents with customizable outputs. The web-based program makes working from different machines a breeze.

Cons

The fields sometimes exhibit quirky behavior. If I am editing a field and switch applications, the text is lost - it works fine, if I change fields before leaving the app; so the work-around is not a real problem.

Response from Eccam

Replied December 2017

Hello Kenneth, thank you for your review. We will try to fix the problem with loosing edited change when switching applications in an upcoming patch release. BR, Libor

July 2019

Stuart from Neptec

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great Service, Great Requirements Tool

Pros

Good balance of features against complexity.

Cons

Maximizing its use requires uses to learn some programming, both to customize the views and export results. Documentation is good and service is excellent - quick and thorough.

Response from Eccam

Replied July 2019

Hello Stuart, Thank you for nice review. Regards, Libor