User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.53

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4

  • icon"Easy to use, no unnecessary features. It works very stable and it provides all vital functions you need for professional requirements management."
  • icon"We have periods of heavy activity followed by months of not touching the tool, so ease of use was at the top of our list of priorities."
  • icon"The software is easy to use and Eccam has provided outstanding support to customize reports and templates to meet our needs."
  • icon"So actually part of this pain is eased. Procedural rules, the delegation of formal rights etc. is not part of the software."
  • icon"Customization of outputs to fit the needs of the project documentation is usually a bear, and ReqView is no exception. We had the same issue (except worse!) with previous RM software."
  • icon"Referencing others and esecute a small script (e.g. LUA ). I miss the possibility to run two instaces with different projects."

All ReqView Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Romuald

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Using Reqview to manage requirements of medical devices

On-line documentation covers a very broad panel of use and configuration topics. The documentation is very easy to read and understand and also very straightforward. The support via email or their support portal is very efficient and effective in solving our issues or helping with advanced topics.

Pros

We use Reqview to record specifications of our medical robotic devices, both for hardware requirements and software requirements, in the scope of the EN 62304, ISO 14971 and ISO 13485 standard of the medical device industry. We use Reqview to analyze risks and trace the mitigations up to specifications and test cases. We record and trace test cases specifications in Reqview using multiple document projects. Everything is stored as json files which allows us to store the source files in a GIT server. Reqview has very easy to use export features allowing us to export Reqview documents into EXCEL or DOCX files matching with our company formatting templates so they can be archived within the documentation folder of our medical devices for regulatory purposes. ReqView is a perfect tool to support and enforce our quality process.

Cons

When features are missing, we can ask the Reqview team and they show their roadmap and progress done with features we are interested in. We can vote for upcoming features as well.

Reasons for switching to ReqView

IBM Rational RequisiteWeb was complex and heavy to use or configure, and with a poor online support.

Response from Eccam

Thank you for great feedback with more information about your regulatory compliance usecase!

Replied March 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2021

A super effective tool for designers

As a company, we appreciate the look and feel of the ReqView software, that is very much accessible for people working in a creative technical environment. Installation and maintenance is simple and the cost is very reasonable. As responsible for the implementation I have received substantial support from the ReqView team. Quite some wishes have resulted in features in the software (linked object hoover-over preview f.e.). Needles to say that I feel taken serious by ReqViews development team and that I am grateful for this We are confident about its use in the future.

Pros

One of the main benefits of ReqView is that it focusses really on the content that I am interested in as a designer in a product development process. There is little administrative and procedural overhead (clutter) in the program as well as in the user interface. This enables to view/read information paragraphs-wise almost like in word processing software. Having all information linked is fantastic for traceability and relative new to us, solving a documentation issue that could not realistically be solved with simple Office SW like Excel, Word etc.. ReqView is so simple that my compete design team can manage it, which is a great benefit over alternatives. The learning curve is steep, but really short (excluding HTML-programming). A super feature is the export into Word or PDF resulting in a compact document in which all linkage is still functional! How happy would I be as a client receiving such project documentation! Fantastic! Besides, also digital signing now is an option, a future must have!

Cons

The HTML programming needed for custom reports is something that you need to master, but from that point it offers many nice options. The recent ReqView update includes a wizard helping in this, which enables to create simple reports in under 30 seconds. So actually part of this pain is eased. Procedural rules, the delegation of formal rights etc. is not part of the software. Though we benefit from this, I can imagine that stricter application (quality systems) could ask for such functionality. However, we don't miss that at the moment.

Reasons for choosing ReqView

ReqViews user interface is much (!) less complicated, and design data is not in the cloud but local. Also the helpful team made us choose for ReqView.

Response from Eccam

Thank you for the terrific review! It is nice to hear that you find ReqView excelling at simplicity and local data storage, comparing to alternative solutions. We are glad you like the new wizards and are looking forward to working together on the next ideas to make ReqView even better.

Replied September 2021

Bjorn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Reqview for large-scale medical device development

The overall experience is very good. It solves what it does very well, and has a very good focus.

Pros

It allows implementation across a large team. Its very easy to use and allows for collaboration over SVN. The floating license solution makes deployment pain-free. Syncronization to JIRA (and onwards to Enterprise Architect) is critical for us to allow full traceability from user needs, through requirements, specifications and (via JIRA) into implementation and test management. ReqView is also extremely stable and we have used it for projects spanning several years with no data loss or problems.

Cons

For very large projects with very many documents it can get hard to get the overview (a folder structure would be good). It would also be good to have notifications (ie when logging into the tool) if another user has left a comment for you (tagged a user in a comment)

Reasons for choosing ReqView

The other products are either extremely poor (such as JIRA plugins, or cheao online tools), or they are major platforms that can do "everything". ReqView is great for requirement management, traceability, document export and collaboration. That is what I need.

Response from Eccam

Hi Bjorn, Thank you for the excellent review. We appreciate your positive feedback and your ideas for further development. We are delighted to see that ReqView helps you with your large-scale project and you would recommend it to others.

Replied November 2022

Albert

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

Review by Albert

Pros

The capability to make traceability between documents and projects in a very efficient way.

Cons

The most critical of the SW to me is the 'CNTRl+Z' command does not exist.

Response from Eccam

Hi Albert, Thank you for your feedback. We are considering the development of an advanced undo feature that will be compatible with the real-time collaboration solution.

Replied November 2022

andrea

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

Perfect tool for requirement management

In my previous job I used DOORs as requirement management tool, ReqView is giving me the same experience of it but at reasonable price! It is easy to use and to install and it helps me on managing requirements, SRS and test cases document with a new project with an external company.

Pros

It is impressive the easiness and efficient way to build up links across requirements for traceability purpose. In addition, the tool is very easy to customize adding new attributes, new links! Very good importing capabilities from Reqif standard format which allow collaboration with main companies who are using DOORS for example. Support is also magnificent!

Cons

even if most of editing feature are quite good, editing is not at the same level of Word which is the standard de-facto. Sometime is difficult to manage table. Just another small glitch, while looking at the doc, column width is not sized accordingly to width of the table and this cause overlap on other columns next to each.

Reasons for choosing ReqView

price! facility to install it.

Response from Eccam

Hi Andrea, Thank you for the lovely review! We are glad that ReqView is a perfect fit for your needs.

Replied September 2022

Bryce

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Great Value for feature-rich requirements management tool - Phenomenal customer support

This tool is awesome. Small footprint, Feature-rich, scalable, and easy to use! Definitely recommend for the value.

Pros

I liked the ease of use and the ease of integration and deployment: Use: 1. The scale was familiar enough from other tools to get running quickly. Secondly, the documentation, and adaptability for scaling, quickly aided in meeting more needs. 3. Customer support was timely and punctual in all the engagements, from licensing to questions on features, to clarifications. Deployment: 1. The native tools and web applications make this so easily scalable. 2. There was no dependency of a third party service or cloud was extremely helpful. (like having to maintain a server side cloud with IT and all that comes with it) 3. The storage structure of json files enable great configuration management through various means like SVN or git!

Cons

Having various "views" of each document within a project would be wonderful - i.e a b-directional trace view for analysis, vs. a publication & authoring view to only provide what is needed for a document/template. Integration with Azure DevOps (ADO) would be nice, however there are current workarounds with CSV imports/exports. I also want to be able to utilize a bit more integration with other MBSE tools, such as Capella. This is not as straightforward even with the provided documentation on ReqIF imports.

Reasons for choosing ReqView

1. Deployment strategy. 2. Documentation & Support. 3. Value.

Response from Eccam

Hi Bryce, Thank you for your awesome review! We plan to introduce "role-based views" soon.

Replied April 2022

Carlos

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Necessary Tool

We had a problem managing the requirements using MS. ReqView solves this problem.

Pros

ReqView is a powerful tool if you want to manage the requirements and the traceability. And also you can create the information you want show.

Cons

ReqView has a high flexibility but maybe is a inconvenient if you do not know programing in html.

Reasons for choosing ReqView

Price and features

Response from Eccam

Hi Carlos, Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy you find ReqView a necessary tool for requirements management.

Replied November 2022

Hans

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Lightweight, but very powerful software

Very responsive and supporting. Not only have they been very helpful with our questions, they also implemented some features to allow us to work the way we like to (instead of the tool limiting us). That level of support is very much appreciated. What we also like is that the roadmap for features is listed on the website for all to see. Very transparent.

Pros

Very user friendly and easy to use. It is like using DOORS as it should have been designed :-)

Cons

ReqView works on a file basis and separated projects. I would love to see a database version one day. Opening in projects in SVN could, in my perspective, be simplified. This is a minor issue. In time we could use some administrator limited functionality.

Reasons for choosing ReqView

The other tools are all very expensive and complex. We needed something basic and lightweight. And honestly ReqView gives the biggest bang-for-your-buck.

Response from Eccam

Hello Hans, thank you for awesome review! We really enjoy working with your team!

Replied September 2022

Adrián

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Hihgly recommended software to work on traceability

Make me to be more efficient and no waste time to little things like traceability, etc

Pros

Hihgly recommended to simplify the traceability of the requirements, Hazard Logs, etc.

Cons

yu don't have a nice modification control. You could improve on this point.

Response from Eccam

Hello Adrian, Thank you for your positive feedback. That is great that ReqView helps you be more efficient in managing traceability.

Replied November 2022

Gerard

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Review by Gerard

Pros

The most important feature I consider is traceability between documents and projects.

Cons

One feature that could be improved is exporting with Excel. The exportation with Excel could consider using templates.

Response from Eccam

Hi Gerard, Thank you for the marvelous review. We are happy that you find ReqView helpful in managing requirements traceability.

Replied October 2022

Malcolm

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

'Right-sized' between capability versus ease of use and maintenance.

An easy-to-implement and -maintain requirements management system. It doesn't try and be the answer to everything we have ever needed in our development process, which usually leads to overly complicated software which drives your system, rather than the other way around. ReqView fills just the slot we need it to.

Pros

We are a small development group that does not have the bandwidth to justify dedicated resources to learn and customize a complex tool. We have periods of heavy activity followed by months of not touching the tool, so ease of use was at the top of our list of priorities. Additionally, being in the medical device field, we already have many systems in place and do not want to disrupt what is already running smoothly. ReqView is very specific about what it is trying to accomplish, and does it well. It is easy to learn (we have only needed the online documentation) and the pricing makes it a no-brainer to start playing with. The product is definitely a work in progress, with new features being added on a regular basis. A couple of them have been as a result of requests I made personally, so you can't get better responsiveness than that! Rather than trying to do everything, ReqView provides straightforward import and export to standard MS Office software. For version control, we treat it like source code in a Subversion database, but it can be used on a shared drive. Updates are easy and automatic. It's not SAAS, which our IT department would have nixed for security reasons, plus there's not the delay involved with remote servers.

Cons

Customization of outputs to fit the needs of the project documentation is usually a bear, and ReqView is no exception. We had the same issue (except worse!) with previous RM software. Someone who is well-versed in HTML and CSS might find this easy, and there is copious documentation available at w3schools.com, but I admit to spending much more time to generate a half dozen or so output scripts than the rest of the first project in its entirety! Now they are done, so it's no longer an issue for the future, but it was a steep curve. Obviously, if you only need formats closer to those provided, your experience will be easier.

Peter

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

ReqView requirements management tool

The support the team at ReqView give is incredible, always quick to respond to any questions, offering unprompted advise. Great bunch of people.

Pros

The tool is easy to learn, very user friendly interface, easy to customize, useful help file. Allows the user to focus on the task of managing rqmts and not waste time learning the tool. The SVN integration is just great, makes commits, updates, merge a breeze.

Cons

At the moment, you cannot view more than one document in a project at a time (you can open several projects at the same time) when linking and reviewing linked rqmts takes a little more effort. However, the people at ReqView have told this is planned to be fixed so two or more documents from the same project can be viewed at the same time.

Response from Eccam

Peter, thank you great review! You'll be able to view and edit projects in more application windows very soon because we plan to release the first beta of this feature in few days. Linking documents displayed in different project windows will boost your productivity to the next level.

Replied March 2021

Oguz

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Enhancing Requirements-Engineering with ReqView

Previously we were doing Requirements-Engineering with MS Office (and lots of scripts). ReqView enabled us to quickly switch to a Database driven tool. ReqView is easy to use and is effectivly tailored for lean documentation. The JSON-Files of ReqView are easy to process with python-scripts, so we can generate Latex documents. And generate our traceability analysis. In addition to Requirements, we also included RiskAnalysis into ReqView, which also was Excel-based before.

Pros

Easy to use, having most of the features needed for managing requirements in our projects. Unlike many other tools, ReqView is not overloaded with lots of stuff you won't ever need.

Cons

Realtime Collaboration ist not yet implemented. Working two or more people on same documents sometimes is difficult. But it looks like ReqView V3 will include that feature soon.

Response from Eccam

Hi Oguz, Thanks for the awesome review. Moving the team collaboration experience to the next level is our main focus at the moment. Regards, Libor

Replied May 2019

Philipp

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Reqview als an alternative to Excel

We use ReqView as the "front end tool" to specify system and software requirements for projects. We use ReqViews project concept to include requirement documents from a product line and the option to define custom relationships between documents to extend, append or overwrite generic product line requirements with project specific requirements. The "backend" is a set of scripts which will merge the ReqView files (product line requirements with project specific requirements), convert it to LaTeX and generate nice PDFs - all that automatically in a CI environment.

Pros

First of all: It's lightweight and not bloated like many other requirement engineering tools. During a relaxed afternoon you'll be able to have played with *all* of its features and have learned how to use it. Also important: The database format is basically just plain ASCII which makes it easy to compare with earlier versions, easy to be parsed by scripts and easy to convert to whatever-you-want.

Cons

Currently a licence expires after one year. There are no liftime licences.

Response from Eccam

Hi Philipp, Thank you for your awesome review! We are amazed how powerful automated document generation back-end have you set up. Regarding perpetual license, we are flexible and can offer a longer licence period fitting your needs, for instance PRO license valid for 5 years. Regards, Libor

Replied April 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Exactly what I want for a requirements management tool

Fantastic - highly recommended for systems engineering and requirements management. I don't know why this tool isn't more widely recognized.

Pros

I wished for something like this software for years - a world above manual requirements management in Word or Excel, inexpensive, able to customize to whatever extent you want. I use it for tying together system/stakeholder requirements, design architecture, risk management, and verification testing. The support is top-notch - I've received replies within a few hours of every question I've asked, and they even implemented an update into their software within a few weeks of me outlining a particular issue I ran into.

Cons

Takes some learning to get it set up correctly and some additional examples to start from would be helpful. Exporting documents (to Word/PDF) is a little clunky.

Response from Eccam

Thank you for wonderful review! Regarding export to Word, please check ReqView v2.8.0 , which we released recently. This version introduces enhanced direct export of MS Word DOCX and MS Excel XLSX files. You will like it.

Replied March 2020

Stefan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY